🇵🇷 Important Hurricane Maria Update from our Headquarters

ASPCA Pet Insurance Review


Rating: 7.6 / 10 (Very good)
24 Customer Reviews - see all reviews
Disclosure: We receive advertising revenue from this partner.
 Learn more.
The ASPCA is a non-profit organization in the US with the mission to prevent cruelty to animals. In 2006 they began offering pet insurance policies through the Hartville Pet Insurance Group. ASPCA features customizable plans that cover 70%-90% of vet bills, and the option of unlimited coverage.

How is ASPCA rated?

Breakdown

8/10
Coverage
8/10
Benefit Limits
10/10
Deductibles
8/10
Reimbursement
7/10
Claims and Service
5/10
Pricing
8/10
Enrollment

Overall Rating: 7.6 / 10 (Very good)

The ASPCA has multiple plans that offer comprehensive coverage. The organization's flagship plan, Complete Coverage, features annual benefit caps of up to unlimited, as well as no special caps for eligible congenital and hereditary conditions. The ASPCA's lower tier plans are still somewhat restrictive. Though the 3 levels of basic coverage might have no limit on the number of incidents you can claim, they do have incident caps. This could be a problem if your pet experiences a serious illness that requires costly or ongoing treatment. The benefit limits on hereditary and congenital conditions are a restrictive factor as well.

ASPCA Coverage

Coverage Specifics

Pets Covered
Dogs
Cats
Coverage Types
Medical
Wellness
Vet Selection
Unrestricted
Out of State Coverage
Commercial Pets Covered

Coverage - 8 / 10

The ASPCA has 3 levels of basic coverage, two wellness plan add-ons, and the larger, more comprehensive Complete Coverage. As for the lower level plans, Level 1 covers common injuries, Level 2 covers injuries and non-congenital illnesses, and Level 3 covers "Advanced Care," which includes things like hereditary conditions and therapy for behavioral problems. The wellness plans differ in annual maximum payout. Seeing that all plans cover vet exams and prescriptions, among other things, the ASPCA plans are all quite extensive. Complete Coverage covers all the items of the ASPCA's most comprehensive plan, but does so without incident caps, or separate caps on hereditary and congenital conditions. The plan is only subject to a customer-chosen annual cap.

Medical Conditions Covered

  • Accidental
  • Illness
  • Hereditary
  • Congenital
  • Cancer
  • Chronic
  • Dental Illness

Medical Treatments Covered

  • Diagnostic Testing
  • Surgery
  • Hospitalization
  • Prescription Medications
  • Emergency Care
  • Specialty Care
  • Alternative Care
  • Behavioral Therapy

Reimbursement & Maximum Benefit Limits

Reimbursement - 8 / 10

The ASPCA offers the standard reimbursement levels of 70%, 80%, and 90%. This pays out on the actual cost of your vet bill and is standard among the best providers.

Benefit Limits - 8 / 10

While the ASPCA's lower tier plans are subject to per incident caps, the organization's recently added Complete Coverage not only has no per incident limits, but allows customers to set an annual cap from $5,000 up to unlimited. This plan also does not have a separate limit for eligible congenital and hereditary conditions. They are only subject to the same annual limit as chosen in the plan. All the ASPCA's remaining plans have differing benefit caps depending on the level of coverage you choose. If you purchase the accident and injury plan alone you will be limited to $2,500 annually per incident. Accident and injury plus illness will get you a $3,000 annual limit for each per incident. The Level 3 Advanced Care plan gives you $5,000 for accidents and injuries and $5,000 for illnesses per incident, plus $500 per incident and $1,250 in total lifetime for hereditary and congenital conditions. Importantly, there is also no limit on the number of incidents the policy will cover. So under Advanced Care the ASPCA will pay as much as $5,000 to treat an ear infection in a year, but this will reset for a different condition.
Reimbursement Model
Actual Cost
Minimum Percent Reimbursement
70%
Maximum Percent Reimbursement
90%
Benefit Limit Types
Annual
Per Incident
Unlimited

Claims, Service, & Deductibles

Claims and Service - 7 / 10

The ASPCA allows you to download their claim form on their website. You can then email, mail or fax the completed form with relevant invoiced to the organization. They offer direct deposit, which speeds up the process. You are also able to track the status of a claim online.

Deductibles - 10 / 10

The ASPCA allows customers to set their deductible level at $100, $250, or $500. This is a pretty much standard feature now among the best pet insurance plans.
Advertised Response Time
16 days
Claim Form
Mail
Email
Fax
Deductible Type
Annual
Minimum Deductible Offered
$100
Maximum Deductible Offered
$500

Pricing: How much does ASPCA cost?

Starting Monthly Premiums

Dogs
$50.03
Cats
$21.67
Rate Details: Annual Deductible: $250, Benefits Cap: $5,000, Reimbursement Model: 90% of Actual Cost

Pricing - 5 / 10

The ASPCA's pet insurance plan is on the pricier side of the spectrum. There are comparable plans on our list that provide similar coverage for less.
Available Discounts: 10% Multiple Policy Discount

Enrollment

Enrollment Age & Waiting Periods

Min Enrollment Age
8 weeks
Accident Waiting Period
0 days
Illnesses Waiting Period
14 days
Free Look Period
30 days

Enrollment - 8 / 10

The ASPCA has a minimum enrollment age of 8 weeks and no maximum enrollment age. There is no waiting period for accident coverage and a 14-day waiting period for illnesses. Additionally, there is a 14-day waiting period for treatment or surgery related to ligament and knee conditions, as well as treatment for hereditary and congenital conditions.

Company Profile

Full Name
ASPCA Pet Insurance
Company Website
Headquarters
1208 Massillon Rd Suite, Akron, OH, 44306
Mailing Address
888-716-1203, 1208 Massillon Rd Suite, OH, 44306

Latest ASPCA Reviews

Loading Reviews ...
7
Oceanside, California

7/7/2017
It is cruel to any animal with needed medical to wait months for treatments already too high, yet u r suppose to be leaders in this field for animals, especially dogs. This is ludicrous. In the mean time paying every month. Many salary levels camnot pay. So animals need help, suffer due to high billing. Some never helped due to wrong diagnosis, constant re charged for follow ups, for same problems paid for. Over 16,000$ for one dog, never recovered from surgeries, meds given, improper treatment. Now blind after a seem like new, no sympathy vet prescribed eye drops for wrong problem. She still suffers now greatly, but too much attitude in her to let her be murdered. When she should have... Read More


J
New York, New York

6/7/2017
This has to be the worst company I have ever dealt with in my life. I have had this pet insurance for 10 years and never used it on my 18 year old cat, who is now dying. Last November of 2016, Lucy began to have a kidney problem. I took her to the Vet and am now treating her, and thank god she is still with me. She has been a loyal animal, and I want to keep her going as long as I can. Yesterday I contacted the ASPCA Pet Insurance company about a prior claim and they grotesquely told me Lucy was no longer covered for her kidney disease. That when my plan turned over in March of 2017, Lucy was no longer covered, as NOW she has a preexisting illness. I never used a claim on her ever until I... Read More


J
Joe
Guilford, Connecticut

3/28/2017
Worst pet insurance ever every claim you make they don't cover


M
Pompano Beach, Florida

1/20/2017
On the anniversary of your policy, any illnesses you pet had during the past year becomes a pre-existing condition. Therefore, they no longer cover an illness they have been covering. Example: your pet is injured two weeks before the policy anniversary date and requires 6 weeks of care. ASPCA Pet Insurance will only cover the claims for the first two weeks. On the anniversary date, the remaining 4 weeks of care are considered pre-existing. I call this a rip-off. When asked about pre-existing conditions, ASPCA did not state this policy. I should not have trusted the rep and I should have read the fine print. There are other Pet Insurance companies that would continue payment of claims... Read More


M
Maureen J

1/4/2017
Terms are completely misrepresented in the paperwork. States preexisting medical conditions are not covered which is fine. This would include a DIAGNOSED medical condition. I took my cat to the vet with symptoms (still Undiagnosed) claim denied! They only collect $$$$


D
Deb
West Greenwich, Rhode Island

12/29/2016
We have always been paid quickly for small amounts $$ as our dog has been healthy. She is now 11. We joined ASPCA when Lily was 11 weeks old. Lily has now developed diabetes and has been hospitalized. We submitted a claim for $2000 + and have been waiting for approval. We have a $3000 per incident max. $8000 total per year max. It seems that if an emergency that is expensive arises with your loved pet, ASPCA, is difficult to deal with. I have been calling for 2 weeks and have received excuse after excuse as to why we have not been paid. I have had to appeal a recent claim for $277 because ASPCA coded it as a Wellness Vet visit and still have not been paid I suggest to... Read More


D
Dyanna P
Anchorage, Alaska

12/8/2016
I have 3 cats and 2 dogs. I have been a member of ASPCA PET Insurance for 10 years. They are awesome. They pay really quick and always respond to my inquiries immediately. They have saved me sooo much in vet bills. I give them a 5 star rating. I recomend them to everyone I know that has pets and I will use ASPCA Pet Insurance forever. They are so reasonable and offer a variety of plans to choose from. Dyanna Pratt


R
Rick L
Oak Park, Michigan

11/29/2016
I was all set to buy their "Complete Coverage" for my new pup. I was ok with the price, deductible etc since it was Complete coverage. But as soon as I pressed the Select button, up pops a screen asking me if I want to add Preventative care coverage which would increase the monthly cost. What? I guess Complete coverage isn't so complete. After seeing that B.S. I decided against the insurance and furthermore realized it was a good move especially after I read all the negative reviews. Finally, read the small print. The insurance is not from the ASPCA. They are only paid a fee for the use of their name. The insurance is from another insurance company- and we all know how much insurance... Read More


J
jessica
Guilford, Connecticut

11/29/2016
I have coverage with them for about a year. my dog got cancer and they did not cover the surgery she needed. Since then, theyve also raised my premiums and give no reason as to why.


N
Toronto, Ontario

11/21/2016
To get a claim done takes 3-5 months. I had this insurance for 7 years. I paid around $100 monthly for level 4. My dog got cancer. They did not paid my claim for surgery. Don't be confused by SPCA name. This is not SPCA.


M
mike m
Watertown, Massachusetts

11/8/2016
I was a loyal customer for 6 years, filing only two claims during that period. When I did file claims, I was receiving 15-18% of the actual cost incurred, as they only payout for their estimated costs. By the end of the 6th year, my plan had increased by 100% from the original price, and over 33% in just one year. At the end of the day, I spent 2,000 - 3,000 more on the insurance plan, then if I paid out of pocket. Scam.


S
SH
Los Angeles, California

11/4/2016
This is totally a rip-off -- put your premiums in a savings account. Insurance is supposed to collect premiums from many people, and then help pay large expenses for the few people that need them. ASPCA insurance does everything it can to pay virtually nothing. We have been paying for level-3 insurance (i.e. one of their better plans) for 9 years, costing thousands of dollars. This insurance has been useless for both the many "smaller" medical bills ( $200-$500) that we've had over the years, AND the large bill we just had. I was OK overlooking the "small" ones, assuming they would actually pay up when a big expense came. The do not. Between the deductibles, fee limits, and... Read More


K
Kathleen

11/4/2016
Never would I recommend anyone to take this insurance. My vet charges the lowest prices in my area and they continuously came back saying that the allowed amount was always "just a tad" lower than what my vet charged. It's nonsense. My dog was diagnosed with lymphoma 1 week before out yearly policy was up. When we renewed they gladly took my money but then told me they could not pay out any more claims for my dog until she was well for 6months. Dogs who are diagnosed with lymphoma will never "be well" again. On top of the usual insurance company issues, their phone reps are rude and tight lipped.


B
Blake C
Waterloo, Iowa

9/21/2016
Most heartless and greedy pet insurance in existence. My dog had a stomach virus causing him to vomit and poop constantly to the point he was so dehydrated he could barely move. He had a fever of 103 and had to be put on special food and medication. They linked this to puppy poops from puppy food he had several months prior. These people will do everything in their power not to help you DO NOT pick them for insurance they will fuck you when you need them most.


D
D
Jamaica, New York

7/11/2016
Horrible customer service, when speaking about claims not referring to a pre-existing condition, it was always answered as either we never got it or it has to do with her pre-existing condition


M
Pompano Beach, Florida

7/4/2016
The fine print states when renewing, you are starting as if a brand new policy. If anything was wrong prior to anniversary date it is considered pre-existing. DO NOT PURCHASE THIS INSURANCE. There are so many much, much better. Even though I asked and read the policy when purchasing 8 years ago, it was not clear to me about pre-existing rules. Pay the same thing with other insurances and if your pet gets sick while under the policy they are always covered as long as you pay the premium.


J
Jennifer A
Riverview, Florida

3/22/2016
I was already pleased with the ease of filing claims with this company. The process is simple and, if your plan covers it and you have met your annual deductible, you receive your benefit very quickly. When one of my boys had to be euthanized last week, I made a very difficult phone call to ask a couple of questions regarding a final claim and to terminate his coverage. Yesterday, I received a sympathy card with a hand-written and personal note that even included our other dog's name. I am so moved and beyond impressed by such a touching gesture from an insurance company. This was unexpected and so very kind. This is how you know you've picked the right one.


D
donna f
Manchester, New Hampshire

2/1/2016
I give this insurance a poor rating. This is what happened to me: I bought the fancy Level 4 plan with a $7000 annual maximum. About $900/year. Plan period runs January 1-January 1. On December 14, my dog presented with severe anemia. The vet did some tests, with no causation, and sent me to a specialist who did additional tests-no causation. Her anemia is worsening. Now, at the very end of the year, the specialist recommends a bone marrow aspiration, at the cost of about $1200. It is scheduled for the following week, first week of January. It turns out she has an autoimmune disease, and now is being treated successfully. My $1200 claim is DENIED. Why? "Any illness... Read More


A
Alisa S
Cumberland, Maryland

11/20/2015
I paid my deductible in March 2015 and was charged again in November 2015. I was told the one in March was for an exciting problem. In November it was for something new so I had to pay the deductible again. I went with ASPCS because of them helping other animals but there are better insurance for animals They are at down on the bottom of the top 10 pet insurance. So I recommend you look before going with ASPCS


J
Jeanne K
Lake Hiawatha, New Jersey

9/20/2015
I have 3 Shelties and purchased a level 2 pet insurance through ASPCA when my girls were all 2 months old. They are now all close to 13+. I have rarely used my policy as they have been well. Until summer of 2014 when one of my girls got kidney disease. Also high blood pressure. This required vet visits, IV therapy, blood work and constant blood pressure monitoring. The initial visit required in hospital stay 2 days. I submitted this claim with her diagnosis. ASPCA processed the claim. I had many more vet visits and follow up. I ran into a problem when 2 issues arose. 1. If you don't submit your claim within a certain time they will not process and pay. 2. After the calendar year and your... Read More


T
Ted J

8/13/2015
The insurance itself isn't so bad until the time comes to submit a real claim that will cost real money. Then they will decline. The problem I ran into was when I contacted them because I wasn;t sure the claim would be covered. They assured me it would until the time came to pay. Then it was "oh by the way, we forgot to tell you this... and since you didn't ask... too bad". I am shopping for something better. I wish I had never dealt with them.


R
Robert C

8/9/2015
Their policy is that they pay for diagnose and treatment competed in the same coverage year. I've had coverage on my 2 RRs for 6 years. This past year they tried to deny coverage on cancer treatment because the diagnosis was made before my coverage anniversary date and the treatment was completed after the anniversary date.


B
Brenda R
Portland, Maine

5/18/2015
I love ACPCA never had problems getting payment. If your pet is as important as any other member of your family they deserve the best. If your pet is getting older just as we are medical insurance goes up why, because we get illness, sudden problems we don't expect in our younger years. I would rather pay more and know Sam is covered.


D
Dawn L
Toledo, Ohio

2/19/2015
I would not recommend ASPCA Pet Insurcance. I decided to get pet insurance because I thought it would be helpful. My cat does have a pre-existing condition and I was aware it was not covered. Nothing else is covered either. He had a minor back injury that was treated with medication for pain. That was not covered either. Nothing has been covered even if it had nothing to do with his pre-existing condition. So if there is pre-existing condition NOTHING is covered.


Start your review for
ASPCA Pet Insurance

Our Partner
7.6 / 10
  • Per-condition payout limit, but no total cap on payouts.
  • Reimbursement on benefit schedule (not actual bill)
  • Annual benefits limited to $3.5k/yr
  • Annual deductible & wellness available