Rating: 8.4 / 10 (Excellent)
31 Customer Reviews - see all comments
Disclosure: We receive advertising revenue from this partner. Learn more.
Guardian Protection is a home security company which provides residential and commercial security solutions across 18 states. They also offer customizable, optional home automation, and 24/7 monitoring for all their systems, including fire and medical alerts. Their four interactive systems can be accessed remotely via their app.

How is Guardian Protection rated?

Breakdown

10/10
Equipment
9/10
Monitoring
8/10
Reputation
8/10
Contract & Price
8/10
Technology Integration

Overall Rating: 8.4 / 10 (Excellent)

Guardian Protection provides professional, high-quality 24/7 monitoring with their comprehensive home security packages. Their equipment is top of the line, and they enjoy good standing in the field. Their fees are reasonable, especially for the quality of their service.

How does Guardian Protection work?

Equipment - 10 / 10

Guardian Protection home security systems feature professional installation of their Interlogix and Honeywell equipment, which is monitored 24/7. The system provides intrusion protection via motion, door, and window sensors, as well as environmental protections such as carbon monoxide and smoke detection. Additional elements can include cameras, home automation, panic buttons, and medical alerts. Guardian Protection's equipment offerings are very comprehensive, as compared to the general norm.
Installation
Professional
Equipment Manufacturer
Interlogix and Honeywell
Ability to Reallocate System
Wireless Sensors
Control Panel
Event Triggered Siren/ Alarm

Security Monitors, Sensors, & Devices

Intrusion Protection

  • Door & Window Sensors
  • Garage Door Sensors
  • Glass Break Protection
  • Motion Sensors
  • Recessed Door Sensors
  • Crash & Smash Protection

Environmental Protection

  • Carbon Monoxide
  • Temperature Change
  • Smoke

Surveillance

  • Indoor Cameras
  • Outdoor Cameras
  • Doorbell Cameras
  • Tilt & Pan Cameras
  • Live Surveillance
  • Event-triggered Surveillance

Life Safety

  • Panic Button
  • Medical Alert

Monitoring

Monitoring - 9 / 10

Guardian Protection provides 24/7 professional monitoring for all its home security packages. This can operate via landline, broadband, or cellular, and some packages have more than one option as a failsafe. Their two-way intercom offers an instant connection to a Guardian call center, from where technicians can dispatch the required emergency services.
Monitoring Options
Professional Monitoring
Monitoring Technology
Cellular
Broadband
Landline
Number of Monitoring Centers
1
Monitoring Center Type
Owned
Professional Monitoring Services
24/7 Professional Monitoring
2-Way Intercom
Police Dispatch
Fire Department Dispatch
Medical Dispatch

How much does Guardian Protection cost?

Contract & Price - 7.5 / 10

Guardian Protection requires a standard 30-month contract, for which termination fees may apply. While the warranty is extensive, the $99 fee for the obligatory professional installation can be over-budget for some people, although the $34.95 average monthly fee is reasonable.
Number of Available Packages
4
Installation/ Activation Fee
$99.00
Contract Required
Minimum Contract Length
30 months
Cancellation Policy
Termination fees may apply
Warranty
Extensive warranty

Technology Integrations

Technology Integration - 8 / 10

Guardian Protection provides home automation services, remote arm and disarm, email and text alerts, geo-location services, and apps compatible with both the iPhone and Android operating systems. Guardian's service is highly compatible with other companies' devices, which can be a great advantage.

Compatibility

Amazon Alexa
Google Home
IFTTT
Z-Wave
ZigBee

Mobile Access & Alerts

  • iPhone App
  • Android App
  • Email & Text Alerts
  • Live Surveillance Feed
  • Remote Arm/Disarm
  • Geo-location Services

Home Automation

  • Lighting Control
  • Thermostat Control
  • Appliance Control
  • Electronic Door Locks
  • Event-triggered Automation
  • History Log
  • Unique User Codes

Guardian Protection Reputation

Reputation - 8 / 10

Guardian enjoys a good reputation, in accordance with the standards of all major home security accreditors, such as the Central Station Alarm Association, Underwriter's Laboratory, Factory Mutual, and the Electronic Security Association.
Trust Pilot Rating
7.3 out of 10
BBB Rating
A+
Number of BBB Positive Reviews
37
Number of BBB Neutral Reviews
3
Number of BBB Negative Reviews
31
Date Collected
2017-08-17
Year Founded
1950

Certifications & Associations

  • Central Station Alarm Association (CSAA)
  • Underwriter's Laboratory (UL)
  • Factory Mutual (FM)
  • Electronic Security Association

Contact & Additional Information

Homepage URL
Company Phone
(800) 857-5028
Headquarters Address
174 Thorn Hill Road, Warrendale, PA, 15086
Mailing Address
174 Thorn Hill Road, Warrendale, PA, 15086

Top Rated
Our Partner
8.4 / 10
  • Full color 5-inch touchscreen control panel
  • Largest privately-held home security company in the U.S.
  • Trusted by over 300,000 customers
  • Two Five Diamond 24-hour monitoring stations
  • 100% U.S. based Customer Service 
  • Worry-free professional custom installation included
  • Impeccable Reputation with A+ Rating from the Better Business Bureau

Latest Guardian Protection Reviews

8.06
Based on31 Reviews fromGuardian Protection customers
W
William B
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

5/13/2018
We have been with quite a few different companies before coming to Guardian Protections. The last one of which could have done some very horrible harm. Our fire alarm went off and the monitoring company never called the fire company. I am hearing impaired and was sound asleep when the oven caught fire and the kitchen was full of smoke. Thank God my son in law stopped over or it could have been fatal. Upon calling the alarm company they insisted we were mistaken and no alarm was reported that it was a business. They had gotten the accounts mixed up. Now we are with guardian and no problems at all.


J
Jason T
Dallas, Texas

4/23/2018
They screwed me over. They canceled my contract without my knowledge when my tenant tried to transfer the account into his name. Instead they opened a new account and charged the same home twice. They never contacted me about the cancellation or the past due bill. I just found out when a debt collected called me. Guardian said they can’t help me. They will screw you too. I’m in the military don’t trust this company.


J
Juan
Allen Park, Michigan

8/22/2017
Quick response when alarm is triggered . Good installation technician ,and customer support is top notch. Would definitely recommend.


Susan D
Eagle Mountain, Utah

8/18/2017
I have been a Guardian client for many years now. One of the reasons I chose them was because they have a Life Alert feature. The few times I've had to use it, the response has been less than fifteen seconds. That's a comforting feeling. I recently moved and they made the transfer to my new home seamless. Their prices are competitive and they're always there for me. I highly recommend them. The only reason I'm not giving them a fifth star is because I'm hoping they will upgrade the Life Alert with new features like a fall detector and a GPS so it can be used away from home.


J
John D
Delaware, Ohio

8/12/2017
Everything has been great so far! Only complaint would be the monthly monitoring charge it could be a little cheaper.


J
Janice P
Dade City, Florida

8/12/2017
We have been Guardian customers since 2009 and have even purchased the equipment for our daughter and granddaughter.... We have been extremely happy with the service... We have never had a problem and they are always there if there is ever any questions... We have friends and some family that have other companies and it seems as there is always an issue with them or they are continually raising their prices... I would recommend this service to everyone who is interested in having a safe home...


D
Dick S
Mooresville, North Carolina

8/10/2017
The presentation after closing of the systems operation, which includes establishing personal settings, introduction to the customer care web site, and even doing some on the spot re-wiring from a wall next to the fireplace to the area above the fireplace mantel for our cable feed to the TV was an added benefit that was performed beautifully, neat, functional, and quickly (with a trip to our attic area). Outstanding job Guardian. Nice people, quality equipment, and user support at a fair price. I would recommend Guardian to everyone.


C
Candis b
Greenville, Pennsylvania

8/10/2017
I have used guardian for almost a year now and have always had very reliable home security. This has really helped me because I'm now a single mom of teenagers and guardian makes it possible to sleep sound at night knowing my children are safe.


J
Jeff m
Chicago, Illinois

8/9/2017
We are very happy with our security system with Guardian, even though it has been a learning curve turning off the alarm every morning before running out the door for the whole family the Guardian customer service people have been very patient with us and continued to stay on top of calling every time one of us accidentally triggered the alarm.


S
Susan O
Portage, Indiana

8/9/2017
So pleased with customer service and also the techs that had serviced my home. Not one problem with add ons I requested and our tech was honest and so helpful showing us how it all works. Thank you. I now feel more secure in my home.


Marcy W
Parrish, Florida

8/8/2017
We love everything about our Guardian Home Security!! I love how it keeps track of every time something is changed on the alarm system. We also love the fact that you download the app and can turn the alarm on/off from anywhere!! You can get texts to let you know when it has been armed/disarmed, too! Very happy with the system!


R
Rebecca H
Troy, Ohio

8/8/2017
Great set up and customer service. Appropriate follow up and easy to reach with questions.


T
Tristan W
Greenville, North Carolina

8/8/2017
Guardian is a very friendly and knowledgeable group with excellent customer service! I had researched many other home security companies before committing to Guardian. But after a 2 hour telephone conversation with a Guardian representative, I was sold. The representative went above and beyond to help me get everything I wanted and quickly answered all of my questions. The representative was very professional and went out of his way to make sure I would be happy choosing Guardian. A few days later, a technician arrived and spent over 6 hours making sure everything was installed perfectly. At the time, the technician did not have any window stickers, but said I could contact Guardian and... Read More


Nancy N
Medford, Oregon

8/8/2017
We moved and our service transferred. That was a very difficult process. Guardian had trouble finding a company in the area to install it. Then we had trouble signing documents online to get things set up. After that was accomplished i am still waiting for my medical pendant. It was paid for and papers signed on July 13 amd it is now Aug. 8 and it still has not been shipped. This doesnt seem like very good service to me but we are stuck in a contract.


M
Matt
Butler, Pennsylvania

8/8/2017
Anytime I have had any contact with guardian on the phone or in person they have been very professional


N
Nancy c
Moore, South Carolina

8/8/2017
Guardian gives this single mom peace of mind while keeping us safe. Easy to use, reliable, and dependable safety helps me rest easy at night.


D
Duane
Fort Myers, Florida

8/8/2017
The customer service is great, however when setting the system the beeping freaks out my dogs. Thought there would be a way of setting it silently.


P
Peter C

8/8/2017
Purchased a new home with a Guardian installed home protection equipment but had a very limited time before returning to the UK to have it commissioned. Guardian support was brilliant, they organised an engineer visit to our home to meet our travel deadline thus ensuring the system functioned to our requirements by re arranging their home service resources team. The engineer was superb, the office support first class and I am delighted with the protection information I receive via email to keep me informed of our property.


Y
Yanisha
Thomson, Georgia

8/8/2017
Excellent service very professional on all aspects of securing my home.


Diana D
Cary, North Carolina

8/8/2017
The beginning of the process was great with my salesperson. He helped me place ceiling fans and tv outlets, computer outlets etc. but since closing the ATT service people have had problems hooking up tv because in each room the lines are not what they need to be. This needs to be fixed for optimum performance. There is only one cat 5 in the house downstairs and there needs to be at least one upstairs. My salesperson knew there was going to be tv's in every room. It has been an ongoing relationship with ATT to get things pretty much resolved.


P
Penny P
Orlando, Florida

8/8/2017
This was a very easy installation and the service is great. All of the staff have been very helpful in teaching me how to use the system.


Kyle B
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

8/8/2017
Competitive rate compared to the last alarm system company I was with. I enjoy the feature of using the app to arm and disarm the system. That is a huge convenience. I also like the ability to add different users to know exactly when and who is using the system. Overall, it's a great system with no complaints thus far. Thank you very much.


Rock M
Fayetteville, Georgia

8/8/2017
GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE AND SUPPORT


Jason K
Dayton, Ohio

8/8/2017
I am very happy with Guardian Protection Security. They are very professional and my family and I feel safe in our home.


Kevin L
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

7/22/2017
I wish I could give them a lower rating. Was lied to by their salesman and when I contacted their office they asked me if I got that in writing by their salesman. When I told them no they told me I should have had gotten it in writing by him. They were suppose to get back to me about something, they said they would call back in an hour. That was about three weeks ago.Can't wait for this contract to end.