Delta Dental Insurance Review


Rating: 9.7 / 10 (Excellent)
31 Customer Reviews - see all reviews
Disclosure: We receive advertising revenue from this partner. Learn more.
How is Delta Dental rated?
9/10
Coverage
9/10
Benefit Limits
10/10
Plan Options
10/10
Customer Service
10/10
Cost
10/10
Reviews

What is Delta Dental?

Delta Dental is the nation's leading dental insurance company, providing access to over 145,000 dentists at more than 292,000 office locations. The company also provides the best discounts, averaging 20.3% on all claims. Delta Dental has consistently built strong partnerships with dental insurance providers and dental professionals for over half a century.

What's Included with Delta Dental

Negotiated Fees. Delta Dental has worked with network dentists to lower the costs of their services. This means cheaper treatments and bigger savings for you. 

Balance billing is not allowed, because participating dentists agree to accept Delta Dental's fee and the patient co-payment or deductible (if applicable) as full payment.

There are no forms for you to fill out because participating dentists submit claims directly to Delta Dental.

Payments are made directly, no need to wait for reimbursement checks.

No deductible or calendar year maximum.

Set copayments so you know your out-of-pocket cost for each procedure.

Plan Reviewed 

Dental for Everyone Gold PPO

How much does it save you?

Year 1/ Year 2/ Year 3 

Preventive: 60%/ 80%/ 100% 

Basic: 50%/ 65%/ 80% 

Major: 0%, 30%, 50%

Premiums

Monthly/ Quarterly/ Annually

1 Member: $41.16/ $123.48/ $493.92

2 Members: $75.51/ $226.53/ $906.12

Family: $109.86/ $329.58/ $1,318.32

Annual Maximum

$1000 per person, per calendar year

Treatments Covered and Reimbursements

Covers Preventive, Basic and Major services. The amount of reimbursement increases with every year. However, there is no coverage for major services for the first year.

Summary

Delta Dental boasts the largest network of dentists and partner companies in the country. This makes it easy for you to find the best dental services in your area. Delta Dental is simply the best, which is why 60 million Americans make them their choice for dental insurance.

Start your review for Delta Dental Insurance

Latest Reviews

Loading Reviews ...
Jill
4/13/2017
I've been attempting to cancel my deceased father's policy for well over a month. Four emails, via their website, to which I've yet to receive a response. I've made several phone calls, each time receiving the assurance that it would be taken care of. I've also fulfilled three requests for a copy of my father's death certificate. It's just sad and disgusting that they would put anyone through this. Oh, and when they do reimburse me for the payment (in full) that I made using MY credit card, it'll be via check made payable to my deceased dad. Thanks Delta Dental for making a terrible situation that much worse.

D
Damien
Alameda, California
3/14/2017
Poor customer service horrible billing. Was assigned a dental provider with no communication, they added my spouse to my billing with no authorization and then suspended my access to benefits as I didn't pay the bill for my spouse. Has taken months to fix with no help from them or any remedies. Go elsewhere!

M
Mike m
3/14/2017
Delta Dental received and kept insurance payments for three years. I discovered that my policy had been cancelled the entire time. The company returned the money in response to my inapquiry, aided by a state agency. Now Delta Dental will reinsure me if I pay back the money they collected after they cancelled my policy. Look on Yelp and see customer ratings. This seems t me to be a dishonest and manipulative company. They do not deserve any stars. They deserve governmental investigation. How many other people are giving money, but not receiving coverage?

D
Diana
Boise, Idaho
2/22/2017
My husband and I purchased the "Clear Plan" from Delta Dental. It was/is anything but clear. Even the dental offices I have been to are confused to say the least about this plan. Never have we received by email or US mail any information on what this plan really covers. They make you go to their web site and try to maneuver through all the legalese. When I tried to get explanations from the office in Idaho the people I speak with have a chip on their shoulder even before I state my concern. Not all the blame is put on Delta Dental I would also say that the insurance agent we purchased the policy through didn't understand the the limitations of the policy, and there are quite a few. Next... Read More

Sam W
Annandale, Virginia
2/21/2017
Delta Dental has been scamming me since August 2014 by withdrawing $37.00 from my account each month. I have never used DD insurance in my entire life! I paid in full with my credit card for dental services and presented Delta Dental with proof from my CC statement. The withdrawal JUST showed up on my bank statements. I've called "customer service" over 10 times and each representative gives me a different story. They won't return my phone calls and they won't respond to my emails. SCAM!

Pily M
Miami, Florida
2/21/2017
I called two different customer service number for delta dental and I have not been able to speak to an actual person. The “service” is frustrating, giving just basic information and no option to speak to a representative. I have not been able to retrieve/change by provider. We are now approaching the end of the first quarter of 2017 and I still haven’t been able to get the service. Moreover, I also sent a message through the website’s “customer service section” more than a week ago I have not even gotten one reply. The website crashes often and does not show any information about my provider or even lets me do anything about it.This is unacceptable. I should not have to be going through... Read More

Chrisie J
Beaumont, Texas
2/7/2017
This is the absolute worst insurance I have ever purchased!! I have been waiting 5 months for them to pay a bill. I get the run around EVERYTIME I call. The customer service department is unknowledgeable and rude. Don't waste your money!!

M
Molly
12/29/2016
They have been with holding claim reimbursement from my kids dentist even though we pay on time... my husband and I both have delta dental and they are claiming that only one of us has custody... disgusting ... presumptive nasty nasty humans at the helm. We both have the same address and live in the same house and have had the same Insurances for a decade ... get over yourselves greedy delta dental of Delaware and mass and pay what you owe. Disgraceful to say only one of us has custody you sickos....

J
J.C.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
12/15/2016
I was told that my dentist's office was covered under the plan I chose. Now they tell me it isn't and I owe almost $400 because they said she wasn't. I had to point out to THEM that they still should cover her as "Out of Network" and paid something! The fact that I had to tell one of their reps about out of network sickens me. I will never use them again! Also folks, If you go in for even a cleaning, make sure your insurance is part of their coverage and ask your dentist to tell you the cost, and not just do it and send you a bill.

J
J.C.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
12/15/2016
I was told that my dentist's office was covered under the plan I chose. Now they tell me it isn't and I owe almost $400 because they said she wasn't. I had to point out to THEM that they still should cover her as "Out of Network" and paid something! The fact that I had to tell one of their reps about out of network sickens me. I will never use them again! Also folks, If you go in for even a cleaning, make sure your insurance is part of their coverage and ask your dentist to tell you the cost, and not just do it and send you a bill.

Start your review for Delta Dental Insurance