GreatCall Medical Alert Review


Rating: 8.9 / 10 (Excellent)
37 Customer Comments & Reviews - see all comments
Disclosure: We receive advertising revenue from this partner. 
Learn more.
GreatCall is a medical alert provider that is based in California. Formed in 2006, this company’s alerts are GPS-centric and fully mobile, with the option of phone application integration. At GreatCall, there is no hardware or service radius. For a monthly fee, GreatCall provides several service-level features, including fall detection and 24 hour response.

How is GreatCall rated?

Breakdown

8/10
Equipment
10/10
Monitoring
10/10
Contract & Price
8/10
Reputation

Overall Rating: 8.9 / 10 (Excellent)

With its exclusive reliance on mobile GPS infrastructure, GreatCall limits its user base to those that live in areas where this technology is commonplace. Within this demographic subset, mobile GPS medical alerts are best for those who still maintain active, on-the-go lifestyles. GreatCall’s low cost is extremely reasonable, and a great reason to give their product a try.

GreatCall Equipment

Equipment - 8 / 10

Since mobile GPS is their sole insfrastructure GreatCall's medical alert system are dependent on those who have access to such networks. That said, its automatic fall detection and product replacement guarantee help keep the company competitive.
System Types
Mobile/GPS
Help Button Option
Necklace
Wristband

Key Features

Wearable 2-Way Communication
Waterproof Help Button
Automatic Fall Detection
Supports Multiple Help Buttons

Additional Info

Equipment Warranty
Product Replacement guarantee. GreatCall replaces devices when it is stolen, lost or broken.

Monitoring

Monitoring - 9.7 / 10

GreatCall's professional monitoring services are operational 24 hours a day, seven days a week. For both emergency and non-emergency dispatches, they are prepared for any event that may arise.
Monitoring Options
Professionally Monitored
Services
24/7 Monitoring
Emergency Dispatch
Non-Emergency Dispatch

Contract & Price: How much does GreatCall cost?

Contract & Price - 10 / 10

Although fees are required for additional persons to be monitored, at $19.99, GreatCall offers an industry-low starting price point for its mobile GPS services.

Starting Prices

Mobile/GPS
$19.99
Free Monitoring for Additional Person

Contract & Fees

Contract Required?
No
Equipment Fees
$49.99
Cancellation Policy
No cancellation fees. Activation fee, first month service charge, cost of device, applicable taxes are refunded within 30 days of date of purchase.

GreatCall Reputation

Reputation - 8 / 10

Despite its unfortunately large number of negative reviews, GreatCall is accredited by the Better Business Bureau with an A+ rating. With a lack of corroborating endorsements or ratings from other sites, there is little to indicate GreatCall’s standing within the medical alert industry.

Additional Ratings

BBB Rating
A+
BBB Postive Reviews
3
BBB Neutral Reviews
3
BBB Negative Reviews
45
Date Collected
2017-08-17

Contact & Additional Information

Homepage URL
Headquarters Address
10935 Vista Sorrento Pkwy #200, San Diego, CA, 92130
Mailing Address
10935 Vista Sorrento Pkwy #200, San Diego, CA, 92130
Year Founded
2005

Leave a comment for GreatCall Medical Alert
Minimum 2-3 sentences.
 No maximum length.
* What's Your Rating?
To make this comment as helpful as possible for our community, please provide at least 2 sentences.

37 Customer Comments & Reviews

Loading Reviews ...
J
Janell M
Petaluma, California
1/3/2017
Tried Great Call for approximately 1 year. Had to return the system 4 times due to battery not holding charge. Cancelled service....read reviews and found that this is a common problem.


Carol T
Santa Barbara, California
12/22/2016
Got this system for my father especially for the fall detection and no land line required. Well, he fell and no response was detected from Great Call, (also have an aunt in another city with the same problem). I called Great Call and was on the phone about three hours over a course of 2-3 weeks. There was an error on their end with the internet provider which Great Call neglected to inform their clients about this issue. I requested another unit as I felt this unit was not working as it should be. Great Call refused to send out another unit, told me to get up early the next day and call their support team again!!! Needless to say that was the end of our business with Great Call!! I do not... Read More


S
Shirley C
McKinney, Texas
12/14/2016
It has been great for me. I am 81 live alone and I feel so secure. I have the fall detector and have set it off a couple of times by laying it down a little hard I guess. I love mine.


C
Carol W
Forest, Virginia
12/14/2016
I purchased two units and both were defective. When I called to activate the second unit I was on hold for more than 30 minutes, then a recording came on and said they were now closed. I called back the next morning and discovered the charger was defective. They said they were aware of the design flaw and would mail a new one. I didn't have time for this because I live out of state and was leaving town. They told me to return the unit where I purchased it and 21 days later they would return my activation fee! I spent a lot of time and energy trying to get this for my mother. Nothing was accomplished. I would NEVER recommend this company!


G
Gina
Monroe, Michigan
12/13/2016
Avoid this company at all cost. This was a disaster from the beginning. First they charged us for and shipped three devices. Then after a very long wait to activate it on the phone (online did not work), I was disconnected THREE different times. We were never able to get the bracelet working and even returning all three of them has been a nightmare we are still trying to get through. The customer service is not helpful, the company clearly has no idea what they are doing. I would not put the safety of a loved one in this company's hands.


D
dougholman315@yahoo.com
Henderson, Nevada
12/7/2016
To anyone considering getting a remote assistance device for an elderly or handicapped loved one PLEASE DO NOT GET THE GREATCALL LIVELY DEVICE. After the first two stopped working and the third one arrived and would not hold a charge, all of a sudden customer service just didn't give a crap anymore and did nothing to remedy the problem. The first two stopped working completely after a little while and the last one would not hold a charge longer than 12 hours. Please feel free to forward this post, as this service is not dependable for caring for your loved ones.


D
D.O.
Tacoma, Washington
12/4/2016
I've had GC for a number of years & 3 devices. GC called 911 on 12/3/16 & the emergency service FD showed up at my house while I was miles away & had NOT pushed the help button. I'm now reviewing other sources,for possible replacement for Great Call.


Sandy C
Dearborn Heights, Michigan
11/26/2016
I am rating the Device itself 4 Stars. The review follows. I loved this until the battery charger lasted approx . 18 mos. and I called and asked to buy another one but was told they don't sell them you have to buy a whole new Greatcall Outfit. I didn't like that, thought it should last much longer than that. Liked the Device itself though. When I bought it, it was $13.99 a mo. several months later they raised my monthly to $22.99 a mo.


M
Me
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
10/17/2016
I have not had much success in getting the device to work for my Mother. First we had to wait a week for a bug fix to be implement so it could connect to my Mothers phone. Then after a few days a critical low battery alert came and we had to replace the battery. After replacing the battery the unit would no longer work and had to be replaced. After getting the unit replaced it the new one stopped communicating and can no longer connect to the phone. There are way to many issues with this device to use it. It was gotten to help protect my Mom and notify us in case of issues. We will be replacing ASAP. As a side note the people you deal with on the phone are always extremely helpful... Read More


Jussta
Oceanside, California
10/13/2016
I had the worst experience with Great Call. I ordered it after our local Channel 7 NBC News featured Great Call receiving a million dollar grant to give 100 Alzheimer's patients a free Lively Alert device I am a major fall risk and thought the Fall alert would be perfect for me. Instead, I discovered the device constantly needed to be charged and I would receive an alert that the Fall Risk was 'shutting down'. Even though it was not revealed that the device needed to be charged overnight (which was a terrible problem since most falls do occur at night. I would charge the device overnight, put the device on with the lanyard and within two hours or less, the device would turn RED... Read More



Our Partner
8.9 / 10
  • Special February Offer: 25% Off All Products!
  • Starts as Low as $19.99/mo
  • Unlimited Range with GPS Technology
  • Mobile, Waterproof, 1-button Medical Alert
  • Free shipping, No landline required
  • No Contracts or Installation Fees
  • Fall Detection and Device Replacement