Embrace Pet Insurance Review


Rating: 8.5 / 10 (Very good)
20 Customer Reviews - see all reviews
Disclosure: We receive advertising revenue from this partner. Learn more.
How is Embrace rated?
10/10
Coverage
7/10
Benefit Limits
8/10
Deductibles
10/10
Reimbursement Models
9/10
Claims and Service
7/10
Costs
8/10
Reviews

Why They're a Great Choice

Embrace pet insurance has an A+ rating with the BBB, and offers insurance plans for puppies, dogs, kittens and cats. We looked at their online reviews with several of the most popular review websites for the pet insurance industry and they consistently came out highly ranked. In addition, a third party article written by the Seattle Times also ranked Embrace highly because of their broad coverage, big ticket item coverage and faster payouts. Their optional wellness plan costs a bit extra, but can be used to pay for your routine checkups or even a spay/neuter surgery (up to a max of $200 or $400 per year). They have a reputation for ease of use and coverage that is truly "nose to tail."

 

What's Included with Embrace:

  • Accidents, illnesses, genetic conditions and even chronic conditions.
  • Wellness plans that will cover routine care or even spay/neuter surgery up to an annual max (either $200 or $400)
  • Maximum payouts from $5,000

Plan Details

 Type of contract

 12 months

 Enrollment age

 At least 6 weeks old, upper age limit for both cats and dogs is according to breed type

 Effective date

 Refer to declaration page

 Waiting period

 14 days after effective data

 Out of state coverage

 YES

 Claims and policy price

 NO increase in premiums due to claims made

 Age limit

Certain age restrictions apply during enrollment but there  are no age limits in terms of policy extensions

 Annual deductible

 $100, $200, $300, $500 and $1000

 Claim limit

 Plan dependent, Maximum lifetime payment $50,000

 

What does it cover?

Pets covered – Cats and Dogs

Baseline coverage

a. Illness

  • lab tests
  • diagnostic tests
  • treatments
  • surgery
  • hospitalization
  • medications (optional)

b. Accident and Injury

  • lab tests
  • diagnostic tests
  • treatments
  • surgery
  • hospitalization
  • medications (optional)

c. Pre-existing conditions

NOT covered

d. Congenital conditions

Covered as long as said condition was not present prior to the effective date of the policy.

e. Chronic conditions

Covered as long as said condition was not present prior to the effective date of the policy.

f. Cancer

Covered as long as said condition was not present prior to the effective date of the policy.

g. Wellness coverageCovered as plan add on

  • Vaccinations
  • Routing checkups
  • Dental care

Dental treatment is covered if caused by an accident

h. PregnancyNOT covered

i. Special coverage

  • Alternative therapy – if recommended and performed by a licensed veterinarian
  • Hip dysplasia - as long as said condition was not present prior to the effective date of the policy.

 

The Fine Print:

  • Embrace has age limitations on their policies. If your dog or cat is 6 or older you might not be eligible for certain coverage, but once your pet is covered it's for life.
  • They also offer drug coverage as an add-on, which is typically something you don't have to pay extra for. 

Final Sniff

Excellent customer service and coverage are just some of the great points that enable Embrace Pet Insurance to stand out from the crowd. Embrace offers highly customizable plans that cater to pet-specific needs and, of course, your budget. This makes it easier for pet parents to find a pet insurance plan and finally give their pets the coverage they need. Embrace comes 4th in our Best Pet Insurance reviews simply because it fails to provide the cover for older pets. 

The Bottom Line:

If you have a younger pet, Embrace is a fantastic choice!

Start your review for Embrace Pet Insurance

Latest Reviews

Loading Reviews ...
T
terrie rollins
12/19/2016
I got a policy 3 months ago and after 3 months they sent me a letter saying they would not cover certain things. After much time on the phone I cancelled my policy and ask for my money back. This was after they basically put me through hoops with extra things like orthopedic exams (that I paid for) and the vet said the dog was fine orthopedically. Beware of this company, while my dog is perfectly healthy now, my thought is they will find a reason not to pay if something were to ever come up.

L
lizskips
Olney, Maryland
12/14/2016
My dear canine companion has been insured by Embrace for 2 and a half years now, since she was 10 weeks old. With every claim, be it routine wellness or emergency, Embrace has responded fairly and quickly. I did extensive research prior to switching to Embrace from my former dog's insurance company. Embrace is by far the best with their coverage, their customer service and their response time. I highly recommend Embrace to everyone!

Kathy Ferry
Massillon, Ohio
12/14/2016
I would give you an excellent rating if it were not for your refusal to cover growths in the mouth. I dont understand this. If a vet says the growth needs removed and sent for histopath then i think it should be covered. I understand dental hygeine and broken teeth and things like that but removing something that could be cancer should be treated just as if it were on another part of the body. I like embrace but will continue to search for insurance that will cover things in the mouth.

Barbara Cipriano
,
12/1/2016
BEWARE! Only gave 1 star bc I couldn't give 0 (zero). This company is always ready to find an excuse to not pay. Undue stress with every claim. Extremely expensive monthly premiums (300.00 for two dogs) for the amount of aggravation you go through over EACH claim! Very slow in processing and they DON'T do their job. Say they send requests to vets but when you call the vet the vet tell you they were never contacted. Horrible customer service. Can never get a manager. Nothing but a constant argument. Horrible! Horrible! Horrible!

J
Judith S
Middleburg, Florida
11/19/2016
Embrace is the absolute best. They have literally saved my dog's life. He has polyneuropathy which is a death sentence for other dogs. They have covered not only his acupuncture but also his stem cell injections that my dog Leo gets from the University of Florida vet school. There is no question that without Embrace my dog would be dead. Not only that, but in my many years with them, they have never, at any time, given me any difficulties with covering a claim and have always been courteous and caring to deal with. I could not possibly recommend them more highly.

L
Laura Williams
11/8/2016
I purchased this insurance for my beloved boxer dog. He was diagnosed with a large cancer mass in his chest and given two to three days to live. I was heartbroken but now I am just angry. Embrace denied my claim because my dog had a skin tag in the past!!!!! Yep they said a skin tag is a pre existing condition of getting a cancer mass. DO NOT BUY THIS INSURANCE THEY WILL NOT PAY YOU!!!!

R
Rachel Simpson
Hubbard, Ohio
10/24/2016
I have had my border collie covered by Embrace since he was a puppy, and have been quite satisfied with the insurance. They have covered and paid many claims for him, including alternative therapies for various injuries (Chiropractic, laser therapy, massage). I have never had a problem with them.

L
Leah Toth
Richmond, Virginia
9/16/2016
Thinking about getting pet insurance through Embrace? Don't do it. They're the biggest scammers in the business. Yes, I read articles that recommended them, too. Don't believe them. I recently submitted a claim for diagnostic tests on my dog's potentially cancerous mouth tumor. Two very highly rated and trusted veterinarians said the mass needed to be tested (since something like 40% of dog mouth tumors are indeed cancerous). Both vets also recommended a tooth cleaning since the dog would be under anesthesia, anyway. I submitted my claim for the procedure, fully expecting to be reimbursed according to the terms of my policy--for the anesthesia, for the excision of the potentially... Read More

C
Courtney K
Cedar Falls, Iowa
9/8/2016
Embrace is great because of one thing. They offer wellness programs. You can chose how much you would like to spend for the year on your pet for vet services and grooming! Even if you purchase from PetSmart or a different vet they will cover the cost. Such awesome program to have my pet on.

M
M
8/10/2016
Do not use this insurance. I have had it for a year on four dogs of different ages. It is a really bad insurance. Their motto is protect the business of Embrace. They will not pay on anything. The number one reason is "FLATULENCE." They keep saying animals must not have any gas for a Full Year. We all know people cannot do this and to think an animal can is ridiculous. Sure you might only pay $15 or $20 a month but when nothing is covered it is a Waste of money. If I could give a negative star I would. It would accept this review without putting at least a star.

Start your review for Embrace Pet Insurance