GreatCall Medical Alert Review


Rating: 8.9 / 10 (Excellent)
35 Customer Comments & Reviews - see all comments
Disclosure: We receive advertising revenue from this partner. 
Learn more.
GreatCall is a medical alert provider that is based in California. Formed in 2006, this company’s alerts are GPS-centric and fully mobile, with the option of phone application integration. At GreatCall, there is no hardware or service radius. For a monthly fee, GreatCall provides several service-level features, including fall detection and 24 hour response.

How is GreatCall rated?

Breakdown

8/10
Equipment
10/10
Monitoring
10/10
Contract & Price
8/10
Reputation

Overall Rating: 8.9 / 10 (Excellent)

With its exclusive reliance on mobile GPS infrastructure, GreatCall limits its user base to those that live in areas where this technology is commonplace. Within this demographic subset, mobile GPS medical alerts are best for those who still maintain active, on-the-go lifestyles. GreatCall’s low cost is extremely reasonable, and a great reason to give their product a try.

GreatCall Equipment

Equipment - 8 / 10

Since mobile GPS is their sole insfrastructure GreatCall's medical alert system are dependent on those who have access to such networks. That said, its automatic fall detection and product replacement guarantee help keep the company competitive.
System Types
Mobile/GPS
Help Button Option
Necklace
Wristband

Key Features

Wearable 2-Way Communication
Waterproof Help Button
Automatic Fall Detection
Supports Multiple Help Buttons

Additional Info

Equipment Warranty
Product Replacement guarantee. GreatCall replaces devices when it is stolen, lost or broken.

Monitoring

Monitoring - 9.7 / 10

GreatCall's professional monitoring services are operational 24 hours a day, seven days a week. For both emergency and non-emergency dispatches, they are prepared for any event that may arise.
Monitoring Options
Professionally Monitored
Services
24/7 Monitoring
Emergency Dispatch
Non-Emergency Dispatch

Contract & Price: How much does GreatCall cost?

Contract & Price - 10 / 10

Although fees are required for additional persons to be monitored, at $19.99, GreatCall offers an industry-low starting price point for its mobile GPS services.

Starting Prices

Mobile/GPS
$19.99
Free Monitoring for Additional Person

Contract & Fees

Contract Required?
No
Equipment Fees
$49.99
Cancellation Policy
No cancellation fees. Activation fee, first month service charge, cost of device, applicable taxes are refunded within 30 days of date of purchase.

GreatCall Reputation

Reputation - 8 / 10

Despite its unfortunately large number of negative reviews, GreatCall is accredited by the Better Business Bureau with an A+ rating. With a lack of corroborating endorsements or ratings from other sites, there is little to indicate GreatCall’s standing within the medical alert industry.

Additional Ratings

BBB Rating
A+
BBB Postive Reviews
3
BBB Neutral Reviews
3
BBB Negative Reviews
45
Date Collected
2017-08-17

Contact & Additional Information

Homepage URL
Headquarters Address
10935 Vista Sorrento Pkwy #200, San Diego, CA, 92130
Mailing Address
10935 Vista Sorrento Pkwy #200, San Diego, CA, 92130
Year Founded
2005

Leave a comment for GreatCall Medical Alert
Minimum 2-3 sentences.
 No maximum length.
* What's Your Rating?
To make this comment as helpful as possible for our community, please provide at least 2 sentences.

35 Customer Comments & Reviews

Loading Reviews ...
J
Jerry L
Oxnard, California
1/15/2018
Jerry Lucero I bought a great Call I like the size but i put in my pocket and the glass broke no one would replace the glass. I many cell phone over 30 years and never had a front glass break. all i could was dump it, and take the loss.


J
Jim
Manassas, Virginia
12/7/2017
Your device did not work ! Very frustrating to me and my 96 year old mother. After replacing the device 2 times we were informed after talking to 3 supervisors that if the device is used near large bodies of water. The device will continue to look for a signal and wear the battery down. We sent the devices in early September 2017 and have not been reimbursed. I am now on my third call to the Service center and on hold for 20 minutes. If you live near any body of water, do not waste your time.


M
m
Newport News, Virginia
10/26/2017
We chose the Lively because of battery life and smart phone app options, like being notified when greatcall was contacted and being able to locate my mother via GPS. She had one unit active for less than a week before it started having problems. We were told that every time the battery was changed, the app would need to be reinstalled on her phone and everything would need to be set up again. How many seniors using this device can do this?? Once we received the second unit, it worked for less than 2 days! We could not change the battery and I will be sending it back.


T
Ted
Bennington, Nebraska
8/28/2017
Will not take voicemails. Was sent a second phone, it still will not accept voicemails. Everything set up properly, incoming calls ring six times then nothing, phone goes dead! Not a good phone for dementia patient, too confusing for senior citizen. Just has bigger numbers!


F
Frances R
Mesa, Arizona
8/23/2017
I have had the old version for a number of years and have used it once. Was so pleased with the response. I have stepped on it a couple of times by accident and still such a quick response. Was so excited to get the wearable as I was wearing the old one on my wrist and it was heavy and not very attractive but cannot stand the ones around your neck. I realize some folks do not have a smart phone so that may be their best option. And the cost if half the price per month. thanks for coming up with an alternative. Fances Rang Chenoweth.


Delon F
Rochester, Indiana
8/19/2017
Great idea. In use is questionable. We just took a 3 day trip out of state,yet the weekly report shows we were out and about for 19 hours. Wife wears it every day yet it usually reports less than 6 days use. It is on the charger EVERY night for at least 8 hours yet a couple times a month it turns off from low battery after about 11-12 hours of being on.


L
LEIGH H
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
8/11/2017
I got a Great Call and a Jitterbug phone at same time. I did not know you could buy the phone at Best Buy. Wish I had as this one has never worked and the terrible Cust Service will not take it back. The button next to the bed was fine but it blinks all night and keeps me awake. When I called CS they said it needs to prove its working??? Then CS is almost impossible to reach and when you do they are not very helpful. No necklace came with the button so if I fall in living room what then so I called and they sent me a lanyard that had no connection to the button Another call and they sent something to attach to button and my engineer son could not do it. Another call and a part was sent... Read More


M
Mercedes G
Miami, Florida
7/26/2017
The Lively will not hold a charge and spends most of the time on the charger. The Splash was much, much better but when I tried to switch back to it from the Lively I was informed that it was no longer available. It is only supported if you had a Splash and never "upgraded?" to the Lively.


AnnaMarie P
Bath, New York
7/10/2017
Does not stay connected to my phone.


T
Tiffany B
Pinckney, Michigan
6/22/2017
My Mother-in-law had a greatcall. Battery life on the unit sucks, 12 hours or less. What good does the unit do if it has to be on the charger 50% of the time, NONE. Thats what happened when she fell a few days ago, greatcall was on the charger because she had forgotten to charge the night before. Thank God she was able to get up and to a phone. We are Switching!!!



Our Partner
8.9 / 10
  • Starts as Low as $19.99/mo
  • Unlimited Range with GPS Technology
  • Mobile, Waterproof, 1-button Medical Alert
  • Free shipping, No landline required
  • No Contracts or Installation Fees
  • Fall Detection and Device Replacement
  • Use Promo Code: GCJB010 after you input your credit card at the very end for 10% off!