Delta Dental Insurance Review


Rating: 9.7 / 10 (Excellent)
49 Customer Comments & Reviews - see all comments
Disclosure: We receive advertising revenue from some partners. 
Learn more.
Founded in 1945, Delta Dental is presently the largest dental benefits carrier in the nation. The company is a not-for-profit organization with some for-profit affiliates among its 39 independent member companies. Delta Dental services to more than 78 million people enrolled in over 129,000 groups across the nation, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico.

What is Delta Dental?

Delta Dental is the nation's leading dental insurance company, providing access to over 145,000 dentists at more than 292,000 office locations. The company also provides the best discounts, averaging 20.3% on all claims. Delta Dental has consistently built strong partnerships with dental insurance providers and dental professionals for over half a century.

What's Included with Delta Dental

Negotiated Fees. Delta Dental has worked with network dentists to lower the costs of their services. This means cheaper treatments and bigger savings for you. 

Balance billing is not allowed, because participating dentists agree to accept Delta Dental's fee and the patient co-payment or deductible (if applicable) as full payment.

There are no forms for you to fill out because participating dentists submit claims directly to Delta Dental.

Payments are made directly, no need to wait for reimbursement checks.

No deductible or calendar year maximum.

Set copayments so you know your out-of-pocket cost for each procedure.

Plan Reviewed 

Dental for Everyone Gold PPO

How much does it save you?

Year 1/ Year 2/ Year 3 

Preventive: 60%/ 80%/ 100% 

Basic: 50%/ 65%/ 80% 

Major: 0%, 30%, 50%

Premiums

Monthly/ Quarterly/ Annually

1 Member: $41.16/ $123.48/ $493.92

2 Members: $75.51/ $226.53/ $906.12

Family: $109.86/ $329.58/ $1,318.32

Annual Maximum

$1000 per person, per calendar year

Treatments Covered and Reimbursements

Covers Preventive, Basic and Major services. The amount of reimbursement increases with every year. However, there is no coverage for major services for the first year.

Summary

Delta Dental boasts the largest network of dentists and partner companies in the country. This makes it easy for you to find the best dental services in your area. Delta Dental is simply the best, which is why 60 million Americans make them their choice for dental insurance.


Leave a comment for Delta Dental Insurance
Minimum 2-3 sentences.
 No maximum length.
* What's Your Rating?
To make this comment as helpful as possible for our community, please provide at least 2 sentences.

49 Customer Comments & Reviews

Loading Reviews ...
L
Luke A
Groves, Texas
11/3/2016
I was very dissatisfied with the service of delta dental. The service provider in the preferred network could not perform the work that i needed done for my dentures. I was referred to a prosthodontics from the service provider to perform the necessary work. Delta dental would not cover or assist me in the financial part of my procedure , after i have been paying into this insurance for a while, in which they could not perform the necessary work. Please check your coverage and make sure that delta dental is covering your procedures and work to be done. Very dissatisfied senior on a fixed income.


T
treasure
Charlotte, North Carolina
11/2/2016
Customer service ain't shit. Can never speak with a supervisor/manager. They ask for your information and a superviser will call you back in 48 hours even if it's an emergency situation,they never call back. What a joke!!!


C
Cindi
Denver, Colorado
10/31/2016
I had to sign up again for Delta Dental in 2016 as they dropped the plan I had been on for several years (the current plan is more expensive with less coverage). I submitted my application three times and talked with several employees on the phone but I still didn't have coverage after three months. They finally gave my family coverage, and then in the next month, told my dentist that only I was insured and not my family (even though I had registered and paid for family coverage). After a few more months of complete frustration with the inability of anyone at Delta Dental to effectively do anything, I dropped their coverage by paying for my bank to block any further monthly payments... Read More


Tirsa D
Blossburg, Pennsylvania
10/19/2016
Worst company ever! Please listen to my review and save yourself money and time. I've had this insurance for only two months and it has been a nightmare. They are so unorganized. First they say you need a procedure done. Then we get it done, then they don't want to pay for it. My husband needs a bridge done on his front teeth. They said to have his front tooth pulled. So we did. Then, they come up with some excuse to not cover it and want us to pay $2,000. I've tried appealing it, and they refuse to call me back. It's now been two months and my husband still has no front tooth. I've called them every hour, leaving messages every time, for the past week. Every person I talk to has a... Read More


G
Gayle W
Sterling Heights, Michigan
10/12/2016
Delta Dental is the worst! They will tell your dentist that they will pay, then will refuse payment and you'll get stuck with the bill. Do not purchase this insurance!!!!


T
toothless
, Washington
9/14/2016
Paid only half of claim. Without explanation, said they would repay rest of claim iin installments over 18 months! Outrageous


R
rob w
Phoenix, Arizona
7/26/2016
Delta took one year premium from me, and ommitted that there is a new, 1 year wait period. Do the math on that one. I was totally burned by Delta Dental. They stole over $500 that I did not have to lose. Steer clear of these crooks. Pay cash, not an executive's yacht payment. Delta Dental, I hope your teeth fall out.


T
Tess A
Arlington, Virginia
7/19/2016
I was fine in the first few month with Delta till I realized it takes monthly payments on certain day of month instead of giving choices to it's customers n if you make late payments Delta decides to drop your benefit.


R
Robert L
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
6/29/2016
Insurance companies that try to find ways to not pay claims, transfer costs to providers and insureds, claim to not be practicing dentistry while effectively doing exactly that when they dictate the method and manner in which procedures like fillings are done by the dental providers, are not quality. This is my experience with this provider. Delta Dental does not act in the best interests of their insureds. Rather they act in their own self interest to the detriment of the people they claim to cover.


E
Elena
Scranton, Pennsylvania
6/8/2016
I have had this insurance for a few months and finally decided to make an appointment only to find out they assigned me to a dentist that is 30-40 minutes away. I went online to find a closer dentist and there is no one in my city who accept it. I found one in another city about 10 minutes away so I switched and now I have to wait a month in order to use the insurance. I am still paying the monthly bill but I have to wait another month to use it is ridiculous. Why is it no one in my area accept this insurance? Hmmm



Top Rated
Our Partner
9.8 / 10
  • Unlimited Use
  • Pre-Existing Conditions Included in Plan Savings
  • Plans Start at $99/Year for Discounted Rates on Dental Procedures
  • 100,000+ Dental Access Points Nationwide
  • A+ Grade with the BBB
  • Voted #1 in Ethics by Dallas Morning News
  • Discount Dental Plan (Not Insurance)