Delta Dental Insurance Review


Rating: 9.7 / 10 (Excellent)
49 Customer Comments & Reviews - see all comments
Disclosure: We receive advertising revenue from some partners. 
Learn more.
Founded in 1945, Delta Dental is presently the largest dental benefits carrier in the nation. The company is a not-for-profit organization with some for-profit affiliates among its 39 independent member companies. Delta Dental services to more than 78 million people enrolled in over 129,000 groups across the nation, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico.

What is Delta Dental?

Delta Dental is the nation's leading dental insurance company, providing access to over 145,000 dentists at more than 292,000 office locations. The company also provides the best discounts, averaging 20.3% on all claims. Delta Dental has consistently built strong partnerships with dental insurance providers and dental professionals for over half a century.

What's Included with Delta Dental

Negotiated Fees. Delta Dental has worked with network dentists to lower the costs of their services. This means cheaper treatments and bigger savings for you. 

Balance billing is not allowed, because participating dentists agree to accept Delta Dental's fee and the patient co-payment or deductible (if applicable) as full payment.

There are no forms for you to fill out because participating dentists submit claims directly to Delta Dental.

Payments are made directly, no need to wait for reimbursement checks.

No deductible or calendar year maximum.

Set copayments so you know your out-of-pocket cost for each procedure.

Plan Reviewed 

Dental for Everyone Gold PPO

How much does it save you?

Year 1/ Year 2/ Year 3 

Preventive: 60%/ 80%/ 100% 

Basic: 50%/ 65%/ 80% 

Major: 0%, 30%, 50%

Premiums

Monthly/ Quarterly/ Annually

1 Member: $41.16/ $123.48/ $493.92

2 Members: $75.51/ $226.53/ $906.12

Family: $109.86/ $329.58/ $1,318.32

Annual Maximum

$1000 per person, per calendar year

Treatments Covered and Reimbursements

Covers Preventive, Basic and Major services. The amount of reimbursement increases with every year. However, there is no coverage for major services for the first year.

Summary

Delta Dental boasts the largest network of dentists and partner companies in the country. This makes it easy for you to find the best dental services in your area. Delta Dental is simply the best, which is why 60 million Americans make them their choice for dental insurance.


Leave a comment for Delta Dental Insurance
Minimum 2-3 sentences.
 No maximum length.
* What's Your Rating?
To make this comment as helpful as possible for our community, please provide at least 2 sentences.

49 Customer Comments & Reviews

Loading Reviews ...
M
Michael A
4/13/2016
Delta Dental sells programs that none of the dentists take. They provide long lists of available dentists only to find out that no one you would consider takes it. When asked for a detailed list of dentists that do take their insurance they say it isn't there job to provide a list and it is up to the patient to research each dentist for coverage. So buyer beware of Delta Dental.


J
Jessica
Albemarle, North Carolina
3/30/2016
I was a member of Delta Dental group plan for 13 years. After accepting a job in a different county, I decided to buy an individual plan through delta dental because I was so pleased with the service I had gotten through the group plan, I purchased plan A, which was the best option offered under the group plan. The plan was around $37.00 per month. THIS WAS A TERRIBLE MISTAKE!!! Last month I went in for a routine cleaning (I always just have my teeth cleaned, because I have never even had a cavity) and received a bill for $91.00. The insurance company only covered $20.00 of the bill. I have been paying $37.00 per month for almost a year, only to find out I could pay out of pocket... Read More


O
Omar B
West Palm Beach, Florida
1/12/2016
i chose this plan offer to me by marketplace in Florida, from the healthcare act, before december 15 of 2015, never, never once they have responded to my emails, phones call go to silence, no customer services, however i get bill for premiums all the time, i have not made a single lousy payment of $11, because i feel they will take my money never to hear from them again, this website is probably own by them , ;lots of meaningless words, total bs propaganda, the numbers don't mean nothing, unless i get customer service, dental insurance in this country are a big mafia to begin with, they charge premiums and pay for hardly anything, my last company made wait six month until i could find out... Read More


D
Deborah C
Ocala, Florida
11/16/2015
This insurance SOUNDS great - my employer switched from Guardian to Delta a couple of years ago, and they have many of the same selling points. Delta even has a higher max reimbursement rate than Guardian. HOWEVER, their "negotiated rates" are so high that you're getting almost no discount at all - you can get more from Guardian - my dentist charges about $30.00 more per crown (full price) than the Delta Dental negotiated amount. The Guardian allowed amount was HALF that.


K
KRISTI H
Lewisville, Texas
10/12/2015
RUN, RUN, RUN, RUN!!! Delta Dental is a horrible insurance. You can not choose any dentist you want, you have to go to an in network clinic who treats you like a cattle call. If you do decide to go out of network like they say. The insurance pays the patient, not the practice which makes it very confusing and complicated. They also do not send anything to the dentist that would help them fight the claim if they deny it. They want you as the consumer to do all the work, when let's be honest we wouldn't know what to do. They completely act like they are in it for the patient when they are only in it for themselves.


K
K. R
Ocala, Florida
8/20/2015
DONT DO IT. Each month my premium amount was either normal, double, or triple the amount. I always paid it regarding of the amount, thinking I was ahead.. I paid for 8 months worth (Only used 5 months so far) and they sent me a letter stating that I owe 3 times the amount (meaning 3 months worth, and I called to find out why and they inform me that my plan was deactivated a month ago (which by the way was before I had called a couple weeks ago to change my dentist on my account) ..... how does that makes sense? Basicallly, its a SCAM, they sent me a letter wanting more money and it didnt even say that my account was deactivated.. what the heck? Oh and dont think its just me.. my boyfriends... Read More


O
Odessa B
Denver, Colorado
7/9/2015
This is a horrible insurance, company that just cares about the money they make off of you! Make sure their is nothing wrong with your teeth before you sign up, because it take a year for them to cover anything! So far I have had them for 6 months and have payed them $291.36 and I was told I have a 1 year waiting period to have them cover my wisdom teeth removal. OK. Well can I have a refund on the $291.36 I've payed and NEVER USED... I was inform NO and I can not cancel. SO this Delta Dental is steeling $582.72 before I can leave there them and not help me at all. Horrible company, you are better off just paying out of pocket.


K
KKelly
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
2/21/2015
quality of in network dentists is poor


J
John H
Georgetown, Texas
2/4/2015
Delta Dental has a "five year" rule limiting coverage for replacement of partials. It paid to have my front teeth removed but refused to pay for the pictured partial because it replaced an earlier one that was for the #14 left rear tooth only. When one of the front teeth to which the earlier one was attached had to be removed, Delta Dental invoked the "five year" rule to refuse payment. Buyer beware!



Top Rated
Our Partner
9.8 / 10
  • Unlimited Use
  • Pre-Existing Conditions Included in Plan Savings
  • Plans Start at $99/Year for Discounted Rates on Dental Procedures
  • 100,000+ Dental Access Points Nationwide
  • A+ Grade with the BBB
  • Voted #1 in Ethics by Dallas Morning News
  • Discount Dental Plan (Not Insurance)