America's 1st Choice Home Club Warranty Review


Rating: 9.4 / 10 (Excellent)
93 Customer Comments & Reviews - see all comments
Disclosure: We receive advertising revenue from this partner. 
Learn more.
AFC Home Club is a Georgia-based company focused on providing home warranties to homeowners across the United States. They offer three different plans with varying levels of coverage for appliances and home systems. Additional coverage can be added easily, making them fully customizable. They are a BBB-accredited company with a B letter rating.

How is AFC Home Club rated?

Breakdown

10/10
Coverage
10/10
Reputation
9/10
Contract & Price
10/10
Claims & Service

Overall Rating: 9.4 / 10 (Excellent)

America’s First Choice Home Club is a home warranty company that falls right down the middle of the industry standard. Their uniform service benefit cap, especially, indicates that AFC is a company that aims to simplify what is normally a very complex service. Both their generally positive online reviews and their lower-cost, flat-rate service fee make them an excellent choice for a home warranty.

Coverage

Key Facts

Plan Types
Combo Plan
Benefit Limit Type
Per Item
Typical Appliance Benefit Limit
$1,500
Typical Systems Benefit Limit
$2,000

Coverage - 9.5 / 10

AFC Home Club’s hybrid policies cover many of the same systems and appliances as its competitors. Notwithstanding the lack of included specialty items, a good benefit is their user friendly, every-item service cap of $1,500-$2,000. AFC Home Club only covers issues that arise after they begin providing service. Exclusions covered in the below link refer to AFC's Platinum plan, which is the most comprehensive. Exclusions in other plans will be the same as Platinum covers all items one might find in other plans.

What does AFC Home Club cover?

Covered Systems

  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Electrical
  • Plumbing
  • Water Heaters

Covered Appliances

  • Refrigerators
  • Dishwashers
  • Clothes Dryers
  • Clothes Washers
  • Ranges/Ovens/Cooktops
  • Built-in Microwave
  • Garage Door Openers
  • Garbage Disposal

Exclusions

For a full list of AFC Home Club exclusions, check out this page.

Contract & Price

Contract Details

Annual Premium
Starting at $395
Home Inspection Required for Contract?
No
Online Quote/Application

Contract & Price - 9 / 10

AFC Home Club’s base-level contract’s annual premiums begin at $395. In addition to a personalized quote calculator and sample contract being available on the website, a 30-day refund policy is guaranteed, as is a pro-rated version after that period. The sample contract provided here refers to AFC's Platinum plan, which is its most comprehensive coverage. To see the contracts for the other plans please visit the company website.

Sample Contract

AFC Home Club provides a sample contract for potential customers on its website: AFC Home Club Sample Contract

Cancellation Policy

The membership shall be non-cancelable by CRAST except for nonpayment of membership fees or diagnostic fees, when a customer threatens to harm or does harm a CRAST Agent, fraud or misrepresentation of facts by the client, or by agreement between company and client. There will be no refunds for memberships canceled due to non-payment. New members may cancel within the first 30 days of the order date for a full refund of the paid membership. After 30 days, the customer shall be entitled to a pro rata refund of the paid membership fee, less any claims paid or time used in membership by CRAST, and a $75.00 cancellation fee.

Claims & Service

Claims

Maintenance Records Required for Service?
Yes
24/7 Claims Department?
Waiting Period
30 days

Contractors & Service

Contractor Selection
Any Contractor

Claims & Service - 9.5 / 10

AFC Home Club's flat-rate service fee of $60 keeps them competitive with comparable companies in the industry. Its 30 day waiting period is fairly standard. AFC allows customers to work with out-of network contractors of thier choosing. However, they do have to be licensed, bonded and insured. AFC only requires maintenance on HVAC systems in the first year of the contact. Moreover, if a claim is filed before the 30-day waiting period has expired, the maximum payout amount is limited to $150.

AFC Home Club Reputation

Company Details

Year Founded
2009
NHSCA Membership
BBB Rating
B
BBB Rating
31
BBB Neutral Reviews
0
BBB Negative Reviews
22
Date Collected
2017-07-26

Reputation - 9.5 / 10

Even though AFC Home Club is not itself a member of the NHSCA, it has maintained accreditation by the Better Business Bureau since 2009. Its B rating is supported by 31 positive reviews and 22 negative reviews.

Contact & Additional Information

Homepage URL
Company Phone
(866) 242-0629
Headquarters Address
1337 Canton Rd STE B, Marietta, GA, 30066
Mailing Address
1337 Canton Rd STE B, Marietta, GA, 30066
Year Founded
2009

Leave a comment for America's 1st Choice Home Club Warranty
Minimum 2-3 sentences.
 No maximum length.
* What's Your Rating?
To make this comment as helpful as possible for our community, please provide at least 2 sentences.

93 Customer Comments & Reviews

Loading Reviews ...
M
Mike C
7/17/2017
You get what you pay for. We switched to AFC because it was a cheaper company than other home warranties we have had in the past. However, the service we were provided was terrible. AFC could never get a vendor in our area so we had to acquire our own technician several times. While it appears AFC coverage is similar to other companies, it is much poorer. We had to have an AC unit replaced on our rental property two years ago and another company replaced the ENTIRE unit (which was 25 years old) and all we had to pay for is a $60 service fee. We had to replace the AC unit on our current home this year and AFC would only give us $150 towards the cost because the unit was 20 years old.... Read More

AFC C  
Official Response

Responder of America's 1st Choice Home Club Warranty
Mike, we wish that we could have been of service to you. Unfortunately, we are unable to help every homeowners needs and wants to each individuals liking. We do our best in resolving maintenance issues, but we do have guidelines/ policies that we must abide by to protect not just the homeowners, but our company as well. For your particular situation, we could not go further with your case. We apologize for the inconveniences you may have had, but feel free to give one of our managers a call and we will be happy to discuss this further and resolve this.

K
Ken
7/14/2017
Called AFC on Thur, they returned my call 1st thing next morning. Courteous, Professional & Efficient. Gave me Name & Phone # of Company (Advanced Appliance Repair) assigned to repair ice maker & they would contact usually within 15 mins & within 15 mins they called. Scheduled our repair for the next day & repaired then. Very different from Home Warranty Companies I have use in the past, which with all I had to play the WAITING game. NOT with AFC. 10 Stars & Thanks. :)

AFC C  
Official Response

Responder of America's 1st Choice Home Club Warranty
Ken, thank you so much for your feed back. We appreciate your business with us and look forward to continuing our service to you. Call us anytime, we are here to help!

S
Shoban
Suwanee, Georgia
7/12/2017
It has been more than 2 weeks and my garbage disposal issue is not resolved as I got the wrong item (with cord). I tried contacting the support multiple times - each time I have to wait around 15-20 mins to reach the support team but no resolution yet. I am totally frustrated with this painful process being a Gold member.

AFC C  
Official Response

Responder of America's 1st Choice Home Club Warranty
Shoban, we apologize for the inconvenience. The hold time of your calls and failure to respond to your particular issue is highly unlikely, but if ever this should happen, please contact one of our managers. customer service comes first, and we don't want our homeowners to wait for more than 48 hrs for a response or resolution. Please give us a call, and we are happy to help.

D
Darlene
Phoenix, Arizona
7/11/2017
I had a home warranty before but it did not work out well. However, the idea was good. It covers what insurance doesn't so I went with America’s First Choice Home Club. The people that I talked to were extremely helpful. They answered each question and were encouraging. We had issues with the hot water heater so I called them about it. The contractor called me the next day from the time I filed the claim. There was a sense of urgency because we didn't want it to explode and within the next day they were there.

AFC C  
Official Response

Responder of America's 1st Choice Home Club Warranty
Darlene, thank you so much for your post. Our homeowners are our first priority and customer service is what holds our relationships together. We are here for you anytime. Thank you for your business!

K
Kevin
, Washington
7/11/2017
Great experience with AFC Home Club, I was able to use my own technician to complete a repair on my pool pump and was quickly reimbursed.

AFC C  
Official Response

Responder of America's 1st Choice Home Club Warranty
Kevin, we are happy to hear such positive feed back. We try our best to resolve maintenance issues as quick and easy as possible. We want your experience with us to be simple, with no stress. Happy to be of service, call us anytime!

S
Steve
Arlington, Texas
7/5/2017
Bought coverage for my home and two rentals. AC went out on Monday. After waiting on hold I was told they couldn't get anyone out until Wednesday or Thursday. This is a home with a family and children and 100+ temps. I asked how to get an emergency service. I was told to arrange it directly and the would reimburse for covered items. I've been trying to contact them for two days "on hold" no one ever answered the phone. I called the sales agent for Am1st and left messages. No return calls. Very frustrating. If I don't hear from them today I'll dispute the charges on my credit card and try to cancel my policies that way as they are unresponsive and unable to be contacted. Very... Read More

AFC C  
Official Response

Responder of America's 1st Choice Home Club Warranty
Steve, we apologize for the inconveniences. If we are unable to send out a technician within 48 hrs, YES, we do ask that you find a tech on your own if you can get them faster, and YES, we do reimburse you for our failure of providing. As far as our customer service, we sincerely apologize. If this should happen again, please demand to speak with one of our managers and we will be happy to assist you immediately. We appreciate your business!

J
Jessica
Houston, Texas
6/29/2017
Fast response, thorough explanation and friendly service. What more do I need?

AFC C  
Official Response

Responder of America's 1st Choice Home Club Warranty
Jessica, we appreciate your positive feed back! Customer service is our main priority, we want our homeowners happy. Thank you for your business with us. Call us anytime!

A
Alexander L
Austell, Georgia
6/27/2017
I am a first time home owner and fought to get a one year home warranty from the seller based on advise from friends and family to protect myself. Before closing the seller added a pan underneath the water heater and replaced a water pipe that fed the heater by a certified plumber. Within a week the hot water heater pilot lite would not stay lit for longer than fifteen minutes. At first it did not concern me because I spent the extra work in getting the warranty (Gold plan - seller paid almost $500). I contacted AFC and flied a claimed on a Friday. A service tech came out on a Monday morning. The tech recommended a replacement of the water heater based on age (7 years old). I... Read More

AFC C  
Official Response

Responder of America's 1st Choice Home Club Warranty
Dear Alexander, we apologize for your frustrations. We want to please you and be of service as best we can. We have to abide by certain guidelines to protect our business as well as each homeowner. I know that in some cases, there are particular details that we can over look depending on the situation. With your issue, we exhausted all of our options. We apologize for our lack of response and timing on the matter. However, if this should happen again, please contact one of our managers so we can handle and resolve the matter in a timely fashion and clear things directly. We appreciate your business with you, thank you for your feed back.

M
Mike C
Peoria, Illinois
6/23/2017
AFC was the third warranty company we have had over the last 10 years. We switched because of price and it is obvious you get what you pay for. This company never has vendors in our area and we have had to get our own vendor a few times and then wait for reimbursement. Previously our AC went out on a rental property and a different home warranty company paid to have a new one installed (over $2000). Recently our AC went down in our residential property and AFC told us they would only give us $150 towards the repair and that was a "gift" because the AC was 20 years old and not even valued at $150. This company is cheaper than many others and now we see why.

AFC C  
Official Response

Responder of America's 1st Choice Home Club Warranty
Mike, thank you so much for your feed back. Whether it's positive or negative, we want to hear what our homeowners have to say. We have certain policies/guidelines with each appliance. Each appliance must be up to code, and up to date in maintenance, as well as, if we were to put money down on an appliance, we would match its worth and value. We want to service our homeowners but within reason. We cannot pay top of the line on something that has depreciated in value. We apologize for your frustration and wish we could have pleased you to your liking. If you would like, its never too late to give one of our managers a call and we can try to resolve your issue.

W
Wendy C
Mesa, Arizona
6/7/2017
This company is a joke. We have had three calls on our washing machine in the past year and each time it has taken weeks to get it fixed. This last claim took the cake. It took 8 weeks and still it wasn't fixed. We finally went and bought a new one. They promised to send the art overnight and then didn't send it fro over a week. They finally sent the part to the wrong address then had to send it again only this time they delivered it before the place of business opened so instead of going back later they sent the part back to IL. After 8 weeks of their lying to us over the phone we got them to buy us out so we could purchase a new one. Here is the kicker. We now have to wait... Read More

AFC C  
Official Response

Responder of America's 1st Choice Home Club Warranty
Wendy, we apologize for the inconveniences that you went through. We aim for superior customer service and want to make things right when we fail to do so. We appreciate your feed back and business with us. Please feel free to call one of our managers and we will be happy to serve you.


Top Rated
Our Partner
9.4 / 10
  • Award winning service
  • Save 10% on any plan
  • Dedicated account managers
  • Choose your own service technicians
  • Longest work guarantee
  • Unlimited number of repairs