Rating: 8.9 / 10 (Excellent)
37 Customer Reviews - see all comments
Disclosure: We receive advertising revenue from this partner. Learn more.
GreatCall is a medical alert provider that is based in California. Formed in 2006, this company’s alerts are GPS-centric and fully mobile, with the option of phone application integration. At GreatCall, there is no hardware or service radius. For a monthly fee, GreatCall provides several service-level features, including fall detection and 24 hour response.

How is GreatCall rated?

Breakdown

8/10
Equipment
10/10
Monitoring
10/10
Contract & Price
8/10
Reputation

Overall Rating: 8.9 / 10 (Excellent)

With its exclusive reliance on mobile GPS infrastructure, GreatCall limits its user base to those that live in areas where this technology is commonplace. Within this demographic subset, mobile GPS medical alerts are best for those who still maintain active, on-the-go lifestyles. GreatCall’s low cost is extremely reasonable, and a great reason to give their product a try.

GreatCall Equipment

Equipment - 8 / 10

Since mobile GPS is their sole insfrastructure GreatCall's medical alert system are dependent on those who have access to such networks. That said, its automatic fall detection and product replacement guarantee help keep the company competitive.
System Types
Mobile/GPS
Help Button Option
Necklace
Wristband

Key Features

Wearable 2-Way Communication
Waterproof Help Button
Automatic Fall Detection
Supports Multiple Help Buttons

Additional Info

Equipment Warranty
Product Replacement guarantee. GreatCall replaces devices when it is stolen, lost or broken.

Monitoring

Monitoring - 9.7 / 10

GreatCall's professional monitoring services are operational 24 hours a day, seven days a week. For both emergency and non-emergency dispatches, they are prepared for any event that may arise.
Monitoring Options
Professionally Monitored
Services
24/7 Monitoring
Emergency Dispatch
Non-Emergency Dispatch

Contract & Price: How much does GreatCall cost?

Contract & Price - 10 / 10

Although fees are required for additional persons to be monitored, at $19.99, GreatCall offers an industry-low starting price point for its mobile GPS services.

Starting Prices

Mobile/GPS
$19.99
Free Monitoring for Additional Person

Contract & Fees

Contract Required?
No
Equipment Fees
$49.99
Cancellation Policy
No cancellation fees. Activation fee, first month service charge, cost of device, applicable taxes are refunded within 30 days of date of purchase.

GreatCall Reputation

Reputation - 8 / 10

Despite its unfortunately large number of negative reviews, GreatCall is accredited by the Better Business Bureau with an A+ rating. With a lack of corroborating endorsements or ratings from other sites, there is little to indicate GreatCall’s standing within the medical alert industry.

Additional Ratings

BBB Rating
A+
BBB Postive Reviews
3
BBB Neutral Reviews
3
BBB Negative Reviews
45
Date Collected
2017-08-17

Disclaimers


Contact & Additional Information

Homepage URL
Headquarters Address
10935 Vista Sorrento Pkwy #200, San Diego, CA, 92130
Mailing Address
10935 Vista Sorrento Pkwy #200, San Diego, CA, 92130
Year Founded
2005

Our Partner
8.9 / 10
  • 25% Off for Mother's Day
  • Fully-mobile, waterproof, single-unit w/GPS
  • Goes everywhere with you
  • No landline, no installation needed
  • Cellular coverage on most reliable network
  • Self-managed, US-based service and monitoring centers
  • Fastest agent response time, in any emergency situation
  • Automatic fall detection service available
  • Free shipping, no contract & no cancellation fees
  • A+ Rating with Better Business Bureau

Latest GreatCall Reviews

Joe T
Hillsboro, Illinois

1/27/2018
I would not recommend that anyone get hooked up with GreatCall Phone service. The booklet that came with the phone had many pages missing. They did send me another booklet that had all the pages, but there are a lot of things that it does not cover. My voice mail was not working and when I called them, they said, "We have been having a lot of trouble with our voice mail." They gave me a phone number that I have to call every time I want to get my voice mail. I successfully used the number once. The next time I used it there were problems. The third time I called that number, it wouldn't work. It just kept repeating the message over and over. When I tried to hang up, no mater what... Read More


E
EdwardJennings
Jacksonville, Florida

1/17/2018
Had one week . Device stopped working. They are sending another one out. MAKE SURE YOU GET THE INS. ON IT FOR 3.OO MORE A MONTH WILL SEE HOW THIS NEW ONE WORKS.


J
Jerry L
Oxnard, California

1/15/2018
Jerry Lucero I bought a great Call I like the size but i put in my pocket and the glass broke no one would replace the glass. I many cell phone over 30 years and never had a front glass break. all i could was dump it, and take the loss.


J
Jim
Katy, Texas

12/7/2017
Your device did not work ! Very frustrating to me and my 96 year old mother. After replacing the device 2 times we were informed after talking to 3 supervisors that if the device is used near large bodies of water. The device will continue to look for a signal and wear the battery down. We sent the devices in early September 2017 and have not been reimbursed. I am now on my third call to the Service center and on hold for 20 minutes. If you live near any body of water, do not waste your time.


M
m
Newport News, Virginia

10/26/2017
We chose the Lively because of battery life and smart phone app options, like being notified when greatcall was contacted and being able to locate my mother via GPS. She had one unit active for less than a week before it started having problems. We were told that every time the battery was changed, the app would need to be reinstalled on her phone and everything would need to be set up again. How many seniors using this device can do this?? Once we received the second unit, it worked for less than 2 days! We could not change the battery and I will be sending it back.


T
Ted
Omaha, Nebraska

8/28/2017
Will not take voicemails. Was sent a second phone, it still will not accept voicemails. Everything set up properly, incoming calls ring six times then nothing, phone goes dead! Not a good phone for dementia patient, too confusing for senior citizen. Just has bigger numbers!


F
Frances R
Mesa, Arizona

8/23/2017
I have had the old version for a number of years and have used it once. Was so pleased with the response. I have stepped on it a couple of times by accident and still such a quick response. Was so excited to get the wearable as I was wearing the old one on my wrist and it was heavy and not very attractive but cannot stand the ones around your neck. I realize some folks do not have a smart phone so that may be their best option. And the cost if half the price per month. thanks for coming up with an alternative. Fances Rang Chenoweth.


Delon F
Mentone, Indiana

8/19/2017
Great idea. In use is questionable. We just took a 3 day trip out of state,yet the weekly report shows we were out and about for 19 hours. Wife wears it every day yet it usually reports less than 6 days use. It is on the charger EVERY night for at least 8 hours yet a couple times a month it turns off from low battery after about 11-12 hours of being on.


L
LEIGH H
New Smyrna Beach, Florida

8/11/2017
I got a Great Call and a Jitterbug phone at same time. I did not know you could buy the phone at Best Buy. Wish I had as this one has never worked and the terrible Cust Service will not take it back. The button next to the bed was fine but it blinks all night and keeps me awake. When I called CS they said it needs to prove its working??? Then CS is almost impossible to reach and when you do they are not very helpful. No necklace came with the button so if I fall in living room what then so I called and they sent me a lanyard that had no connection to the button Another call and they sent something to attach to button and my engineer son could not do it. Another call and a part was sent... Read More


M
Mercedes G
Miami, Florida

7/26/2017
The Lively will not hold a charge and spends most of the time on the charger. The Splash was much, much better but when I tried to switch back to it from the Lively I was informed that it was no longer available. It is only supported if you had a Splash and never "upgraded?" to the Lively.


AnnaMarie P
Bath, New York

7/10/2017
Does not stay connected to my phone.


T
Tiffany B
Whitmore Lake, Michigan

6/22/2017
My Mother-in-law had a greatcall. Battery life on the unit sucks, 12 hours or less. What good does the unit do if it has to be on the charger 50% of the time, NONE. Thats what happened when she fell a few days ago, greatcall was on the charger because she had forgotten to charge the night before. Thank God she was able to get up and to a phone. We are Switching!!!


James O
Bedford, Texas

6/16/2017
My Boss Mark is 90. He loves the mobility it offers. Excellent choice if you're a Senior


Lynn Z
Loveland, Colorado

4/25/2017
Poor service! Thought equipment was working until trying to use it, not even working! False sense of security!! Bought brand new equipment and they said there equipment was malfunctioning! Wanted to ship another one for 24.99! Dont use this company!


Hank B
Broomall, Pennsylvania

4/7/2017
Battery life is about 7-8 hours. Even had them send a second set and had the same problem. Don't buy this product.


A
Angie
, Missouri

4/1/2017
After quite a bit of research, we decided to get a Lively Wearable for my husband after a fall caused by a diabetic low last winter. When we received it, we received the wrong color. I contacted customer service and they said they'd ship the right 1 with a return shipping label. When we received the 2nd 1, they sent the big, boxy 1, not a Wearable, and there was no return shipping label. I contacted costumer service, again, and they apologized and said they'd send the right 1 and make sure we received a return shipping label. We finally received the correct device the 3rd time around, and received the return shipping label to return the 2 incorrect devices. We thought things were... Read More


D
Dee S
Palmyra, Virginia

2/7/2017
I called Greatcall for a gold lifeline for my mother-in-law who is 86 years old and has some serious medical issues. The first one arrived as promised but when we got it set up and activated we found out the next day that there was an issue with it. I called customer service and spent an hour with the technician trying to figure out what was wrong. She finally agreed that we needed to replace it. I received the second one within the next 6 days and had it activated the evening of 2/6/17. Everything seemed to be fine. I stopped into check on her this afternoon and found that it was not working. I called customer service once again and was transferred to a technician. After trying many... Read More


J
Janell M
Petaluma, California

1/27/2017
I had to return 4 medical alert devices because they wouldn't hold a charge. When the 5th one failed, I cancelled the service.


A
Alice K
Alexandria, Virginia

1/15/2017
My sister recently ordered a lively wearable from GreatCall, because she had had a stroke. I did the preliminary research into this product and because it is rated on this site, I thought it would be trustworthy. I thought that this product suited my sister the best, as she is not elderly and is very active. Furthermore, I was attracted by the fact that she did not need to hook this up to a landline, and that we as family members could download an app on our phones which would alert us if she called 5-Star emergency services. From the beginning, we experienced numerous problems with the device and the system. When she tried to set up the test calls and test out the app with her son's... Read More


B
Bob
Phoenix, Arizona

1/4/2017
We have had 4 different Lively devices, one did not work after activation. My biggest complaint is the GPS location does not work! At times the 5 Star Agent could identify my location but a majority of the time the information is 20 minutes to several hours old. If you are driving and have an emergency you cannot count on this device. Cancelling my service with GreatCall!


J
Janell M
Petaluma, California

1/3/2017
Tried Great Call for approximately 1 year. Had to return the system 4 times due to battery not holding charge. Cancelled service....read reviews and found that this is a common problem.


Carol T
Santa Barbara, California

12/22/2016
Got this system for my father especially for the fall detection and no land line required. Well, he fell and no response was detected from Great Call, (also have an aunt in another city with the same problem). I called Great Call and was on the phone about three hours over a course of 2-3 weeks. There was an error on their end with the internet provider which Great Call neglected to inform their clients about this issue. I requested another unit as I felt this unit was not working as it should be. Great Call refused to send out another unit, told me to get up early the next day and call their support team again!!! Needless to say that was the end of our business with Great Call!! I do not... Read More


S
Shirley C
Denison, Texas

12/14/2016
It has been great for me. I am 81 live alone and I feel so secure. I have the fall detector and have set it off a couple of times by laying it down a little hard I guess. I love mine.


C
Carol W
Lynchburg, Virginia

12/14/2016
I purchased two units and both were defective. When I called to activate the second unit I was on hold for more than 30 minutes, then a recording came on and said they were now closed. I called back the next morning and discovered the charger was defective. They said they were aware of the design flaw and would mail a new one. I didn't have time for this because I live out of state and was leaving town. They told me to return the unit where I purchased it and 21 days later they would return my activation fee! I spent a lot of time and energy trying to get this for my mother. Nothing was accomplished. I would NEVER recommend this company!


G
Gina
Carleton, Michigan

12/13/2016
Avoid this company at all cost. This was a disaster from the beginning. First they charged us for and shipped three devices. Then after a very long wait to activate it on the phone (online did not work), I was disconnected THREE different times. We were never able to get the bracelet working and even returning all three of them has been a nightmare we are still trying to get through. The customer service is not helpful, the company clearly has no idea what they are doing. I would not put the safety of a loved one in this company's hands.