Fluent Home Security Review


Rating: 6.2 / 10 (Very good)
30 Customer Comments & Reviews - see all comments
Disclosure: We receive advertising revenue from some partners. 
Learn more.
Fluent is a home security is a Canadian-based company that focuses on home automation via their fully wireless system. Founded in 2019, the company offers professionally monitored 24/7 services with a large selection of equipment options to increase customization and flexibility. The Fluent app allows homeowners to receive customizable real-time alerts, control the system remotely, and schedule it to arm and disarm.

How is Fluent rated?

Breakdown

8/10
Equipment
6/10
Monitoring
3/10
Reputation
6/10
Contract & Price
8/10
Technology Integration

Overall Rating: 6.2 / 10 (Very good)

Fluent home security is a good option for people interested in getting hands-on with their equipment setup. This is not for everyone, however, and prices can mount up quickly as customers keep adding devices.

How does Fluent work?

Equipment - 8 / 10

Fluent security systems can be professionally installed or DIY, with removal, transport and reinstallation services typically around $99. Packages are fully customizable, which can be confusing for customers. All include a control panel with remote access, as well as motion, door, and window sensors. Home automation is available for an additional fee.
Installation
Professional
Self-Install (DIY)
Equipment Manufacturer
2GIG, Honeywell and Ecolink
Ability to Reallocate System
Wireless Sensors
Control Panel
Event Triggered Siren/ Alarm

Security Monitors, Sensors, & Devices

Intrusion Protection

  • Door & Window Sensors
  • Garage Door Sensors
  • Glass Break Protection
  • Motion Sensors
  • Recessed Door Sensors

Environmental Protection

  • Carbon Monoxide
  • Flood
  • Temperature Change
  • Smoke

Surveillance

  • Indoor Cameras
  • Outdoor Cameras
  • Doorbell Cameras
  • Tilt & Pan Cameras
  • Live Surveillance
  • Event-triggered Surveillance

Life Safety

  • Panic Button
  • Medical Alert

Monitoring

Monitoring - 6 / 10

Fluent home security provides professional, 24/7 monitoring via cellular or landline. Their call centers can communicate with homeowners through their two-way intercom, as well as dispatch emergency personnel when needed. Standard systems include remote web access and full control of the system, with remote arm and disarm capabilities.
Monitoring Options
Professional Monitoring
Monitoring Technology
Cellular
Landline
Number of Monitoring Centers
1
Monitoring Center Type
Owned
Professional Monitoring Services
24/7 Professional Monitoring
2-Way Intercom
Police Dispatch
Fire Department Dispatch
Medical Dispatch

How much does Fluent cost?

Contract & Price - 6 / 10

Fluent offers completely customizable plans, which vary in price according to the different devices added to the package. They offer hardware for three different categories: security, automation, and energy. Security is the simplest and least expensive, followed by Energy, which includes thermostat and lighting control. The most complete package is Automation, which includes all the other features, as well as remote video and automated locks. The price tag is correspondingly higher.
Number of Available Packages
3
Contract Required
Cancellation Policy
You may cancel your contract for any reason for 10 days after you sign the agreement if you reside in Canada, and 3 days if you reside in the United States.
Warranty
90-day equipment guarantee

Technology Integrations

Technology Integration - 8 / 10

Fluent security systems feature iPhone and Android apps, email and text alerts, and remote arm/disarm technology. Add-ons include lighting and HVAC control, remote real-time video, and thermostat control, among others.

Compatibility

Amazon Alexa
Google Home
IFTTT
Z-Wave
ZigBee

Mobile Access & Alerts

  • iPhone App
  • Android App
  • Email & Text Alerts
  • Remote Arm/Disarm
  • Geo-location Services

Home Automation

  • Lighting Control
  • Thermostat Control
  • Appliance Control
  • Electronic Door Locks
  • History Log
  • Unique User Codes

Fluent Reputation

Reputation - 3 / 10

Fluent home security is a BBB accredited company with an B- rating.
BBB Rating
B-
Number of BBB Positive Reviews
5
Number of BBB Neutral Reviews
0
Number of BBB Negative Reviews
6
Date Collected
2017-08-17
Year Founded
2014

Contact & Additional Information

Homepage URL
Company Phone
(855) 238-4826
Headquarters Address
13937 S Sprague Ln Ste 200, Draper, UT, 84020
Mailing Address
13937 S Sprague Ln Ste 200, Draper, UT, 84020

Leave a comment for Fluent Home Security
Minimum 2-3 sentences.
 No maximum length.
* What's Your Rating?
To make this comment as helpful as possible for our community, please provide at least 2 sentences.

30 Customer Comments & Reviews

Loading Reviews ...
Frank J
Denver, Colorado
1/14/2018
Do not ever sign anything this company puts in front of you... do not EVER answer 'yes' to any of their questions when they have you on the phone (if you answer yes to a 2 year contract, suddenly they hit you with a recording showing that you said 'yes' to a 6 year contract). Very unreliable equipment. Very shady business practices. Avoid Fluent Home at all cost!!!!


Bobbie L
Hopewell, Virginia
1/6/2018
We are now pushing two months with no home security. We were credited with 2 months which has prevented us from cancelling this service. Up until this point we thought the alarm would notify us even though it would not notify your center. This morning we forgot to turn it off before opening the door. It just notified us the door was opened. So we’ve had a false sense of security up to this point. The out sourced techs that have come twice, they were excellent and the credit for 2 months are the only reason I gave you two stars. Are you willing to reimburse us for having to pay someone to house sit while we were out of town? Or when we leave for vacation in a few weeks?


J
Jordan
Edmonton, Alberta
1/4/2018
I have been trying to cut my service off for over TWO YEARS!!! They have provoked me over the phone multiple times to the point where I get heated and then they hang up on me. Then I don't hear from them for a few weeks and then they call back and do the same thing again, this time threating to send me to the credit bureau so I am forced to pay to avoid bad credit. They harass me on a regular basis about making my payments on time for a service that I don't have. I have emailed them with a written statement asking them to discontinue my service(as per their policy) and they say that they didn't receive it?!? I sent it to the email address that they provided and still they sat that they... Read More


J
Jordan
Edmonton, Alberta
1/4/2018
I have been trying to cut my service off for over TWO YEARS!!! They have provoked me over the phone multiple times to the point where I get heated and then they hang up on me. Then I don't hear from them for a few weeks and then they call back and do the same thing again, this time threating to send me to the credit bureau so I am forced to pay to avoid bad credit. They harass me on a regular basis about making my payments on time for a service that I don't have. I have emailed them with a written statement asking them to discontinue my service(as per their policy) and they say that they didn't receive it?!? I sent it to the email address that they provided and still they sat that they... Read More


Bobbie L
Hopewell, Virginia
12/13/2017
We are into the third week of not having a working security system. At least Fluent FINALLY returned our calls. They sent a tech out, that they subcontracted out. He went through the exact thing that they instructed us to do over the phone. IT DID NOT WORK. I suppose we are waiting for something in the mail. THEN we had to call them back to schedule another appointment for a tech to return.


Bobbie L
Hopewell, Virginia
12/2/2017
At this time my security system has not been working for a week. I was told they would send a tech to fix the problem. I have not been contacted. I called again to see why no one has called and they inform me they don’t have anyone available. The only contact they have done was to tell me that the alarm system is not working. I’ve had two other alarm systems and have NEVER had issues like this. Poor customer service.


S
Steve w
Thompson, Manitoba
10/6/2017
Fly by Night operations, came to our city and dumped cheap alarm systems and high contract prices, crappy messy installers, just want to get it done and out the door. then the tape falls off the the door the next week.


S
Steve
10/5/2017
I am glad I could only give this a 1/2 star. Horrible service, broken promises to get you to buy in. They fail to tell you the limit on uploads. The cameras didn't last a month. Service with it is so spotty. Horrible customer service. Avoid at all costs. Can't wait until this contract is done we will be moving on.


E
Elizabeth D
Cleveland, Tennessee
9/27/2017
I should have just stayed where I was at. From the start, it was a headache. I was trying to take my son to the pool - only to be ambushed by a sales person. As I tried saying I needed to leave by so-and-so time, he agreed it wouldn't take long. Well, he was wrong. Then, because it did take long, he said he would knock off the first two payments, which didn't happen, and I had to call about. Now, ever since I had the doorbell camera added for "security," which is how he sold me on switching in the first place, it has been a nightmare. It never works, and they always want ME to spend my time trying to fix it - which it never does. Then, they send a person out. He gets it working for a day... Read More


S
Steve H
Knoxville, Tennessee
8/15/2017
My 83 yr old mother was ambushed by a salesman that showed up at her door.. he talked her into a contract she didn't want or need. Within 9 months the system failed, Fluent service was called out and they removed a battery pack so the system would stop alerting...(it alerted mom twice a day for weeks) . At that point my mom was paying for service she was not receiving. Fluent never resolved the issue, the system was inoperable and useless, Fluent kept taking money out of her acct. This company is is the business of getting vulnerable people in contracts that they feel obligated to pay... This company scammed my mother don't let them scam you stay away



Top Rated
Our Partner
9.8 / 10
  • Angie’s List Super Service Award winner 5 years running. Editor's Choice.
  • GE wireless hardware - camera, & mobile app options
  • Best reputation in Home Security
  • 30-day free trial & 3-year term
  • Top quality monitoring, from $34.99/mo