🇵🇷 Important Hurricane Maria Update from our Headquarters

Delta Dental Insurance Review


Rating: 9.7 / 10 (Excellent)
36 Customer Reviews - see all reviews
Disclosure: We receive advertising revenue from some partners.
 Learn more.
Founded in 1945, Delta Dental is presently the largest dental benefits carrier in the nation. The company is a not-for-profit organization with some for-profit affiliates among its 39 independent member companies. Delta Dental services to more than 78 million people enrolled in over 129,000 groups across the nation, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico.

What is Delta Dental?

Delta Dental is the nation's leading dental insurance company, providing access to over 145,000 dentists at more than 292,000 office locations. The company also provides the best discounts, averaging 20.3% on all claims. Delta Dental has consistently built strong partnerships with dental insurance providers and dental professionals for over half a century.

What's Included with Delta Dental

Negotiated Fees. Delta Dental has worked with network dentists to lower the costs of their services. This means cheaper treatments and bigger savings for you. 

Balance billing is not allowed, because participating dentists agree to accept Delta Dental's fee and the patient co-payment or deductible (if applicable) as full payment.

There are no forms for you to fill out because participating dentists submit claims directly to Delta Dental.

Payments are made directly, no need to wait for reimbursement checks.

No deductible or calendar year maximum.

Set copayments so you know your out-of-pocket cost for each procedure.

Plan Reviewed 

Dental for Everyone Gold PPO

How much does it save you?

Year 1/ Year 2/ Year 3 

Preventive: 60%/ 80%/ 100% 

Basic: 50%/ 65%/ 80% 

Major: 0%, 30%, 50%

Premiums

Monthly/ Quarterly/ Annually

1 Member: $41.16/ $123.48/ $493.92

2 Members: $75.51/ $226.53/ $906.12

Family: $109.86/ $329.58/ $1,318.32

Annual Maximum

$1000 per person, per calendar year

Treatments Covered and Reimbursements

Covers Preventive, Basic and Major services. The amount of reimbursement increases with every year. However, there is no coverage for major services for the first year.

Summary

Delta Dental boasts the largest network of dentists and partner companies in the country. This makes it easy for you to find the best dental services in your area. Delta Dental is simply the best, which is why 60 million Americans make them their choice for dental insurance.


Latest Delta Dental Reviews

Loading Reviews ...
A
alison r
Walnut Creek, California

10/16/2017
Delta Dental allows for $2,000 of service per year which doesn't cover any claim. I needed dental implants and they cost for two over $12,000 and Delta Dental covered less than $400 over two years. I have paid out of pocket for cleaning and all of my dental care for the last two years as well as most of the implant cost.


Dennis G
Seguin, Texas

8/23/2017
I have paid in almost $4,00 in premiums to Delta Insurance in the previous 5 years. I have as yet to use their services. I have a tooth ache and cannot obtain services without an ID card which is lost or misplaced. I have tried for over 3 days to acquire this card using messaging over the internet. The initial response was that they would respond to my message in 3 - 5 days! The response was: "Thank you for contacting Delta Dental. Please make sure you are at www.deltadentalins.com. To print out ID cards you will log into your online account. Once you have logged in you will click on My ID Card on the left hand side. That will bring up a window with your ID card and you will... Read More


A
Alice J
Hartley, Iowa

8/10/2017
I have had Delta Dental Ins. for years and they will NOT pay hardly anything. they always have an excuse or their reason why...I recently had a filling that cost $155. and they paid $20.96. Yearly I pay them $445. I do not get 20% of that back. and their customer service is rude... I am cancelling........


Pat P

7/11/2017
We have had them for years but lately they don't pay for anything. We are seniors so we wanted a policy that would cover some of the costs. So far they have not paid any of them


Dave S
Walnut Creek, California

6/2/2017
I've had Delta Dental for many years and they've always processed my claims quickly and accurately.


D
dkn
Glendale, Arizona

5/22/2017
Delta Dental is the worst dental insurance I have come across. Will not cover many basic/routine procedures despite the dentist's strong recommendation. Even some procedures which were approved on day of service, were denied on submission of paperwork. Customer service is unfriendly and horrible. We are stuck with them for the whole year, but never ever will come back to them.


J
Jill
South Gate, California

4/13/2017
I've been attempting to cancel my deceased father's policy for well over a month. Four emails, via their website, to which I've yet to receive a response. I've made several phone calls, each time receiving the assurance that it would be taken care of. I've also fulfilled three requests for a copy of my father's death certificate. It's just sad and disgusting that they would put anyone through this. Oh, and when they do reimburse me for the payment (in full) that I made using MY credit card, it'll be via check made payable to my deceased dad. Thanks Delta Dental for making a terrible situation that much worse.


D
Damien
Alameda, California

3/14/2017
Poor customer service horrible billing. Was assigned a dental provider with no communication, they added my spouse to my billing with no authorization and then suspended my access to benefits as I didn't pay the bill for my spouse. Has taken months to fix with no help from them or any remedies. Go elsewhere!


M
Mike m
Los Angeles, California

3/14/2017
Delta Dental received and kept insurance payments for three years. I discovered that my policy had been cancelled the entire time. The company returned the money in response to my inapquiry, aided by a state agency. Now Delta Dental will reinsure me if I pay back the money they collected after they cancelled my policy. Look on Yelp and see customer ratings. This seems t me to be a dishonest and manipulative company. They do not deserve any stars. They deserve governmental investigation. How many other people are giving money, but not receiving coverage?


D
Diana
Nampa, Idaho

2/22/2017
My husband and I purchased the "Clear Plan" from Delta Dental. It was/is anything but clear. Even the dental offices I have been to are confused to say the least about this plan. Never have we received by email or US mail any information on what this plan really covers. They make you go to their web site and try to maneuver through all the legalese. When I tried to get explanations from the office in Idaho the people I speak with have a chip on their shoulder even before I state my concern. Not all the blame is put on Delta Dental I would also say that the insurance agent we purchased the policy through didn't understand the the limitations of the policy, and there are quite a few. Next... Read More


Start your review for
Delta Dental Insurance

Top Rated
Our Partner
9.8 / 10
  • Unlimited Use
  • Pre-Existing Conditions Included in Plan Savings
  • Plans Start at $99/Year for Discounted Rates on Dental Procedures
  • 100,000+ Dental Access Points Nationwide
  • A+ Grade with the BBB
  • Voted #1 in Ethics by Dallas Morning News
  • Discount Dental Plan (Not Insurance)