Pets Best Pet Insurance Review


Rating: 7.8 / 10 (Very good)
44 Customer Comments & Reviews - see all comments
Disclosure: We receive advertising revenue from this partner. 
Learn more.
Pets Best Insurance Services, LLC is a Boise, Idaho-based pet insurance company that covers dogs and cats for accidents and illnesses, and also routine care at additional cost. The company was founded in 2005 and carries an A+ grade with the BBB. Pets Best specifically states that their mission is to end economic euthanasia of pets.

How is Pets Best rated?

Breakdown

9/10
Coverage
6/10
Benefit Limits
10/10
Deductibles
10/10
Reimbursement
8/10
Claims and Service
7/10
Pricing
7/10
Enrollment

Overall Rating: 7.8 / 10 (Very good)

Pets Best offers a variety of pet-centric plans which take into consideration the overall wellbeing of the animal more than other pet insurance plans. The company features standard coverage of things like prescriptions, exam fees, and alternative therapies. Pets Best also has a robust wellness package with two plan levels. Pets Best also has no age restriction; they will cover dogs and cats regardless of how old they are. However, only their top-tier plan is unlimited. The others have benefit limits of $5,000.

Pets Best Coverage

Coverage - 8.5 / 10

Pets Best offers three levels of coverage that are somewhat differently arranged than other pet insurance companies. The company's Essential, Plus, and Elite plans all cover accidents, illnesses, emergency care, and non pre existing hereditary conditions like most policies. However all plans also include prescription coverage which not all companies do. Plus and Elite cover exam fees, rehab therapies, chiropractic, and acupuncture. You can also purchase an accident only policy that is set at $10,000 annual limit, with a 90% reimbursement percentage and $250 deductible. Pets Best also offers two tiers of wellness plans that can be added to these policies at additional cost.
Pets Covered
Dogs
Cats
Coverage Types
Medical
Vet Selection
Unrestricted
Out-of-State Coverage
Commercial Pets Covered

Medical Conditions Covered

  • Accidental
  • Illness
  • Hereditary
  • Congenital
  • Cancer
  • Chronic
  • Accidental Dental
  • Dental Illness

Medical Treatments Covered

  • Diagnostic Testing
  • Surgery
  • Hospitalization
  • Prescription Medications
  • Emergency Care
  • Specialty Care
  • Alternative Care
  • Behavioral Therapy
  • Prosthetics & Mobility Aids

Benefit Limits

Benefit Limits - 6 / 10

Essential and Plus plans have an annual coverage limit of $5,000. Keep this in mind when choosing the Plus plan, as even with the extra covered services, you are still going to have a $5,000 maximum. The Elite plan offers unlimited annual benefits. This model is somewhat restrictive compared to other companies that allow you more options in annual limits.
Benefit Limit Types
Unlimited

Reimbursement & Deductibles

Reimbursement - 10 / 10

As with all the top companies, Pets Best allows you to choose a reimbursement level of 70%, 80%, or 90%. Reimbursement is provided up to a given plan's coverage limits.
Reimbursement Model
Actual Cost
Minimum Percent Reimbursement
70%
Maximum Percent Reimbursement
90%

Deductibles - 10 / 10

Pet's Best allows you the flexibility to set your deductible in increments between $50 and $1,000. This feature is in line with all the top pet insurance providers today.
Deductible Type
Annual
Minimum Deductible Offered
$50
Maximum Deductible Offered
$1,000

Pricing: How much does Pets Best cost?

Pricing - 6.5 / 10

Pets Best pricing is extremely flexible compared to some of the other pet insurance companies we cover. Although their high end, all-inclusive elite plan can run $60-$70 a month, premiums for accident only plans can go under $10. And the less expensive of the wellness add ons is an extra $16.

Starting Monthly Premiums

Dogs
$30.06
Cats
$16.52
Rate Details: Annual Deductible: $50, Benefits Cap: $5,000, Reimbursement Model: 70% of Actual Cost
Available Discounts: 5% Multiple Policy Discount

Enrollment & Waiting Periods

Enrollment - 7 / 10

Pets Best is one of only a few companies to allow enrollment at any age. What's more, there are no age limits for policy extensions as well. The waiting period is 14 days illnesses after effective date and 3 days for accidents.
Min Enrollment Age
7 weeks
Accident Waiting Period
3 days
Illnesses Waiting Period
14 days
Free Look Period
30 days

Claims & Service

Claims and Service - 8 / 10

Pets Best will not raise your premium due to the number or types of claims made within a given year. The company also shines here with unusually fast claims processing. If you use direct deposit, Pets Best can often have your reimbursement to you within a week. Pets Best also features a 24/7 veterinary support line for all customers.
Claim Form
Online Portal

Contact & Additional Information

Homepage URL
Headquarters Address
2323 S. Vista Ave. Ste 100, Boise, ID, 83705
Mailing Address
2323 S. Vista Ave. Ste 100, Boise, ID, 83705
Year Founded
1970

What We’re Hearing From Our Readers
Are you a customer of Pets Best Pet Insurance?
Submit a comment and tell other people about your experience!
Minimum 12 words.
 No maximum length.
* What's Your Rating?
To make this comment as helpful as possible for our community, please provide at least 2 sentences.

Customer Comments

Loading Reviews ...
H
Heather B
Waterford, Michigan

1/9/2017
There are currently 46 complaints with the Better Business Bureau, a 92% negative, yet their given an A+ grade. It's hard to pin point what is going on other than they like to deny claims, take days to response and have a book full of excuses. They appear to be taking advantage of the hard working Americans who pay for "piece of mind" which never comes. If you read the positive reviews, you can tell they are employees or affiliates of employees......just not sure what kind of business their running but it's not what they advertise. This LLC is doing an injustice to the insurance carriers who actually care and the hard working Americans.
Was this comment helpful?

Isis G  
Official Response

Support of Pets Best Pet Insurance
Hi Heather, we understand your frustration with the way your claim was processed. As explained in your policy documents, your pet was subject to the industry standard bilateral exclusion. Due to Riggs suffering from a torn knee ligament on the right side, prior to inception of the policy, it automatically excluded the left side. The good news is that the ear infection claims were eligible for reimbursement and the totals were applied towards your chosen annual deductible of $200. We are sorry to see you have cancelled your policy and wish you and Riggs the best.

S
Selena L
Honolulu, Hawaii

10/21/2015
After ten months of paying $50/month for "premium coverage," my 1.5-year-old puppy suffered a fall and injured his knee (luxating patella) requiring a $3,000-surgery. Pets Best refused to cover a single cent of the surgery because we were two months shy of making a full year with Pets Best AND because we failed to submit the "optional health check" report within the first 6 weeks of starting our policy with Pets Best. Apparently, if I had submitted the "optional health check" form within the allotted time, my puppy's surgery would have been covered. (When you're paying for "premium coverage" it seems dishonest to not provide service because the customer didn't realize the "optional health... Read More
Was this comment helpful?

Isis G  
Official Response

Support of Pets Best Pet Insurance
Hi Selena, we are sorry to hear your frustration. A Luxating Patella, which is a congenital condition and subject to a 1 year waiting period. We provided the option to reduce this waiting period to 14 days by having your vet complete our Pet Health Checklist and return to us within the first 30 days of the policy, indicating the pet is free of any signs or symptoms of the 7 conditions on the checklist. This list of 7 conditions includes: Luxating Patella, Hip Dysplasia, Elbow Dysplasia, Osteochondritis Dissecans, Cruciate Ligament Injury, Portosystemic Shunt, and Cardiovascular defects. We provided this form upon sign up, and tried to reach out after sign up to urge you to complete it, but show it was never completed and returned. Given this, unfortunately this condition is subject to the waiting period of 1 year. The form is not required, but if you choose to not have the form filled out, its with the understanding these 7 issues are subject to the 1 year wait instead of the illness waiting period of 14 days. Additionally, you always reserve the right to appeal our decision. Would you like us to send you an appeal form?

S
Solange M
, New Jersey

8/8/2016
Please do not get this pet insurance. It is a scam. They can turn any accidental injury into something that doesn't qualify. So do not believe what you read when it comes to "accidents". I even appealed and had the Vet write them a letter. My appeal was still declined. I wasted a lot of time and pointless effort. I will be cancelling and going with a competitor. The made a very poor business decision on their part. Instead of keeping a potential customer for the next 15 years, they would rather decline a claim that should have been covered under "accident". I guess they are the ones that are losing money, and customers in the long run.
Was this comment helpful?

Isis G  
Official Response

Support of Pets Best Pet Insurance
Hi Solange, we are sorry to hear your frustration. We have reviewed your claim and veterinarian records show the injury was actually a Luxating Patella, which is a congenital condition and subject to a 1 year waiting period. We provided the option to reduce this waiting period to 14 days by having your vet complete our Pet Health Checklist and return to us within the first 30 days of the policy, indicating the pet is free of any signs or symptoms of the 7 conditions on the checklist. This list of 7 conditions includes: Luxating Patella, Hip Dysplasia, Elbow Dysplasia, Osteochondritis Dissecans, Cruciate Ligament Injury, Portosystemic Shunt, and Cardiovascular defects. We provided this form upon sign up, and tried to reach out after sign up to urge you to complete it, but show it was never completed and returned. Given this, unfortunately this condition is subject to the waiting period of 1 year. We are currently the only pet insurance company that offers the option to reduce the waiting period on congenital and hereditary conditions. Additionally, you always reserve the right to appeal our decision. Would you like us to send you an appeal form?

B
Beth M
Rocklin, California

10/1/2016
There are no words for how horrible they are... they delay paying claims, have in correct fax number on their claim forms, keep having to fax and refax time after time... I finally opened a claim with the DOI and voila they paid... however their VP of claims tried explaining why they delayed paying and they were all lies.. I had kept a log of every fax and every conversation I had... I call them Pets Worst... I had two giant breed dogs and unfortunately I am stuck with them for one dog.. I have pulled my second one off and even though it's costing me more money to have them separately insured, it's well worth the money... I give them no stars
Was this comment helpful?

Isis G  
Official Response

Support of Pets Best Pet Insurance
Hi Beth, At Pets Best any policyholder who is not satisfied with a claim decision is encouraged go through our appeals process. When your complaints came to our attention we sent your claim for review and found that there had been an error. If you need anything further, we are always here to help in any way we can. We wish you and your dogs all the best moving forward.

S
SJ
Orting, Washington

9/17/2015
Do not buy Pets Best. They will raise your rates quickly. Mine went up 400% in three years. Go with Healthy Paws. Or Trupanion. There rates are much better priced. And they don't gouge you down the road.
Was this comment helpful?

Isis G  
Official Response

Support of Pets Best Pet Insurance
Hi SJ, we would like to go over options with you to lower your premium. We appreciate that you were a loyal Pets Best Customer and we understand your concern for a more affordable premium. Please call us if you would like to go over these options. You're correct that your rates can go up each year when your policy renews. In order for us to determine the adequate premium we need to maintain our services, we analyze claims data related to pet age, breed, geographic location, and factor in general inflation. We're here to help you in any way we can. 1-877-PetsBest (877-738-7237) Mon-Fri 7AM - &PM. SAT 10AM - 2PM Mountain Time

W
Walter
Boise, Idaho

1/18/2017
I have had my 4 y/o lab insured with Pets Best for about a year and after submitting two claims over the last year, I can honestly say they have been great! Claims have been paid quickly, without any confusion, and their online customer center is extremely easy to use. I highly recommend them to anyone searching for the best pet insurance company!
Was this comment helpful?

Isis G  
Official Response

Support of Pets Best Pet Insurance
Hi Walter, we are happy to you are part of the Pets Best family and look forward to insuring you for many years to come!

J
j r
Providence, Rhode Island

1/10/2017
I am only 3 weeks into my Petsbest coverage for my 2 pets and so far, at every single turn, there seems to be either problems of incompetence with in the claims department or deliberate tactics to misinterpret vet notes.... i.e., on my clinic's legal medical records ( on clinic letterhead), my vet wrote of specific procedures. The vet basically wrote what pruderies were performed for which body parts ( dated, and again, on clinic letter head), the claims department requested more medical records because the procedure " performed" could have been at other vets. They keep asking for medical records when they already have ALL OF them FOR THE PAST 2 YEARS. I have asked them to e-mail me... Read More
Was this comment helpful?

Isis G  
Official Response

Support of Pets Best Pet Insurance
Hi J, we are sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction with the claim process. Dental claims tend to be complex when there are fractures and extractions involved. In order to accurately process your claim and ensure you are receiving the most reimbursement, we may request medical records of the dental chart, depending on how long the vet clinic takes to send those in may delay the claim process. Our records show your claims for Emmett and Howie have been processed and reimbursed. We hope you have a better year.

D
Dana H

10/29/2015
AWFUL! They have not reimbursed a single dollar to us yet. Even the extra "wellness" policy that we purchased to cover the vaccines, etc. for our new puppy...they found a way to say it's all an "exclusion" or "out of policy waiting period" or "not covered" for blah blah blah reason. Their appeal process is a joke. Our puppy caught parvo, was on death's door, and had to be admitted to a pet hospital - over $4000 in bills. We only chose that option b/c we had pet insurance, and they denied it all. Horrific company to deal with - save your time, money, peace of mind, and patience!
Was this comment helpful?

Isis G  
Official Response

Support of Pets Best Pet Insurance
Hi Dana, we would like to look into your claims to ensure they were processed accurately. However, we cant find you in our system. If you would like us to review your claims please contact us at 1-877-738-7237. We are available M-F 7:00am to 7:00pm MST and Saturdays 10:00am to 2:00pm MST.

A
Alisa L
Miami, Florida

9/24/2015
I am not quite sure how this insurance company was rated among the top ten, but I can tell you that they don't know what they are doing. I have had so many issues, and different requests from them. they are never consistent and give you the runaround to avoid paying you. I have spent one year and a half paying them a heft monthly fee for my pet and they have never reimbursed me a penny. They continually ask for documents already provided, request documentation from clinics my pet has never been to, and most of the staff is RUDE!!!!! The worst ever!!!!!
Was this comment helpful?

Isis G  
Official Response

Support of Pets Best Pet Insurance
Hi Alisa, we understand your concern for coverage. In order to accurately process your claims for Luni, we need to request medical records from your vet. However, due to your decision to not disclose your pet's previous veterinarians, we were unable to request the information needed. If you would like us to re-open your claims please let us know, we can re-open claims within 180 days from the date of service, you will have to disclose Luni's previous vets. We are sorry to see you have cancelled your policy and wish you and Luni the best.

T
Tony T

5/4/2016
I had received my policy but still did not know how to file vet's bills. Shelley was extremely helpful, as have all the other people at Pet's Best I've spoken to. Sometimes, I get the same person I spoke to before and they recognize me and ask me about our little guy! NO hold times every time I've called in. You get to speak to real people.
Was this comment helpful?

Isis G  
Official Response

Support of Pets Best Pet Insurance
Hi Tony, we are delighted to hear you have had a 5 star experience with our company! Please let us know the reason your review rated us with 3 stars so we can take a look into your dissatisfaction and rectify these concerns. We look forward to insuring you and your little guy for many years to come.


Our Partner
7.8 / 10
  • No Lifetime Limits
  • Unlimited Plan Option
  • 24/7 veterinary support line for all customers
  • Reasonably good coverage
  • No hereditary or congenital condition limitations