GreatCall Medical Alert Review


Rating: 8.9 / 10 (Excellent)
37 Customer Comments & Reviews - see all comments
Disclosure: We receive advertising revenue from this partner. 
Learn more.
GreatCall is a medical alert provider that is based in California. Formed in 2006, this company’s alerts are GPS-centric and fully mobile, with the option of phone application integration. At GreatCall, there is no hardware or service radius. For a monthly fee, GreatCall provides several service-level features, including fall detection and 24 hour response.

How is GreatCall rated?

Breakdown

8/10
Equipment
10/10
Monitoring
10/10
Contract & Price
8/10
Reputation

Overall Rating: 8.9 / 10 (Excellent)

With its exclusive reliance on mobile GPS infrastructure, GreatCall limits its user base to those that live in areas where this technology is commonplace. Within this demographic subset, mobile GPS medical alerts are best for those who still maintain active, on-the-go lifestyles. GreatCall’s low cost is extremely reasonable, and a great reason to give their product a try.

GreatCall Equipment

Equipment - 8 / 10

Since mobile GPS is their sole insfrastructure GreatCall's medical alert system are dependent on those who have access to such networks. That said, its automatic fall detection and product replacement guarantee help keep the company competitive.
System Types
Mobile/GPS
Help Button Option
Necklace
Wristband

Key Features

Wearable 2-Way Communication
Waterproof Help Button
Automatic Fall Detection
Supports Multiple Help Buttons

Additional Info

Equipment Warranty
Product Replacement guarantee. GreatCall replaces devices when it is stolen, lost or broken.

Monitoring

Monitoring - 9.7 / 10

GreatCall's professional monitoring services are operational 24 hours a day, seven days a week. For both emergency and non-emergency dispatches, they are prepared for any event that may arise.
Monitoring Options
Professionally Monitored
Services
24/7 Monitoring
Emergency Dispatch
Non-Emergency Dispatch

Contract & Price: How much does GreatCall cost?

Contract & Price - 10 / 10

Although fees are required for additional persons to be monitored, at $19.99, GreatCall offers an industry-low starting price point for its mobile GPS services.

Starting Prices

Mobile/GPS
$19.99
Free Monitoring for Additional Person

Contract & Fees

Contract Required?
No
Equipment Fees
$49.99
Cancellation Policy
No cancellation fees. Activation fee, first month service charge, cost of device, applicable taxes are refunded within 30 days of date of purchase.

GreatCall Reputation

Reputation - 8 / 10

Despite its unfortunately large number of negative reviews, GreatCall is accredited by the Better Business Bureau with an A+ rating. With a lack of corroborating endorsements or ratings from other sites, there is little to indicate GreatCall’s standing within the medical alert industry.

Additional Ratings

BBB Rating
A+
BBB Postive Reviews
3
BBB Neutral Reviews
3
BBB Negative Reviews
45
Date Collected
2017-08-17

Disclaimers


Contact & Additional Information

Homepage URL
Headquarters Address
10935 Vista Sorrento Pkwy #200, San Diego, CA, 92130
Mailing Address
10935 Vista Sorrento Pkwy #200, San Diego, CA, 92130
Year Founded
2005

Leave a comment for GreatCall Medical Alert
Minimum 12 words.
 No maximum length.
* What's Your Rating?
To make this comment as helpful as possible for our community, please provide at least 2 sentences.

37 Customer Comments & Reviews

Loading Reviews ...
AnnaMarie P
Bath, New York
7/10/2017
Does not stay connected to my phone.


T
Tiffany B
Whitmore Lake, Michigan
6/22/2017
My Mother-in-law had a greatcall. Battery life on the unit sucks, 12 hours or less. What good does the unit do if it has to be on the charger 50% of the time, NONE. Thats what happened when she fell a few days ago, greatcall was on the charger because she had forgotten to charge the night before. Thank God she was able to get up and to a phone. We are Switching!!!


James O
Bedford, Texas
6/16/2017
My Boss Mark is 90. He loves the mobility it offers. Excellent choice if you're a Senior


Lynn Z
Loveland, Colorado
4/25/2017
Poor service! Thought equipment was working until trying to use it, not even working! False sense of security!! Bought brand new equipment and they said there equipment was malfunctioning! Wanted to ship another one for 24.99! Dont use this company!


Hank B
Broomall, Pennsylvania
4/7/2017
Battery life is about 7-8 hours. Even had them send a second set and had the same problem. Don't buy this product.


A
Angie
, Missouri
4/1/2017
After quite a bit of research, we decided to get a Lively Wearable for my husband after a fall caused by a diabetic low last winter. When we received it, we received the wrong color. I contacted customer service and they said they'd ship the right 1 with a return shipping label. When we received the 2nd 1, they sent the big, boxy 1, not a Wearable, and there was no return shipping label. I contacted costumer service, again, and they apologized and said they'd send the right 1 and make sure we received a return shipping label. We finally received the correct device the 3rd time around, and received the return shipping label to return the 2 incorrect devices. We thought things were... Read More


D
Dee S
Palmyra, Virginia
2/7/2017
I called Greatcall for a gold lifeline for my mother-in-law who is 86 years old and has some serious medical issues. The first one arrived as promised but when we got it set up and activated we found out the next day that there was an issue with it. I called customer service and spent an hour with the technician trying to figure out what was wrong. She finally agreed that we needed to replace it. I received the second one within the next 6 days and had it activated the evening of 2/6/17. Everything seemed to be fine. I stopped into check on her this afternoon and found that it was not working. I called customer service once again and was transferred to a technician. After trying many... Read More


J
Janell M
Petaluma, California
1/27/2017
I had to return 4 medical alert devices because they wouldn't hold a charge. When the 5th one failed, I cancelled the service.


A
Alice K
Alexandria, Virginia
1/15/2017
My sister recently ordered a lively wearable from GreatCall, because she had had a stroke. I did the preliminary research into this product and because it is rated on this site, I thought it would be trustworthy. I thought that this product suited my sister the best, as she is not elderly and is very active. Furthermore, I was attracted by the fact that she did not need to hook this up to a landline, and that we as family members could download an app on our phones which would alert us if she called 5-Star emergency services. From the beginning, we experienced numerous problems with the device and the system. When she tried to set up the test calls and test out the app with her son's... Read More


B
Bob
Phoenix, Arizona
1/4/2017
We have had 4 different Lively devices, one did not work after activation. My biggest complaint is the GPS location does not work! At times the 5 Star Agent could identify my location but a majority of the time the information is 20 minutes to several hours old. If you are driving and have an emergency you cannot count on this device. Cancelling my service with GreatCall!



Our Partner
8.9 / 10
  • 25% Off for Mother's Day
  • Fully-mobile, waterproof, single-unit w/GPS
  • Goes everywhere with you
  • No landline, no installation needed
  • Cellular coverage on most reliable network
  • Self-managed, US-based service and monitoring centers
  • Fastest agent response time, in any emergency situation
  • Automatic fall detection service available
  • Free shipping, no contract & no cancellation fees
  • A+ Rating with Better Business Bureau