Landmark Home Warranty Review


Rating: 9 / 10 (Excellent)
106 Customer Comments & Reviews - see all comments
Disclosure: We receive advertising revenue from this partner. 
Learn more.
Landmark Home Warranty, LLC is Utah-based home warranty company founded in 2004. The company, which services Arizona, Idaho, Nevada, Oregon, Texas, and Utah, offers comprehensive and customizable coverages starting around $30 a month. Landmark Home Warranty has overwhelmingly positive customer reviews and a Better Business Bureau rating of B+.

How is Landmark rated?

Breakdown

10/10
Coverage
10/10
Reputation
6/10
Contract & Price
9/10
Claims & Service

Overall Rating: 9 / 10 (Excellent)

Landmark has reasonable appliance and system caps, no term limits, and positive online reviews, which is more than can be said for many of its competitors. For about the same price as most other comparable plans, customers get Landmark’s online availability and excellent customer service. By and large, Landmark delivers a customer experience that works precisely as advertised.

Coverage

Key Facts

Plan Types
Systems
Combo Plan
Benefit Limit Type
Per Item

Coverage - 10 / 10

Landmark’s coverage varies by state. Furthermore, there are two plan categories depending on the customer's situation. The Homeowner Plan is for those who have already owned their house for 30 days. The Real Estate Plan is for new home purchase. The following details regarding coverage and pricing will be examples of the Homeowner Plan. For details on plans associated with new home purchase, which are more comprehensive and varied, we suggest you visit Landmark's website and see what they will provide that is specific to the state you live.

Landmark's Homeowner coverage is divided into two different plans, the Home Systems Plan, and the Total Protection Plan. The Systems covers services like A/C and Heating Pre-Season Tune-up and pest control, comprehensive AC and heater coverage, electrical systems, and plumbing. Total Protection includes all of these plus appliances.

What does Landmark cover?

Covered Systems

  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Electrical
  • Plumbing
  • Water Heaters
  • Instant Hot/Cold Water Dispensers
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Ductwork

Covered Appliances

  • Refrigerators
  • Dishwashers
  • Clothes Dryers
  • Clothes Washers
  • Ranges/Ovens/Cooktops
  • Built-in Microwave
  • Garage Door Openers
  • Garbage Disposal
  • Central Vacuum

Exclusions

For a full list of Landmark exclusions, check out this page.

Specialty Items

  • Pool/Spa
  • Well Pump
  • Septic
  • Roof Leaks
  • Pest Control
  • Subterranean Termite Treatment
  • No-Fault Coverage

Contract & Price

Contract Details

Annual Premium
Starting at $350
Minimum Contract Length
12 month(s)
Home Inspection Required for Contract?
No
Online Quote/Application

Contract & Price - 6 / 10

Like the service fee, Landmark's yearly premium for its Homeowner Plans vary by state. In Utah, Oregon, and Idaho, choosing the $100 service fee will produce a $350 premium for the Home System Plan, and a $600 premium for the Total Protection Plan. If you were to opt for the $60 service fee, this would increase the Home System Plan premium to $400, and the Total Protection Plan to $650. In Texas, Nevada, and Arizona, the $100 service fee will yield a $360 premium for the Home Systems Plan, and a $610 premium for the Total Protection Plan. Finally, in these states, choosing the $70 service fee will cost $425 for the Home Systems Plan and $675 for Total Protection.

Landmark has an online quote calculator available on their website, for customers who'd like more specifics. If the policyholder chooses to cancel, Landmark offers a 30-day, full money-back guarantee, with the exception of a $40 administration fee.

Cancellation Policy

a) LHW may not cancel this contract during the initial term for which it was issued, except for any of the following reasons: (1) the contract holder does not pay a fee or charge due under the terms of this contract; (2) the contract holder engages in fraud or misrepresentation of facts material to the issuance of the contract; (3) an interest in the residential property covered under this contract is sold, and the contract is contingent on an interest in the property not being sold. b) If contract is cancelled, homeowner shall be entitled to a pro rata refund of the paid contract fee for the unexpired term, less a $40 administrative fee, and any actual service costs incurred by LHW. If listing coverage is cancelled after service has been performed, and the contract fee has not yet been paid, contract holder will be responsible for purchase of contract, or reimbursement to LHW of service costs incurred, whichever is less. c) Cancellation may be made by Contract Holder at any time. If cancelled within 30 days of acceptance of LHW, and no service request has been made, the Contract Holder is entitled to a full refund of the contract proceeds less an administrative fee of $40. Utah Residents: If Contract is cancelled by us, cancellation will be effective no sooner than 10 days for paragraph A.1, and 30 days for A.2 and A.3 after delivery or 1st class mailing of a written notice to the contract holder.

Claims & Service

Claims

Service Fee
$60, $70, or $100
Maintenance Records Required for Service?
No
24/7 Claims Department?
Waiting Period
0 days

Contractors & Service

Contractor Selection
In-Network Only
Service Recall Period
30 days

Claims & Service - 9 / 10

Landmark offers two service fees. Choosing the lower price will result in a higher yearly premium. The minimum service fee is $60 (Utah, Oregon, Idaho) or $70 (Texas, Nevada, Arizona). The maximum service fee for all states is $100. Without the need for maintenance records or a waiting period, this company’s 24/7 claims department is always ready to dispatch one of its many in-network contractors. Landmark also allows for the hiring of outside operators, provided that they meet pre-specified requirements.

Landmark Reputation

Company Details

Year Founded
2004
Number of Employees
52-200
BBB Rating
B+
BBB Rating
234
BBB Neutral Reviews
5
BBB Negative Reviews
104
Date Collected
2018-05-01

Reputation - 10 / 10

Although not a member of the NHSCA, Landmark has maintained a Better Business Bureau rating of B+ since 2004. This is based on 216 positive, four neutral, and 73 negative reviews.

Contact & Additional Information

Homepage URL
Company Phone
(801) 748-0124
Headquarters Address
Salt Lake City, UT
Mailing Address
P.O.Box 27848, Salt Lake City, UT, 84127
Year Founded
2004

Leave a comment for Landmark Home Warranty
Minimum 12 words.
 No maximum length.
* What's Your Rating?
To make this comment as helpful as possible for our community, please provide at least 2 sentences.

106 Customer Comments & Reviews

Loading Reviews ...
E
Evan
Seattle, Washington
5/22/2018
I recently had a claim related to the annual tune-up of our AC unit. Landmark was incredibly helpful with initially handling the 1st contractor who never showed up to schedule another company. While the 2nd contractor was there servicing the unit I was able to work with a great Landmark service representative to submit an additional claim for needed repairs without having to schedule another appointment with the contractor.

Tiffany N  
Official Response

Customer Relations Manager of Landmark Home Warranty
Dear Evan, Thank you for taking the time to rate us! We are glad to see that our agents and contractors have been able to provide you with 5-star service. We appreciate your feedback and hope to continue to provide remarkable service for you! Please do not hesitate to reach out to us for anything you may need in the future! Sincerely, Tiffany Nguyen Customer Relations Manager customerrelations@landmarkhw.com

M
Machele P
Salt Lake City, Utah
5/18/2018
From start to finish they are have great to work with.

Tiffany N  
Official Response

Customer Relations Manager of Landmark Home Warranty
Dear Machele, Thank you for taking the time to rate us! We are glad to see that our agents and contractors have been able to provide you with 5-star service. We appreciate your feedback and hope to continue to provide remarkable service for you! Please do not hesitate to reach out to us for anything you may need in the future! Sincerely, Tiffany Nguyen Customer Relations Manager customerrelations@landmarkhw.com

N
Natashia
Seattle, Washington
5/17/2018
We are so happy we bought our warranty from Landmark. We have had to use it a few times and the process is easy and simple and the work is fantastic! If you are on the fence because of the added expense DO IT! Do no even think about it! JUST DO IT!

Tiffany N  
Official Response

Customer Relations Manager of Landmark Home Warranty
Dear Natashia, Thank you for taking the time to rate us! We are glad to see that our agents and contractors have been able to provide you with 5-star service and peace of mind when it comes to your home. We appreciate your feedback and hope to continue to provide remarkable service for you! Please do not hesitate to reach out to us for anything you may need in the future! Sincerely, Tiffany Nguyen Customer Relations Manager customerrelations@landmarkhw.com

G
gene g
Dallas, Texas
5/13/2018
As a homeowner of several properties,also different warranty companies, I've gotten familiar with home repair warranty business models. Landmark is a highly acceptable organization from top to bottom. Their product has great value, employee's are trained very well and the delivery of contract product responsibility is rated high because they do what their expected to do extremely responsibly without surprise, effectively and quickly. If I've ever had a concern about policy or procedure in regard to a repair every thing was discussed with a representative in a professional manner with great resolve to the issue. I'm very pleased in doing business with Landmark and will continue with... Read More

Tiffany N  
Official Response

Customer Relations Manager of Landmark Home Warranty
Dear Gene, We are glad to see that our agents and contractors have been able to provide you with 5-star service. Thank you for your feedback! We are pleased to hear we have another opportunity to provide you remarkable service for! Thank you for your continuous support. Sincerely, Tiffany Nguyen Customer Relations Manager customerrelations@landmarkhw.com

T
Thomas P
Dallas, Texas
5/12/2018
Fast, Courteous Service! We will never use anyone else for our home warranty services!

Tiffany N  
Official Response

Customer Relations Manager of Landmark Home Warranty
Dear Thomas, Thank you for taking the time to rate and review us! I am pleased to hear that we have been able to service you in a timely manner! We appreciate your feedback and hope to continue to provide remarkable service for you! Please do not hesitate to reach out to us for anything you may need in the future! Sincerely, Tiffany Nguyen Customer Relations Manager customerrelations@landmarkhw.com

C
Chandalyn B
Dallas, Texas
5/12/2018
Great service problem with fridge was fixed by the end of the week!

Tiffany N  
Official Response

Customer Relations Manager of Landmark Home Warranty
Dear Chandalyn, Thank you for taking the time to rate us! We are glad to see that our agents and contractors have been able to provide you with timely 5-star service. We appreciate your feedback and hope to continue to provide remarkable service for you! Please do not hesitate to reach out to us for anything you may need in the future! Sincerely, Tiffany Nguyen Customer Relations Manager customerrelations@landmarkhw.com

K
kevin
Denver, Colorado
5/9/2018
My water heater was leaking. I had no clue or the time to try to diagnose it or to make the fix. I called landmark about the situation and they sent someone out to fix our water heater which was covered under our warranty. The leak was fixed and we are extremely satisfied with how easy it was to make the call with no hassle.

Tiffany N  
Official Response

Customer Relations Manager of Landmark Home Warranty
Dear Kevin, We are glad to see that our agents and contractors have been able to provide you with 5-star service for your water heater. We are here to provide you with a peace of mind for your home and hope to continue to provide remarkable service for you! We look forward to the opportunity to help you in the future! Please feel free to reach out to us for any of your home warranty needs. Sincerely, Tiffany Nguyen Customer Relations Manager customerrelations@landmarkhw.com

A
AJ
Dallas, Texas
5/7/2018
I had a terrible experience with Landmark. I called because I was having issues with my faucet, I asked if the service fee ($70) covered the FULL replacement of my faucet and the labor. They responded yes. When the plumber came out, he took one look at the faucet and said it needs to be replaced. He said there is nothing he could do that day, he would have to submit a report to get the warranty company to authorize the replacement. He said we had two options the warranty company would either give the plumber $20 to buy a cheap faucet or we could get the warranty company to cash out the faucet and we could take that money to put towards a better faucet. When I talk to the Landmark... Read More

Tiffany N  
Official Response

Customer Relations Manager of Landmark Home Warranty
Dear AJ, I am sorry to hear of your experience with your faucet. I would like to be able to review the details of your dispatch ticket to appropriately address your concerns. Please reach out to me directly at customerrelations@landmarkhw.com. I look forward to hearing from you. Sincerely, Tiffany Nguyen Customer Relations Manager customerrelations@landmarkhw.com

S
Sue A
Las Vegas, Nevada
5/6/2018
Nothing but excellent service from this company. Everyone is so friendly and helpful and care about their customers. They keep on top of every service request and follow up immediately to make sure things are running smoothly. I give them more than 5 stars.

Tiffany N  
Official Response

Customer Relations Manager of Landmark Home Warranty
Dear Sue, We are pleased to hear we have been able to provide you with 5-star service and a peace of mind when it comes to your home. We appreciate your feedback and hope to continue to provide remarkable service for you! Please do not hesitate to reach out to us for anything you may need in the future! Sincerely, Tiffany Nguyen Customer Relations Manager customerrelations@landmarkhw.com

D
Daniel
Dallas, Texas
5/5/2018
Literally have been lied to the second I purchased Landmark's "warranty." It covers next to nothing, saddles the customer with the cost, and is a quick cash grab to see how long it takes for a customer to realize they've been duped. If you're a consumer. Don't listen to what your agent says. Avoid this company like the plague.

Tiffany N  
Official Response

Customer Relations Manager of Landmark Home Warranty
Dear Daniel, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I am sorry to hear of the experience you have had with us thus far. We have an overall approval rate of 97% in covered claims. We are here to provide you with a peace of mind and would be happy to answer any questions you may have on coverage. I see that you have had a recent dispatch ticket for your HVAC unit. I would like to go over the details of your concerns to address them more appropriately. Please reach out to me directly at customerrelations@landmarkhw.com. I look forward to hearing from you. Sincerely, Tiffany Nguyen Customer Relations Manager


Top Rated
Our Partner
9.0 / 10
  • Service Available in Arizona, Idaho, Oregon, Nevada, Texas and Utah
  • Generous Coverage Including Pest Control and Improper Repairs
  • Most Extensive List of Covered Items
  • Excellent Customer Satisfaction
  • Service fee $60 - $100, depending on state
  • Emergency services available