America's 1st Choice Home Club Warranty Review


Rating: 9.4 / 10 (Excellent)
93 Customer Comments & Reviews - see all comments
Disclosure: We receive advertising revenue from this partner. 
Learn more.
AFC Home Club is a Georgia-based company focused on providing home warranties to homeowners across the United States. They offer three different plans with varying levels of coverage for appliances and home systems. Additional coverage can be added easily, making them fully customizable. They are a BBB-accredited company with a B letter rating.

How is AFC Home Club rated?

Breakdown

10/10
Coverage
10/10
Reputation
9/10
Contract & Price
10/10
Claims & Service

Overall Rating: 9.4 / 10 (Excellent)

America’s First Choice Home Club is a home warranty company that falls right down the middle of the industry standard. Their uniform service benefit cap, especially, indicates that AFC is a company that aims to simplify what is normally a very complex service. Both their generally positive online reviews and their lower-cost, flat-rate service fee make them an excellent choice for a home warranty.

Coverage

Key Facts

Plan Types
Combo Plan
Benefit Limit Type
Per Item
Typical Appliance Benefit Limit
$1,500
Typical Systems Benefit Limit
$2,000

Coverage - 9.5 / 10

AFC Home Club’s hybrid policies cover many of the same systems and appliances as its competitors. Notwithstanding the lack of included specialty items, a good benefit is their user friendly, every-item service cap of $1,500-$2,000. AFC Home Club only covers issues that arise after they begin providing service. Exclusions covered in the below link refer to AFC's Platinum plan, which is the most comprehensive. Exclusions in other plans will be the same as Platinum covers all items one might find in other plans.

What does AFC Home Club cover?

Covered Systems

  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Electrical
  • Plumbing
  • Water Heaters

Covered Appliances

  • Refrigerators
  • Dishwashers
  • Clothes Dryers
  • Clothes Washers
  • Ranges/Ovens/Cooktops
  • Built-in Microwave
  • Garage Door Openers
  • Garbage Disposal

Exclusions

For a full list of AFC Home Club exclusions, check out this page.

Contract & Price

Contract Details

Annual Premium
Starting at $395
Home Inspection Required for Contract?
No
Online Quote/Application

Contract & Price - 9 / 10

AFC Home Club’s base-level contract’s annual premiums begin at $395. In addition to a personalized quote calculator and sample contract being available on the website, a 30-day refund policy is guaranteed, as is a pro-rated version after that period. The sample contract provided here refers to AFC's Platinum plan, which is its most comprehensive coverage. To see the contracts for the other plans please visit the company website.

Sample Contract

AFC Home Club provides a sample contract for potential customers on its website: AFC Home Club Sample Contract

Cancellation Policy

The membership shall be non-cancelable by CRAST except for nonpayment of membership fees or diagnostic fees, when a customer threatens to harm or does harm a CRAST Agent, fraud or misrepresentation of facts by the client, or by agreement between company and client. There will be no refunds for memberships canceled due to non-payment. New members may cancel within the first 30 days of the order date for a full refund of the paid membership. After 30 days, the customer shall be entitled to a pro rata refund of the paid membership fee, less any claims paid or time used in membership by CRAST, and a $75.00 cancellation fee.

Claims & Service

Claims

Maintenance Records Required for Service?
Yes
24/7 Claims Department?
Waiting Period
30 days

Contractors & Service

Contractor Selection
Any Contractor

Claims & Service - 9.5 / 10

AFC Home Club's flat-rate service fee of $60 keeps them competitive with comparable companies in the industry. Its 30 day waiting period is fairly standard. AFC allows customers to work with out-of network contractors of thier choosing. However, they do have to be licensed, bonded and insured. AFC only requires maintenance on HVAC systems in the first year of the contact. Moreover, if a claim is filed before the 30-day waiting period has expired, the maximum payout amount is limited to $150.

AFC Home Club Reputation

Company Details

Year Founded
2009
NHSCA Membership
BBB Rating
B
BBB Rating
31
BBB Neutral Reviews
0
BBB Negative Reviews
22
Date Collected
2017-07-26

Reputation - 9.5 / 10

Even though AFC Home Club is not itself a member of the NHSCA, it has maintained accreditation by the Better Business Bureau since 2009. Its B rating is supported by 31 positive reviews and 22 negative reviews.

Contact & Additional Information

Homepage URL
Company Phone
(866) 242-0629
Headquarters Address
1337 Canton Rd STE B, Marietta, GA, 30066
Mailing Address
1337 Canton Rd STE B, Marietta, GA, 30066
Year Founded
2009

Leave a comment for America's 1st Choice Home Club Warranty
Minimum 2-3 sentences.
 No maximum length.
* What's Your Rating?
To make this comment as helpful as possible for our community, please provide at least 2 sentences.

93 Customer Comments & Reviews

Loading Reviews ...
O
Olga
San Jose, California
8/18/2017
My boyfriend and I have seven policies with AFC Home Club. When we submit a claim with them, the process is very smooth. They usually need the serial number of the unit, then they tell us if they are going to send a technician or if there is a fair price on the unit to be paid because they can pay off that price if it's an old unit. Their representatives were also very courteous on the phone. They send licensed and insured technicians who do their work but they need a larger base of vendors and contractors working for them. AFC is very prompt on payments, too and they've sent me a check twice to replace my unit. Overall, AFC is very good for homeowners. They are more convenient and... Read More

AFC C  
Official Response

Responder of America's 1st Choice Home Club Warranty
Olga, we appreciate you sharing your experience with us. We hold our individual relationships with each homeowner as our main priority and we are here for you anytime and are happy to be at your service. Thank you for your business!

R
Ren
Dallas, Texas
8/17/2017
This company is a waste of time and money. I have yet to use them because nothing is covered or they have strict stipulations. If a toilet is loose, it's usually caused by wear and tear right?. That is not covered with this company. I guess if there was an earthquake and it jarred to toilet loose, they would cover that. What a joke. Avoid this company like the plague

AFC C  
Official Response

Responder of America's 1st Choice Home Club Warranty
Ren, we apologize for your frustrations with us. We have our policies and guidelines to protect not just the homeowners, but our company as well. We try to take care of each individual homeowner as best we can with each particular need. Unfortunately, we are unable to satisfy every issue to the individuals liking. If you would like, please give us a call and speak with one of managers to resolve your issues, we want to help you.

J
Jen
New York, New York
8/8/2017
I did market research of various home warranty companies and I went with America’s 1st Choice. Submitting a claim with them was seamless and the claims representatives were very knowledgeable and professional. I had very good interactions with them.

AFC C  
Official Response

Responder of America's 1st Choice Home Club Warranty
Jen, thank you for your feed back. We take pride in servicing our homeowners as quickly and professionally as possible. We look forward to servicing you and being of service!

G
Gina
Dallas, Texas
8/8/2017
STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY. They are such a rip off. First of all they require a huge down payment (other home warranty companies does not). When my refrigerator stop working on a Saturday, I called them and received the answering service. They took a message and said that someone would return my call on Monday. Close to the end of business, no phone call, so I called again, another message. It took 3 days for someone to return my call. They sent no one out but said my refrigerator was old and that they would give me $150.00 for replacement cost. No one came out to even take a look at it. When my car was stolen so was my wallet, I had to cancel my credit cards. They were on... Read More

AFC C  
Official Response

Responder of America's 1st Choice Home Club Warranty
Gina, thank you so much for your feed back. Whether it be good or bad, we want to hear your opinion. The issues you have endured in dealing with our business is inexcusable and we want to make it up to you and try to resolve this. Please give us a call and you can speak with one of our managers immediately. Thank you for your honesty and hope we can come up with a resolution.

K
kristian s
Supply, North Carolina
7/24/2017
Greetings! I wanted to pay a compliment to Paul Jones for being knowledgeable and helpful in explaining the full process and plans with AFC. He explained how the home warranty worked if there was to be a claim. Paul made sure I understood the processes as well as what I needed to do to make sure I was covered when it came to my A/C or heating system. Paul was also able to tweak the Gold plan to my satisfaction giving me the exact coverage I needed. After speaking with him I felt much more comfortable about the home warranty I was purchasing.

AFC C  
Official Response

Responder of America's 1st Choice Home Club Warranty
Kristian, we are happy to hear about your great experience with one of our sales reps. We believe that customer service comes first. We want to provide knowledge of how our business works up front and go over policies and guidelines from the very beginning of the first call. We want our customers satisfied in their choice of choosing us in servicing you. Thank you for your post, we are here for you!

A
Anil
New Orleans, Louisiana
7/24/2017
This Company appears to be a rather dishonest fraudulent entity! In my readings of many of the Reviews regarding this Home Warranty company I was aghast with all of the terrible unethical thieving conniving machinations of this particular company that apparently many people all over the nation had experienced!


R
Rick
Antioch, Tennessee
7/20/2017
I bought a home warranty in May. In July my Ac system broke down. AFC had me get my own Ac service provider. They then refused to cover the repair. I have since had another problem with the same system and again they are refusing to pay. They also will not refund the money I have paid for the warranty. I would not buy this home warranty.


B
Bill D
Queen Creek, Arizona
7/18/2017
AFC handled our claim quickly and efficiently. The company that made the repair, Rhino Appliance Repair, did a great job. I was very impressed by the entire process.

AFC C  
Official Response

Responder of America's 1st Choice Home Club Warranty
Thank you, Bill for your post. We appreciate your business with us and look forward to continuing service with you.

A
Amber
Miami, Florida
7/18/2017
This is my first service call. It is related to a leaking problem in my toilet. It took less than 48 hours to get the work done. I am very satisfied with the customer service and work completed. Thank you for the quick service.

AFC C  
Official Response

Responder of America's 1st Choice Home Club Warranty
Amber, thank you for your post. Our main priority is keeping our homeowners satisfied. We believe in customer service and we are here to serve you to the best of our ability. Thank you for your business with us!

A
AP
Stafford, Virginia
7/18/2017
I am cancelling my contract after only 3 months of active coverage. I live in a new home that happened to encounter my first case, which was a problem with my 15 month old dishwasher. First, when I signed up for the warranty, I was told that I could use a repairman of my choice. All products are Sears, and the sales person said, "no problem". When I phoned for assistance, I was then told that the company doesn't work with Sears for technical service! Second, they sent a repairman of their choice who clearly knew nothing about the appliance. He gave me a diagnosis, then called in with a different diagnosis, according to the service rep. Coincidentally, the diagnosis that was called in... Read More



Top Rated
Our Partner
9.4 / 10
  • Award winning service
  • Save 10% on any plan
  • Dedicated account managers
  • Choose your own service technicians
  • Longest work guarantee
  • Unlimited number of repairs