Rating: 8.5 / 10 (Excellent)
24 Customer Reviews - see all comments
Disclosure: We receive advertising revenue from this partner. Learn more.
Protect America is a home security company that was founded in 1992 and has protected over half a million homes since its inception. The company offers self-installed, <a href="/home-security/best-home-security">customizable home security systems</a> with optional home automation. Their professional, 24/7 monitoring can be connected via landline, broadband, or cellular. Protect America has been featured on NPR, ABC, and the History Channel among others.

How is Protect America rated?

Breakdown

9/10
Equipment
10/10
Monitoring
8/10
Reputation
8/10
Contract & Price
8/10
Technology Integration

Overall Rating: 8.5 / 10 (Excellent)

Protect America has been providing excellent home security solutions for 20+ years, and features fees amongst the lowest in the industry. Their equipment is 100% wireless, and has a wide variety of options available, with customization and many additional features, such as home automation and life safety. Though their prices and packaging can be a touch more complicated than their competitors, their customer service representatives are available via phone and online chat, to help guide customers through the decision.

How does Protect America work?

Equipment - 9 / 10

Protect America's equipment offerings are seriously impressive. The most basic package includes a control panel, one motion detector, and three door/window sensors. As the price increases, so does the amount of equipment, with more sensors, cameras, life safety devices, and eventually home automation features. All of their packages are fully customizable, with high-quality hardware by 2Gig and GE. Though the equipment is self-installed, Protect America schedules it with the homeowner and walks them through every step. Great equipment, great service, great features.
Equipment Manufacturer
2Gig and GE
Ability to Reallocate System
Wireless Sensors
Control Panel
Event Triggered Siren/ Alarm

Security Monitors, Sensors, & Devices

Intrusion Protection

  • Door & Window Sensors
  • Garage Door Sensors
  • Glass Break Protection
  • Motion Sensors
  • Recessed Door Sensors

Environmental Protection

  • Carbon Monoxide
  • Flood
  • Temperature Change
  • Smoke

Surveillance

  • Indoor Cameras
  • Outdoor Cameras
  • Tilt & Pan Cameras
  • Live Surveillance
  • Event-triggered Surveillance

Life Safety

  • Panic Button
  • Medical Alert

Monitoring

Monitoring - 9.5 / 10

Protect America offers 24/7 professional monitoring from their three Criticom Monitoring Services call centers in Texas, via broadband, landline or cellular. Their highly-trained operators dispatch any necessary emergency personnel, and can also be contacted through two-way intercom on their control panel. Protect America can also monitor other pre-installed alarm systems. All in all, an above average monitoring package of services.
Monitoring Options
Professional Monitoring
Monitoring Technology
Cellular
Broadband
Landline
Number of Monitoring Centers
3
Monitoring Center Type
Owned
Professional Monitoring Services
24/7 Professional Monitoring
2-Way Intercom
Police Dispatch
Fire Department Dispatch
Medical Dispatch

How much does Protect America cost?

Contract & Price - 8 / 10

Protect America offers five different packages, with varying price points (beginning at $19.99 and getting pricey after that) and equipment combinations, but their most salient characteristic is their commitment to providing high-quality security for less than the competition. Contrary to other companies, rates are locked in for life. Contract length is a standard 36 months.
Starting Price
$19.99
Max Price
$42.99
Number of Available Packages
5
Installation/ Activation Fee
$0.00
Equipment Starting Cost
$99.00
Contract Required
Minimum Contract Length
36 months
Cancellation Policy
Customers may cancel their Agreement by returning the Equipment within 30 days of the original shipment date. A restocking fee of $79 may be charged against the method of payment provided at the time of sale.
Warranty
Lifetime Equipment Warranty

Technology Integrations

Technology Integration - 8 / 10

Protect America can interface with Amazon Alexa, Google Home, IFTTT, Z-Wave, and ZigBee. They provide iOS and Android apps, which send email and text alerts, live surveillance feed for packages with cameras, and remote arm/disarm features. Their website allows homeowners to access their system, pay their bills, and troubleshooting.

Compatibility

Amazon Alexa
Google Home
IFTTT
Z-Wave
ZigBee

Mobile Access & Alerts

  • iPhone App
  • Android App
  • Email & Text Alerts
  • Live Surveillance Feed
  • Remote Arm/Disarm

Home Automation

  • Lighting Control
  • Thermostat Control
  • Appliance Control
  • Electronic Door Locks
  • Event-triggered Automation
  • History Log
  • Unique User Codes

Protect America Reputation

Reputation - 8.1 / 10

Protect America is certified by the Underwriter's Laboratory, Electronic Security Association, and New York City Fire Department. Their copper alarm package has been named a Consumer’s Digest “Best Buy” for 5 years in a row.
Trust Pilot Rating
5.4 out of 10
BBB Rating
B
Number of BBB Positive Reviews
3
Number of BBB Neutral Reviews
3
Number of BBB Negative Reviews
87
Date Collected
2017-08-17
Year Founded
1992

Certifications & Associations

  • Underwriter's Laboratory (UL)
  • Electronic Security Association
  • Department of Defense
  • New York City Fire Department

Contact & Additional Information

Homepage URL
Company Phone
(877) 969-1862
Headquarters Address
3800 Quick Hill Rd, Austin, TX, 78728
Mailing Address
3800 Quick Hill Rd, Austin, TX, 78728

Top Rated
Our Partner
8.5 / 10
  • Award-winning Home Security from $19.99
  • Affordable yet effective equipment
  • Quick setup with no installation fees
  • 3-year term
  • Qualification: 600+ Fico Score
  • Expect to pay $19.99-$42.99/mo

Latest Protect America Reviews

J
Jose G
Tampa, Florida

2/6/2018
THERE IS NOT A PERFECT ALARM SISTEM COMPANY I BEEN WITH THIS COMPANY FOR ABOUT 6 MONTH SO FAR SO GOOD NO COMPLAIN THE SERVICES IS VERY GOOD CUSTOMER SERVICES VERY PROFECTIONAL OVER ALL GOOD.This company Is the greatest company I have ever been with.These people know how to work and do their job right!I like the company I have right now.So that's what I think about them.Thank you Protect America Home Security!


H
Heather
Cambridge, Massachusetts

12/6/2017
We have been very dissatisfied and overpaying for Protect America services for over 2years now, because they locked us into a 3year contract (yes,... I said 3). Beware, we thought it was only 2year contract to begin with. We finally completed the 3 years with them and they are refusing to lower our service agreement amount (almost $85 and we don't have monitored cameras) so we are parting ways. I do have to say that their support team (installation and such)has always been helpful when we needed it, but the other people we have had to deal with have always been difficult. I do not recommend this company. Honestly, half the time I've wondered if someone actually broke into our... Read More


B
Brian G
Wayne, Pennsylvania

9/1/2017
I have had the worst experience with Protect America. Their customer service is absolutely TERRIBLE. I have been on hold with them for a total of 4 hours to make 1 simple change. When I finally decided to cancel, they still changed me for an extra month (even though I told them I wanted to cancel 45 days prior. They are a bunch of thieves and you should steer clear of them at all costs!!!


L
Lori
Beckley, West Virginia

8/31/2017
Buyers beware!!!!! Do not sign up with this company if you do not read the fine print. My personal experience my horrible, i did not find the system user friendly at all, customer service is not available after hours if problems occur and they and will. The sensors are large and do not stay in place. They require you to sign a 3 year contract, and the person that called them is the only person that can cancel the contract and the hours of operation are very limited and you will be on hold for hours to cancel and you are still responsible for bills until you send a letter, wait on hold to talk with someone. Please do not sign with this company. Lori from wv


E
Erin
Minneapolis, Minnesota

5/31/2017
Extremely nice installation reps. There is a 3 year contract (like all other top security companies)which they do inform you of upfront so no surprises. Lots of options for your home & add ons if needed. Great price for the quality, quantity, and safety of our family. Impressive BBB rating & review's.


J
JGrey
Encinitas, California

5/8/2017
Shifty customer service and management - expect to wait on hold up to an hour to speak with someone and hang up frustrated


G
gerard P

3/17/2017
I called up the customer service to terminate my subscription. I was put on hold for 47 minutes, and after that, all the customer representative gave me was an email address cancelrequest@protectamerica.com. I sent an email about a week ago, and have not received any acknowledgement. Upto now, I still receive bill and yet they are not helpful regarding my cancellation request.


David K
Madison, Wisconsin

2/21/2017
Their customer service is the worst. I could not get any one to call me back. It seems like I was on hold forever, and when I left a message, no one followed up. There is much better companies to spend your money on for a home security system. I changed to a different company for exactly the same protection and saved over $30.00 a month with new equipment. Run away from them as fast as you can


Roberta S
Sayville, New York

1/13/2017
The equipment was substandard and service just as bad. We were locked into a contract and have just been biding my time to obtain an alarm system that actually worked and my family could feel safe with.


E
Erin
Mary Esther, Florida

1/10/2017
We have had Protect America for over 6 years and the service is extremely awesome. We had a problem with a sensor on a door and they express mailed us a new one. The customer service is very knowledgeable and will walk you through adding new sensors. Great company.


P
Paul G
Rye, New York

12/28/2016
Protect America would not answer my phone calls even though I'm a long time customer with them in motion sensors they sent me have been told to me that it takes them five minutes arm and the response time for their central station is one minute if you only knew what could happen in one minute you would rethink making this decision going with this company. Paul


Kyle R
Oak Park, Michigan

12/20/2016
I've had Protect America for over 3 years now and I'm very satisfied with the overall quality of the professional monitoring, equipment, and customer service. Every time I contact customer care either by phone or through the online live chat feature Protect America has on it's website the customer care team always takes care of my needs and answers all my questions with full explanations. Furthermore, I recently sign up for another 3 year contract and I received $500 worth of FREE equipment in addition to the FREE equipment I received when I first signed up.


Sonya D
San Antonio, Texas

10/29/2016
Horrible company. The equipment they send is faulty. The sensors constantly slip causing false alarms (no help in disputing the charges with the city for the false alarm charges), the faulty sensors also cause your system to not arm correctly, main box is constantly reading low batter even though it is consistently plugged in and does not stay active during power outage. All the equipment is sent to you to install yourself, which is not difficult, however you are left to maintain your own security system and ensure it is working properly instead of having professionals do it. You still pay the same amount of money as if you were paying professionals to handle your equipment and system. Do... Read More


B
Brendan O
Modesto, California

9/14/2016
Protect America is the most unethical company I have ever dealt with. We signed up for service and the equipment never worked properly. Many phone calls, hours on hold and no resolution. We moved a year later and the new house already had a security system in place. When we tried to cancel our service through Protect America we learned the horrible truth: We were locked into an iron-clad contract that required us to pay the full amount for 3 years whether or not we were actually using their service. In short - they wouldn't help us at all, extremely rude, and we paid thousands of dollars for a service we never received. DO NOT SIGN ANY CONTRACTS WITH PROTECT AMERICA. THEY WILL RUIN... Read More


M
Michael
Sarasota, Florida

7/5/2016
I signed up with Protect America thinking it was going to be great, low and behold there is always something by going with the cheapest.. no bills and forced automatic pay. They also require you to drill into concrete that my landlord doesn't allow.


Moorpark, California

3/14/2016
I am a current customer. firstly the monthly amt is $29.99. I just recently found out that my system is not fully working due to an out date part. When I phoned 2 weeks ago the girl on the phone told me that alarm system had not been working to par for a couple of weeks in fact it had not been working for months. Since its a parts issue on their part i asked when were the Co going to call and let me know? To this she answered - we have thousands of customers and we mail out the replacement units in batches due to the cost of shipping. She also continued to tell me that it was more or less my fault as a customer iI am suppose to call in every month to have the system tested. Well what am I... Read More


R
Ron S
Los Angeles, California

2/29/2016
You can count on it. Really! i mean that latch key feature and paramedics they are tremendous and state of the art and those sensor.. you don't have to worry even if you live in a glass house and the best part is the monitoring..Thumbs up!!


E
Ellen M
Carson City, Nevada

10/2/2015
I have been with Protect America for six years. In the beginning it was a little difficult to install, but my Husband was quite capable of getting the base unit set up. The customer service is always very pleasant and helpful. The monthly monitoring is not bad. Since I've been with them over the three year contract, I can cancel my service at any time. I'm very satisfied with them.


A
Alan P
Van Nuys, California

9/23/2015
From the beginning, we have experienced many problems with the equipment. The staff seems to be knowledgeable and attempts to be helpful however they provide only phone assistance. There are no on- site services available or provided by the company to resolve and or repair problems. The contact mounting system provided is insecure and in many cases falls apart leaving some windows or doors unprotected. The panel always seems to show various areas that are open when in fact there are not. Overall we have been extremely unhappy with this company and are eagerly awaiting the end of our contract so that we can switch to a more reliable security company.


J
john H
San Antonio, Texas

6/19/2015
My house burned down and Protect America would not let me out of my 3 year contract. There customer service is somewhere between Cablecompanies and Cell phone companies. Don't believe anything they tell you.


K
KEN F
Port Saint Lucie, Florida

5/7/2015
Had protect america and they rip me off for over $300. I would not recommend they cannot be trusted.


R
Regina N
Mableton, Georgia

1/25/2015
COULD DO BETTER


R
Regina N
Mableton, Georgia

1/25/2015
VERY GOOD


J
James F
Plant City, Florida

1/9/2015
I have had my house broken into with no police notification at all. The GE Simon XT failed and Protect America did not even have a clue what happened. We no have to loaded 20 gauge tactical shotguns at the ready. Protect America sucks