Total Home Protection Home Warranty Review

Rating: 8.2 / 10 (Excellent)
77 Customer Reviews - see all comments
Disclosure: We receive advertising revenue from this partner. Learn more.
Total Home Protection is a home warranty company dedicated to providing comprehensive home warranty plans for a multitude of budgets. They have two different plans, with optional add-ons for fully customizable coverage. Coverage can be transferred to new homeowners easily in case of a move, with no additional fee.

How is Total Home Protection rated?

Breakdown

8/10
Coverage
8/10
Reputation
8/10
Contract & Price
8/10
Claims & Service

Overall Rating: 8.2 / 10 (Excellent)

Total Home Protection is quite a new company within the home warranty landscape, having been founded in 2016. Though most of the terms and conditions of their policies are fairly standard, their remarkable flat rate service fee of $60 is exceptionally generous. They have very little customer feedback, due to the youth of the company, but their eminently customizable plans can make them an excellent choice. We recommend that potential customers thoroughly read their contract.

Coverage

Key Facts

Plan Types
Combo Plan
Benefit Limit Type
Per Item
Unlimited
Typical Appliance Benefit Limit
$1,500
Typical Systems Benefit Limit
$1,500

Coverage - 8.2 / 10

Total Home Protection offers two types of plans: Gold and Platinum. Both of these have a series of optional add-ons, such as pools, spas, central vacuum, limited roof leaks, and septic systems, to name a few. Their comprehensive plans can therefore be expanded to suit every homeowner's needs. Coverage is guaranteed regardless of age, make, or model.

What does Total Home Protection cover?

Covered Systems

  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Electrical
  • Plumbing
  • Water Heaters
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Ductwork
  • Sump Pumps

Covered Appliances

  • Refrigerators
  • Dishwashers
  • Clothes Dryers
  • Clothes Washers
  • Ranges/Ovens/Cooktops
  • Built-in Microwave
  • Free-standing Ice Makers
  • Trash Compactors
  • Garage Door Openers
  • Garbage Disposal
  • Stand Alone Freezer
Display Less
1 More

Exclusions

For a full list of Total Home Protection exclusions, check out

Specialty Items

  • Pool/Spa
  • Well Pump
  • Septic
  • Roof Leaks

Contract & Price

Contract Details

Annual Premium
Starting at $499
Minimum Contract Length
13 month(s)
Home Inspection Required for Contract?
No
Online Quote/Application

Contract & Price - 8.2 / 10

Total Home Protection's annual premium is slightly on the high side, beginning at $499, for a contract whose minimum length is 13 months. However, they don't require a home inspection in order to instate coverage, and they do have a 30-day cancellation policy in place.

Sample Contract

Total Home Protection provides a sample contract for potential customers on its website: Total Home Protection Sample Contract

Cancellation Policy

You may cancel this Agreement within the first thirty (30) days of the order date for a full refund of the paid contract fees, less any service costs incurred by us. If this Agreement is canceled after thirty (30) days, you shall be entitled to a pro rata refund of the paid contract fee for the unexpired term, less a $50 administrative fee and any service costs incurred by us. If we have provided services and the amount of the service costs incurred by us is greater than the contract fees paid, then no refund will be due to you.

Claims & Service

Claims

Maintenance Records Required for Service?
Yes
24/7 Claims Department?
Waiting Period
30 days

Contractors & Service

Contractor Selection
In-Network Only
Service Recall Period
0 days

Claims & Service - 8.2 / 10

Total Home Protection's flat rate $60 service fee is exceptional within the home warranty business, which tend to work on a scale. Maintenance records are required for service, and contractors must be chosen from their in-house network, as is generally standard within the industry.

Total Home Protection Reputation

Company Details

Year Founded
2016
NHSCA Membership
BBB Rating
B+
BBB Rating
0
BBB Neutral Reviews
1
BBB Negative Reviews
0

Reputation - 8.2 / 10

Total Home Protection is not certified by the NHSCA, and there are very little customer-based reviews available online, perhaps due to the fact that they are a very new company, founded in 2016. They do, however, have a Better Business Bureau rating of B+, based on 1 neutral review.

Contact & Additional Information

Homepage URL
Company Phone
(800) 545-0402
Headquarters Address
325 Chestnut St #800, Philadelphia, PA, 19106
Mailing Address
300 McGaw Drive, 2nd Floor, Edison, NJ, 08837
Year Founded
2016

Our Partner
8.2 / 10
  • 24/7 Claims Service
  • Pre-Screened and Licensed Local Technicians
  • Coverage regardless of make, model or age
  • Monthly and Annual Plans
  • No claim limits
  • 1 Month Free With Purchase Of Any Single Payment Plan
  • Plans For As Low As $1 Per Day

Latest Total Home Protection Reviews

6.94
Based on77 Reviews fromTotal Home Protection customers
T
Tcantu
Houston, Texas

2/22/2018
Total Home Protection is the worst service stay away from this company. They do not cover a lot of general things like small leaks or toilet repairs. I found out the hard way paid for service that was horrible and still had problems. I was better off buying a new appliance then what I paid for the monthly fees and the services. You also have to sign yearly contract if you are unhappy with your service and had service calls they want to you pay that balance before they let you out of your contract. Total scam you may as well pay for the services your self. In addition, the customer service is the worst I spoke to a Nic Parker and he was completely rude and not allowing me to voice... Read More


D
Dianne P
Indianapolis, Indiana

2/13/2018
First they advertise 24/7 protection and on the week-ends you get an answering service. Our heat went out and the service did not even submit the claim. I had to call back on Monday. We then had the contractor out they hired and we were without heat for 10 days due to them. They were out twice. First on a Friday night where they could not get out heat going and then they charged us to come back on Saturday with more parts. On Saturday the contractors could not get our heat going. We live in Indiana and the temperatures were below zero at the time. We spent over $200 on electrical heaters to keep our home somewhat heated to 55 degrees for 10 days. We called out our own... Read More


Christopher T
Chapin, South Carolina

2/3/2018
Guys I left another Home Warranty to go this company for lower deductible...Think about it before you do this. There is no emergency service calls. I called Friday at 3pm to tell them my furnace blowing cold air, and temps will be in 20's tonight. They said check email? Saturday we call get answering service, who is selling services, and taking new claims ONLY. We asked for a supervisor, she go the supervisor who are 3rd party. They had no one to call, I said the contract says dispatch can call a tech if emergency, WHICH IS SAYS! They said they have no idea, they just a 3rd party WTF. What if pipes freeze tonight and bursts? They did not know if it would be covered... I hate to... Read More


M
mgloria175@gmail.com
Pueblo, Colorado

1/25/2018
some of the above information here is not right, My policy has a limit on certain systems and applicances of $500 not $1500 (described as typical above. . Unfortunately for some types of repeairs that is not adequate.


Liz A
Richmond, Kentucky

1/25/2018
Timothy was very kind and helpful. He knew the steps to help wth the plan I needed thank you


Pati L
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

1/24/2018
Good deals not pushy, salesperson helpful


Simon C
San Mateo, California

1/16/2018
Stay away from total home protection home warranty. This company is not reliable. I had a claim for drainage leaking in the bathroom but, they make up story saisd that the pipe was install improperly and rejected my claim. I have town house and inside was original build by the contractor. I believed total home protection people is lie. I asked them to send me the picture and reports but, they didn't. I hired license plumbing to check it. He said the pipe is normal installation. If you want to buy home insurance from this company, I hope you should re- considerate or you will regret. I highly do not recommend. Thanks for attention.


B
Bhima V
Fallbrook, California

1/12/2018
Henry Sullivan helped us with the policy. He was very open, knowledgeable, and answered all our questions. Waiting to hear from him on a few questions/ clarifications. Overall, the experience was good--hoping the service would be equally good, when we need to use the protection policy. Time will tell.


Jackie L
Bensalem, Pennsylvania

1/9/2018
Jesse Rogan was our representative and he was phenomenal! Answered all of our questions and concerns, very knowledgeable!


Guy W
Bentonville, Arkansas

1/2/2018
I work a lot of warranty company's and this one is the worst . I bought the part to fix one their air handlers in a home and they haven't paid me i get the runaround with them and the home owner is also disgusted with total home warranty


Phyllis C
Wallburg, North Carolina

11/17/2017
I have been with this company 11 months, and my first claim this week was my heater, which is an a apollo heater because I live in a condo. The person they sent out didn’t know how to work on this kind of unit, and he told them that, and they still wanted me to pay the service fee. I’ve been on the phone with them all this week trying to get this taken care of, infact, I’m on the phone with them now, waiting to see what they are going to do about it, all the while my condo is cold, I went out and purchased a space heater, which I shouldn’t have had to do. I’ve even given them the name of a company I worked with before when I was with another warranty company, they said they called them,... Read More


Shiwanda K
Ashburn, Virginia

10/31/2017
Left my other warranty company due to the ratings I saw for this one, HOWEVER, TRULY UPSETTING. My refrigerator went out at the beginning of August, not cooling. I called them and they got me a repair person who came out four times replacing the same part three time and getting no fix to finally calling them letting them know that the problem still exits and he's unable to fix it. They gave me another tech, who came out, wanted to replace the same piece the 1st repairman replaced and the cord, however, he never called them to tell them what he wanted to do. So they told me that they would schedule a 3rd person. Well that person called them saying they don't work on my type of... Read More


G
Guillermo
Riverside, California

9/28/2017
Called to get a quote and the guy was super pushy and super rude! They gave me the lowest quote but I still will not go with them. I hope that you guys train your workers better in the future. Let them know that if it wasn’t for customers like us they would not have jobs. I would give you a zero star if I could. Don’t waste your time with them


J
Juanita g
Commerce, Georgia

9/25/2017
I am writing this while I am waiting on line for total home protect so far it has been 10 minutes. They took $47.95 out of my account. I can't have a contract with them. I have discovered that a deduduction is made and a phone number is printed on my bank listing it is because it is questionable. The fact they are keeping me on hold tells me they are crooks. I have been on hold now for 13 minutes. I am hanging up now and will call my bank and the better business bureau.


A
Aaron
Brooklyn, New York

9/20/2017
Great service pleasant surprise they fixed my a/c right away I waited less then 5 hrs for a tech response and he came right away thanks totalhome shield keep up the good work


K
kim t
Fort Lee, New Jersey

9/19/2017
I had a problem with my hot water heater. I called them and in less than 7 minutes they had my claim activated and the next morning the repair man I gave him my $60 co pay he went in the basement took a look at the problem and said he would have to call up to get authorization for the parts that are needed and would come back....2 hours later he came back ...I was surprised that he was so quick I thought it would be a day or so....he made the repair in under 3 hours and cleaned up and threw out all the old parts....Im very happy about the way everything went ,I have to admit I was a little nervous about home warranties but this one really works!! Thanks Total Home Protection!!!


J
James W
Long Branch, New Jersey

9/14/2017
I live in Las Vegas it was a 100 degrees my AC unit broke I called in they sent tech out and it needed to be replaced they got me a unit and installed in within 48 hours... the sales team is very helpful and informative as well. GREAT COMPANY


R
Ryan L
Newark, New Jersey

9/14/2017
I have a Platinum plan with Total Home Protection. They were very prompt in getting me a Tech to fix my fridge when it was broken. All I had to do was pay my service call fee and they took care of everything else! The customer service, Claims and Techs were all really nice and I am very happy I chose them as my Home Warranty Company! Ryan Del Ray Beach, Florida


A
Antonio A
, Indiana

9/5/2017
This company is a joke, I called in a claim for my washer and at first they denied my claim saying it was preexisting, I ask the person how could this be when it just happened. Finally they got that straight and sent it over to the repair company(which I had to contact) and the person came out and said it is your motor and that he would sent the findings over to Total Home. After a few days of not hearing from anyone I called Total Home and they said the repair person needed to send the findings over and placed me on hold, after about 5 minutes they came back to tell me they would call me back in an hour, I waited for 2 hours and decided to call them back and at that time they told me... Read More


L
Larry S
Auburn, California

8/31/2017
I live in Navada county, and Total Home Protection does not have any real professional service repair people that are willing to work for them. That's one reason I would not recommend this company. We are still waiting for a reimbursement check from them. Several month now and they said the check in the mail.


Syeda H
Palos Verdes Estates, California

8/29/2017
month 1 into a 5 year policy and the first claim was denied


L
L R
Carmel, Indiana

8/28/2017
MARC COLEMAN FROM TOTAL HOME PROTECTION WAS GREAT. ANSWERED ALL MY QUESTIONS AND HIS CUSTOMER SERVICE WAS TOP KNOTCH!!! THANKS MARC!!!


Jonathan E
West Chester, Pennsylvania

8/24/2017
Marc Coleman was very helpful. He answered all my questions and I got a home warranty policy


Bernadeth O
Miami, Florida

8/23/2017
I m so desappointaded with total home protection. I have leaks in my apto and called them 5 times, nobody come to see the problem. I don't know what can I do.


D
debra j
Montgomery, Alabama

8/11/2017
I would not for any reason encourage anyone to use this company, they are terrible. I waited 4 days for them to send someone out because my air conditioner wasn't working. They only have 1 person in this area and he never responded despite numerous calls. I finally give up and called a local company myself.