Pets Best Pet Insurance Review


Rating: 7.8 / 10 (Very good)
40 Customer Comments & Reviews - see all comments
Disclosure: We receive advertising revenue from this partner. 
Learn more.
Pets Best Insurance Services, LLC is a Boise, Idaho-based pet insurance company that covers dogs and cats for accidents and illnesses, and also routine care at additional cost. The company was founded in 2005 and carries an A+ grade with the BBB. Pets Best specifically states that their mission is to end economic euthanasia of pets.

How is Pets Best rated?

Breakdown

9/10
Coverage
6/10
Benefit Limits
10/10
Deductibles
10/10
Reimbursement
8/10
Claims and Service
7/10
Pricing
7/10
Enrollment

Overall Rating: 7.8 / 10 (Very good)

Pets Best offers a variety of pet-centric plans which take into consideration the overall wellbeing of the animal more than other pet insurance plans. The company features standard coverage of things like prescriptions, exam fees, and alternative therapies. Pets Best also has a robust wellness package with two plan levels. Pets Best also has no age restriction; they will cover dogs and cats regardless of how old they are. However, only their top-tier plan is unlimited. The others have benefit limits of $5,000.

Pets Best Coverage

Coverage - 8.5 / 10

Pets Best offers three levels of coverage that are somewhat differently arranged than other pet insurance companies. The company's Essential, Plus, and Elite plans all cover accidents, illnesses, emergency care, and non pre existing hereditary conditions like most policies. However all plans also include prescription coverage which not all companies do. Plus and Elite cover exam fees, rehab therapies, chiropractic, and acupuncture. You can also purchase an accident only policy that is set at $10,000 annual limit, with a 90% reimbursement percentage and $250 deductible. Pets Best also offers two tiers of wellness plans that can be added to these policies at additional cost.
Pets Covered
Dogs
Cats
Coverage Types
Medical
Vet Selection
Unrestricted
Out of State Coverage
Commercial Pets Covered

Medical Conditions Covered

  • Accidental
  • Illness
  • Hereditary
  • Congenital
  • Cancer
  • Chronic
  • Accidental Dental
  • Dental Illness

Medical Treatments Covered

  • Diagnostic Testing
  • Surgery
  • Hospitalization
  • Prescription Medications
  • Emergency Care
  • Specialty Care
  • Alternative Care
  • Behavioral Therapy
  • Prosthetics & Mobility Aids

Benefit Limits

Benefit Limits - 6 / 10

Essential and Plus plans have an annual coverage limit of $5,000. Keep this in mind when choosing the Plus plan, as even with the extra covered services, you are still going to have a $5,000 maximum. The Elite plan offers unlimited annual benefits. This model is somewhat restrictive compared to other companies that allow you more options in annual limits.
Benefit Limit Types
Unlimited

Reimbursement & Deductibles

Reimbursement - 10 / 10

As with all the top companies, Pets Best allows you to choose a reimbursement level of 70%, 80%, or 90%. Reimbursement is provided up to a given plan's coverage limits.
Reimbursement Model
Actual Cost
Minimum Percent Reimbursement
70%
Maximum Percent Reimbursement
90%

Deductibles - 10 / 10

Pet's Best allows you the flexibility to set your deductible in increments between $50 and $1,000. This feature is in line with all the top pet insurance providers today.
Deductible Type
Annual
Minimum Deductible Offered
$50
Maximum Deductible Offered
$1,000

Pricing: How much does Pets Best cost?

Pricing - 6.5 / 10

Pets Best pricing is extremely flexible compared to some of the other pet insurance companies we cover. Although their high end, all-inclusive elite plan can run $60-$70 a month, premiums for accident only plans can go under $10. And the less expensive of the wellness add ons is an extra $16.

Starting Monthly Premiums

Dogs
$16.52
Cats
$30.06
Rate Details: Annual Deductible: $50, Benefits Cap: $5,000, Reimbursement Model: 70% of Actual Cost
Available Discounts: 5% Multiple Policy Discount

Enrollment & Waiting Periouds

Enrollment - 7 / 10

Pets Best is one of only a few companies to allow enrollment at any age. What's more, there are no age limits for policy extensions as well. The waiting period is 14 days illnesses after effective date and 3 days for accidents.
Min Enrollment Age
7 weeks
Accident Waiting Period
3 days
Illnesses Waiting Period
14 days
Free Look Period
30 days

Claims & Service

Claims and Service - 8 / 10

Pets Best will not raise your premium due to the number or types of claims made within a given year. The company also shines here with unusually fast claims processing. If you use direct deposit, Pets Best can often have your reimbursement to you within a week. Pets Best also features a 24/7 veterinary support line for all customers.
Advertised Response Time
14 days
Claim Form
Online Portal

Contact & Additional Information

Homepage URL
Headquarters Address
2323 S. Vista Ave. Ste 100, Boise, ID, 83705
Mailing Address
2323 S. Vista Ave. Ste 100, Boise, ID, 83705
Year Founded
1970

Leave a comment for Pets Best Pet Insurance
Minimum 2-3 sentences.
 No maximum length.
* What's Your Rating?
To make this comment as helpful as possible for our community, please provide at least 2 sentences.

40 Customer Comments & Reviews

Loading Reviews ...
T
Tony T
Voinjama, Lofa County

5/4/2016
I had received my policy but still did not know how to file vet's bills. Shelley was extremely helpful, as have all the other people at Pet's Best I've spoken to. Sometimes, I get the same person I spoke to before and they recognize me and ask me about our little guy! NO hold times every time I've called in. You get to speak to real people.

Isis G  
Official Response

Support of Pets Best Pet Insurance
Hi Tony, we are delighted to hear you have had a 5 star experience with our company! Please let us know the reason your review rated us with 3 stars so we can take a look into your dissatisfaction and rectify these concerns. We look forward to insuring you and your little guy for many years to come.

M
Maureen
South Windsor, Connecticut

4/13/2016
Let me begin by saying...DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY! While insurance can be an awesome thing for serious illness or accident in the long run you end up paying FAR more than you would to pay for the illness or accident when it happens. Over the years I have paid this company THOUSANDS. My claim settlements...mere hundreds. Recently I took my dog in to have her teeth cleaned. I do this every few years to prevent periodontal disease. She is not a chewer so she needs this done. I took her in a month ago. When I picked her up the vet said he had to pull the two front teeth on her lower jaw. They were NOT diseased...they were loose so he removed them. These tiny teeth don't account for... Read More

Isis G  
Official Response

Support of Pets Best Pet Insurance
Hi Maureen, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Pets Best. Dental disease is a direct exclusion of all of our policies. The claim was denied due to periodontal disease as indicated in Apple Valley Veterinarian's medical records. We are sorry to see you have cancelled your policy, if you reconsider insuring with our company, please know we do offer annual plans as opposed to per incident. We wish the best for you and Skylar.

P
pryornina
Pine Grove, California

3/18/2016
Used to be an awesome company to work with. Then we received a notice that coverages were going to change, we could either bump our premiums for full coverage, or we would receive a reduction in coverages. We opted to PAY MORE to receive full benefits. NOW??? They only pay about 20%. I recently submitted a $995 claim and was reimbursed $167. We insure 5 animals with them and pay abut $600 a month, and for what? Don't waste your money.

Isis G  
Official Response

Support of Pets Best Pet Insurance
Hi Pryornina, we understand your concern for a more affordable premium. You're correct that your rates can go up each year when your policy renews. We notify you 45-60 days in advance in case you would like to adjust the policy. In order for us to determine the adequate premium we need to maintain our services, we analyze claims data related to pet age, breed, geographic location, and factor in general inflation. We're here to help you in any way we can. 1-877-PetsBest (877-738-7237) Mon-Fri 7AM - &PM. SAT 10AM - 2PM Mountain Time.

C
Char R
Orange, California

12/9/2015
I was so happy with Pets Best,which is who my vet recommended & having been with them for 4 years, I introduced my 2 sisters and a neighbor to this organization. I have 2 dogs enrolled, with extremely minimal, routine claims, nothing life threatening, my premium $141., tho higher than other insurance companies, remained the same. Last month, one of my dogs ingested a high dosage of medication, I had to have him hospitalized for 3 days, my claim was for $1600.00 not excessive in this day of medicine. Within week, I received a letter that my premium would be going up 78% to $248.56!!! Tho the letter stated it was NOT due to my claim, it was routine due to my dogs age, increased medical... Read More

Isis G  
Official Response

Support of Pets Best Pet Insurance
Hi Char, yes, prices will tend to go up as your pet ages. Much like in human health care, an older person is going to be more expensive to insure than a younger one. Similarly, a pet's chances of becoming ill will increase as they age. The insurance premiums are designed to reflect this increased risk of illness. You'll be happy to know that prices DO NOT go up because of your pet's personal claims filing activity. Let us know if you would like to go over options on reducing your premium.

D
Dana H
, Illinois

10/29/2015
AWFUL! They have not reimbursed a single dollar to us yet. Even the extra "wellness" policy that we purchased to cover the vaccines, etc. for our new puppy...they found a way to say it's all an "exclusion" or "out of policy waiting period" or "not covered" for blah blah blah reason. Their appeal process is a joke. Our puppy caught parvo, was on death's door, and had to be admitted to a pet hospital - over $4000 in bills. We only chose that option b/c we had pet insurance, and they denied it all. Horrific company to deal with - save your time, money, peace of mind, and patience!

Isis G  
Official Response

Support of Pets Best Pet Insurance
Hi Dana, we would like to look into your claims to ensure they were processed accurately. However, we cant find you in our system. If you would like us to review your claims please contact us at 1-877-738-7237. We are available M-F 7:00am to 7:00pm MST and Saturdays 10:00am to 2:00pm MST.

S
Selena L
Honolulu, Hawaii

10/21/2015
After ten months of paying $50/month for "premium coverage," my 1.5-year-old puppy suffered a fall and injured his knee (luxating patella) requiring a $3,000-surgery. Pets Best refused to cover a single cent of the surgery because we were two months shy of making a full year with Pets Best AND because we failed to submit the "optional health check" report within the first 6 weeks of starting our policy with Pets Best. Apparently, if I had submitted the "optional health check" form within the allotted time, my puppy's surgery would have been covered. (When you're paying for "premium coverage" it seems dishonest to not provide service because the customer didn't realize the "optional health... Read More

Isis G  
Official Response

Support of Pets Best Pet Insurance
Hi Selena, we are sorry to hear your frustration. A Luxating Patella, which is a congenital condition and subject to a 1 year waiting period. We provided the option to reduce this waiting period to 14 days by having your vet complete our Pet Health Checklist and return to us within the first 30 days of the policy, indicating the pet is free of any signs or symptoms of the 7 conditions on the checklist. This list of 7 conditions includes: Luxating Patella, Hip Dysplasia, Elbow Dysplasia, Osteochondritis Dissecans, Cruciate Ligament Injury, Portosystemic Shunt, and Cardiovascular defects. We provided this form upon sign up, and tried to reach out after sign up to urge you to complete it, but show it was never completed and returned. Given this, unfortunately this condition is subject to the waiting period of 1 year. The form is not required, but if you choose to not have the form filled out, its with the understanding these 7 issues are subject to the 1 year wait instead of the illness waiting period of 14 days. Additionally, you always reserve the right to appeal our decision. Would you like us to send you an appeal form?

A
Alisa L
Hialeah, Florida

9/24/2015
I am not quite sure how this insurance company was rated among the top ten, but I can tell you that they don't know what they are doing. I have had so many issues, and different requests from them. they are never consistent and give you the runaround to avoid paying you. I have spent one year and a half paying them a heft monthly fee for my pet and they have never reimbursed me a penny. They continually ask for documents already provided, request documentation from clinics my pet has never been to, and most of the staff is RUDE!!!!! The worst ever!!!!!

Isis G  
Official Response

Support of Pets Best Pet Insurance
Hi Alisa, we understand your concern for coverage. In order to accurately process your claims for Luni, we need to request medical records from your vet. However, due to your decision to not disclose your pet's previous veterinarians, we were unable to request the information needed. If you would like us to re-open your claims please let us know, we can re-open claims within 180 days from the date of service, you will have to disclose Luni's previous vets. We are sorry to see you have cancelled your policy and wish you and Luni the best.

S
SJ
, Oregon

9/17/2015
Do not buy Pets Best. They will raise your rates quickly. Mine went up 400% in three years. Go with Healthy Paws. Or Trupanion. There rates are much better priced. And they don't gouge you down the road.

Isis G  
Official Response

Support of Pets Best Pet Insurance
Hi SJ, we would like to go over options with you to lower your premium. We appreciate that you were a loyal Pets Best Customer and we understand your concern for a more affordable premium. Please call us if you would like to go over these options. You're correct that your rates can go up each year when your policy renews. In order for us to determine the adequate premium we need to maintain our services, we analyze claims data related to pet age, breed, geographic location, and factor in general inflation. We're here to help you in any way we can. 1-877-PetsBest (877-738-7237) Mon-Fri 7AM - &PM. SAT 10AM - 2PM Mountain Time

C
Carrie P
Frisco, Texas

6/23/2015
I chose Pets Best because they offer an accident only policy. Our dog is a chewer so we needed coverage in case of accidental ingestion. It also provides coverage for broken limbs and injuries due to being hit by an automobile.

Isis G  
Official Response

Support of Pets Best Pet Insurance
Hi Carrie, we are delighted you have chosen us to insure your fur baby. We look forward to having you as part of the Pets Best family for many years to come!

C
Carolyn S
North Las Vegas, Nevada

5/13/2015
Initially I was very pleased. My dog was sick for 6 months with diarrhea and eventually anorexia. Test after test came back normal. Eventually diagnosed with lymphoma after losing 45 pounds (Lab retriever). They covered about 80% of the thousands of dollars. But, I adopted a new dog. Applied thru the website for wellness and the major medical that covers dental. After I put my credit card info in and pressed ok the next page told me that it only went thru for the wellness not the major medical. So I called. Was told that I can cancel and redo it but I have to do it on line as what I want is only offered on line, doing on line was the problem glitch in the system. Or I can add the second... Read More

Isis G  
Official Response

Support of Pets Best Pet Insurance
Hi Carolyn, we value you as a member of the Pets Best family. We understand your frustration with the miscommunication of the enrollment of your second pet. When you attempted to enroll on your customer portal, the website glitched and only charged you for the BestWellness endorsement plan, which cannot be purchased on its own. Upon your call, we advised we would have to cancel the policy due to the error and start over to include the base injury and illness plan with the routine care BestWellness, which at the time we only offered one option for BestWellness. We offered the option to correct and finalize the policy over the phone or you could try to do so online using your portal once the cancellation went through. Please contact us with any questions or concerns at 1-877-738-7237 option 1. We apologize for the confusion.


Our Partner
7.8 / 10
  • No Lifetime Limits
  • Unlimited Plan Option
  • 24/7 veterinary support line for all customers
  • Reasonably good coverage
  • No hereditary or congenital condition limitations