Pets Best Pet Insurance Review


Rating: 7.7 / 10 (Very good)
27 Customer Reviews - see all reviews
Disclosure: We receive advertising revenue from this partner. Learn more.
How is Pets Best rated?
8/10
Coverage
6/10
Benefit Limits
10/10
Deductibles
10/10
Reimbursement Models
8/10
Claims and Service
7/10
Pricing
7/10
Reviews

Pets Best is a Good Pick

Pets Best is a respected brand with an A+ BBB ranking. They only rank below Healthy Paws, Petplan, Trupanion & Embrace because they have some coverage limitations. However, they're comparable to, or better than, the rest of the pet insurance companies with coverage in the United States.

Pets Best is a reputable company that reimburses based on actual vet bills as opposed to a benefits schedule, which is an important consideration when choosing the right pet insurance provider for your pet. 

What's Included with Pets Best:

  • Choice of 70%, 80%, or 90% reimbursement
  • $50 to $1,000 annual deductible
  • Visit the vet of your choice
  • Coverage for hereditary & congenital conditions w/their BestBenefit Plans
  • Coverage for cold laser therapy, acupuncture, hydrotherapy & physical therapy 
  • Expanded dental coverage
  • Online Account Management (Edit payment information, submit claims, view claims history, and sign up for direct deposit)
  • Typical reimbursement for customers using direct deposit is within a week of submitting a claim

Additional Options:

  • Accident Only Plan
  • Unlimited Plan
  • EssentialWellness/BestWellness Endorsement - provides for many types of preventative care, spay/neuter, rabies, flea/tick, etc.

Plan Details:

 Type of contract

12 months

 Enrollment age

7 weeks, no upper age limits

 Effective date

 Refer to Declaration Page

 Waiting period

14 days illnesses after effective date, 3 days for injuries

 Out of state coverage

 YES

 Out of country coverage

Canada and US Territories

 Claims and policy price

 NO increase in premiums due # or type of claims made

 Age limit

No upper age limits during enrollment, no age limits in terms of policy extension

 Annual deductible

 Choose your own deductible $50 to $1,000

 Claim limit

No Lifetime Limits

 

What does Pets Best cover?

Pets covered – Cats and Dogs

Baseline coverage

a. Illness

  • lab tests
  • diagnostic tests
  • treatments
  • surgery
  • hospitalization
  • medications

b. Accident and Injury

  • lab tests
  • diagnostic tests
  • treatments
  • surgery
  • hospitalization
  • medications

c. Pre-existing conditions

NOT covered

d. Congenital conditions

Covered as long as said condition was not present prior to the effective date of the policy.

e. Chronic conditions

Covered as long as said condition was not present prior to the effective date of the policy.

Continual coverage is available

f. Cancer

Covered as long as said condition was not present prior to the effective date of the policy.

Continual coverage is available

g. Wellness coverage – Covered as plan add on

  • Vaccinations
  • Routing checkups
  • Dental care

Dental treatment is covered if caused by an accident and for certain illnesses.

h. Pregnancy – Emergency procedures covered, some breeds excluded.

i. Special coverage:   

  • Alternative therapy – acupuncture, chiropractic care, and physical therapy recommended and performed by a licensed veterinarian
  • Behavioral conditions
  • Hip dysplasia - as long as said condition was not present prior to the effective date of the policy.

 

The Fine Print:

  • They will not cover items deemed "preventable"
  • A full list of what's not covered is here

The Bottom Line:

Pets Best is a good company with generally solid pet insurance coverage. It's not the best option out there, as there are several pet insurance companies that offer better plans, but Pets Best is a reputable pet insurance brand that provides above average policies for pet parents. 

Start your review for Pets Best Pet Insurance

Latest Reviews

Loading Reviews ...
A
Abby
4/4/2017
I have used this company for a few years now and not only did the premiums practically double, now they are being cheap on payback. Even if you had one large bill, they still break it down and pay you back what they see fit.

Isis Goff  
Official Response

Support of Pets Best Pet Insurance
Hi Abby, Your rates can go up each year when your policy renews. In order for us to determine the adequate premium we need to maintain our services, we analyze total claims data related to pet age, breed, geographic location, and factor in general inflation. Rates are based on nothing more than the risk your pet represents. Older pets tend to see higher rates because their odds of health issues are increasing, as well as the odds that those issues are going to be more expensive. Rates do not increase due to claim history—it’s all based on potential risk. We encourage our customers with older pets not to cancel as they are—unfortunately—entering this area of greater risk. Please keep in mind we offer several options to find a policy that will best fit your budget. Please contact us at 1-877-738-7237 if you would like to go over these options.
Nora C
3/31/2017
Buyer beware! My premium went from 36.00 month to over 66.00 month in just 3 years! Never saw that coming.

Isis Goff  
Official Response

Support of Pets Best Pet Insurance
Hi Nora, Your rates can go up each year when your policy renews. In order for us to determine the adequate premium we need to maintain our services, we analyze total claims data related to pet age, breed, geographic location, and factor in general inflation. Rates are based on nothing more than the risk your pet represents. Older pets tend to see higher rates because their odds of health issues are increasing, as well as the odds that those issues are going to be more expensive. Rates do not increase due to claim history—it’s all based on potential risk. We encourage our customers with older pets not to cancel as they are—unfortunately—entering this area of greater risk. Please keep in mind we offer several options to find a policy that will best fit your budget. Please contact us at 1-877-738-7237 if you would like to go over these options.
Diane O
Shelter Island, New York
3/29/2017
Not sure how to rate this-- I had coverage for one year with this company. My dog had a skin infection while covered. Initially, they covered his visits and prescriptions and I was very pleased. My vet prescribed a special temporary prescription diet--they refused to pay because the plan excludes food. The vet said he needed weekly medicated baths until the infection cleared. These baths were performed at the vet's office with a prescription medication. They refused to pay, because they don't cover "grooming"..There was no discussion...even though this needed to be done (if it wasn't, they would have paid out much more for additional meds and visits--not smart on their part). Of course... Read More

Isis Goff  
Official Response

Support of Pets Best Pet Insurance
Hi Diane, we are sorry to hear you have cancelled your policy. Your rates can go up each year when your policy renews. In order for us to determine the adequate premium we need to maintain our services, we analyze total claims data related to pet age, breed, geographic location, and factor in general inflation. Rates are based on nothing more than the risk your pet represents. Older pets tend to see higher rates because their odds of health issues are increasing, as well as the odds that those issues are going to be more expensive. Rates do not increase due to claim history—it’s all based on potential risk. We encourage our customers with older pets not to cancel as they are—unfortunately—entering this area of greater risk. Please keep in mind we offer several options to find a policy that will best fit your budget. Please contact us at 1-877-738-7237 if you would like to go over these options.
Sean W
Austin, Texas
3/29/2017
Get everything in writing ASAP. I got a policy and then within the first month I told them I need them to get records from my dog's veterinary office's so they can tell me what is my dog's pre-existing illnesses because their brochure does not address my dog specially. Their sarcastic customer service kept referring me to the brochure with a customer service rep by the name of Laura sarcastically told me I need to "gamble". I explained that if they would tell me what they deem pre-existed for my dog while the policy is new I would be able to choose if I want to keep the policy. But if they wait until I file a claim and then tell me the illness is an allege pre-existing illness, had I... Read More

Isis Goff  
Official Response

Support of Pets Best Pet Insurance
Hi Sean, we understand your frustration. Any illness or injury that begins before your policy is effective, or during your waiting period, will be considered “pre-existing”. Some conditions, like broken legs or kennel cough, heal or are curable and require no further treatment. Once healed or cured, these are not considered pre-existing conditions. We typically request medical records directly from your vet when a claim is filed to determine if a condition is pre-existing or not. We are sorry to see you go and wish you and Money the best.
Jasna
3/17/2017
One year into this plan, very first claim filed, to find out that the medicated bath (part of the necessary treatment for my dog's skin condition) performed at the vet's office is not covered, because it's under "grooming". I am rather disappointed with this policy, and now I'm not even sure if I want to continue with this insurance or not.

C
Carl
3/11/2017
Definitely not the best option out there. I found a health insurance provider that covers the same as pets best, plus they had the Wellness option included in the same amount per month that I was paying for my pets best policy without the Wellness option.

K
Kathleen P
2/5/2017
I had Petsbest for 10 yrs. The monthly cost became prohibitive going from $156 per month to over $200 in one month. I had to constantly argue with them over their interpretation of vet bills and whether the doctor visits were follow ups or new conditions or continuing, whether they ere necessary. I had to raise my deductible to be able to pay the monthly bill and then argue regarding what their share of cost was. I cancelled them the month before my Toby passed away. If he had lived in still wouldn't have been able to afford them or be willing to deal with them

Isis Goff  
Official Response

Support of Pets Best Pet Insurance
Hi Kathleen, we value you as a member of Pets Best since 2009. You're correct that your rates can go up each year when your policy renews. In order for us to determine the adequate premium we need to maintain our services, we analyze claims data related to pet age, breed, geographic location, and factor in general inflation. Rates do not increase due to claim history. We are showing all of your claims filed for Toby were reimbursed per your policy limits. The only claim that was closed out was the claim submitted after you had cancelled Toby's coverage. We wish you and Toby the best!
H
[email protected]
2/4/2017
We are so incredibly happy and satisfied with our pet insurance. They have always answered any questions we needed answered. Our refunds are always given to us quickly. They check in on our baby when something is going on with him and always ensure the very best care. We recommend them to all of our friends with loved pets of their own. The coverage is phenomenal.

Isis Goff  
Official Response

Support of Pets Best Pet Insurance
Hi Holley, we are delighted to hear we have been able to assist during difficult situations. We look forward to insuring you and your fur baby for many years to come!
W
Walter
Boise, Idaho
1/18/2017
I have had my 4 y/o lab insured with Pets Best for about a year and after submitting two claims over the last year, I can honestly say they have been great! Claims have been paid quickly, without any confusion, and their online customer center is extremely easy to use. I highly recommend them to anyone searching for the best pet insurance company!

Isis Goff  
Official Response

Support of Pets Best Pet Insurance
Hi Walter, we are happy to you are part of the Pets Best family and look forward to insuring you for many years to come!
J
j r
Providence, Rhode Island
1/10/2017
I am only 3 weeks into my Petsbest coverage for my 2 pets and so far, at every single turn, there seems to be either problems of incompetence with in the claims department or deliberate tactics to misinterpret vet notes.... i.e., on my clinic's legal medical records ( on clinic letterhead), my vet wrote of specific procedures. The vet basically wrote what pruderies were performed for which body parts ( dated, and again, on clinic letter head), the claims department requested more medical records because the procedure " performed" could have been at other vets. They keep asking for medical records when they already have ALL OF them FOR THE PAST 2 YEARS. I have asked them to e-mail me... Read More

Isis Goff  
Official Response

Support of Pets Best Pet Insurance
Hi J, we are sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction with the claim process. Dental claims tend to be complex when there are fractures and extractions involved. In order to accurately process your claim and ensure you are receiving the most reimbursement, we may request medical records of the dental chart, depending on how long the vet clinic takes to send those in may delay the claim process. Our records show your claims for Emmett and Howie have been processed and reimbursed. We hope you have a better year.
Start your review for Pets Best Pet Insurance