America's 1st Choice Home Club Warranty Review


Rating: 9.4 / 10 (Excellent)
93 Customer Comments & Reviews - see all comments
Disclosure: We receive advertising revenue from this partner. 
Learn more.
AFC Home Club is a Georgia-based company focused on providing home warranties to homeowners across the United States. They offer three different plans with varying levels of coverage for appliances and home systems. Additional coverage can be added easily, making them fully customizable. They are a BBB-accredited company with a B letter rating.

How is AFC Home Club rated?

Breakdown

10/10
Coverage
10/10
Reputation
9/10
Contract & Price
10/10
Claims & Service

Overall Rating: 9.4 / 10 (Excellent)

America’s First Choice Home Club is a home warranty company that falls right down the middle of the industry standard. Their uniform service benefit cap, especially, indicates that AFC is a company that aims to simplify what is normally a very complex service. Both their generally positive online reviews and their lower-cost, flat-rate service fee make them an excellent choice for a home warranty.

Coverage

Key Facts

Plan Types
Combo Plan
Benefit Limit Type
Per Item
Typical Appliance Benefit Limit
$1,500
Typical Systems Benefit Limit
$2,000

Coverage - 9.5 / 10

AFC Home Club’s hybrid policies cover many of the same systems and appliances as its competitors. Notwithstanding the lack of included specialty items, a good benefit is their user friendly, every-item service cap of $1,500-$2,000. AFC Home Club only covers issues that arise after they begin providing service. Exclusions covered in the below link refer to AFC's Platinum plan, which is the most comprehensive. Exclusions in other plans will be the same as Platinum covers all items one might find in other plans.

What does AFC Home Club cover?

Covered Systems

  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Electrical
  • Plumbing
  • Water Heaters

Covered Appliances

  • Refrigerators
  • Dishwashers
  • Clothes Dryers
  • Clothes Washers
  • Ranges/Ovens/Cooktops
  • Built-in Microwave
  • Garage Door Openers
  • Garbage Disposal

Exclusions

For a full list of AFC Home Club exclusions, check out this page.

Contract & Price

Contract Details

Annual Premium
Starting at $395
Home Inspection Required for Contract?
No
Online Quote/Application

Contract & Price - 9 / 10

AFC Home Club’s base-level contract’s annual premiums begin at $395. In addition to a personalized quote calculator and sample contract being available on the website, a 30-day refund policy is guaranteed, as is a pro-rated version after that period. The sample contract provided here refers to AFC's Platinum plan, which is its most comprehensive coverage. To see the contracts for the other plans please visit the company website.

Sample Contract

AFC Home Club provides a sample contract for potential customers on its website: AFC Home Club Sample Contract

Cancellation Policy

The membership shall be non-cancelable by CRAST except for nonpayment of membership fees or diagnostic fees, when a customer threatens to harm or does harm a CRAST Agent, fraud or misrepresentation of facts by the client, or by agreement between company and client. There will be no refunds for memberships canceled due to non-payment. New members may cancel within the first 30 days of the order date for a full refund of the paid membership. After 30 days, the customer shall be entitled to a pro rata refund of the paid membership fee, less any claims paid or time used in membership by CRAST, and a $75.00 cancellation fee.

Claims & Service

Claims

Maintenance Records Required for Service?
Yes
24/7 Claims Department?
Waiting Period
30 days

Contractors & Service

Contractor Selection
Any Contractor

Claims & Service - 9.5 / 10

AFC Home Club's flat-rate service fee of $60 keeps them competitive with comparable companies in the industry. Its 30 day waiting period is fairly standard. AFC allows customers to work with out-of network contractors of thier choosing. However, they do have to be licensed, bonded and insured. AFC only requires maintenance on HVAC systems in the first year of the contact. Moreover, if a claim is filed before the 30-day waiting period has expired, the maximum payout amount is limited to $150.

AFC Home Club Reputation

Company Details

Year Founded
2009
NHSCA Membership
BBB Rating
B
BBB Rating
31
BBB Neutral Reviews
0
BBB Negative Reviews
22
Date Collected
2017-07-26

Reputation - 9.5 / 10

Even though AFC Home Club is not itself a member of the NHSCA, it has maintained accreditation by the Better Business Bureau since 2009. Its B rating is supported by 31 positive reviews and 22 negative reviews.

Contact & Additional Information

Homepage URL
Company Phone
(866) 242-0629
Headquarters Address
1337 Canton Rd STE B, Marietta, GA, 30066
Mailing Address
1337 Canton Rd STE B, Marietta, GA, 30066
Year Founded
2009

Leave a comment for America's 1st Choice Home Club Warranty
Minimum 2-3 sentences.
 No maximum length.
* What's Your Rating?
To make this comment as helpful as possible for our community, please provide at least 2 sentences.

93 Customer Comments & Reviews

Loading Reviews ...
Matthew C
San Gabriel, California
9/27/2017
we submitted a claim to repair our subzero refrigerator. took them 2 weeks to get someone there and now they are saying they will not pay the repair because the fridge is too old. this was not indicated anywhere in the contract nor were we explained any of this. This is not right and I am disappointed i left american home shield for this company based on Consumer Advocates online review and recommendation. STAY AWAY from this company. I rarely will rate a company negatively because there are always circumstances on both sides, but here it is a clear rip-off. Pls do yourself a favor and stay away! Policy # CLR -96007430

AFC C  
Official Response

Responder of America's 1st Choice Home Club Warranty
Matthew, we apologize for the delay in getting a technician to your home. With Sub Zero and other high-end appliance brands we have to send brand-certified technicians and this can create delays. A service manager will be in contact with you shortly.

Keshava P
, Arizona
9/26/2017
The warranty is affordable. That is good. the problem is: it seems we have to fight sometimes to get repairs paid. Lately the experience has been better. Another problem: online claim request not available

AFC C  
Official Response

Responder of America's 1st Choice Home Club Warranty
Prasad, we appreciate your feedback and looks forward to servicing your home! If you need to place a service request online, please do so here: https://afchomeclub.com/request-service/

A
Abhay
Los Angeles, California
9/12/2017
America's First Choice Home Club had good reviews and they would let me use my own contractor, so I chose them over other providers. Dealing with their reps has been straight forward and I had no difficulties in submitting my claims with them. Also, the technicians who came out were capable people and I have no issues with their work.

AFC C  
Official Response

Responder of America's 1st Choice Home Club Warranty
Thank you, Abhay for your feed back. We appreciate your business with us and look forward in continuing to be at your service. Call us anytime, customer service is our highest priority!

S
Steve E
Rancho Mirage, California
9/11/2017
If you're thinking about buying a home warranty policy, and think that 'AFC Home Club' might be a good choice, think again! RUN, don't just walk away from these guys. (They've actually been described as the 'rattlesnakes of the home warranty business' by others in the trade, and they're so right!) I bought a policy with AFC and here's what I found out, and regretfully, found out too late. The small print in their convoluted contract clearly states the following : • They have a 'whopping' $1,500 maximum on each repair, and that makes little sense with their advertised 'repair or replace' program. If you need to replace an a/c for example, and if the broken or damaged item... Read More

AFC C  
Official Response

Responder of America's 1st Choice Home Club Warranty
Steve, we apologize that we were unable to meet your personal needs with your particular situation. We will have one of our managers reach out to you to resolve your issues.

M
Mike L
Moorpark, California
8/31/2017
These guys are terrible. They use all kinds of little caveats to avoid paying your claim and they also set what seem like arbitrary limits to how much they will pay. Do not use this Warranty Company!

AFC C  
Official Response

Responder of America's 1st Choice Home Club Warranty
Mike, we try our best to assist every homeowner with each of their individual needs as best as we can. We apologize that we were unable to succeed in pleasing you personally. We thank you for your business with us, feel free to call us anytime and we would be happy to resolve your frustrations.

M
Marilyn
Chantilly, Virginia
8/23/2017
I was looking for a new home warranty and AFC Home Club had recommendations in their website, so I got them. I have submitted a claim online and their website was very easy to use. It worked for me. I got a response in within 12 hours because I did it on a weekend. It was a hot water heater that went out, came back on, and then didn't work for a month. It is not an emergency. But if it is, I will call them. They answer on weekends but I'm not going to take advantage of that. So, it took a couple of days before I received a confirmation on who was coming out. The young man they sent out impressed me. He explained everything to me and walked me through the process. He stayed until it was... Read More

AFC C  
Official Response

Responder of America's 1st Choice Home Club Warranty
Marilyn, we are happy to hear that you have had such a great experience with us. We do our very best to get back to all of our homeowners as quickly and sufficiently as possible. Customer service is our highest priority, we are here for you anytime! Thank you for your business with us.

M
Marilyn
Chantilly, Virginia
8/23/2017
I was looking for a new home warranty and AFC Home Club had recommendations in their website, so I got them. I have submitted a claim online and their website was very easy to use. It worked for me. I got a response in within 12 hours because I did it on a weekend. It was a hot water heater that went out, came back on, and then didn't work for a month. It is not an emergency. But if it is, I will call them. They answer on weekends but I'm not going to take advantage of that. So, it took a couple of days before I received a confirmation on who was coming out. The young man they sent out impressed me. He explained everything to me and walked me through the process. He stayed until it was... Read More


M
Marilyn
Chantilly, Virginia
8/23/2017
I was looking for a new home warranty and AFC Home Club had recommendations in their website, so I got them. I have submitted a claim online and their website was very easy to use. It worked for me. I got a response in within 12 hours because I did it on a weekend. It was a hot water heater that went out, came back on, and then didn't work for a month. It is not an emergency. But if it is, I will call them. They answer on weekends but I'm not going to take advantage of that. So, it took a couple of days before I received a confirmation on who was coming out. The young man they sent out impressed me. He explained everything to me and walked me through the process. He stayed until it was... Read More


I
ibew2016darryl@comcast.net
Rancho Cordova, California
8/18/2017
This has been a disaster since I purchased this 3 year coverage at $1250. I had a blocked drain line, which AFC refused to pay. Then I had a washing machine fail, and since repairs were $1000, AFC paid $180 for a new washer. AFC says the washer was purchased in 2009, so they depreciated the value of the washer. No replacement by AFC. I spent $1000 on the new washer, so I lost $820 even though I had a home warranty. Also AFC is located in Georgia, so if you call at 9pm PST, you will get an answering service. On both calls for service there is a 2 day delay for someone to come to your home. Get ready to wait, even with the drain, they waited 3 days to tell me that they would not pay.

AFC C  
Official Response

Responder of America's 1st Choice Home Club Warranty
Dear homeowner, we apologize that we were unable to satisfy your individual needs. We try our best to get back to each homeowner as soon as possible. If our service team fails in getting back in touch with you in a timely manner, we ask that you contact a manager so we can work out any issues. We want to be of service, please give us a call and we would like to resolve your frustrations.

M
Martin
8/18/2017
I used to have a home warranty at my other house and my wife and I talked about it. It's a wonderful thing and it’s worth doing. One good repair pays the whole bill. The AFC salesman was very professional and I liked him a lot. The guy gave me a great deal, so I got them. The bearings on my washer were making a noise that sounded like a jet plane when it was on spin. AFC sent out this rinky-dink company and the guy didn't know what he was doing. I talked to three other people and they said I have to put the whole shaft in at once. I YouTubed it for the guy 'cause he didn't know how to do it. He took his time, but he got it done and the washer was quiet when he left. Three weeks later, it... Read More

AFC C  
Official Response

Responder of America's 1st Choice Home Club Warranty
Martin, thank you for your feed back. Here at AFC we try our best to meet the needs of every homeowner as quickly and as efficiently as possible. We appreciate your business with us and look forward to servicing you in any way we can!


Top Rated
Our Partner
9.4 / 10
  • Award winning service
  • Save 10% on any plan
  • Dedicated account managers
  • Choose your own service technicians
  • Longest work guarantee
  • Unlimited number of repairs