Select Home Warranty Review


Rating: 9 / 10 (Excellent)
986 Customer Comments & Reviews - see all comments
Disclosure: We receive advertising revenue from this partner. 
Learn more.
Select Home Warranty is a New Jersey-based company that provides home warranty plans across the United States. They offer three levels of coverage, with optional add-ons to allow homeowners to fully customize their warranties. The company covers all makes and models of appliances and systems. They have a B rating with the BBB.

How is Select rated?

Breakdown

9/10
Coverage
9/10
Reputation
9/10
Contract & Price
9/10
Claims & Service

Overall Rating: 9 / 10 (Excellent)

Select Home Warranty’s lack of a term maximum is very attractive, especially when considering their comparatively generous appliance and system limits. They do have a waiting period for service, and require maintenance records, which can be off-putting to some customers. Select is an excellent choice for customers who value savings and flexibility.

Coverage

Key Facts

Plan Types
Combo Plan
Benefit Limit Type
Per Item
Typical Appliance Benefit Limit
$500
Typical Systems Benefit Limit
$2,000

Coverage - 9 / 10

Select Home Warranty offers combination policies that cover 15 systems and appliances, in addition to additional specialty item coverage. With no term benefit limit set, appliances are capped at $500, while systems are limited to $2,000. As a matter of company policy, items will only be covered if they have not been repaired prior to service, or if their malfunction is due to user error.

What does Select cover?

Covered Systems

  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Electrical
  • Plumbing
  • Water Heaters
  • Central Vacuums
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Ductwork
  • Sump Pumps

Covered Appliances

  • Refrigerators
  • Dishwashers
  • Clothes Dryers
  • Clothes Washers
  • Ranges/Ovens/Cooktops
  • Built-in Microwave
  • Garage Door Openers
  • Garbage Disposal
  • Stand Alone Freezer

Exclusions

For a full list of Select exclusions, check out this page.

Specialty Items

  • Pool/Spa
  • Well Pump
  • Septic
  • Roof Leaks
  • Lawn Sprinklers

Contract & Price

Contract Details

Minimum Contract Length
12 month(s)
Home Inspection Required for Contract?
No
Online Quote/Application

Contract & Price - 9 / 10

In the case of Select’s yearlong base-level contract, no home inspection is required prior to full coverage. For the sake of education and peace-of-mind, this company provides a sample contract and quote calculator on their website. In exchange for a $75 administration fee, they also offer a pro-rated refund if the initial 30 days have expired.

Sample Contract

Select provides a sample contract for potential customers on its website: Select Sample Contract

Cancellation Policy

Select reserves the right to cancel the service contract in the event of fraudulent conduct or misrepresentations by the customer, failure to make the required payments, or upon agreement. The customer may cancel the agreement within 30 days from the order date of the agreement and will be entitled to a full refund only if no service has been provided under the contract. After 30 days, the customer may receive a pro-rated refund for the non-discounted annual plan cost. The customer will be charged a $75 cancellation fee, plus any service expenses incurred by Select Home Warranty.

Claims & Service

Claims

Maintenance Records Required for Service?
Yes
Waiting Period
30 days

Contractors & Service

Contractor Selection
In-Network Only

Claims & Service - 9 / 10

Once the policy holder has been covered for the entirety of their contract-mandated 30-day waiting period, Select allows access to their in-network contractor services. In addition to requiring maintenance records in order to provide service, Select also insists that they be notified. If they are not, then reimbursement may be forfeited.

Select Reputation

Company Details

Year Founded
2012
NHSCA Membership
Number of Employees
2-10
TrustPilot Rating
6.1 out of 10
BBB Rating
B-
BBB Rating
38
BBB Neutral Reviews
28
BBB Negative Reviews
273
Date Collected
2017-01-26

Reputation - 9 / 10

Select Home Warranty is a relatively small company that is not a member of the NHSCA. In addition to their TrustPilot rating of 6.1 out of 10, this company has held a B- rating with the Better Business Bureau since 2012, backed by 38 positive, 28 neutral, and 273 negative reviews.

Contact & Additional Information

Homepage URL
Company Phone
(855) 267-3532
Headquarters Address
1 International Blvd Ste 400, Mahwah, NJ, 07495
Mailing Address
One International Blvd. Suite 400, Mahwah, NJ, 07495
Year Founded
2012

Leave a comment for Select Home Warranty
Minimum 2-3 sentences.
 No maximum length.
* What's Your Rating?
To make this comment as helpful as possible for our community, please provide at least 2 sentences.

986 Customer Comments & Reviews

Loading Reviews ...
C
Cat
Harvey, Illinois
2/1/2018
I WOULD NEVER NEVER NEVER RECOMMEND THIS COMPANY TO ANYONE I PAID OVER $300.00 OUR OF MY POCKET TO GET MY FURNACE REPAIR THEY SAID THAT THEY WAS GOING TO REIMBURSE WHICH THEY NEVER DID THEY SHOULD GO OUT OF BUSINESS THEY SUCKS


G
Gibson's P
Redmond, Oregon
1/31/2018
I would never recommend this company to anyone. They have left repairmen on hold for 20 minutes waiting for a confirmation to repair the problem. The repairman left due to no response. I called and got the same treatment. Now we called another issue and they sent an email back claiming we needed new springs on a garage door. We sent a repairman to the location and that was not even close to the issue. So called for an explanation. They had just determined the issue from their office! Closed the claim and cannot issue a new claim number. REALLY!! Very bad company


R
Rachelle
Medford, Massachusetts
1/31/2018
hey guys SELETC HOME WARRANTY doe's not pay for anything, I put three different claims on 2017 waited and waited never call back. they must Hire someone to write them, because my experience has been only horrible. DO NOT BUY FROM THIS COMPANY!


D
Dean
Andover, Kansas
1/31/2018
HVAC contractor here, and Select DOES NOT pay their vendors, at all! October 2017 invoices still outstanding, and no response from the company except for an auto-responder that " a representative will call in 24-48 hours." Dropping them from our service and would not recommend them to anyone, as if they treat their vendors this way I can only imagine how they treat homeowners.


J
Jacob H
Chicago, Illinois
1/31/2018
Tim Clemings of Clemings Plumbing came to us through Select Home Warranty. First I called them and create a service request. I had the problem that I had guests coming and was pressured heavily in the situation. Select Home Warranty had no problem expediting my request and finished the job.


L
Lois M
, Texas
1/29/2018
I have to tell you, I bought my Home warranty from this company because of the reviews, however, they must Hire someone to write them, because my experience has been only horrible. They do not pay out, they do not call back, they don't honor their word, and when they do finally agree to pay a very small sum, they take months to complete the claim. It has been 3 months and still no check. DO NOT BUY FROM THIS COMPANY!


J
Jeffrey P
Ashburn, Virginia
1/29/2018
The garage door would not open all morning. I contacted the contractor same day and setup an appointment through Select Home Warranty. Problem was resolved, good communication fast turn around time two days.


K
Kay R
Dallas, Texas
1/26/2018
I am a customer of SHW for 4 or 5 year and happy that I signed up on an email promotion I received. My front loader and microwave had gone out on me when my sister was living with me. I just had to call them and in tops 1 day they brought a nice young man over who was handled my claim.


R
Ricardo M
Asheville, North Carolina
1/24/2018
Select Home Warranty sent me a technician that was very helpful in applying his plumbing expertise and fixing my non functioning spa pool. 2 total weeks it for all the parts and labor to be complete. The company that installed the actual tub no longer was in my area and I am pretty glad they found someone who had the right experience to handle this job. I would have liked for it to be done sooner but I understand that this type of task is not the norm.


Malinda E
Chillicothe, Ohio
1/24/2018
I have waited 3 weeks for a technician to come repair my stove and no one has come. They only have one contractor in Dayton OH. I call customer service and keep getting the run around that someone will call me in 24 hours. Worst warranty company I have ever had in all the time I owned a home.



Our Partner
9.0 / 10
  • No claims allowed in first 30 days
  • Claims may be subject to caps for the length of the policy
  • $60 Service Fee, $75 Cancellation Fee
  • Thousands of local service providers across the country
  • Easy online quote form (just your info & home address)
  • Special Offer: Call now to receive $100 off plus two months free plus free roof leak coverage