Delta Dental Insurance Review


Rating: 9.7 / 10 (Excellent)
49 Customer Comments & Reviews - see all comments
Disclosure: We receive advertising revenue from some partners. 
Learn more.
Founded in 1945, Delta Dental is presently the largest dental benefits carrier in the nation. The company is a not-for-profit organization with some for-profit affiliates among its 39 independent member companies. Delta Dental services to more than 78 million people enrolled in over 129,000 groups across the nation, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico.

What is Delta Dental?

Delta Dental is the nation's leading dental insurance company, providing access to over 145,000 dentists at more than 292,000 office locations. The company also provides the best discounts, averaging 20.3% on all claims. Delta Dental has consistently built strong partnerships with dental insurance providers and dental professionals for over half a century.

What's Included with Delta Dental

Negotiated Fees. Delta Dental has worked with network dentists to lower the costs of their services. This means cheaper treatments and bigger savings for you. 

Balance billing is not allowed, because participating dentists agree to accept Delta Dental's fee and the patient co-payment or deductible (if applicable) as full payment.

There are no forms for you to fill out because participating dentists submit claims directly to Delta Dental.

Payments are made directly, no need to wait for reimbursement checks.

No deductible or calendar year maximum.

Set copayments so you know your out-of-pocket cost for each procedure.

Plan Reviewed 

Dental for Everyone Gold PPO

How much does it save you?

Year 1/ Year 2/ Year 3 

Preventive: 60%/ 80%/ 100% 

Basic: 50%/ 65%/ 80% 

Major: 0%, 30%, 50%

Premiums

Monthly/ Quarterly/ Annually

1 Member: $41.16/ $123.48/ $493.92

2 Members: $75.51/ $226.53/ $906.12

Family: $109.86/ $329.58/ $1,318.32

Annual Maximum

$1000 per person, per calendar year

Treatments Covered and Reimbursements

Covers Preventive, Basic and Major services. The amount of reimbursement increases with every year. However, there is no coverage for major services for the first year.

Summary

Delta Dental boasts the largest network of dentists and partner companies in the country. This makes it easy for you to find the best dental services in your area. Delta Dental is simply the best, which is why 60 million Americans make them their choice for dental insurance.


Leave a comment for Delta Dental Insurance
Minimum 2-3 sentences.
 No maximum length.
* What's Your Rating?
To make this comment as helpful as possible for our community, please provide at least 2 sentences.

49 Customer Comments & Reviews

Loading Reviews ...
D
Denise
Edgewater, Florida
2/7/2018
You say right here "What's Included with Delta Dental" "No deductible or calendar year maximum" and then further down you say "Annual Maximum $1000 per person, per calendar year" Can you please explain what that means?


K
kim
San Francisco, California
2/5/2018
the covered cali version of this insurance is a joke. you pay and cant get in to see dentists. they're also a mess administratively. don't do it.


C
ChesterV
Plano, Texas
2/3/2018
HORRIBLE company!!! Liars, cheats, frauds, unethical, and corrupt! They sent me BILLS for BASIC SERVICES that ALL other dental insurance companies cover 80%-100%!!!! I took these bills to my dentists billing department and was told I was being SCAMMED into paying this money to them, as the procedures were COVERED and already paid for except one. And this one procedure, I was told, is something ALL dentists do and it is ALWAYS written off as most insurance companies don't pay for it, but its something that dentists have to put on the bill anyway because of the laws in this country. The billing people told me that this had already been written off when the bill was sent to... Read More


A
Annette
San Bernardino, California
2/1/2018
Your have the absolute WORST customer service I have ever seen!!! My time is valuable and I don't appreciate being put on hold for 40 minutes, a girl finally picks up the line and tells me she has to transfer my call to someone who can help me! I have now been holding for almost an hour! Don't you think its time to put your customers first and hire more help, or would you rather give poor customer service? I would give you a minus if I could. I am reconsidering my insurance with you guys!


Paul R
Fort Worth, Texas
1/26/2018
When you get their insurance it's inexpensive. However their customer service is TERRIBLE!!!. I tried to renew for 2018 on their website but they had a problem and it wouldn't renew. I called in and spoke to a lady and she told it was all taken care of. When 2018 and I went to the site it said Effective Date: 01/01/2018 End Date: 01/01/2018. I tried to call back but was ON HOLD FOR OVER AN HOUR. I called back and finally got hold of a lady she then said wrong department and transferred me where again I was on hold for 30 minutes. Pathetic!!!


L
LSMPGH
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1/19/2018
RIDICULOUS WAIT TIMES FOR CUSTOMER SERVICE 40 minutes and ticking right now.


J
John J
Silver Spring, Maryland
1/16/2018
Delta Dental is a complete mess, no customer service, applications ignored, 2 hours hold times is normal, horrible, shady coverage practices, dishonest employees, no accountability, info provided on their official website contradicts what you actually end up with.


M
margie
Groveton, New Hampshire
1/9/2018
getting dental insurance with delta was a mistake they didn't cover much of the crown I needed, had to borrow the money to pay off the bill. Dentist wanted the money when he was finished. Trying to look for someone who will pay more of procedures and any of the bill encored.


A
Angela
Fairborn, Ohio
1/3/2018
How is it that you can say there is no calendar year maximum in one paragraph and then in the following paragraph say that there is $1000 annual maximum per calendar year?


M
Matt
Lenexa, Kansas
12/16/2017
Beware of Delta Dental when it comes to exams/cleanings. Their fine print only allows one of these per six months rather than two per calendar year, like every other insurance company in the universe. I was not aware of this and had an exam/cleaning appointment five and half months after my last one, and Delta is leaving me with the bill due to the aforementioned policy. Talk about a company still in the stone ages. I would recommend looking elsewhere for your dental needs as they seem to have the hardest time providing fair coverage for the simplest procedure.



Top Rated
Our Partner
9.8 / 10
  • Unlimited Use
  • Pre-Existing Conditions Included in Plan Savings
  • Plans Start at $99/Year for Discounted Rates on Dental Procedures
  • 100,000+ Dental Access Points Nationwide
  • A+ Grade with the BBB
  • Voted #1 in Ethics by Dallas Morning News
  • Discount Dental Plan (Not Insurance)