Rating: 9.4 / 10 (Excellent)
101 Customer Reviews - see all comments
Disclosure: We receive advertising revenue from this partner. Learn more.
AFC Home Club is a Georgia-based company focused on providing home warranties to homeowners across the United States. They offer three different plans with varying levels of coverage for appliances and home systems. Additional coverage can be added easily, making them fully customizable. They are a BBB-accredited company with a B letter rating.

How is AFC Home Club rated?

Breakdown

10/10
Coverage
10/10
Reputation
9/10
Contract & Price
10/10
Claims & Service

Overall Rating: 9.4 / 10 (Excellent)

America’s First Choice Home Club is a home warranty company that falls right down the middle of the industry standard. Their uniform service benefit cap, especially, indicates that AFC is a company that aims to simplify what is normally a very complex service. Both their generally positive online reviews and their lower-cost, flat-rate service fee make them an excellent choice for a home warranty.

Coverage

Key Facts

Plan Types
Combo Plan
Benefit Limit Type
Per Item
Typical Appliance Benefit Limit
$1,500
Typical Systems Benefit Limit
$2,000

Coverage - 9.5 / 10

AFC Home Club’s hybrid policies cover many of the same systems and appliances as its competitors. Notwithstanding the lack of included specialty items, a good benefit is their user friendly, every-item service cap of $1,500-$2,000. AFC Home Club only covers issues that arise after they begin providing service. Exclusions covered in the below link refer to AFC's Platinum plan, which is the most comprehensive. Exclusions in other plans will be the same as Platinum covers all items one might find in other plans.

What does AFC Home Club cover?

Covered Systems

  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Electrical
  • Plumbing
  • Water Heaters

Covered Appliances

  • Refrigerators
  • Dishwashers
  • Clothes Dryers
  • Clothes Washers
  • Ranges/Ovens/Cooktops
  • Built-in Microwave
  • Garage Door Openers
  • Garbage Disposal

Exclusions

For a full list of AFC Home Club exclusions, check out this page.

Contract & Price

Contract Details

Annual Premium
Starting at $395
Home Inspection Required for Contract?
No
Online Quote/Application

Contract & Price - 9 / 10

AFC Home Club’s base-level contract’s annual premiums begin at $395. In addition to a personalized quote calculator and sample contract being available on the website, a 30-day refund policy is guaranteed, as is a pro-rated version after that period. The sample contract provided here refers to AFC's Platinum plan, which is its most comprehensive coverage. To see the contracts for the other plans please visit the company website.

Sample Contract

AFC Home Club provides a sample contract for potential customers on its website: AFC Home Club Sample Contract

Cancellation Policy

The membership shall be non-cancelable by CRAST except for nonpayment of membership fees or diagnostic fees, when a customer threatens to harm or does harm a CRAST Agent, fraud or misrepresentation of facts by the client, or by agreement between company and client. There will be no refunds for memberships canceled due to non-payment. New members may cancel within the first 30 days of the order date for a full refund of the paid membership. After 30 days, the customer shall be entitled to a pro rata refund of the paid membership fee, less any claims paid or time used in membership by CRAST, and a $75.00 cancellation fee.

Claims & Service

Claims

Maintenance Records Required for Service?
Yes
24/7 Claims Department?
Waiting Period
30 days

Contractors & Service

Contractor Selection
Any Contractor

Claims & Service - 9.5 / 10

AFC Home Club's flat-rate service fee of $60 keeps them competitive with comparable companies in the industry. Its 30 day waiting period is fairly standard. AFC allows customers to work with out-of network contractors of thier choosing. However, they do have to be licensed, bonded and insured. AFC only requires maintenance on HVAC systems in the first year of the contact. Moreover, if a claim is filed before the 30-day waiting period has expired, the maximum payout amount is limited to $150.

AFC Home Club Reputation

Company Details

Year Founded
2009
NHSCA Membership
BBB Rating
B
BBB Rating
31
BBB Neutral Reviews
0
BBB Negative Reviews
22
Date Collected
2017-07-26

Reputation - 9.5 / 10

Even though AFC Home Club is not itself a member of the NHSCA, it has maintained accreditation by the Better Business Bureau since 2009. Its B rating is supported by 31 positive reviews and 22 negative reviews.

Contact & Additional Information

Homepage URL
Company Phone
(866) 242-0629
Headquarters Address
1337 Canton Rd STE B, Marietta, GA, 30066
Mailing Address
1337 Canton Rd STE B, Marietta, GA, 30066
Year Founded
2009

Top Rated
Our Partner
9.4 / 10
  • Award winning service
  • Save 10% on any plan
  • Dedicated account managers
  • Choose your own service technicians
  • Longest work guarantee
  • Unlimited number of repairs

Latest AFC Home Club Reviews

M
Meca
Ashburn, Virginia

5/16/2018
Don't use this company. Sent someone out never fixed my issue. Caused a flood that went to my neighbors home . Told me they have nothing to do with that. And refused to return my call or letter about this matter. And ruined my floor as well.


R
Rod M
Atlanta, Georgia

5/15/2018
Horrible company. Please read all fine print before considering this company. You may find that you are better off paying out of pocket since you will end up doing it any way. R. Mayweather Atlanta, GA


A
Ara R
San Jose, California

5/2/2018
I Googled America’s First Choice Home Club and saw it was the top-rated one. I have filed two claims over the phone and it's been pretty quick. The reps were good and so were the technicians. They're still working on the garage while the washer had something with the computer. It was damaged and they replaced it. I recommend AFC. So far, I have no problems with them.


Elaine B
Stoughton, Massachusetts

3/23/2018
I have been with this company less then a year. they say flat rate of 60 dollars. every time they have come out its been the 60 dollars then at least 200 extra each time. I also put a claim in about a week ago for a leak have had one company that they said then took back now another company I have been giving and called them twice they are not returning my calls. the leak is getting worse and now I will probably have to pay more then the 60 dollars. Its like an insurance company you get discounts but they don't do what they say and they take a long time to get the stuff done. Will probably not renew and did recommend this company once but now that I need to use it not going to... Read More


S
Savannah M
Marietta, Georgia

3/22/2018
I have been with this company for 4 years now and each interaction I have had has been great! I was surprised to read some of the other reviews but I am happy. I just had a plumbing issue with my toilets and sinks backing up. I called them that morning and they had a plumber set up for me within a few hours. He snaked the lines and had to replace some piping which I know can't be cheap. I have had about a request a year so far and each time I have been happy, I feel like I am getting my monies worth and that I am appropriately protected.


J
Jamie
Pacifica, California

3/20/2018
To the contrary of some other reviews, I'd rate this company a F based on my experience with this company for two years now. Each time I called, there were always something extra I had to pay and none of those were disclosed during the sales. In fact the sales person said, you only pay for the initial call and they'll take care of the rest. So far this is not true. One time I was making a call and said there were bath rooms upstairs and downstairs that need to be checked for leaking. The rep told me I have to pay an initial fees of $65 for each floor. I had to speak to a manager to revert that. This is a horrible company. Think twice before you buy their home warranty. There are better... Read More


C
Crystal
Los Angeles, California

3/12/2018
America's 1st Choice had the highest overall ratings that I could find online. With a few different websites that would list the top five warranty companies, they were always within the top three. The reviews said that they always had good customer service. I have a sizeable house and for the area, it's an older house. It's an almost 30-year-old house and so, a lot of the appliances, like the air conditioner, the stove, and the oven are all the original. I factored it in that things were probably gonna be needed to be replaced soon and would need quite a few repairs in between. So it would be more financially intelligent to have something to help with those expenses. Whenever I submit... Read More


B
Bonnie S
San Mateo, California

3/10/2018
SCAM COMPANY - I have the Silver Plan Coverage Plan and paid $405. I thought I had a COMPLETE repair or replacement warranty on my appliances that were covered on this policy. My washing machine and dryer both went out at the same time. I called and AFC sent an appliance service rep to my home and he charged $120 to look at both washer/dryer. AFC said I would only be charged $60. Then the service rep came back to say that it would cost an additional $600 to repair my washer and dryer. AFC came back with a $200 top offer for both towards the repair of my washer/dryer. Service rep said he was applying the $120 towards the $600 minus the $200 from AFC which meant that I now had to come... Read More


Vernon P
Ceres, California

2/13/2018
Poor warranty company. I was not told when I purchased the warranty that appliances are put on a depreciation schedule. My refrigerator broke down and I was told American First Choice would not cover the total cost of the repairs because of the age of my refrigerator. There was nothing in my warranty stating appliances were on a depreciation schedule. After arguing with a customer service associate I spoke to a supervisor who agreed to waive the additional fee. I think she only did that after I threatened to cancel my warranty.


Mark A
Gordonsville, Virginia

2/8/2018
Who cares about the BBB. Rating? This company is horrible. They do not cover the labor to repair an appliance if it’s still under the manufacturers warranty so the parts maybe free but they won’t install them. How did they get such a high rating with so many negative reviews?


G
George S
Lenexa, Kansas

2/7/2018
I left a message with the answering service at 8:15 am CST Monday 2/5/18. It was 10 degrees outside and the furnace was not functioning properly. I was told someone would contact me soon. At 2:30 pm CST I had not received a call, I called again. The lady asked for the same information that I gave earlier and was told nothing could be done until the next day. The next day nothing was done. I called again and expressed my frustrations. On Wednesday 2/7/18 the furnace was fixed.


Stephen Y
Conroe, Texas

2/3/2018
I was not aware when I signed up w/ them a year ago that repair authorizations from them are netted out after a depreciation calculation. This makes for sizable reductions in payouts from them. The service charge from the repair technician, $60, was far from my total recent repair cost on my 2 year old refrigerator. They only paid $165 out of a $315 repair charge to replace a thermostat leaving me to pay the difference. Hardly my idea of insurance protection!


Doris T

2/2/2018
Very bad communication and does not respect the terms of the contract. I will not recommend. I took the 3 year gold plan and wish I could get my money back.


A
A. R
Flushing, New York

2/1/2018
I had an issue with a boiler and forgot I had purchased a warranty. I called the same technician that had done that year's boiler inspection and the bill was $150. Later I called AFC and explained the situation. They requested an invoice and got in contact with the technician's company. AFC is refunding me the cost of the repair minus the $60 deductible, very few questions asked. Excellent service.


L
Lucie
Napa, California

1/26/2018
Horrible response times and they won't cover labor, only fractions of the cost of items. My water heater started leaking from where the pipe connected and, after filing a service request and their two phone calls later that they can't find anyone to come look at it in my area, I was advised to look for a plumber myself. I found a local plumber to come look at it the next day. After submitting a $3,000 claim for a water heater replacement, they said they'd cover $151.60, which is the depreciated value of my 5 year old water heater as compared to the cheapest similar water heater they found at Home Depot. What about labor to install it?? As most homeowners know, the cost of actual items... Read More


S
Sydney A
Shorewood, Illinois

1/10/2018
We are new customers of AFC. Our garbage disposal went out at Thanksgiving time. When we called, we were told they do not repair disposals but if we bought a new one ourselves and sent them a copy of the receipt, we would receive a reimbursement check. It is now January and we still have not received the check.


G
Gale M
Memphis, Tennessee

1/4/2018
The lady in customer service when I called to make a claim was very helpful a d responsive. The plumbing company , Multitasker, was also very responsive and seemed conscientious to get my problem solved.


Carol K
Rochester, Minnesota

1/3/2018
Very short waits when calling in. Quick response to problem. Fair coverage and quick payment to service provider.


Anabella B
Spring, Texas

1/2/2018
Tyler Hurtt and his manager Wes were extremely helpful and flexible during our last contract negotiation. After purchasing a warranty for my rental condo this last summer, I knew I would come back to them for a warranty for my home. I've never worked with such a friendly, customer service oriented warranty service group as AFC. While I've not had to file a service claim yet I expect the AFC service partners will be of equal caliber to them!


P
Patricia T
Washington, District of Columbia

12/18/2017
They never seem to cover anything that needs to be repaired. This is my third call to them and it started with them telling me what they won't pay for even before the technician has arrived. For the last 2 service requests they did not cover anything. Always some fine print with more exclusions than inclusions. I was told that if the control board in my dishwasher was they bad they won't replace it because they get wet......It's a dishwasher, every part should be able to withstand water. Can't wash dishes without water!


Brian J
Nashville, Tennessee

10/30/2017
Response time to my issue was good and the necessary repairs were made correctly. The set co-pay is nice and I feel that I am getting good value and peace of mind for the price I paid for my home warranty.


G
Gary L
Walnut, California

10/27/2017
The salesman who assisted me was informative, polite & professional. I really like that I can select the contractors who perform the services on my home.


J
Jared S
Fort Worth, Texas

10/27/2017
I talked to one of their sales rep in early March of 2017 and got a Home Warranty. Stressed to him that I wanted FULL coverage since I have a pool and lots of extra things to have covered. He went through a few items and got me set up. In April my microwave went out, filed a claim and they said I didn't have coverage of my microwave. He said he didn't tell me about it because most peoples microwaves are sitting on the counter and not very expensive (mine was a built in unit and cost $750 with install). FIRST BIG FAIL. We went over coverage again and he added my second refrigerator and said I was all covered. Next, in October had an issue with my Double oven. The cost is $1100 for a control... Read More


Syed K
Houston, Texas

10/18/2017
Excellent response time. Electrical person Mr. Esrael very pleasant and knowledgeable. Went above and beyond.


Keshava P
Las Vegas, Nevada

10/17/2017
Very courteous, responsive and efficient, great service, followed up with me several times during the repair process can I would recommend it, premiums very competitive