Banfield Pet Hospital Pet Insurance Review


Rating: 4.5 / 10 (Average)
26 Customer Reviews - see all reviews
Disclosure: We receive advertising revenue from some partners. Learn more.
How is Banfield Pet Hospital rated?
5/10
Coverage
4/10
Benefit Limits
7/10
Deductibles
4/10
Reimbursement Models
4/10
Claims and Service
4/10
Pricing
4/10
Reviews

Banfield Pet Hospital Overview

Banfield offers a more preventive approach to pet care. Rather than providing traditional pet insurance features, they offer proactive services and preventive treatments that are designed to maintain optimum pet health. Most pet insurance policies only provide coverage when you pet experiences an illness, but Banfield’s Optimum Wellness Plans give you services that are designed to diagnose, treat and prevent future medical conditions.

What’s included with Banfield Optimum Wellness Plans:

Unlimited free office visits
Routine vaccines
Comprehensive physical exams
Early screening for serious illnesses
Discounts on most Banfield products & services
Predictable, reasonable monthly payments
Convenient drop-offs, evening & weekend hours
Online access to your pet's health records

The Fine Print:

Plan services are provided at significant discounts under an annual agreement. Agreements may be cancelled at any time. However, under the monthly pay option, services may have been performed that have not been fully paid for. In this situation the client is responsible for the remaining payments on the plan, or the full retail value for services or discounts used under the plan less payments made (whichever is less).

 

The Bottom Line:

Banfield Pet Hospital’s Optimum Wellness Plan should not be confused with pet insurance. It does not offer coverage for unforeseen or abnormal medical conditions. What it offers is a set program of preventive or “wellness” treatments that maintain or enhance your pet’s health.

 

Start your review for Banfield Pet Hospital Pet Insurance

Latest Reviews

2.88
Based on customer reviews
26 Reviews
Loading Reviews ...
Jennifer T
Apopka, Florida
4/15/2017
After being checked in for his yearly wellness visit, the vet walked in, did not even glance at my dog, and immediately started selling me to renew the wellness plan for next year. I thought last year when it happened it was just a fluke, but apparently this is their business model. They do not care, at all, about your pet. They only care about roping you in for a guarantee of monthly payments for the next year. I felt like I was in front of a car salesman, not my pet's Doctor. A good salesman would have at least "pretended" to examine my dog before telling me what I need for next year. After all, it is included in my current PAID wellness plan.

Sophie P
4/6/2017
They're not ever there for you when you have a real emergency. My chihuahua broken her left front leg above the wrist area! Called them and they say go to another. Never can walk in like they advertise, and on top of that they will charge you a one time fee every time you pay it in full instead of paying every month. Look out for this clause, if your dog dies, no refunds, but if you're paying monthly. Get this you have to keep paying for the insurance, and is not transferable to a new dog or cat. This is the worst insurance anyone can by. I did it twice, but believe me, I will not do it again!!!! Yes, it has unlimited office visit, if you can get in for an appointment, otherwise, your... Read More

G
Glori C
Hialeah, Florida
4/1/2017
I feel that they are a big ripoff! I noticed prior to joining,how the staff was very warm and friendly towards me on my first visit with my puppy! After joining on my second visit ,it was totally different and the staffs attitude was no way the same as before! They were not friendly and less accommodating ! I was unhappy with the Dr.and after experiencing a incident with my puppy there who was only 2lbs and less then 15 wks old? I left and transferred to another clinic. After going to the new one all they kept on insisting for me to change my plan that would include neutering! I kept telling them he is still too young and I want to wait till he's a little older! Everytime i go there... Read More

Jeni
Iselin, New Jersey
3/23/2017
They raise the prices of absolutely every procedure/medication and then say you're getting a discount. The final price is still much higher than you'd pay at any other vet. They are good for wellness visits ONLY. If your pet is sick or needs treatment or medication they fully take advantage of you and expect more and more money. Your current plan never seems to be good enough and you're constantly being told you have to "upgrade" to the next plan, and the next, and the next. STAY AWAY unless you only need a wellness vet.

Michelle S
3/20/2017
Well after having a horrible Vet look at my pup and she went nuts when he touched her I wanted to cancel my insurance with them. Well that can't happen. It will coat me more to cancel that to keep it for the next 6 months. They get you coming and going. Even if I want my pups fixed Banfield wants 740.00 dollars when our local spay and neuter clinic is just 190.00 who is Banfield to ask for such high costs. I am sorry I did this program and will not do it ever again.

Cindy J
Fredericksburg, Virginia
2/16/2017
My 13 year old Basset Hound was diagnosed with Lymphoma a few weeks ago. We've taken her to Banfield the entire 13 years. Over the past few days she's gotten worse, having trouble breathing. When I called on Sunday, I was told there were no appointments available. I finally convinced them to see her. She was prescribed a cough medicine. It didn't help, so I called back on Tuesday. I was told that they'd see if the Vet needed to see her. I waited several hours for a call back and it didn't come. I called back again and was told we could come get a Prescription for another cough med. She continued to get worse, so I called them back yesterday. I was told there was only one Vet in and no... Read More

A
Adam R
1/30/2017
I had my pet on their ,"plan" for 5 years. Big waste of $ but I love my dog. When I started shopping around I found better plans for less $. The staff at the Banfield in Santa Cruz have been awesome. The corporation has not been so. I will get Happy Paws or Nationwide catastrophic ins. For less and it covers more of the stuff we might need, like catastrophic coverage. For a ,"Pet Hospital" they do have to ,"refer" a lot if services to other Vets. Which doesn't really qualify a business as a hospital. You can get better for less. Shop around.

E
Eltina
Stafford, Virginia
12/12/2016
My puppy was only seen by Banfield for over 10 years along with 3 hospital stays recommended by Banfield. Yet he was not diagnosed with diabetes until I asked about his excessive thirst If this happened to a human, he could lose their license.

Shirlie G
Discovery Bay, California
12/9/2016
They misdignosed my cat which ended up passing away. Now I'm stuck paying for 11 months of their wellness plan for a cat that is no longer here.

C
Chris
Saint Petersburg, Florida
12/8/2016
I took my cat in to banfield and the tech told me if my cat died tomorrow i could cancel. Well my cat died the following day and they keep harrassing me. I told them i am not paying for a scam and also what the tech told me. Rip off

Start your review for Banfield Pet Hospital Pet Insurance