Medical Alert by Connect America Review


Rating: 9.2 / 10 (Excellent)
22 Customer Comments & Reviews - see all comments
Disclosure: We receive advertising revenue from this partner. 
Learn more.
Medical Alert is a brand under Connect America, the largest independent medical alarm company in North America, headquartered in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. They offer a broad range of at home or on-the-go medical alarm and tele-health solutions to consumers, hospitals, home healthcare agencies, and healthcare professionals nationwide. They have an A+ rating with the BBB.

How is Connect America rated?

Breakdown

9/10
Equipment
10/10
Monitoring
10/10
Contract & Price
9/10
Reputation

Overall Rating: 9.2 / 10 (Excellent)

Connect America has been delivering quality medical monitoring services to thousands of clients across the United States, Canada, the Virgin Islands, and Puerto Rico for over a decade. Today, they are one of the largest independent providers of personal emergency response systems in the country, offering landline, cellular, and mobile/GPS systems with professional, 24/7 monitoring from their nationwide UL-accredited, five-diamond centers, which also offer support in Spanish. Connect America has made our list thanks to their excellent customer service, great prices, and well-designed devices that appeal to users of all ages.

Connect America Equipment

Equipment - 8.8 / 10

Connect America's suite of products offer 24/7 protection and waterproof devices that can be worn as bracelets, pendants, or clip-ons. Customers have a choice of landline, cellular, or mobile/GPS systems, all of which feature lightweight and easy to install components. Connect America's on-the-go plan is their most complete product, offering a device with fall detection technology, GPS capability, a caregiver app, and cellular connectivity through AT&T's network. What puts this company ahead of the competition in terms of equipment is their exclusive MobileElite plan, which features an interchangeable bracelet or pendant alert button that is one of the most stylish devices currently on the market.
System Types
In-Home Landline
In-Home Cellular
Mobile/GPS
Help Button Option
Necklace
Wristband
Help Button Range
600 ft.
Base Station Backup Battery
72 hours

Key Features

Wearable 2-Way Communication
Waterproof Help Button
Automatic Fall Detection
Supports Multiple Help Buttons

Additional Info

Cellular Provider Options
AT&T

Monitoring

Monitoring - 10 / 10

Medical Alert offers 24/7 professional monitoring from multilingual, SIA-Certified operators. The company has fully redundant, UL-certified, 5-diamond, interlinked monitoring centers in the U.S. and provide coverage in all 50 states as well as Canada, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands through their landline monitoring system. Their area of coverage is one of the most extensive we have reviewed so far, making them an ideal choice for consumers living or traveling to those specific areas outside the continental United States.
Monitoring Options
Professionally Monitored
Monitoring Center Type
Owned
Advertised Response Time
Less than 30 seconds
Services
24/7 Monitoring
Emergency Dispatch
Non-Emergency Dispatch
Multilingual Staff

Contract & Price: How much does Connect America cost?

Contract & Price - 9.5 / 10

Prices for Medical Alert's medical monitoring systems start at $19.95 and go up to $36.66 for their most comprehensive system. Their plans do not require a long term contract. If the client isn't satisfied, they can cancel the service at any time.

Starting Prices

Landline
$19.95
Cellular
$32.07
Mobile/GPS
$36.66

Contract & Fees

Contract Required?
No
Activation/ Installation Fee
None
Equipment Fees
None
Cancellation Policy
Cancel anytime

Connect America Reputation

Reputation - 8.5 / 10

Connect America is a proud member of the Medical Alert Monitoring Association (MAMA), has an A+ ranking with the Better Business Bureau, and are recommended by hospitals, home healthcare agencies and healthcare professionals nationwide, as well as by organizations such asThe Arthritis Association and Good Housekeeping. They have been chosen by major retail chains such as CVS to be the main provider of medical alert services at over 7,000 store locations in 43 States. In addition, the company has received overwhelmingly positive customer feedback across a number of independent online review platforms.

Professional Certifications

  • Underwriter's Laboratory (UL)

Additional Ratings

BBB Rating
A+
BBB Postive Reviews
103
BBB Neutral Reviews
1
BBB Negative Reviews
28
Date Collected
2017-08-17

Disclaimers


Contact & Additional Information

Homepage URL
Headquarters Address
816 Park Way, Broomall, PA, 19008
Mailing Address
816 Park Way, Broomall, PA, 19008
Year Founded
2004

Leave a comment for Medical Alert by Connect America
Minimum 12 words.
 No maximum length.
* What's Your Rating?
To make this comment as helpful as possible for our community, please provide at least 2 sentences.

22 Customer Comments & Reviews

Loading Reviews ...
D
DEBORAH
Newark, New Jersey
6/18/2018
I just called billing and I haven’t receive it yet paid my bill upfount now they want me to put insurance on something I haven’t receive yet Really I am so upset I’m live in a fix income now I have to pay for something I didn’t receive


C
C B
Chicago, Illinois
5/18/2018
Not a good company to deal w/, if your loved one has to be away from home/nursing home for extended periods of time. I wanted to cancel service when I knew my parent would be in another state for over a year. However, the many customer service reps I spoke w/encouraged me to not cancel & would make adjustments once my mother came back to her home. Today, I spoke w/a 20 something man who was rude, disrespectful, & sarcastic (& asked why I didn’t cancel before). Told him because I was lied to by other representatives. He also said no adjustments had been made for time my mother was out of state & she owes huge bill (for nothing, since she was gone whole time & not using medic alert... Read More

Alex G  
Official Response

Customer Representative of Medical Alert by Connect America
Hi CB - I am very sorry you had a poor customer experience. Please email susan.boyce(at)medicalalert.com from our escalation team with the best # to reach you and she will call you to sort this issue for you asap. We value our customers and are very disappointed that you had this difficult experience. Sincerely, Alex Customer Reviews Manager Medical Alert

A
Alexia P
Denver, Colorado
5/14/2018
I've been with Medical Alert for about a month now and they have been really helpful in not only customer service but also the customer servicer are nice and are very prompt about your needs are.

Alex G  
Official Response

Customer Representative of Medical Alert by Connect America
Thank you for sharing your experience, Alexia! We love our customers and are very grateful for the time you took to share your experience. Sincerely, Alex Customer Reviews Manager Medical Alert

K
katherine m
Chicago, Illinois
4/24/2018
Mom living at home and not in the best of health. Plus she is a world-class worrier. Having the MedicalAlert pendant has given her a lot of peace of mind and lessened her concern about getting help. Everyone at MedicalAlert has been kind and gentle. The response time is only a few seconds and she has someone to talk to right away. This service has given the entire family peace of mind. Thank you!

Alex G  
Official Response

Customer Representative of Medical Alert by Connect America
Hi Katherine, Thanks so much for the good words about your Medical Alert experience! Have a great day. Sincerely, Alex Customer Reviews Manager, Medical Alert

E
Eleanor
Chicago, Illinois
4/18/2018
I have accidentally pushed my alert button a couple of times and got immediate for it. This assures me that if needed, It will be able to get help for me. I am living alone and am confident it will work. Thank you!

Alex G  
Official Response

Customer Representative of Medical Alert by Connect America
Hi Eleanor! Thanks for sharing your experience with your Medical Alert system! Have a great day. Best, Alex Customer Reviews Manager Medical Alert

S
Sheila S
Mississauga, Ontario
3/22/2018
Although my system is set up I haven't had to use it yet but it is comforting to know I have help at the ready.

Alex G  
Official Response

Customer Representative of Medical Alert by Connect America
Hi Sheila, Thanks for leaving your review! We love to hear from our customers. Stay safe - Alex Customer Reviews Manager Medical Alert

R
ROBERT E
Acton, Massachusetts
3/21/2018
When I first received my package I sometimes forget to get my device a daily charge. Suddenly an alarm went off and i responded. After several occasions I was called and reminded that the recharge is has to be made on a regular schedule. Now I do it every morning.

Alex G  
Official Response

Customer Representative of Medical Alert by Connect America
Hi Robert, Thanks so much for your review! We value our customers and appreciate the time you took to share your experience. Stay safe, Alex Customer Reviews Manager, Medical Alert

Tracy P
Charlotte, North Carolina
3/21/2018
Everybody has been very helpful when I needed questions answered whether it be in person or on the phone

Alex G  
Official Response

Customer Representative of Medical Alert by Connect America
Hi Tracy, Thanks so much for your feedback! We value our customers and appreciate the time you took to share your experience. Stay safe, Alex Customer Reviews Manager, Medical Alert

F
Frances D
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
12/30/2017
I have been billed twice for 5 months, have called many times, spoken to a manager and there is no resolve.

Alex G  
Official Response

Customer Representative of Medical Alert by Connect America
Hi Frances, Thanks for sharing your experience. If you are still having difficulty, please email susan.boyce(at)medicalalert.com from our escalation team with the best # to reach you and she will call you to sort this issue for you asap. We value our customers and want to clear up this issue for you. Sincerely, Alex Customer Reviews Manager Medical Alert

L
Lisa M
Mooresville, North Carolina
12/8/2017
TERRIBLE COMPANY TO DEAL WITH.....DEPLORABLE CUSTOMER SERVICE!!! I have been double billed for 7 months! I switched from a regular button....to GPS system.....I sent back the original equipment...they said they did not receive it, BUT determined I was in fact due a refund of $314.93....after months of asking for MY MONEY....I still don't have it!!!!!! Oh, and good luck getting to speak with a supervisor!!!!! Countless customer service reps have said "THE CHECKS IN THE MAIL"! WHAT A JOKE!!!!!!!!!

Alex G  
Official Response

Customer Representative of Medical Alert by Connect America
Hi Lisa, Thanks for sharing your experience. If you are still having difficulty, please email susan.boyce(at)medicalalert.com from our escalation team with the best # to reach you and she will call you to sort this issue for you asap. Sincerely, Alex Customer Reviews Manager Medical Alert


Our Partner
9.2 / 10
  • Summer Sale! - From $19.95/mo. PLUS 1 Free Month, Free Shipping & 2nd button
  • No Equipment Charge and No Long Term Commitment
  • Largest independent medical alarm company in North America
  • A+ Rating with the BBB
  • 30 Day Money Back Guarantee
  • Recommended by Leading Hospitals and Caregivers
  • Fall Detection on Every System