MONI Smart Security Review

Rating: 8.3 / 10 (Excellent)
32 Customer Reviews - see all comments
Disclosure: We receive advertising revenue from this partner. Learn more.
MONI Smart Security is a home security company offering three different plans, all of which connect via a 4G wireless system, have a two-way voice alarm panel, and offer 24/7 professional monitoring. Home automation and smartphone control are additional features.

How is MONI rated?

Breakdown

9/10
Equipment
9/10
Monitoring
8/10
Reputation
9/10
Contract & Price
6/10
Technology Integration

Overall Rating: 8.3 / 10 (Excellent)

Moni is an strong choice in home security companies, due to their consistently outstanding customer service and high dependability. Their systems are easily integrated to other technology, and can include a good number of home automation devices, which can help you save via increased energy efficiency. Since 2012, they've won the Consumers’ Choice Award every year.

How does MONI work?

Equipment - 9 / 10

Moni requires professional installation of their state-of-the-art equipment, whose modern sensors and smart panels are among the best in the business. They offer fire and smoke detection, medical monitoring, and can also include flood, freeze, and carbon monoxide monitoring as well. Finally, Moni offers home automation devices and and live video surveillance.
Installation
Professional
Equipment Manufacturer
Honeywell and GE
Ability to Reallocate System
Wireless Sensors
Control Panel
Event Triggered Siren/ Alarm

Security Monitors, Sensors, & Devices

Intrusion Protection

  • Door & Window Sensors
  • Garage Door Sensors
  • Glass Break Protection
  • Motion Sensors

Environmental Protection

  • Carbon Monoxide
  • Flood
  • Temperature Change
  • Smoke

Surveillance

  • Indoor Cameras
  • Outdoor Cameras
  • Doorbell Cameras
  • Tilt & Pan Cameras
  • Live Surveillance

Life Safety

  • Panic Button
  • Medical Alert

Monitoring

Monitoring - 9 / 10

Moni offers 24/7 professional monitoring via broadband, landline or cellular, from which they dispatch emergency personnel as needed, and monitor environmental sensors as well as alarms. Their call center has a five-diamond certification by the Central Station Alarm Association, meaning that their operators have a high level of proficiency and training.
Monitoring Options
Professional Monitoring
Monitoring Technology
Cellular
Broadband
Landline
Number of Monitoring Centers
1
Monitoring Center Type
Owned
Professional Monitoring Services
24/7 Professional Monitoring
2-Way Intercom
Police Dispatch
Medical Dispatch

How much does MONI cost?

Contract & Price - 8.5 / 10

Moni provides professional installation for $149, and plans can range between $29.99 and $49.99. Their lifetime equipment warranty is exceptional within the industry, whereas the minimum contract length of 36 months is fairly standard. Though an early cancellation fee may apply, if if 80% of the total contract has been paid, this fee may be waived.
Starting Price
$29.99
Max Price
$49.99
Number of Available Packages
3
Installation/ Activation Fee
$149.00
Equipment Starting Cost
$0.00
Contract Required
Minimum Contract Length
36 months
Cancellation Policy
80 percent of the total contract balance should be paid for early contract cancellation. 30 day cancellation process with early termination charges.
Warranty
Lifetime equipment warranty

Technology Integrations

Technology Integration - 6 / 10

Moni is compatible with Amazon Echo, Alexa, or Dot, Apple TV, Apple Watch, and Amazon FireTV. Their iOS and Android apps provide email and text alerts, as well as live video feed, when the system includes cameras.

Compatibility

Amazon Alexa
Google Home
IFTTT
Z-Wave
ZigBee

Mobile Access & Alerts

  • iPhone App
  • Android App
  • Email & Text Alerts
  • Live Surveillance Feed
  • Remote Arm/Disarm
  • Geo-location Services

Home Automation

  • Lighting Control
  • Thermostat Control
  • Appliance Control
  • Electronic Door Locks
  • Event-triggered Automation
  • History Log
  • Unique User Codes

MONI Reputation

Reputation - 8 / 10

Moni has a overall good reputation in the home security space. They are certified by the Central Station Alarm Association (CSAA), Factory Mutual (FM), and the Electronic Security Association. They're a BBB-accredited company with an A+ rating.
Trust Pilot Rating
7.9 out of 10
BBB Rating
A+
Number of BBB Positive Reviews
13
Number of BBB Neutral Reviews
3
Number of BBB Negative Reviews
90
Date Collected
2017-08-17
Year Founded
1991

Certifications & Associations

  • Central Station Alarm Association (CSAA)
  • Factory Mutual (FM)
  • Electronic Security Association

Contact & Additional Information

Homepage URL
Company Phone
(855) 910-7980
Headquarters Address
1990 Wittington Place, Dallas, TX, 75234
Mailing Address
Department CH 8628, Palatine, IL, 60055

Our Partner
8.3 / 10
  • Protecting more than 1 million customers nationwide
  • Award-winning live 24/7 monitoring
  • Patented ASAPer resolves alarms up to 10X faster
  • Free custom system,free professional installation
  • Manage your home remotely with your smartphone
  • Smart-home leader: video, lights, locks, thermostat & more
  • BONUS: Interactive system comes with FREE camera

Latest MONI Reviews

R
Rochelle
Omaha, Nebraska

11/4/2017
Horrible customer service rep who couldn't even tell me what services they offered and what type of equipment they used. It was a painfully long phone call only for her to finally tell me I would have to call back and ask for a security specialist for further questions? No thank you!


Robert H
Harker Heights, Texas

8/23/2017
DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY< THEY ARE AWFUL< TERRIBLE SERVICE> THEY SCAM YOU INTO SIGNING UP FOR 5 YEARS> THEY WILL NOT CANCEL YOUR CONTRACT AUTOMATICALLY> YOU HAVE TO JUMP THRU HOOPS AND IN THE MEAN WHILE THEY KEEP TAKING YOU MONEY FUCK YOU MONI I HATE YOU.


Michael V
Sun City, Arizona

8/11/2017
The company is the worst Alarm Company. I have been Trying to cancel with them since Jan. 2017 after being with them for 6 years. They said the didn't receive my electronic paperwork so I emailed the paperwork. They have continued to charge me every month and my account still is not canceled.


David S
Castle Rock, Colorado

8/7/2017
Not good. Have had them for 3 years now. We have tested alarm and they either never call or they call the wrong number. This is after I have called them about 10 times to talk to them to call my number. Not real pleased with the company


L
Leslie C
Longview, Texas

7/17/2017
I would not use this company. Especially if you are a senior citizen. My mother-in-law signed with this company and paid for a year of monitoring. After that year - to save money - signed up for two more years. Not long after that - it became clear she would need to move and be close to her daughter for a helping hand, she is 80 years old. The company refused to let her out of the new contract and has systematically hounded and harassed her, and now has turned her over to collections related to the $500 bill. She now is totally distraught by the pressures put on her by the collection agency. She did not receive the service, so no service was provided but this company still requires... Read More


A
Ashlee M
Albuquerque, New Mexico

7/17/2017
Beware of this company! Unprofessional staff who loves to transfer you to another person because they do not wish to help you. They will not notify you when your monitors are no longer working and are off-line. Big hassle and Bad experience with this company. I don't recommend this company to anyone. We now have ADT a much more reliable company.


A
Ashlee M
Albuquerque, New Mexico

7/17/2017
BEWARE OF THIS COMPANY! Unprofessional staff who loves to transfer you to another person because they do not wish to help you. They will not notify you when your monitors are no longer working and are off-line. Big hassle and Bad experience with this company. I don't recommend this company to anyone. We now have ADT a much reliable company.


B
Beth
Indianapolis, Indiana

7/11/2017
We used this company for several years, but when we moved, we continued to receive bills for 2 months after we notified them in writing of our cancellation. According to the company, when you discontinue, they have 30 more days before the cancellation goes into effect. Even utility companies don't do that. We paid a regular bill of $54.44 on 4/17. I informed them on 4/26 of the cancellation. I was billed another direct withdrawal on 5/16 of $54.44, and another on 6/15 for $22.83. What a great deal for them! Note, we were no longer under contract and were month to month.


Y
Yvonne L
Houston, Texas

7/5/2017
We have only been with Monitronics for about two years. They are great until something goes wrong. The thermostat showed low battery this weekend (of course on Saturday). We put in new batteries and now nothing works. This means no air and since there is a special needs child in the house we needed air. Called and of course they are closed on Saturday. It was suggested we go to Lowe's and BUY a thermostat and put it on. We can now control air after about 8 hours without, but can no longer control with phone (which we pay for certain thermostat). We call today to set up service and we are told it will be $75 an hour if it is not the thermostat and will check if the thermostat is... Read More


T
Thow
Las Vegas, Nevada

6/21/2017
I've been with Monitronics for about 15 years now and they have been a very good monitoring company. When you think about it, all of these companies do the same exact thing. They tell you when your alarm goes off. So if that's all they do, then why not go with the company that responds the fastest?


T
takashi m
Las Vegas, Nevada

6/8/2017
ever so often alarm goes off and say my line is open? I have to reset the alarm? never had this with ADT? Go back to them?


Joe M
Orlando, Florida

5/28/2017
Make sure you have all your information in writing before signing up! They can raise your rate by 5% each year. I had set up direct payment and did not catch the increase right away. When I called them about it, they did nothing.


M
Mitzi H
Saint Augustine, Florida

5/2/2017
We have carried Moni ..for several years...We had it in Chattanooga Tn and transferred here to Florida. Thankfully never had to respond to an alarm...But makes us feel secure in our home


D
Dee
Asheville, North Carolina

4/26/2017
We had a system installed by one of their contractors (All Star Alarms) back in 2014, and were pretty much lied to about the length of contract. We were told we were getting a 5 year contract for the price of 3, if we paid all 3 years upfront, which we did, and their agent changed it to a 3 year term. Why would I have left ADT, who was charging us the same for monitoring and go to a pretty much of an unknown company, had there not been a benefit, which we realized once the 3 years were up. There are another 11 friends who switched their service to Monitronix and are all finding out now. Worst things is that contractor is nowhere to be found, and never responded after the first 3 months.... Read More


M
m.drake
Port Richey, Florida

4/13/2017
Been a happy (Monitronics) customer since 2009 and have NEVER experienced ANY problems with this company. I started out with the "basic" package (However, I had to purchase several additional window sensors as the basic package didn't include enough for all the windows) with a 36-month monitoring contract. In 2011, I contacted the company requesting to add-on to my system (having them install a cellular back up signal in case the phone lines were ever cut and installing an additional motion sensor). No problems at all (contacting them, customer service, or the technicians coming out to do the the work). My contract ended in 2012 (could have left) but choose to stay and continue paying... Read More


T
Theresa
Las Vegas, Nevada

4/5/2017
Terrible customer service by the supervisor and the person that answered the phone when I called today to have the keypad relocated to a different area. I have been with this alarm company for the last 8 years both home and business. When we had the business armed they put the keypad in the office. At that time it was ok to have it there, but now that we have our dance studio being rented out of events, we lock the office so i needed the keypad to be moved to the maid ballroom so it can be armed and disarmed. In the last 8 years, I have not called the company to ask for anything! I called today and spoke to someone who was very rude and straight off said that it will be charged to have it... Read More


Johnny G
Hermitage, Pennsylvania

1/31/2017
Have been a customer for 3 years. I have had no problem with my service. No complaints with service. I had free equipment to start and paid for installation. That was understood, that since it was "FREE" it was paid for over the 3 years with a higher cost. I hope to renew with a lower "just monitoring" cost. Since many companies in my area charge around $20 a month, that is what I will shoot for....if they won't budge it will be bye bye. I am hopeful we can come to an agreement and I can keep my service and not have to switch.


C
Convon
Benicia, California

1/14/2017
No complaint about the service as I have only required service a very few times over about 4 years with this company. I am elderly and disabled. The battery in the base keeps failing and now won't even recharge itself and Monitronics wants over $100 to replace it. When I spoke to Tech support, she spent all her time quoting prices for each thing necessary to fix it. When it's working, it's theirs, but when it's not working, it's yours' and you must pay for every little thing. They also didn't care whether I stayed a happy client or walked away--which I'm going to do.


H
Helen B
Minneapolis, Minnesota

12/26/2016
We have been waiting since Dec.21st for someone to CALL us to set up appt. for repair. My mother is 95 and relies on this to make her feel safe in her home. This is terrible service. Our contract is up and I don't think we will be renewing. I was told today Dec. 26th that the service company is closed for the holidays. Since Dec. 21st????????????


I
Image J

12/19/2016
Promised us equipment substitutions (ie: swap the motion detector for a second smoke detector). I took the day off from work in order to be there for the installation. When the installer arrived he said there would be additional charges for the substitution - $400! I called the company who refused to honor their promise. I informed them that two separate reps made the same promise, and I have both conversations on tape. They still refused. I cancelled the installation. I won't commit 36 months to a company that loses trust before it even begins.


Tanya M
Bentonville, Arkansas

12/1/2016
Monitronics is just the Monitoring Company watching over Alliance Home Security in my Area. We've had nothing but problems with our System since day 1 & Despite numerous calls to Alliance & Several calls with Monitronics NO ONE Will Fix the Problems or REMOVE The System. Put on Hold for over 2 hours with Alliance who refuse to address our issues. Do NOT Buy this System From Alliance....It's A huge Mistake!!


R
Rosi
Lodi, California

11/15/2016
Bad company do not use it. Bad Customer service. Very expensive in comparison to others. When you move, they make you to renew the 36 months contract, so it is a never ending bad service. Vanessa


M
mike o
Fairfield, California

9/7/2016
I've been in contact with one of the employees. They offered to send out a tech to see what's the problem with the alarm. Sadly, I had to cancel my service with this company. Overall my experience was okay.


T
thelene R
Boise, Idaho

8/29/2016
Worst company I death with, would never recommend them.


O
Oliver M
Aplaya, Calabarzon

8/25/2016
Great home security company.