Petplan Pet Insurance Review


Rating: 8.9 / 10 (Excellent)
251 Customer Comments & Reviews - see all comments
Disclosure: We receive advertising revenue from this partner. 
Learn more.
The original Petplan was founded in the UK in 1976. It's US affiliate, Petplan Pet Insurance - North America, was launched in 2003 and based in Philadelphia. The company is recommended by the Humane Society of the United States and offers comprehensive accident and illness coverage for cats and dogs.

How is Petplan rated?

Breakdown

10/10
Coverage
10/10
Benefit Limits
10/10
Deductibles
10/10
Reimbursement
9/10
Claims and Service
6/10
Pricing
8/10
Enrollment

Overall Rating: 8.9 / 10 (Excellent)

Petplan ranks highly with us chiefly because of the comprehensiveness of coverage, and flexibility in customizing deductible/reimbursement percentage/benefit limit combinations. In light of this, the customer is afforded a high degree of leeway to mix and match to get the right premiums and coverage options for their situation.

Petplan Coverage

Coverage - 10 / 10

Petplan offers extremely comprehensive coverage in comparison to the other companies we rate. They handle all accidents and new illnesses without restrictions for hereditary or congenital conditions, as well as medications, advanced testing and hospital stays. Also, all non-routine veterinary exam fees are covered in all plans, including at emergency & specialist hospitals. Finally, Petplan has the most comprehensive coverage of dental injury and treatment of periodontal disease.
Pets Covered
Dogs
Cats
Coverage Types
Medical
Vet Selection
Unrestricted
Out of State Coverage
Commercial Pets Covered

Medical Conditions Covered

  • Accidental
  • Illness
  • Hereditary
  • Congenital
  • Cancer
  • Chronic
  • Accidental Dental
  • Dental Illness

Medical Treatments Covered

  • Diagnostic Testing
  • Surgery
  • Hospitalization
  • Prescription Medications

Benefit Limits

Benefit Limits - 10 / 10

Although Petplan doesn't offer across the board unlimited coverage like Healthy Paws, it does the next best thing by being the company that allows you the most flexibility in choosing and annual benefit limit. Petplan's annual limits can be set at $2,500, $5,000, $10,000, $15,000, $20,000, $25,000 or unlimited. This can be advantageous if you research the types and costs of conditions your particular breed is susceptible to, and combine it with the cost of treatment considering your area.
Benefit Limit Types
Annual
Unlimited

Reimbursement & Deductibles

Reimbursement - 10 / 10

Like all the leading pet insurance policies today, Petplan will pay a pre determined percentage of your actual veterinarian bill after you have met your deductible. The percentages available are 70%, 80%, and 90%.
Reimbursement Model
Actual Cost
Minimum Percent Reimbursement
70%
Maximum Percent Reimbursement
90%

Deductibles - 10 / 10

Compared to other providers, Petplan offers a very flexible deductible schedule as well, allowing customers to choose deductible levels anywhere between $100 - $1,000. If you have the wherewithal to meet a higher end deductible, it is going to translate into lower monthly premiums. However, Petplan operates a per condition deductible. So you'll have to take into consideration you will be paying the full deductible for each separate condition.
Deductible Type
Per Condition Annual
Minimum Deductible Offered
$100
Maximum Deductible Offered
$1,000

Pricing: How much does Petplan cost?

Pricing - 6 / 10

Petplan offers competitive pricing that is pretty much industry standard and in line with what you might expect of comparable plans. The company also offers discounts for registration online, as well military personnel or medical service pets.

Starting Monthly Premiums

Dogs
$29.16
Cats
$18.19
Rate Details: Annual Deductible: $1,000, Benefits Cap: $5,000, Reimbursement Model: 70% of Actual Cost
Available Discounts: Wag-worthy 10% discount for veterinary professionals when they enrol online (5% veterinary professional discount + 5% online discount)

Enrollment & Waiting Periouds

Enrollment - 7.5 / 10

Petplan allows enrollment for dogs and cats as young as six weeks. Also, unlike most companies the company does not have an upper age limit so older animals can get covered as well. There is a one time $25 enrollment fee. Accident coverage begins 24 hours after enrollment, but there is a 14 day waiting period for illnesses. Petplan may ask for medical records, but they are typically not required for enrollment.
Min Enrollment Age
6 weeks
Max Enrollment Age
8 years
Illnesses Waiting Period
14 days
Free Look Period
30 days

Claims & Service

Claims and Service - 9 / 10

Petplan is one of the only pet insurance companies to specifically state a claims payout timeframe in its terms and conditions -- 30 days. To file you must first print out and sign the personalized claim form, and either fax, email, or mail it with the relevant receipts and invoices for treatment. Petplan also gives you the flexibility of submitting this information through its app for Android and iPhone.
Advertised Response Time
5 days
Claim Form
Mail
Email
Fax
Online Portal
Mobile App

Contact & Additional Information

Homepage URL
Headquarters Address
3805 West Chester Pike, Suite 240, Newton Square, PA, 19073
Mailing Address
3805 West Chester Pike, Suite 240, Newton Square, PA, 19073
Year Founded
2003

Leave a comment for Petplan Pet Insurance
Minimum 2-3 sentences.
 No maximum length.
* What's Your Rating?
To make this comment as helpful as possible for our community, please provide at least 2 sentences.

251 Customer Comments & Reviews

Loading Reviews ...
K
Ke S
Seattle, Washington

8/7/2017
Petplan is a total life saver! I have two Alaskan Malamutes and I had their insurance through Petplan for two years. Until now, I am 100% satisfied with Petplan insurance service, I think in some circumstance, Petplan is better than my own human insurance plan. My dog, Sugar, has unspecified allergy since last year, we visited multiple general vets and dermatologist, had several exam and surgery, and Petplan backed us up! I would never find the right dermatologist for Sugar without the help of Petplan. Not to mention the bill for sedation and reverse in every surgery (that's quite a bit for a dog over 100lbs), Petplan got you covered. All you need to do is take photos of your invoice... Read More

Keyai L  
Official Response

Community Manager of Petplan Pet Insurance
Ke Shi, thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are so glad you are happy with the care we provide to your family.

K
Kate T
Aurora, Colorado

8/4/2017
n March 26, 2014, I met my best friend at the local shelter. Riley Coyote is the spunkiest, happiest American Eskimo pup. This past Spring, Riley fell and broke his arm. What I had thought was a clumsy move turned out to be bone cancer. And worse, it had travelled. In a matter of days, we were talking amputation, x-rays, chemotherapy. My head was spinning. We went through all the treatment. When things started to calm down, I remembered I had bought pet insurance. Now I am a human surgeon, and I am quite weary of insurance companies. I was not sure how this was going to go. Were they going to make it very difficult to get compensated? Was there a lot of fine print that would... Read More

Keyai L  
Official Response

Community Manager of Petplan Pet Insurance
Thank you for your support Kate! We're honored that you chose Petplan to protect your sweet pup Riley. We understand the care your boy needs and will be there for you when you need us most.

Shirley H
Gulfport, Mississippi

8/4/2017
Excellent customer service. Mobile app vet easy to use. Highly recommend.

Keyai L  
Official Response

Community Manager of Petplan Pet Insurance
Thank you for your review Shirley. We're glad our mobile app makes processing claims easy.

J
Jo-Ann
Glen Ellyn, Illinois

8/4/2017
My cockapoo has been insured by Petplan since she was a pup. We found out she had a serious condition caused by her rabies vaccine. Petplan has covered all her treatments by a dermatologist and everything since. Claims are always processed quickly without hassle. I would recommend to anyone getting a new pet. Now that my dog is 10 years old, the premiums are high for top of the line coverage, but we get out money's worth.

Keyai L  
Official Response

Community Manager of Petplan Pet Insurance
Jo-Ann thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are honored you chose Petplan for your family.

Susan L
New York, New York

8/2/2017
I have been very happy with PetPlan insurance. I got it when I first brought Tyler home as a puppy. I knew I never wanted to not be able to have a medical test or procedure done because of cost so I signed up. We used it sporadically for a few years but when Tyler was 6 he experience seizures. We raced to the vet who sent us to a neurologist, who ordered an MRI. I was scared to death. I had enough to worry about with his health much less worry where the money would come from to pay for tests and treatment. We got a diagnosis and Tyler is on medications and needs to have his bloodwork done every few months for a pheno level and to see the effect on his liver function. He also sees his... Read More

Keyai L  
Official Response

Community Manager of Petplan Pet Insurance
Thank you for taking the time post your review. We're so glad to be there for your family when you've needed us the most.

Debbie L
Elkins Park, Pennsylvania

8/2/2017
We signed up our rescued Maltese mix dog, Ziggy, when we got him five years ago. We've made several claims, all of which have been handled quickly and efficiently. Everyone I've spoken to at PetPlan has been exceptionally friendly and helpful - if only insurance for humans were such a pleasure to work with! Ziggy was just diagnosed with mitral valve insufficiency and will require care for the rest of his life. We are so grateful for the security of knowing that his ongoing care will be affordable.

Keyai L  
Official Response

Community Manager of Petplan Pet Insurance
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We'll be there for you and Ziggy for the rest of his life.

Aaron M
Boulder, Colorado

8/2/2017
We have been very pleased with PetPlan. I am impressed with the ease of submitting a claim online, and the service has allowed us to continue treating a difficult injury for our dog. Insurance always feels too expensive and I wish they'd cover more than 70% (but this could mean we need a different plan), but they have been responsive and understanding to each of our claims. For expensive claims, they even expedite the process and get us a check within a week. Overall, very happy with the service and grateful for their help.

Keyai L  
Official Response

Community Manager of Petplan Pet Insurance
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm glad we have been there for you when you've needed us the most.

M
Maggie M
Plano, Texas

7/29/2017
My three-year-old Chihuahua-Pomeranian mix, Dany, first became sick in late May 2017 and was diagnosed with pancreatitis. Two weeks later, she became sick again and could not stop throwing up. She spent several days at the pet hospital and was eventually diagnosed with Inflammatory Bowel Disease. The vomiting had severely damaged her esophagus, and shortly after she came home, she began regurgitating even soft food and could barely eat anything. In just a few weeks, her weight had dropped from fourteen pounds to less than ten, and it was impossible for her to gain weight. She had to have a feeding tube in order to get enough food. Two months later, Dany is slowing gaining weight again and... Read More

Keyai L  
Official Response

Community Manager of Petplan Pet Insurance
Maggie we're honored you chose Petplan for your family. Thank you for taking the time post your review.

Penny S
Altamonte Springs, Florida

7/27/2017
It was very clear this time that my cat did not have any pre-existing conditions that would prevent the payment, as I have experienced in the past. They agreed to pay all charges, minus the $200 deductible which was fair. They agreed to pay within an hour of submitting the claims. There were initially some problems with their online submission process but they corrected it and I was able to do it all online instead of mailing it in, as in the past.

Keyai L  
Official Response

Community Manager of Petplan Pet Insurance
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding a recent claim you submitted to Petplan. I'm glad we were able to get the technical issue resolved so you could complete your submission online. We hope the treatment your kitty received is helping resolve the reason for your recent visit to the vet.

S
Sarah R
Akron, Ohio

7/26/2017
My husband and I have been with Petplan for over 20 years now both in the UK and in the USA. We have had many bears (dogs) during this time. We have been fortunate enough to share our homes, money, food, cars and sofas with the hairy critters but unfortunately two of our bears during this time have required many surgeries and treatments. Our last bear who is still living at home is Katie, she is a 10 1/2 year old Newfoundland. Over Katie's life time she has had five major surgeries which alone would have cost us over $10,000 which we would have struggled to pay if it wasn't for the insurance. Not once has Petplan ever come back to us and said 'Sorry, you are not covered', and for this we... Read More

Keyai L  
Official Response

Community Manager of Petplan Pet Insurance
Sarah, we are honored that you have chosen Petplan for all these years to protect your family. We're so happy to be there for you when you have needed us the most.


Top Rated
Our Partner
8.9 / 10
  • Comprehensive Coverage (includes vet exam fee!)
  • Flexible annual reimbursement up to Unlimited
  • Choose Annual Deductible from $100-$1,000
  • 24/7 Customer Service – top rated, always available
  • Use any veterinarian in the US or Canada
  • Fast, paperless claim reimbursement via Petplan App
  • 10% Online Discount & Free Barkbox Offer