Healthy Paws Pet Insurance Review

Rating: 9.8 / 10 (Excellent)
1,292 Customer Reviews - see all comments
Disclosure: We receive advertising revenue from this partner. Learn more.
Healthy Paws is a pet insurance company based in Washington state that provides coverage for cats and dogs. They are underwritten by Chubb Group, a consistently highly-rated insurer. Healthy Paws offers an industry-leading suite of policies that include unlimited lifetime benefits, high reimbursement, affordable coverage, and top rated customer service.

How is Healthy Paws rated?

Breakdown

9/10
Coverage
10/10
Benefit Limits
10/10
Deductibles
10/10
Reimbursement
10/10
Claims and Service
10/10
Pricing
10/10
Enrollment

Overall Rating: 9.8 / 10 (Excellent)

Healthy Paws consistently ranks highly across all of our ranking factors. The company offers solid, comprehensive coverage with no caps of any kind. They reimburse you on the cost of your actual vet bill and there is no limit as to for what and how many claims you can make. Healthy Paws provides all of this at a price the same as, or even lower than less comprehensive plans.

Healthy Paws Coverage

Coverage - 9 / 10

Compared to other pet insurance providers, Healthy Paws offers the most comprehensive coverage, and does so without any caps or limits. Policies cover all accidents and illnesses without restrictions for hereditary or congenital conditions. The company also includes services like advanced testing, surgeries, hospital stays, and prescription medications, as well as alternative therapies and emergency care. Healthy Paws does not have a wellness plan, but they will treat canine hip dysplasia if it is not a pre existing condition.
Pets Covered
Dogs
Cats
Coverage Types
Medical
Vet Selection
Unrestricted
Out of State Coverage
Commercial Pets Covered

Medical Conditions Covered

  • Accidental
  • Illness
  • Hereditary
  • Congenital
  • Cancer
  • Chronic
  • Accidental Dental

Medical Treatments Covered

  • Diagnostic Testing
  • Surgery
  • Hospitalization
  • Prescription Medications
  • Emergency Care
  • Specialty Care
  • Alternative Care

Benefit Limits

Benefit Limits - 10 / 10

Where Healthy Paws really asserts its dominance is in benefit limits. Regardless of the plan you choose, there are no caps on coverage, either annual, lifetime, or per incident. Generally speaking, other companies offer unlimited benefits as an option of only their highest level and most expensive plans. This is not the case with Healthy Paws, it is included in their standard price plan. As long as the condition or treatment is covered under the plan (i.e. not a pre existing condition) there is no limit to what the company will pay to make your animal well. For example, the company recently paid out over $18,000 on a $20,000 vet bill in order to save the life of a dog suffering from cancer.
Benefit Limit Types
Unlimited

Reimbursement & Deductibles

Reimbursement - 10 / 10

As with deductibles, Healthy Paws is in line with the industries best companies by allowing you the flexibility of customizing your reimbursement percentage as well. You can select either 70%, 80%, or 90% at the outset of your policy. Healthy Paws reimbursement is based on the actual veterinary bill. The company will compile all covered treatments for a given claim, and pay your chosen percent after you've met the deductible. As with low deductibles, high percentage payouts are going to equal a more costly monthly premium.
Reimbursement Model
Actual Cost
Minimum Percent Reimbursement
70%
Maximum Percent Reimbursement
90%

Deductibles - 10 / 10

Like all the best pet insurance companies, Healthy Paws allows you to customize your deductible to best suit your financial needs. Values can be set at $100, $250, and $500. Obviously if you go with the $100 deductible you'll get a higher payout per incident, but you are going to be paying a higher monthly premium as well.
Deductible Type
Annual
Minimum Deductible Offered
$100
Maximum Deductible Offered
$500

Pricing: How much does Healthy Paws cost?

Pricing - 10 / 10

Considering no limits of any kind, and the customizable payout percentages and deductibles, Healthy Paws plans are reasonably priced and even cheaper than less substantial plans. What's more, the company also offers a host of discounts, including special rates for members of AARP, AAA, and Costco.

Starting Monthly Premiums

Dogs
$32.83
Cats
$17.19
Rate Details: Annual Deductible: $500, Benefit Cap: Annual & Unlimited, Reimbursement Model: 70% of Annual Cost
Available Discounts: 10% Lifetime Discount for Animal Welfare Volunteers, 10% Lifetime Discount for Association or Alumni Organizations, 10% Lifetime Discount for Membership Groups such as AAA, AARP, and Costco, 15% Lifetime Discount for Employer Sponsored Plans, 10% Lifetime Discount for Military Service

Enrollment & Waiting Periouds

Enrollment - 10 / 10

Healthy Paws enrolls pets 8 weeks and older. While some companies have no upper age enrollment restrictions, Healthy Paws limits coverage to 13 years old and younger. Similarly, where some companies offer accident coverage almost immediately, Healthy Paws has a 15 day waiting period for accidents and illnesses. The waiting period for hip dysplasia is 12 months. Healthy Paws will not cover hip dysplasia if the pet was 6 years or older at the time of enrollment. Other companies we review have no such restrictions on hip dysplasia. For pets younger than 6 you'll have to provide documentation of a complete physical within the last 12 months. Pets older than 6 must have had a complete examination within the last 30 days.
Min Enrollment Age
8 weeks
Max Enrollment Age
13 years
Accident Waiting Period
15 days
Illnesses Waiting Period
15 days
Free Look Period
30 days

Claims & Service

Claims and Service - 10 / 10

Healthy Paws has a proven track record of fulfilling claims fast and with as little fuss as possible compared to other pet insurance companies. Customer support is efficient and courteous and available 7 days a week. With Healthy Paws you have the ability to file a claim online or through their mobile app. You simply submit the veterinarian invoice and the company will send you the reimbursement check. Claims are generally processed within a few days.
Advertised Response Time
3 days
Claim Form
Email
Fax
Online Portal
Mobile App

Contact & Additional Information

Homepage URL
Headquarters Address
1229 120th Ave NE Ste C, Bellevue, WA, 98105
Mailing Address
P.O. Box 50034, Bellevue, WA, 98105
Year Founded
2009

Top Rated
Our Partner
9.8 / 10
  • Consistently #1 in customer satisfaction, A+ BBB
  • Chosen by almost 90% of ConsumersAdvocate.org visitors
  • Comprehensive illness and accident coverage
  • Unlimited lifetime benefits + no claim caps!
  • Annual deductible (recommended)
  • Free mobile app & no claims forms

Latest Healthy Paws Reviews

9.67
Based on1,292 Reviews fromHealthy Paws customers
Tracey R
Fairfax, Virginia

2/20/2018
When it comes to difficult times with your loved ones, which are our fur babies, you worry and stress over doing everything possible to help them. They can’t easily tell us how they feel. We have to know their traits and monitor them closely. Meanwhile, you have bills and expenses to add to the stress. Well, I can speak from experience (unfortunately twice), that our soon to be two year old Lab, had to have procedures and major surgery from eating a tennis ball and a squeaker toy. The two procedures were just under $1000 and just about $4200. I was so happy to have an easy claim process and received payments without any further questions or justification. I was able to make my claim right... Read More


Sarah K
Santa Barbara, California

2/20/2018
I am so happy I selected Healthypaws in my search for pet insurance. The coverage has been excellent, service always great and best of all I do not have to worry about whether I can afford the medical treatment my pet requires.


Karen W

2/20/2018
I did a lot of research before deciding on Healthy Paws, and I made the right choice for so many reasons. 1) Their app is the best thing going. So easy! Just take a picture of the receipt and click Submit. 2) They pay quickly. I usually have my check within a week. And no bs about what is and isn't covered. They're very clear. 3) They do an excellent job of feeling like you and your pet matter. Follow up emails sound like they were written by a human, and always include my cat's name. I'm sure they send tons of these emails every day, and yet I feel like they truly care about my cat.


J
Jordan D
Carrollton, Texas

2/20/2018
I am 100% pleased with this insurance! They policy is easy to read and filling a claim was also easy. I went a year without using the insurance and thought I should cancel it. When my dog got into the trash and had to have exploratory surgery, only to find she didn't actually eat anything, I figured the policy wouldn't cover it. However, they did! It helped so much to cover the cost! I will never go without insurance for my fur babies! Highly recommend healthy paws!


T
Tom
Pompano Beach, Florida

2/19/2018
Thank you for your email checking on our pup, Jethro is doing great now! Thankfully he didn't need surgery so he was able to be the same crazy boy he always was quick! Knowing we had Healthy paws to cover him made this entire process go smoother and gave us a piece of mind that was much needed during that time. I do need to thank you and your team for their professionalism and compassion during this stressful time! Thank you again for all you do to protect our furry family!


B
Becky
Denver, Colorado

2/19/2018
I submitted a claim for my 3 year old lab who ate something she wasn't supposed to--- unfortunately that's what labs do. :) I took her to the emergency vet hospital where she was initially treated with charcoal and then on iv fluids for 2 nights. I submitted a claim after she (thankfully) recovered and Healthy Paws paid it very quickly. Healthy Paws also followed up with an email (during a weekend) to see how she was doing. I am extremely impressed with both the claim process and the customer service follow-up.


Michael Z
Bloomfield, Connecticut

2/18/2018
So thankful we have pet insurance. Our Boston Terrier needed emergency surgery and the insurance covered what it was supposed to. Very happy with Healthy Paws.


Vanessa F
Santa Clara, California

2/16/2018
When our pup was hospitalized with double pneumonia and we were left with a fat hospital bill, I was pleasantly surprised that our insurance policy with Healthy Paws ACTUALLY covered 90% after our $250 deductible. So refreshing to have a policy that not only fulfills it's promise, but also makes it easy to submit claims and receive your reimbursement. What a relief to only have our pup home again and healthy and not be out thousands of dollars! They even checked in with us following to see how our Bentley was feeling. All in all a wonderful experience!


Denise B
San Jose, California

2/16/2018
I have both my cat and dog insured with Healthy Paws, recently both of my pets needed major care with very expensive Vet bills. My cat, Charlie, had bladder and kidney issues that required hospital critical care. My dog, Lady Belle ruptured a disk in her back and was unable to walk. She needed major surgery. The cost between the two, in just a couple of months was close to $10,000. Healthy Paws paid 80% of the costs of both sets of claims with very little effort on my part and in a very short period of time. In addition they inquired about how they were doing and were very helpful during the process. It was wonderful knowing that for a small monthly cost I didn't have to consider... Read More


M
Mary J
Pinellas Park, Florida

2/14/2018
Our new puppy has had quite the start to life. Cut paw and eating a foreign substance in which she had multiple vet visits and ultimately having to have an endoscopy! Healthy Paws was there all the way for us. Checking on Lucy and quickly processing our claims. Thank you to all the staff for being such a kind and wonderful insurance company for our little girl. We appreciate all you do at Healthy Paws!


B
Barbara L
South Ozone Park, New York

2/13/2018
I simply cannot give Healthy Paws enough stars for their help and their compassion and speedy service to me and my beloved dog. She had an emergency splenectomy at an emergency hospital; many tests, two nights in ICU care. We were stunned by the day's events. By the next morning after her surgery, I had an email in my in box saying Healthy Paws was honoring the claim for the very expensive (and very excellent) care. I only wish there was health insurance like this for humans. The people are very kind, know what they are doing and quick to respond. I totally recommend them to all who have pets. When lightning strikes it is a blessing to have them in your corner.


N
Nancy K
Pasadena, California

2/12/2018
We got Healthy Paws Pet Insurance for our very active new English Cocker pup, never dreaming that he would need it. We chose Healthy Paws after a lot of research, and with the recommendation of our vet. When he was 6 months old, a foxtail burrowed into his thigh, migrated to his knee, causing a bad infection which ultimately required 3 surgeries and extensive rehab at a boarding facility. Healthy Paws has never questioned the large expenses, and has paid very quickly. We are so grateful that Healthy Paws has relieved the financial burden and worry of the situation. The Healthy Paws staff is always friendly, helpful ,and supportive.


J
JERRY G
New Brunswick, New Jersey

2/12/2018
Superb in service, coverage, cost, kindness, and caring!


Catherine L
Baltimore, Maryland

2/12/2018
Healthy Paws is my first experience with pet insurance; I decided on this company after a significant amount of research. I couldn't be happier with my decision and have recommended the company to many of my friends who own pets. My dog recently had surgery, and I couldn't believe how quick and easy it was to file a claim and be reimbursed for the bulk of a pretty substantial bill. Plus, it's the little things that matter--their staff even sent a few emails asking how my dog was doing after the surgery. Healthy Paws has really gone the extra mile, and I'm so glad I purchased a policy through them.


J
Jim
Greensboro, North Carolina

2/12/2018
Our one-year-old puppy Daisy became sick with pancreatitis. Without the Healthy Paws insurance and how much they cover I don’t know how we would’ve been able to pay for it . It’s much better and hasslefree compared to my own health insurance . Jim


M
Maria a
Fairfax, Virginia

2/12/2018
I Highly recommend Healthy Paws. Carson is our first puppy and this obviously is the first time having Pet Health Care so I didn’t know what to expect. I just knew that I wanted to do this right so I did my research on pet insurance companies in advance before we brought Carson home. Healthy Paws comes highly recommended. Shortly after bringing Carson home I signed up !! I Never Ever Ever Ever thought in a million years I would be going through something like this with Carson at such a young age ! He needed to have surgery. They were amazing through the whole process. I used the app on my phone to submit my claim . It was seriously the easiest thing I have ever done . Immediately I... Read More


L
Lauren
Rancho Santa Margarita, California

2/11/2018
We have had insurance with healthy paws for our golden since he was a puppy and he is almost 6 now. We have had nothing but good experiences with them. They are quick to reimburse and they have never given us a hard time or tried to “get out” of covering any claims that should be covered. Very happy with the peace of mind for our pup that healthy paws provides.


A
Amanda W
Roseville, California

2/11/2018
I'm so happy and thankful that we chose Healthy Paws for our Pet Insurance. One of our fur kids got a urinary blockage. He had to stay overnight, receive fluids, lab, medicine. I HAPPY to say he is doing really well. I submitted my claim to HP via online. It was easy! Since it was our first claim it took a little bit longer to hear back. HOWEVER, they were in contact with me every step of the way. They were prompt, paid everything that my policy covered AND I also got a follow up email from them asking how my little guy was doing. If you are on the fence about buying pet insurance and/or what is the best company, LOOK NO FURTHER! I HIGHLY RECOMMEND HEALTHY PAWS!!!! Thank you.


P
Priscilla R
Miami, Florida

2/11/2018
They were great. I highly recommend them. Covered my major surgery without question. I highly recommend Healthy Paws.


K
Ken
Arlington, Virginia

2/8/2018
Our 2 y.o. dog's first incident - some ultimately undiagnosed liver imbalance occurred 5 days after we signed up - but there was a 15 day waiting period so $2,300 went out without helping to meet the deductible and without possibility of any reimbursement. His second incident, involving broken Incisors was covered and after satisfying $180 remaining deductible, resulted in a $1400 payment on another $2,300 bill, Not great, but not too bad considering the rules of the agreement. We still advocate that our doggie parent friends sign up for coverage since it is insane what some accidents and illnesses may cost in this day & age.


A
A
Livingston, New Jersey

2/7/2018
I am writing this review to say how happy we are that we have Healthy Paws pet insurance! You never know (or even think) you are going to need it until something does happen and you are faced with a decision on whether or not you can afford to give your pet the medical attention it needs. Our sweet dog Marley at 2 years old tore her CCL on her right leg. We were heartbroken! Not only that but we never thought that something like this would happen to a young and healthy dog! We immediately called Healthy Paws customer service to confirm we were covered should we decide to get Marley TPLO surgery and after Healthy Paws reviewed our file they assured us that it was. It made our... Read More


T
Tracy M
Parsippany, New Jersey

2/6/2018
My year old Black Lab ate a seed pod which got stuck in his stomach. He needed an emergency endoscopy to remove it. I filed the claim in the Animal Hospital parking lot because it is easy and convenient and claim was settled in days. We have been so pleased with the customer service and prompt processing of our claims . The staff even check in to see how William is doing. Highly recommended.


H
Heather O
Sarasota, Florida

2/5/2018
EXCELLENT! We had a most unfortunate event in which our pug decided to eat a plastic toy and needed emergency surgery- we were worried about out lil girl BUT Healthy Paws took the financial stress away and helped us focus on getting our pug better!! Healthy Paws was fast- all claims are online with submission of medical records and we were reimbursed very quickly! I cannot say HOW THRILLED WE ARE TO HAVE HEALTHY PAWS!!!


R
Rob
West Covina, California

2/5/2018
I have so much peace of mind with having Healthy Paws insurance for my kitties. I have 4, and two of them have had major illnesses that required surgery. I might not have been able to give them the proper care if I had to pay for it all out of pocket.


C
Caitlin S
Fair Lawn, New Jersey

2/5/2018
Healthy Paws has been such a life saver for our family. Their claims process is quick and painless and they stay true to their coverage policies. Having insurance through them has made it possible to provide out pet with the medical care she needs without the worry of how we're going to pay for it.