Pets Best Pet Insurance Review

Pets Best Insurance Services, LLC is a Boise, Idaho-based pet insurance company that covers dogs and cats for accidents and illnesses, and also routine care at additional cost. The company was founded in 2005 and carries an A+ grade with the BBB. Pets Best specifically states that their mission is to end economic euthanasia of pets.

Rating: 7.7 / 10 (Very good)
32 Customer Reviews - see all reviews
Disclosure: We receive advertising revenue from this partner. Learn more.

How is Pets Best rated?

Breakdown

8/10
Coverage
6/10
Benefit Limits
10/10
Deductibles
10/10
Reimbursement
8/10
Claims and Service
7/10
Pricing
7/10
Enrollment

Overall Rating: 7.7 / 10 (Very good)

Pets Best offers a variety of pet-centric plans which take into consideration the overall wellbeing of the animal more than other pet insurance plans. The company features standard coverage of things like prescriptions, exam fees, and alternative therapies. Pets Best also has a robust wellness package with two plan levels. Pets Best also has no age restriction; they will cover dogs and cats regardless of how old they are. However, only their top-tier plan is unlimited. The others have benefit limits of $5,000.

Company Profile

Full Name
Pets Best Pet Insurance
Year Founded
1970
BBB Rating
A+
Underwriter
American Pet Insurance Company
Moody's Financial Rating
NP
Standard & Poor's Financial Rating Financial Rating
NR
AM Best Financial Rating
A-
Company Website
Headquarters
2323 S. Vista Ave. Ste 100, Boise, ID, 83705
Mailing Address
2323 S. Vista Ave. Ste 100, Boise, ID, 83705

Pets Best Coverage

Coverage Specifics

Pets Covered
Dogs
Cats
Coverage Types
Medical
Vet Selection
Unrestricted
Out of State Coverage
Commercial Pets Covered

Coverage - 8 / 10

Pets Best offers three levels of coverage that are somewhat differently arranged than other pet insurance companies. The company's Essential, Plus, and Elite plans all cover accidents, illnesses, emergency care, and non pre existing hereditary conditions like most policies. However all plans also include prescription coverage which not all companies do. Plus and Elite cover exam fees, rehab therapies, chiropractic, and acupuncture. You can also purchase an accident only policy that is set at $10,000 annual limit, with a 90% reimbursement percentage and $250 deductible. Pets Best also offers two tiers of wellness plans that can be added to these policies at additional cost.

Medical Conditions Covered

  • Accidental
  • Illness
  • Hereditary
  • Congenital
  • Cancer
  • Chronic
  • Accidental Dental
  • Dental Illness

Medical Treatments Covered

  • Diagnostic Testing
  • Surgery
  • Hospitalization
  • Prescription Medications
  • Emergency Care
  • Specialty Care
  • Alternative Care
  • Behavioral Therapy
  • Prosthetics & Mobility Aids

Benefit Limits

Specifics

Benefit Limit Types
Unlimited

Benefit Limits - 6 / 10

Essential and Plus plans have an annual coverage limit of $5,000. Keep this in mind when choosing the Plus plan, as even with the extra covered services, you are still going to have a $5,000 maximum. The Elite plan offers unlimited annual benefits. This model is somewhat restrictive compared to other companies that allow you more options in annual limits.

Deductibles

Key Facts

Deductible Type
Annual
Minimum Deductible Offered
$50
Maximum Deductible Offered
$1,000

Deductibles - 10 / 10

Pet's Best allows you the flexibility to set your deductible in increments between $50 and $1,000. This feature is in line with all the top pet insurance providers today.

Reimbursements

Key Facts

Reimbursement Model
Actual Cost
Minimum Percent Reimbursement
70%
Maximum Percent Reimbursement
90%

Reimbursement - 10 / 10

As with all the top companies, Pets Best allows you to choose a reimbursement level of 70%, 80%, or 90%. Reimbursement is provided up to a given plan's coverage limits.

Claims & Service

Key Considerations

Advertised Response Time
14 days
Claim Form
Online Portal

Claims and Service - 8 / 10

Pets Best will not raise your premium due to the number or types of claims made within a given year. The company also shines here with unusually fast claims processing. If you use direct deposit, Pets Best can often have your reimbursement to you within a week. Pets Best also features a 24/7 veterinary support line for all customers.

Pricing: How much does Pets Best cost?

Starting Monthly Premiums

Dogs
$16.52
Cats
$30.06
Rate Details: Annual Deductible: $50, Benefits Cap: $5,000, Reimbursement Model: 70% of Actual Cost

Pricing - 6.5 / 10

Pets Best pricing is extremely flexible compared to some of the other pet insurance companies we cover. Although their high end, all-inclusive elite plan can run $60-$70 a month, premiums for accident only plans can go under $10. And the less expensive of the wellness add ons is an extra $16.
Available Discounts: 5% Multiple Policy Discount

Enrollment

Enrollment Age & Waiting Periods

Min Enrollment Age
7 weeks
Accident Waiting Period
3 days
Illnesses Waiting Period
14 days
Free Look Period
30 days

Enrollment - 7 / 10

Pets Best is one of only a few companies to allow enrollment at any age. What's more, there are no age limits for policy extensions as well. The waiting period is 14 days illnesses after effective date and 3 days for accidents.
Start your review for Pets Best Pet Insurance

Latest Reviews

Loading Reviews ...
R
RAY R
North Hollywood, California
7/11/2017
Believe it or not it costs about the same amount for my each of my college age children's insurance with significantly better coverage than for my dog who is perfectly healthy. I have had PetsBest for my 10 year old small mixed dog since 2012 with a maximum $5000 coverage. My premiums have tripled in 5 years. I have submitted one claim in the five years for $730 ish and I have a $500 deductible so I have only gotten roughly $230 from the company. The claims process was easy, but this year they want $1200. It seems to me that they are increasing the price so much each year to discourage people from keeping their aging dogs on the plan. I dol not recommend this plan.

Claud M
6/21/2017
Prices have doubled in two years... Plus $100 deductible,plus copayment. I mean. I was paying $100 this year and I just heard from them and they increased it to $150....Based on number of claims? Really? I rather have a savings account for my Dog. If they do not offer someting better and reasonable, I am canceling today

Isis G  
Official Response

Support of Pets Best Pet Insurance
Hi Claud, your rates can go up each year when your policy renews. In order for us to determine the adequate premium we need to maintain our services, we analyze total claims data related to pet age, breed, geographic location, and factor in general inflation. Rates are based on nothing more than the risk your pet represents. Older pets tend to see higher rates because their odds of health issues are increasing, as well as the odds that those issues are going to be more expensive. Rates do not increase due to claim history—it’s all based on potential risk. We encourage our customers with older pets not to cancel as they are—unfortunately—entering this area of greater risk. Please keep in mind we offer several options to find a policy that will best fit your budget. Please contact us at 1-877-738-7237 if you would like to go over these options.
A
Armen
, New Jersey
5/11/2017
So here is an update to my review of Pets Best and there business practices. My mastiff who tore her ACL had the insurance increased from $46 to $76 in a year and Pets best tries to convince people that they don't increase insurance based on any recent surgeries but to age/geographics blah blah blah. Well my mastiff had to go back for surgery 8 months later due to the vet who performed an incorrect procedure on her. (thats another story) Pets best covered 80 percent of cost which is what insurance companies should do considering I pay almost 77 a month for her insurance, decided to increase my insurance to $126 dollars starting in June. I will now pay more money for my dog insurance then... Read More

A
Andrea
Elizabeth, Colorado
5/10/2017
My second response to Isis G who has been giving the "official response" for Pets Best. A third reason NOT TO PURCHASE pet insurance. Isis G reiterates ". We have offered the appeal option. At this time please contact us at 1-877-738-7237 with further questions or concerns. That name along should make one be cautious. Thus I did. Once they get your money you are not allowed to talk to anyone but the nice sweet voices who answer the phone and in all probability get paid far less than the people in the claims department who you are NOT ALLOWED to talk with, even when Isis G responds to your review posted on this site. I am sent an appeal form in PDF format so one can not copy... Read More

A
Andrea
Elizabeth, Colorado
5/10/2017
I want to reply to PetsBest response of my review. Specifically their statement: " A diagnosis of a toxin is covered by our accident policies as long as there is a confirmed substance that caused the toxicity. However, medical records indicated the vet was not sure what was causing the symptoms. During Tiff's 3 day stay at the ER, the doctors informed me that statistically 60%-70% of the time a dog comes in with her symptoms they will not be able to determine the toxin, just treat it. Just another way the insurance industry can write a generic response to its customer when denying a claim, after all the odds are in their favor by 60-70% of the time since veterinarians can't... Read More

Isis G  
Official Response

Support of Pets Best Pet Insurance
Hello Andrea, we understand your frustration with the claim processing. We have offered the appeal option. At this time please contact us at 1-877-738-7237 with further questions or concerns.
A
Andrea
Elizabeth, Colorado
5/10/2017
Before you pay for any insurance policy, you may want to consider putting the premium and yearly deductible in a personal savings account for your pet to use when needed. Another important consideration is to find a pet insurance company that has no waiting period (or the shortest one you can find). PetsBest takes your premium and makes you wait 14 days for any illness and 3 days for accident. Unfortunately our 6 month old came down hurt/ill on the 8th day of purchasing the policy. Diagnosis was toxins which one may think was an accident as both the family vet a ER ruled out congenital problems with the liver and focused on household poisons. I had no problem with PetsBest denying... Read More

Isis G  
Official Response

Support of Pets Best Pet Insurance
Hello Andrea, we have some of the shortest waiting periods in the industry for injury, illness, and wellness. Waiting periods are set because pre-existing issues are not covered expenses. A diagnosis of a toxin is covered by our accident policies as long as there is a confirmed substance that caused the toxicity. However, medical records indicated the vet was not sure what was causing the symptoms. You have the option to file an appeal with supplemental records from your veterinarian to indicate this was in fact an accident as it occurred on day 4 of your policy inception date, which is after the accident waiting period ended but not before your illness waiting period ended. Unfortunately the pet insurance industry is not able to cover any testing or treatment of pre-existing conditions. To clarify, future injury or illness that is unrelated to this incident would still qualify for coverage as long as the records indicated there is no relation to a pre-existing issue. We will determine this by requesting records from your veterinarian directly as we did with this claim. We see you have cancelled your policy and are sorry to see you go. We wish you and Tiffany De Chocolat the best!
L
Lee C
Mandeville, Louisiana
5/1/2017
I’ve been with this company since 2012 and over the past 3 years my premiums have doubled. I have two cats, one is 5 and is healthy, the other is 13 and contracted diabetes 2 years ago requiring insulin. PetsBest has been very good with reimbursements. However based on the level of increases that have taken place over the past two years, I’m guessing that my premiums will negate any benefits on the monthly insulin prescription within two years. The level of increases for my 13 year old is theoretically far beyond that of my 5 year old. I’m very disappointed with PetsBest because I’d felt secure and fortunate to have had the fore-sight to have this policy for my cat. Unfortunately, my cat... Read More

Isis G  
Official Response

Support of Pets Best Pet Insurance
Hello Lee, your rates can go up each year when your policy renews. In order for us to determine the adequate premium we need to maintain our services, we analyze total claims data related to pet age, breed, geographic location, and factor in general inflation. Rates are based on nothing more than the risk your pet represents. Older pets tend to see higher rates because their odds of health issues are increasing, as well as the odds that those issues are going to be more expensive. Rates do not increase due to claim history—it’s all based on potential risk. We encourage our customers with older pets not to cancel as they are—unfortunately—entering this area of greater risk. Please keep in mind we offer several options to find a policy that will best fit your budget. Please contact us at 1-877-738-7237 if you would like to go over these options.
A
Abby
El Dorado Hills, California
4/4/2017
I have used this company for a few years now and not only did the premiums practically double, now they are being cheap on payback. Even if you had one large bill, they still break it down and pay you back what they see fit.

Isis G  
Official Response

Support of Pets Best Pet Insurance
Hi Abby, Your rates can go up each year when your policy renews. In order for us to determine the adequate premium we need to maintain our services, we analyze total claims data related to pet age, breed, geographic location, and factor in general inflation. Rates are based on nothing more than the risk your pet represents. Older pets tend to see higher rates because their odds of health issues are increasing, as well as the odds that those issues are going to be more expensive. Rates do not increase due to claim history—it’s all based on potential risk. We encourage our customers with older pets not to cancel as they are—unfortunately—entering this area of greater risk. Please keep in mind we offer several options to find a policy that will best fit your budget. Please contact us at 1-877-738-7237 if you would like to go over these options.
N
Nora C
San Rafael, California
3/31/2017
Buyer beware! My premium went from 36.00 month to over 66.00 month in just 3 years! Never saw that coming.

Isis G  
Official Response

Support of Pets Best Pet Insurance
Hi Nora, Your rates can go up each year when your policy renews. In order for us to determine the adequate premium we need to maintain our services, we analyze total claims data related to pet age, breed, geographic location, and factor in general inflation. Rates are based on nothing more than the risk your pet represents. Older pets tend to see higher rates because their odds of health issues are increasing, as well as the odds that those issues are going to be more expensive. Rates do not increase due to claim history—it’s all based on potential risk. We encourage our customers with older pets not to cancel as they are—unfortunately—entering this area of greater risk. Please keep in mind we offer several options to find a policy that will best fit your budget. Please contact us at 1-877-738-7237 if you would like to go over these options.
Diane O
Southold, New York
3/29/2017
Not sure how to rate this-- I had coverage for one year with this company. My dog had a skin infection while covered. Initially, they covered his visits and prescriptions and I was very pleased. My vet prescribed a special temporary prescription diet--they refused to pay because the plan excludes food. The vet said he needed weekly medicated baths until the infection cleared. These baths were performed at the vet's office with a prescription medication. They refused to pay, because they don't cover "grooming"..There was no discussion...even though this needed to be done (if it wasn't, they would have paid out much more for additional meds and visits--not smart on their part). Of course... Read More

Isis G  
Official Response

Support of Pets Best Pet Insurance
Hi Diane, we are sorry to hear you have cancelled your policy. Your rates can go up each year when your policy renews. In order for us to determine the adequate premium we need to maintain our services, we analyze total claims data related to pet age, breed, geographic location, and factor in general inflation. Rates are based on nothing more than the risk your pet represents. Older pets tend to see higher rates because their odds of health issues are increasing, as well as the odds that those issues are going to be more expensive. Rates do not increase due to claim history—it’s all based on potential risk. We encourage our customers with older pets not to cancel as they are—unfortunately—entering this area of greater risk. Please keep in mind we offer several options to find a policy that will best fit your budget. Please contact us at 1-877-738-7237 if you would like to go over these options.
Start your review for Pets Best Pet Insurance