Landmark Home Warranty Review

Rating: 9 / 10 (Excellent)
92 Customer Reviews - see all comments
Disclosure: We receive advertising revenue from this partner. Learn more.
Landmark Home Warranty, LLC is Utah-based home warranty company founded in 2004. The company, which services Arizona, Idaho, Nevada, Oregon, Texas, and Utah, offers comprehensive and customizable coverages starting at $35 a month. Landmark Home Warranty has overwhelmingly positive customer reviews and a Better Business Bureau rating of B.

How is Landmark rated?

Breakdown

10/10
Coverage
10/10
Reputation
6/10
Contract & Price
9/10
Claims & Service

Overall Rating: 9 / 10 (Excellent)

Landmark has reasonable appliance and system caps, no term limits, and positive online reviews, which is more than can be said for many of its competitors. Despite its relatively high annual premiums, Landmark’s online availability and its customer-centric policies make up for it. By and large, Landmark delivers a customer experience that works precisely as advertised.

Coverage

Key Facts

Plan Types
Systems
Combo Plan
Benefit Limit Type
Per Item
Typical Appliance Benefit Limit
$500
Typical Systems Benefit Limit
$1,000

Coverage - 10 / 10

Landmark’s home warranties automatically include certain systems with all their policies. Their appliance coverage is made available in the combo plans, while specialty items are generally add-ons. Specific covered items differ by state, however. The appliance cap is universally set at $500 and systems at $1,000.

What does Landmark cover?

Covered Systems

  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Electrical
  • Plumbing
  • Water Heaters
  • Central Vacuums
  • Ceiling Fans

Covered Appliances

  • Refrigerators
  • Dishwashers
  • Clothes Dryers
  • Clothes Washers
  • Ranges/Ovens/Cooktops
  • Built-in Microwave
  • Free-standing Ice Makers
  • Garage Door Openers
  • Garbage Disposal

Exclusions

For a full list of Landmark exclusions, check out this page.

Specialty Items

  • Pool/Spa
  • Well Pump
  • Septic
  • Roof Leaks

Contract & Price

Contract Details

Annual Premium
Starting at $410
Minimum Contract Length
12 month(s)
Home Inspection Required for Contract?
No
Online Quote/Application

Contract & Price - 6 / 10

Landmark’s home warranties begin at a base-level, non-mandatory, 12-month contract starting at $410 annually, which is a bit high. They have an online quote calculator available on their website, for customers who'd like more specifics. If the policyholder chooses to cancel, Landmark offers a 30-day, full money-back guarantee, with the exception of a $40 administration fee.

Sample Contract

Landmark provides a sample contract for potential customers on its website:

Cancellation Policy

a) LHW may not cancel this contract during the initial term for which it was issued, except for any of the following reasons: (1) the contract holder does not pay a fee or charge due under the terms of this contract; (2) the contract holder engages in fraud or misrepresentation of facts material to the issuance of the contract; (3) an interest in the residential property covered under this contract is sold, and the contract is contingent on an interest in the property not being sold. b) If contract is cancelled, homeowner shall be entitled to a pro rata refund of the paid contract fee for the unexpired term, less a $40 administrative fee, and any actual service costs incurred by LHW. If listing coverage is cancelled after service has been performed, and the contract fee has not yet been paid, contract holder will be responsible for purchase of contract, or reimbursement to LHW of service costs incurred, whichever is less. c) Cancellation may be made by Contract Holder at any time. If cancelled within 30 days of acceptance of LHW, and no service request has been made, the Contract Holder is entitled to a full refund of the contract proceeds less an administrative fee of $40. Utah Residents: If Contract is cancelled by us, cancellation will be effective no sooner than 10 days for paragraph A.1, and 30 days for A.2 and A.3 after delivery or 1st class mailing of a written notice to the contract holder.

Claims & Service

Claims

Service Fee
60
Maintenance Records Required for Service?
No
24/7 Claims Department?
Waiting Period
0 days

Contractors & Service

Contractor Selection
In-Network Only
Service Recall Period
30 days

Claims & Service - 9 / 10

Unlike some of their competitors, Landmark offers a flat service fee of $60. Without the need for maintenance records or a waiting period, this company’s 24/7 claims department is always ready to dispatch one of its many in-network contractors. Landmark also allows for the hiring of outside operators, provided that they meet pre-specified requirements.

Landmark Reputation

Company Details

Year Founded
2004
Number of Employees
52-200
BBB Rating
B+
BBB Rating
216
BBB Neutral Reviews
4
BBB Negative Reviews
73
Date Collected
2017-07-21

Reputation - 10 / 10

Although not a member of the NHSCA, Landmark has maintained a Better Business Bureau rating of B+ since 2004. This is based on 216 positive, four neutral, and 73 negative reviews.

Contact & Additional Information

Homepage URL
Company Phone
(801) 748-0124
Headquarters Address
Salt Lake City, UT
Mailing Address
P.O.Box 27848, Salt Lake City, UT, 84127
Year Founded
2004

Top Rated
Our Partner
9.0 / 10
  • Service Available in Arizona, Idaho, Oregon, Nevada, Texas and Utah
  • Generous Coverage Including Pest Control and Improper Repairs
  • Most Extensive List of Covered Items
  • Excellent Customer Satisfaction
  • Service fee $60 - $100, depending on state
  • Emergency services available

Latest Landmark Reviews

7.82
Based on92 Reviews fromLandmark customers
T
Trina
Dallas, Texas

2/19/2018
I filled my Garage Claim online, was contacted within the hour, appointment from the Contractor was made for the following day. The Tech was running behind, but when he showed up, had it fixed within less than 30 minutes. Excellent Service.


R
Robert H
Keller, Texas

2/15/2018
I am a REALTOR in the DFW area. Have sent many, many clients your way over the last 4 years. Now, the first time I actually need your help on a "NEW" buyer, you shut me and my client down! Game over!! I will never send any more clients your way! Have 4 closings coming up in March! You will get NONE!!!


R
Ravi P
Dublin, Leinster

2/13/2018
I have extremely positive experiences with Landmark Home Warranty, on multiple occasions. When a service is required, they make it clear on the eligibility and once eligible, the process is a breeze. They follow up multiple times, both on emails and over emails, till the service company has responded to the service dispatch and has completed the work to our satisfaction. Cannot ask for anything more.


J
Josh
Salt Lake City, Utah

2/7/2018
Very good service.


Blake P
San Antonio, Texas

2/6/2018
after a few hiccups connecting with the locksmith, everything worked out fine.


R
Randy F
Boise, Idaho

1/26/2018
Always top of the line claims handling and service. As a Realtor, that is why I always recommend Landmark Home Warranty to my clients. I know they will experience the same superior service as I do.


Lesli D
, Georgia

1/24/2018
I have had Landmark Home Warranty on multiple homes I have owned, or rented. They have always been easy to work with, and have taken care of our requests quickly and professionally. I just renewed my contract for another year.


Don-Jenna H
Draper, Utah

1/20/2018
They have always responded immediately after I have put in a help ticket. They also follow up continually to make sure everything got done to my liking.


E
Eric C
Clearfield, Utah

12/26/2017
We purchased a house and got a Landmark home warranty. For the only time we've had to call to repair a dishwasher, Landmark has been fair, professional, helpful, and nice to work with. It's eased our minds, and we had a solid professional from their network do the work.


Caitlin M
Missouri City, Texas

11/20/2017
Setup was great, and company came and did service requested. Only downside was the time...they texted saying they were on their way, but it was almost 2 hours before they arrived.


K
Kevin
Lincoln City, Oregon

11/8/2017
Great Service! Replaced my oven that was not working.


Lisa J
Irving, Texas

11/4/2017
Great experience on the phone. Very helpful. Sent a great company, they had to replace the garage door opener. Very quick and well done. A little frustration because I can’t seem to change my address (add a crucial N to the street) or primary email (I’ve tried to over the phone a couple of times) and the repairmen went to the wrong address looked at their garage door opener and struggled trying to figure out the problem.


A
Amery
Houston, Texas

11/3/2017
Our first year with Landmark was great. Service requests were completed in a timely manner; in fact, technicians were able to fix our plumbing and AC issues in the first visit. We had a total of three requests in the first year. We renewed with Landmark a second year, and it's been horrible. The first service request we placed after our renewal took nearly 4 weeks to complete. It was another plumbing issue that made our guest bathroom unavailable, therefore everyone in the house was sharing the master bathroom. The first delay was from Landmark assigning our request to a contractor that was too far. According to the contractor, "Landmark does this to me all the time! If they send me out... Read More


M
MIGUEL
Pharr, Texas

11/2/2017
MUY PROFESIONALES Y AMABLES EN EL TRATO TANTO LOS ADMINISTRATIVOS Y EL TÉCNICO QUE REALIZO LOS TRABAJOS. ESTOY MUY AGRADECIDO !!!


Kara L
Chandler, Arizona

11/2/2017
We had to have our refrigerator replaced and our hot water heater serviced. Both times our claims were handled quickly and they used good service people. We are very happy


Craig H
Leander, Texas

10/31/2017
We have had several occasions in the past two years to avail ourselves of Landmark, and we have never been disappointed. With the horror stories we've read of other people's dealings with home warranties, we're thrilled our interactions with Landmark have been nothing but positive.


F
Frances F
Phoenix, Arizona

10/25/2017
I had a major plumbing problem, and the staff, Ruby, in the office was very helpful, friendly and went out of her way to get someone out as soon as possible. It took two trips, but the plumbers were also friendly and fixed the problem. Landmark keep me aware of where the plumbers were and exactly when they would be at my house. I’m so happy that I have Landmark Home Warantee.


Leeann M
Lehi, Utah

10/14/2017
I have been very pleased with Landmark Home Warranty. I even signed up for a 2nd year! The people in the office are so nice when I call. The Pros they have sent out so far have exceeded any expectations! The re-key Pro I had came out without me having to be at home, even replacing a broken doorknob! And it looks great. The Heating Pro was so awesome. I missed my first appointment with him and he just arranged to come out the next day. He wasn't even upset about it! Showed me how to change the furnace filter, how to use a new thermostat and even turned up the heat on my water heater! Was even nice to my cats. Being a single lady homeowner, having peace of mind and someone to call when I... Read More


J
jhazard
Boise, Idaho

10/12/2017
I was reluctant at first to pay for a home warranty. But every year it is worth the monthly cost! Not only haveI saved hundreds of dollars, but I rest easy knowing Landmark has my back.


Deb D
Yuma, Arizona

10/10/2017
Great customer service! I can call them 24/7!


L
Laura
Salt Lake City, Utah

10/7/2017
My water heater rusted and was leaking out the bottom. They were very fast with emailing me the details of who my contractor would be to do repairs. And stayed on top of it the whole process by phone or emails. Grateful for Landmark Home Warranty!


C
cynthia m
Arlington, Texas

10/6/2017
They were good a few years ago, but they raised the service call without notification and when you ask for service it takes days to get it, even with emergencies. The folks on the phone are not helpful (sounded like they were 14 years old!) and had no idea what an "leaking water and causing lots of damage" meant in terms of emergent service. After having them for years, I am canceling. I have paid 60$ for service calls and to suddenly get charged 100$ because I have paid for the premium contract, does not seem fair and they should have notified me of the increase. Additionally, the contractors they get are not the best.


R
Ryan
Tempe, Arizona

10/4/2017
Pool filter tank cracked and a replacement is not available any longer. Landmark decided to only pay for the bottom half and leave me with a pool that won't work and get me back running unless I buy the top half. Absolutely ridiculous. Get my equipment running as that's why I bought the warranty plus enhanced to cover this type of stuff.


Steven R
Salt Lake City, Utah

9/30/2017
If I could do a zero rating I would. Landmark claim manager James Hair was extremely unhelpful and unwilling to help with a serious issue that came up yesterday after having my furnace serviced. The contractor that Landmark sent out to my house was fine and friendly however an hour or two after making his repair of the furnace we returned home to find that the entire home smelled of gas making it uninhabitable. I quickly called Landmark to see what they could do to remedy the situation and was told by James that he would try to get in touch with the contractor. This was at about 6 PM. From looking at the contractors website they should have been open another hour and Landmark Claim... Read More


S
S S
Inez, Texas

9/28/2017
After discovering the water heater wasn't working and contacting Landmark, I quickly received an email from them telling me they had contacted a plumber who would be contacting us within a few hours. This was after business hours though. We didn't hear from the plumbing company that evening but they did call around 10 the following morning after I left a voice mail. The company gave me a 3 hour window in which they would be there that same day. I received a call from the plumber when he was heading to the house, as I had requested. The contractor came to the house during the expected window of time that afternoon, fixed the water heater quickly & was both professional and nice.... Read More