Vivint Home Security Review


Rating: 8.5 / 10 (Very good)
37 Customer Reviews - see all reviews
Disclosure: We receive advertising revenue from this partner. Learn more.
How is Vivint rated?
10/10
Coverage
10/10
Monitoring Services
9/10
Alerts
10/10
Equipment
10/10
Monitoring Technology
10/10
Installation
9/10
Customer Service
7/10
Contract Terms
4/10
Cost
8/10
Reviews

Why They're Great

Vivint is the high end solution for the buyer who needs it all. You can expect to pay more, both up front and over the lifetime of the system, but with Vivint the extra money is worth it. Beyond home security, the company offers home automation as well. Their systems are the highest quality out there.

What's it Gonna Cost Me?

Price Breakdown

Item Price
Monthly Monitoring $53.99
Installation $99
Basic Hardware Included
Year 1 Total $746.88

Bells & Whistles

  • The Best High-End System for Home Automation & Security
  • Mobile App
  • Monitoring
  • Severe Weather Alerts
  • Motion Detector
  • 2-Way Communication & Home Alerts

The Fine Print

Contract & Guarantee

Money Back Guarantee 3 Days
Contract Length 48-60 Mo

This contract length is long, but in line with several other home security entities. It is in order to provide the highest quality equipment that Vivint requires this length of contract. The largest difference between Vivint and the rest of the pack is their higher than average monitoring costs will increase the lifetime cost of the system. This is definitely a premium product on the higher end of the cost spectrum.

The Bottom Line:

Vivint Security is all about giving you the highest quality equipment available. Everything is wireless, touch-screen, and top-of-the-line. If you want the best home security and home automation, they've got it.

Start your review for Vivint Home Security

Latest Reviews

Loading Reviews ...
Tim Covalt
Rochester, Minnesota
1/11/2017
A communication change disabled our system on January 1st. After speaking with four representatives I was told our keypad was old and the latest AT&T upgrade disabled it. " We should have gotten a letter explaining this a few months ago" Meanwhile the monthly billing wasn't disabled. Schedules a keypad replacement and Vivint was a No Show. But the second person I spoke to told me the installer would call within 24 hours to reschedule. Our account was sold by ADT to Vivint so this is our first real experience dealing with them and it hasn't been good.

P
Pat
12/13/2016
The customer service is horrible! Had an appt. Window between 2-5pm and it now 7pm. The guy said he was on his way 6pm and now it's an hour later. Really? I can't wait to Cancel this company!!!!

T
Tomcat
Paterson, New Jersey
11/29/2016
I have had Vivint for approximately 9 months. I have had to have service about 7 times. NOT GOOD! The worst part is they did not show up for four scheduled appointments. It got so bad that they released me from my contract due to their inability to keep an appointment.

T
Tomcat
Paterson, New Jersey
11/29/2016
I have had Vivint for approximately 9 months. I have had to have service about 7 times. NOT GOOD! The worst part is they did not show up for four scheduled appointments. It got so bad that they released me from my contract due to their inability to keep an appointment.

Cynthia Redman
,
11/16/2016
Worst security company ever. We sold our home and they wouldn't let us out of a contract I should never have done with them. We paid off the contract to get out of it and had to keep calling to get our our account cancelled. They kept telling me they couldn't cancel it in case I wanted the service back or someone else could take it over. Charged my account again and it took weeks to get my money back, then they e-mailed me that I was 2 months late on my monthly payments! What a joke this company is. I would never recommend them to any one.

Charie Valois
,
10/25/2016
We signed a 4 Year contract. What a mistake. We have had problems and issues with this company and it's system since it was first installed. They would NOT let us out of our contract. Have one more year to go. Can hardly wait till we're done.

M
Michelle H
,
10/12/2016
Worst service for my business and home! The monitoring department called me after 3 minutes while a robbery was in progress at one of my business locations. By the time the cops were dispatched, my business had to suffer $10,000 in loses. I could never get in touch with a manager to express my disgust with this company. I am switching all my 9 locations to ADT. I do not TRUST Vivint with my life!

D
david p
Waccabuc, New York
10/4/2016
The worst customer service on the planet!!!!!!! Never use them!!!!

D
Dianne Settles
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
9/22/2016
There concept and idea is good, but their support staff is horrific. They read from a script when you call in for assistance and ask the same questions as they pass you on to a technician that supposedly knows more than they do. My system had to be reinstalled more than once because their software was outdated due to my earlier installation date. The final straw for me was when my home was left unprotected for over 10 hours because it never connected to the monitoring company and I nor my alternate person was never contacted the entire day. This meant that my house could have been burglarized and I nor the police would have been none the wiser. Needless to say I cancelled my contract... Read More

F
FRANK NEWLAND
Post Falls, Idaho
9/16/2016
After 6 years of service they will not give a 2 year contract without having to negotiate the second year. No flexibility whatsoever. I'm looking for an alternative service.

Start your review for Vivint Home Security