GreatCall Medical Alert Review


Rating: 8.7 / 10 (Very good)
18 Customer Reviews - see all reviews
Disclosure: We receive advertising revenue from this partner. Learn more.
How is GreatCall rated?
8/10
Equipment & Features
9/10
Coverage
7/10
Maintenance & Repairs
10/10
Monitoring Services
9/10
Service Agreements
10/10
Cost
8/10
Reviews

Why They’re a Good Choice

GreatCall offers a truly mobile solution to people searching for medical alert services. Using GPS technology, their alert system can pinpoint a user's exact location no matter where they are and instantly inform professionally trained response teams. This is a leap in progress from standard medical alert systems with limited ranges.

 

 

What’s included with the new Lively Alert from GreatCall

Fully mobile system – frees you from the confines of your home, no effective range limits.

Highly-flexible – The medical alert device can be attached to keychains, purses, backpacks, etc.

Fall Detection – Automatically detects a fall and gets help.

GPS Location Tracking – Stores frequent locations and has advanced locating features.

IAED Certified Response Agents – Agents are fully trained in CPR and other emergency care treatments.

24/7 Response – Includes the ability to speak to a nurse or doctor and get common prescriptions.

Multi-lingual Support – Ability to provide transcription support for over 100 languages.

GreatCall Link Compatible – Launch the app over your smartphone and get instant information on your loved one’s location.

**Stores important medical information for easy access during a medical emergency

Fine Print

No contracts or installation fee

Starts at$19.99/month

Free Shipping

No cancellation fees

The Bottom Line

GreatCall is a capable service that provides good value for the money. A basic cost of $19.99 a month with no installation fee or contracts makes enrolling in this medical alert service truly attractive. The key feature is its GPS location service which makes it possible for seniors to move more freely and live a more independent lifestyle. The ability to locate our loved ones with the use of an app, gives us that extra assurance and peace of mind that help will always be available during an emergency. 

Start your review for GreatCall Medical Alert

Latest Reviews

Loading Reviews ...
A
Alice Kitterman
Washington, District of Columbia
1/15/2017
My sister recently ordered a lively wearable from GreatCall, because she had had a stroke. I did the preliminary research into this product and because it is rated on this site, I thought it would be trustworthy. I thought that this product suited my sister the best, as she is not elderly and is very active. Furthermore, I was attracted by the fact that she did not need to hook this up to a landline, and that we as family members could download an app on our phones which would alert us if she called 5-Star emergency services. From the beginning, we experienced numerous problems with the device and the system. When she tried to set up the test calls and test out the app with her son's... Read More

B
Bob
Phoenix, Arizona
1/5/2017
We have had 4 different Lively devices, one did not work after activation. My biggest complaint is the GPS location does not work! At times the 5 Star Agent could identify my location but a majority of the time the information is 20 minutes to several hours old. If you are driving and have an emergency you cannot count on this device. Cancelling my service with GreatCall!

J
Janell Melvin
1/3/2017
Tried Great Call for approximately 1 year. Had to return the system 4 times due to battery not holding charge. Cancelled service....read reviews and found that this is a common problem.

Carol Tennant
Ottawa, Ontario
12/23/2016
Got this system for my father especially for the fall detection and no land line required. Well, he fell and no response was detected from Great Call, (also have an aunt in another city with the same problem). I called Great Call and was on the phone about three hours over a course of 2-3 weeks. There was an error on their end with the internet provider which Great Call neglected to inform their clients about this issue. I requested another unit as I felt this unit was not working as it should be. Great Call refused to send out another unit, told me to get up early the next day and call their support team again!!! Needless to say that was the end of our business with Great Call!! I do not... Read More

S
Shirley Case
12/14/2016
It has been great for me. I am 81 live alone and I feel so secure. I have the fall detector and have set it off a couple of times by laying it down a little hard I guess. I love mine.

G
Gina
Saginaw, Michigan
12/13/2016
Avoid this company at all cost. This was a disaster from the beginning. First they charged us for and shipped three devices. Then after a very long wait to activate it on the phone (online did not work), I was disconnected THREE different times. We were never able to get the bracelet working and even returning all three of them has been a nightmare we are still trying to get through. The customer service is not helpful, the company clearly has no idea what they are doing. I would not put the safety of a loved one in this company's hands.

D
[email protected]
12/8/2016
To anyone considering getting a remote assistance device for an elderly or handicapped loved one PLEASE DO NOT GET THE GREATCALL LIVELY DEVICE. After the first two stopped working and the third one arrived and would not hold a charge, all of a sudden customer service just didn't give a crap anymore and did nothing to remedy the problem. The first two stopped working completely after a little while and the last one would not hold a charge longer than 12 hours. Please feel free to forward this post, as this service is not dependable for caring for your loved ones.

D
D.O.
Tacoma, Washington
12/4/2016
I've had GC for a number of years & 3 devices. GC called 911 on 12/3/16 & the emergency service FD showed up at my house while I was miles away & had NOT pushed the help button. I'm now reviewing other sources,for possible replacement for Great Call.

Sandy Carter Frye
11/26/2016
I am rating the Device itself 4 Stars. The review follows. I loved this until the battery charger lasted approx . 18 mos. and I called and asked to buy another one but was told they don't sell them you have to buy a whole new Greatcall Outfit. I didn't like that, thought it should last much longer than that. Liked the Device itself though. When I bought it, it was $13.99 a mo. several months later they raised my monthly to $22.99 a mo.

M
Me
10/17/2016
I have not had much success in getting the device to work for my Mother. First we had to wait a week for a bug fix to be implement so it could connect to my Mothers phone. Then after a few days a critical low battery alert came and we had to replace the battery. After replacing the battery the unit would no longer work and had to be replaced. After getting the unit replaced it the new one stopped communicating and can no longer connect to the phone. There are way to many issues with this device to use it. It was gotten to help protect my Mom and notify us in case of issues. We will be replacing ASAP. As a side note the people you deal with on the phone are always extremely helpful... Read More

Start your review for GreatCall Medical Alert