Important Hurricane Maria Update from our Headquarters

America's 1st Choice Home Club Warranty Review

Rating: 9.4 / 10 (Excellent)
71 Customer Reviews - see all reviews
Disclosure: We receive advertising revenue from this partner. Learn more.
AFC Home Club is a Georgia-based company focused on providing home warranties to homeowners across the United States. They offer three different plans with varying levels of coverage for appliances and home systems. Additional coverage can be added easily, making them fully customizable. They are a BBB-accredited company with a B letter rating.

How is AFC Home Club rated?

Breakdown

10/10
Coverage
10/10
Reputation
9/10
Contract & Price
10/10
Claims & Service

Overall Rating: 9.4 / 10 (Excellent)

America’s First Choice Home Club is a home warranty company that falls right down the middle of the industry standard. Their uniform service benefit cap, especially, indicates that AFC is a company that aims to simplify what is normally a very complex service. Both their generally positive online reviews and their lower-cost, flat-rate service fee make them an excellent choice for a home warranty.

Coverage

Key Facts

Plan Types
Combo/Hybrid
Benefit Limit Type
Per Item
Typical Appliance Benefit Limit
$1,500
Typical Systems Benefit Limit
$1,500

Coverage - 9.5 / 10

AFC Home Club’s hybrid policies cover many of the same systems and appliances as its competitors. Notwithstanding the lack of included specialty items, a good benefit is their user friendly, every-item service cap of $1,500. AFC Home Club only covers issues that arise after they begin providing service.

What does AFC Home Club cover?

Covered Systems

  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Electrical
  • Plumbing
  • Water Heaters
  • Ductwork
  • Telephone Wiring

Covered Appliances

  • Refrigerators
  • Dishwashers
  • Clothes Dryers
  • Clothes Washers
  • Ranges/Ovens/Cooktops
  • Garage Door Openers
  • Garbage Disposal

Exclusions

For a full list of AFC Home Club exclusions, check out this page.

Contract & Price

Contract Details

Annual Premium
Starting at $440
Home Inspection Required for Contract?
No
Online Quote/Application

Contract & Price - 9 / 10

AFC Home Club’s base-level contract’s annual premiums begin on the higher side, at $440. In addition to a personalized quote calculator and sample contract being available on the website, a 30-day refund policy is guaranteed, as is a pro-rated version after that period.

Claims & Service

Claims

Maintenance Records Required for Service?
Yes
24/7 Claims Department?
Waiting Period
30 days

Contractors & Service

Contractor Selection
In-Network Only

Claims & Service - 9.5 / 10

AFC Home Club's flat-rate service fee of $60 keeps them competitive with comparable companies in the industry. Though its 30 day waiting period and in-network contractor exclusivity are fairly standard, this company also requires maintenance records as a prerequisite for service. Moreover, if a claim is filed before the 30-day waiting period has expired, the maximum payout amount is limited to $150.

Sample Contract

AFC Home Club provides a sample contract for potential customers on its website: AFC Home Club Sample Contract

Cancellation Policy

The membership shall be non-cancelable by CRAST except for nonpayment of membership fees or diagnostic fees, when a customer threatens to harm or does harm a CRAST Agent, fraud or misrepresentation of facts by the client, or by agreement between company and client. There will be no refunds for memberships canceled due to non-payment. New members may cancel within the first 30 days of the order date for a full refund of the paid membership. After 30 days, the customer shall be entitled to a pro rata refund of the paid membership fee, less any claims paid or time used in membership by CRAST, and a $75.00 cancellation fee.

AFC Home Club Reputation

Company Details

Year Founded
2009
NHSCA Membership
BBB Rating
B
BBB Rating
31
BBB Neutral Reviews
0
BBB Negative Reviews
22
Date Collected
2017-07-26

Reputation - 9.5 / 10

Even though AFC Home Club is not itself a member of the NHSCA, it has maintained accreditation by the Better Business Bureau since 2009. Its B rating is supported by 31 positive reviews and 22 negative reviews.

Contact & Additional Information

Homepage URL
Company Phone
(866) 242-0629
Headquarters Address
1337 Canton Rd STE B, Marietta, GA, 30066
Mailing Address
1337 Canton Rd STE B, Marietta, GA, 30066
Year Founded
2009

Top Rated
Our Partner
9.4 / 10
  • Award winning service
  • Save 10% on any plan
  • Dedicated account managers
  • Choose your own service technicians
  • Longest work guarantee
  • Unlimited number of repairs

Latest AFC Home Club Reviews

Loading Reviews ...
A
Abhay
Los Angeles, California

9/12/2017
America's First Choice Home Club had good reviews and they would let me use my own contractor, so I chose them over other providers. Dealing with their reps has been straight forward and I had no difficulties in submitting my claims with them. Also, the technicians who came out were capable people and I have no issues with their work.

AFC C  
Official Response

Responder of America's 1st Choice Home Club Warranty
Thank you, Abhay for your feed back. We appreciate your business with us and look forward in continuing to be at your service. Call us anytime, customer service is our highest priority!

S
Steve E
Palm Desert, California

9/11/2017
If you're thinking about buying a home warranty policy, and think that 'AFC Home Club' might be a good choice, think again! RUN, don't just walk away from these guys. (They've actually been described as the 'rattlesnakes of the home warranty business' by others in the trade, and they're so right!) I bought a policy with AFC and here's what I found out, and regretfully, found out too late. The small print in their convoluted contract clearly states the following : • They have a 'whopping' $1,500 maximum on each repair, and that makes little sense with their advertised 'repair or replace' program. If you need to replace an a/c for example, and if the broken or damaged item... Read More

AFC C  
Official Response

Responder of America's 1st Choice Home Club Warranty
Steve, we apologize that we were unable to meet your personal needs with your particular situation. We will have one of our managers reach out to you to resolve your issues.

M
Mike L
Moorpark, California

8/31/2017
These guys are terrible. They use all kinds of little caveats to avoid paying your claim and they also set what seem like arbitrary limits to how much they will pay. Do not use this Warranty Company!

AFC C  
Official Response

Responder of America's 1st Choice Home Club Warranty
Mike, we try our best to assist every homeowner with each of their individual needs as best as we can. We apologize that we were unable to succeed in pleasing you personally. We thank you for your business with us, feel free to call us anytime and we would be happy to resolve your frustrations.

M
Marilyn
Chantilly, Virginia

8/23/2017
I was looking for a new home warranty and AFC Home Club had recommendations in their website, so I got them. I have submitted a claim online and their website was very easy to use. It worked for me. I got a response in within 12 hours because I did it on a weekend. It was a hot water heater that went out, came back on, and then didn't work for a month. It is not an emergency. But if it is, I will call them. They answer on weekends but I'm not going to take advantage of that. So, it took a couple of days before I received a confirmation on who was coming out. The young man they sent out impressed me. He explained everything to me and walked me through the process. He stayed until it was... Read More

AFC C  
Official Response

Responder of America's 1st Choice Home Club Warranty
Marilyn, we are happy to hear that you have had such a great experience with us. We do our very best to get back to all of our homeowners as quickly and sufficiently as possible. Customer service is our highest priority, we are here for you anytime! Thank you for your business with us.

M
Marilyn
Chantilly, Virginia

8/23/2017
I was looking for a new home warranty and AFC Home Club had recommendations in their website, so I got them. I have submitted a claim online and their website was very easy to use. It worked for me. I got a response in within 12 hours because I did it on a weekend. It was a hot water heater that went out, came back on, and then didn't work for a month. It is not an emergency. But if it is, I will call them. They answer on weekends but I'm not going to take advantage of that. So, it took a couple of days before I received a confirmation on who was coming out. The young man they sent out impressed me. He explained everything to me and walked me through the process. He stayed until it was... Read More


M
Marilyn
Chantilly, Virginia

8/23/2017
I was looking for a new home warranty and AFC Home Club had recommendations in their website, so I got them. I have submitted a claim online and their website was very easy to use. It worked for me. I got a response in within 12 hours because I did it on a weekend. It was a hot water heater that went out, came back on, and then didn't work for a month. It is not an emergency. But if it is, I will call them. They answer on weekends but I'm not going to take advantage of that. So, it took a couple of days before I received a confirmation on who was coming out. The young man they sent out impressed me. He explained everything to me and walked me through the process. He stayed until it was... Read More


I
Rancho Cordova, California

8/18/2017
This has been a disaster since I purchased this 3 year coverage at $1250. I had a blocked drain line, which AFC refused to pay. Then I had a washing machine fail, and since repairs were $1000, AFC paid $180 for a new washer. AFC says the washer was purchased in 2009, so they depreciated the value of the washer. No replacement by AFC. I spent $1000 on the new washer, so I lost $820 even though I had a home warranty. Also AFC is located in Georgia, so if you call at 9pm PST, you will get an answering service. On both calls for service there is a 2 day delay for someone to come to your home. Get ready to wait, even with the drain, they waited 3 days to tell me that they would not pay.

AFC C  
Official Response

Responder of America's 1st Choice Home Club Warranty
Dear homeowner, we apologize that we were unable to satisfy your individual needs. We try our best to get back to each homeowner as soon as possible. If our service team fails in getting back in touch with you in a timely manner, we ask that you contact a manager so we can work out any issues. We want to be of service, please give us a call and we would like to resolve your frustrations.

M
Martin
Dallas, Texas

8/18/2017
I used to have a home warranty at my other house and my wife and I talked about it. It's a wonderful thing and it’s worth doing. One good repair pays the whole bill. The AFC salesman was very professional and I liked him a lot. The guy gave me a great deal, so I got them. The bearings on my washer were making a noise that sounded like a jet plane when it was on spin. AFC sent out this rinky-dink company and the guy didn't know what he was doing. I talked to three other people and they said I have to put the whole shaft in at once. I YouTubed it for the guy 'cause he didn't know how to do it. He took his time, but he got it done and the washer was quiet when he left. Three weeks later, it... Read More

AFC C  
Official Response

Responder of America's 1st Choice Home Club Warranty
Martin, thank you for your feed back. Here at AFC we try our best to meet the needs of every homeowner as quickly and as efficiently as possible. We appreciate your business with us and look forward to servicing you in any way we can!

O
Olga
San Jose, California

8/18/2017
My boyfriend and I have seven policies with AFC Home Club. When we submit a claim with them, the process is very smooth. They usually need the serial number of the unit, then they tell us if they are going to send a technician or if there is a fair price on the unit to be paid because they can pay off that price if it's an old unit. Their representatives were also very courteous on the phone. They send licensed and insured technicians who do their work but they need a larger base of vendors and contractors working for them. AFC is very prompt on payments, too and they've sent me a check twice to replace my unit. Overall, AFC is very good for homeowners. They are more convenient and... Read More

AFC C  
Official Response

Responder of America's 1st Choice Home Club Warranty
Olga, we appreciate you sharing your experience with us. We hold our individual relationships with each homeowner as our main priority and we are here for you anytime and are happy to be at your service. Thank you for your business!

R
Ren
Dallas, Texas

8/17/2017
This company is a waste of time and money. I have yet to use them because nothing is covered or they have strict stipulations. If a toilet is loose, it's usually caused by wear and tear right?. That is not covered with this company. I guess if there was an earthquake and it jarred to toilet loose, they would cover that. What a joke. Avoid this company like the plague

AFC C  
Official Response

Responder of America's 1st Choice Home Club Warranty
Ren, we apologize for your frustrations with us. We have our policies and guidelines to protect not just the homeowners, but our company as well. We try to take care of each individual homeowner as best we can with each particular need. Unfortunately, we are unable to satisfy every issue to the individuals liking. If you would like, please give us a call and speak with one of managers to resolve your issues, we want to help you.

Start your review for
America's 1st Choice Home Club Warranty