Humana Dental Insurance Review


Rating: 9.5 / 10 (Excellent)
22 Customer Comments & Reviews - see all comments
Disclosure: We receive advertising revenue from this partner. 
Learn more.
Humana is a health insurance company founded in Louisville Kentucky in 1961. It offers individual health and life insurance plans, as well as military healthcare services and wellness programs to over 13 million customers nationwide. The company has received several awards and recognitions for their products and business practices of workplace inclusion, diversity, and equality.

Humana Dental Insurance Review

Humana is one of the country's largest providers of dental insurance. They provide dental insurance for individuals, groups and employers. There are no pre-certification requirements and a co-payment option is offered. 

What's included with Humana Dental?

HumanaOne Dental Preventive Plus

This dental PPO plan offers low deductibles, no copayments, and provides 100% coverage for many preventive procedures. This plan does not require a dentist selection.

HumanaOne Dental Value plan (C550 and HI215)

These dental prepaid plans have low copayments for many dental procedures and no waiting periods. Both plans require you to select a primary dentist.

HumanaOne Loyalty Plus Plan

This dental plan rewards members for loyalty by increasing benefits from years one to three, with increasing coverage on services like routine exams, root canals and crowns, a one-time deductible for as long as you are on the plan, and no copayments or waiting periods. You can go to the dentist you prefer with the comfort of knowing this plan pays the same percentage of the cost no matter which dentist you visit.

HumanaOne Simple Choice Plan

This dental plan is simple to understand with fixed costs for services and no deductibles. You are not required to select a dentist for enrollment, and you have the choice of the general dentist you prefer from over 170,000 providers in the HumanaOne Dental Simple Choice network.

Plan Reviewed

HumanaOne Dental Preventive Plus

How much does it save you?

preventive 100% in network, 70% out-of-network

basic 50% in network, 30% out-of-network

Premiums

One-Time Enrollment Fee (Non-Refundable) $35.00
Monthly Plan Fee (1 Person) $21.24
Admin. Fee (waived if you pay yearly) $1.00
Monthly Association Fee (PBA) $0.70

Annual Maximum

$1000 excludes discounts

Treatments Covered and Reimbursements

Preventive services 100% no deductible 
Basic services 50% after deductible
Discounts of major services only through network dentists.

 

Fine Print

Start date will be the first of the month following the month you enrolled.

Average costs the patient will pay per procedure with an in-network provider are based on averages across Atlanta, Chicago, Dallas, Phoenix, and Pittsburgh.

General anesthesia, implants, and/or cosmetic dentistry are not discounted services.

 

Summary

Human Dental offers great plans at very competitive prices. However, major savings are only available through their network. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Leave a comment for Humana Dental Insurance
Minimum 2-3 sentences.
 No maximum length.
* What's Your Rating?
To make this comment as helpful as possible for our community, please provide at least 2 sentences.

22 Customer Comments & Reviews

Loading Reviews ...
P
Paul
Sarasota, Florida
12/29/2017
Humana Dental Insurance review After using the program for 2 years (in Central Florida), with no claims we discovered that the company pays nothing for a crown. They say that they do pay for a dental extraction or a bridge or dentures. They provide 2 "free" dental cleaning sessions. One dental cleaning, paid out of pocket, costs less than a single month payment for the policy. So, since my family's teeth are in good health, it is far better to save the money and pay for the dental work outright. When a tooth loses part of the crown, good sense tells you to restore the tooth with a crown for health, rather than extract. Sure, it does not feel good to have to fork out a sizable payment for... Read More


Kris V
Bethesda, Maryland
12/14/2017
This company is a scam, they hide in the fine print that by signing up you agree to a 12 month contract, so when you find out they don't cover anything you need you can't even cancel and switch to a better insurance. They said it's based on my living in DC, so I'm not sure if this rule applies to everyone, but beware!


S
stephanie h
Norwalk, Connecticut
10/30/2017
After 1 hour, 20 minutes & talking to 3 customer service reps, I still can't access my account. I rate Humana Dental Insurance's customer service at zero. How do I get help without another hour of wasting my time? So frustrating.


B
BG
Cumming, Georgia
10/4/2017
Everything sounds wonderful as far as coverage and discounts until you try to find a good dentist. I had 3 different butcher practices who only cared about how many pricey procedures they could charge me. One broke my jaw and tried to act like it wasn't her. FINALLY, I found a wonderful dentist who takes Humana ... 1 1/2 hours away who also told me exactly what I had to do right away and what could wait. I've spend over $20,000 on out of pocket dental care since I found him 3 years ago. The hacks missed out


Ken M
Phoenix, Arizona
8/26/2017
SAVE YOU MONEY. This plan is worthless. Thought I was being smart by up-grading from my Medicare dental plan, thinking the coverage and benefits would be better and help lower my dental bills but no such luck. Other than their "negotiated" lower predeterimantion estimate cost, which ALL dental insurers do, any other help is & was nonexistent, leaving me with a monthly premium of $36.99 for a year & basically paying for a useless plan.Not to mention I had to call and beg 4 times just to receive my latest "predetermination". Even 3 dentists I have spoken with understood my disappointment & frustration & another stopped accepting any Humana dental plans, even if part of Medicare. I am a... Read More


S
Shelly N
7/13/2017
I close my account. They reactivated my account without my permission, consent or authorization... Kept reactivating the closed account for a couple years, without permission, consent or authorization. Did not notice the theft being syphoned off each month for two years because it was a small amount from an account i rarely used. Discovered it - took over ten hours on the phone and two letters, over a six month period of time, just to have them tell me that they did not owe me anything. Completely messed up organization that doesn't know what the heck the departments within it are doing. Lie to customers, cheat customers, steal from customers and basically do identity theft and... Read More


A
Alice
Richmond, Virginia
6/3/2017
I cannot find dentist that is listed on the Humana website that ACTUALLY accepts the insurance. It is a double whammy when the dentist's office does not come clean about accepting the insurance until after the treatment. I do not have time to call every dentist in my area to find who accepts the insurance then find out what kind of rating he/she has. This is tantamount to fraud.


A
AdonnaPerez
Johnson City, Tennessee
5/4/2017
I have been paying for Humana dental for almost three years only to find that there was no dentist near me. Closes was 100 miles and they will not return money nor will they respond to letters.


E
Eileen
Warren, Rhode Island
5/3/2017
My husband who is a veteran had Humana for veterans. It has to be the worse dental insurance in the world. They dropped our dentist in the middle of the year and we had no knowledge of it. They claim it was up to the dentist to notify us. So on the last appointment it was considered an out of network dentist. According to their website, they would pay 70% of the claim for out of network. Well, what they don't tell you, is they take $55.00 off the top. Depending on where you live it doesn't come out to 70% of the claim it actually was 1/4 after their fees that they don't make you aware of. You would make out better if you paid out of pocket for dental work. Just terrible.


J
j.
Dallas, Texas
3/29/2017
All the reviews are right! It is fraud. My mom broke her tooth and bleed and I spent 3 hours looking on their website to find doctors who are no longer on their list. When I called and complain and told them they should update the information, the customer rep said that Monarch Dentistry has to file paper work to have it come off humana's list!? To top it off, the one current dentist that is on the list now does not reveal her education and where she went to school. For all the other dentists I have looked up, I can see their education level. I am very anxious about this predicament we are in right now. The dentists that I looked up didn't even have updated information online. They... Read More



Our Partner
9.5 / 10
  • No waiting period for discounted services
  • Details vary by state. Easy Online Quotes! 
  • Available from our partner eHealth Dental Insurance