CIGNA Dental Insurance Review


Rating: 8.3 / 10 (Excellent)
14 Customer Reviews - see all reviews
Disclosure: We receive advertising revenue from some partners. Learn more.
How is CIGNA rated?
7/10
Coverage
10/10
Benefit Limits
7/10
Plan Options
8/10
Customer Service
9/10
Cost
9/10
Reviews
2/10
In-Network Dentists

CIGNA Dental Review

CIGNA Dental has one of the biggest network of dentists in the country today. It provides a wide selection of individual and group dental insurance plans. 

What's included with CIGNA Dental

Plan Reviewed

MYCIGNA Dental 1500 Plan

How much does it save you?

Deductible waived for preventive services, 20% payout after deductible, 50% payout after deductible

Premiums

Individual (ages 18–59) $30.00 /mo
Individual (ages 60+) $38.00 /mo
Individual + Spouse $55.50 /mo
One-Parent Family (1 adult, 2 children) $70.80 /mo
Two-Parent Family (2 adults, 2 children) $96.30 /mo

Annual Maximum

$1000 per person

Treatments Covered and Reimbursement

Excellent list of treatments covered for Basic, Preventive and Major services

 

Fine Print

You may pay more for out-of-network charges if the dentist’s charges exceed the amount Cigna reimburses for billed services.

You may be eligible to waive the waiting period with prior qualified coverage, not applicable to orthodontia.

Dental rates may vary based on age and geographic location (residential zip code).

 

Summary

CIGNA Dental offers great savings on preventive, basic and major treatments. However, they tend to be on the costlier side so it's a good idea to check for other available packages. Premiums and plans are subject to your location. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Start your review for CIGNA Dental Insurance

Latest Reviews

Loading Reviews ...
J
Jim Tomo
Pflugerville, Texas
1/26/2017
Refused to pay claim for maintenance cleaning which was $32.50. Benefits are supposed to cover at 50% for this regular cleaning. They wanted me to get history from 5 years ago with a different insurance before they would pay. Unbelievable!

K
Kevin
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
12/16/2016
This morning I spent two hours speaking to a customer service representative located off-shore. I have never received such poor customer services in my life. Like many of Cigna's paying customers, we are busy and have very little time and energy. I certainly believe in diversity and inclusion, however, I spent the majority of the time on the phone trying to get the representative to understand me. Despite the richness that diversity brings, the representative needs to understand the needs of the paying customer. Back to my incident: once we seemed to come to some type of understanding, the representative failed to send me the information I requested. Shame on Cigna and the CEO... Read More

M
Mohamed
Alexandria, Virginia
12/8/2016
DO NOT.......I REPEAT....DO NOTTT get coverage through them. A bunch of scammers that'll tell you they cover most procedures and services and it's all bullshit. Even when I cancelled my coverage, they billed me for another 3 months!! Called back to get a refund 3 months after I cancelled and they told me they can only refund the last month?! Customer service is TERRIBLE. They make you wait on hold for 20 mins while "transferring" you, then hang up on you. I was finally refunded the full amount after having to talk to 4 Reps and 2 supervisors. Beware and stay away!

C
Courtneyt Washington
Mobile, Alabama
11/15/2016
I have had an ongoing issue with two claims since June 2016. The dates of services, in question are 3-17-2016 and 3-24-2016. I have primary and secondary coverage and my dentist still made me pay out of pocket. I did question the business office manager as to why I had to pay out of pocket since I have two coverages. She stated that I would later be reimbursed. I faxed over claims forms requesting that payment be sent to me versus the dentist. I also faxed over the bills, from the dentist office, stating that I had a credit and credit card receipts proving I paid it. The dentist received the payment and advised me that they refund me the money and then weeks went by and the business... Read More

S
[email protected]
Brooklyn, New York
10/23/2016
I was sent to a dentist in Ridgefield CT., who could not even discern which tooth was bonded and a correction that was to be made after the original correction was made (by a younger associate which fell off). The older dentist, he AND his assistant, then LIED EVEN AFTER I showed them the X-RAYS!!!! OUTRAGEOUS!! I had wonderful dentists in NYC then move to CT and Cigna plan and have had AWFUL experiences.

A
Amanda McArthur
,
8/30/2016
Poor coverage. Recently had a root canal done and they only covered $168 out of $1170. For a cleaning, they covered only $68 out of a $170 bill. The reason is because I see an out of network dentist and they only allow $400 contractual for a root canal. What dentist charges $400 for a root canal. Don't waste your time with their dental insurance. If anything, you lose money as I pay $36/month for this coverage.

B
Becky
Alpharetta, Georgia
7/20/2016
I have normally had a positive experience with Cigna Dental. That changed when I was told by my dentist that I needed to have a gum graft. Long story short- the type of gum graft I need is a connective tissue or subepithelial graft. This is the most common gum graft according to my research. It is also a graft that is not covered by Cigna Dental. Not. One. Dime. Word of advice- check the covered procedures and get the insurance codes from your dentist. All gum grafts are not the same and they are definitely NOT all covered by Cigna Dental.

R
Robert F
4/16/2016
Bonita Springs, FL Dental Office -Westland Dental Group - Called on Friday afternoon to say that Cigna Dental was no longer accepted at the office impacting my Monday appointment. Called Cigna Dental on Saturday, "We have a valid contract with this office." Cigna Customer service rep unwilling to transfer to Manager who was "busy." Scores should be negative integers for both Cigna Dental and Westland Dental.

J
Jawad Waha
Kinston, North Carolina
4/11/2016
Don't fall for this. They do not cover anything.

S
Soung
Los Angeles, California
3/10/2016
Cigna only cares about getting your premium, and their dental insurance does not cover anything. I had to get my tooth pulled and I had to pay everything out of my own pocket including anesthesia. A simple tooth extraction, and they couldn't cover not one item on the list. Cigna Dental has a disclaimer that you have to have a minimum of two teeth pulled on the same day, and so on and so forth. Who gets two teeth pulled on the same day? Why are we paying $60 month for if they can't give me any coverage?

Start your review for CIGNA Dental Insurance