Ameritas Dental Insurance Review


Rating: 8.6 / 10 (Excellent)
17 Customer Comments & Reviews - see all comments
Disclosure: We receive advertising revenue from some partners. 
Learn more.
Ameritas is a Nebraska-based mutual insurance company founded in 1887. It offers a wide array of products and services, including health, life, and dental insurance, financial services, and other employee benefits. Ameritas holds an A.M. Best rating of A (Excellent), an S&P rating of A+ (Strong), and an A+ rating with the BBB.

Ameritas Dental Review

Ameritas Dental Insurance offers plans catered towards individuals and families. Rather than relying on dental insurance offered by your employer, Ameritas promotes independence. This is great especially when you find yourself moving to another job. Ameritas also offers discounts on prescriptions from Walmart or Sam's Club pharmacies, which could save you a couple more dollars on dental treatments.

What's included in Ameritas Dental?

MY DENTAL PLAN® HIGHLIGHTS

All plans pay a benefit toward covered services after the $50 per-person deductible.

Plans with either one or two exams and cleanings per year.

Dental Rewards® feature lets qualifying individuals earn an additional amount to add to their following year's annual maximum.

Plan 3 includes a $100 vision benefit to use for vision exams, frames, lenses and contact lenses.

Helps you save on prescription medications through Walmart or Sam's Club pharmacies. 

20/20 PLUS VISION PLAN HIGHLIGHTS

All plans offer vision, dental and hearing care benefits with no waiting or elimination periods.

Plan C offers increasing annual maximum benefits.

Enjoy the freedom to see your choice of vision care provider

Save up to 15% on eyewear frames and lenses purchased at any Walmart Vision Center nationwide. 

Receive savings on prescriptions at Walmart or Sam's Club pharmacies, and eyewear frames and lenses purchased at any Walmart Vision Center. 

Plan Reviewed

MY DENTAL PLAN®

How much does it save you?

preventive 80% plan 1, 100% plan 2 and plan 3

Basic 50% for plan 1 and 2, 80% for plan 3

Major plan 1 not covered, 50% for plan 2 and plan 3

Annual Maximum

plan 1 $500, plan 2 $1000, plan 3 $1500

Treatments Covered and Reimbursement

Covers all treatments but Major services are only covered with extra premiums.

Fine Print

No waiting periods if you were covered by another dental plan within 30 days of the date the application was received.

When you visit an Ameritas PPO network provider, the amount allowed for each covered procedure is based on the Maximum Allowable Charge (MAC). 

 

Summary

Ameritas Dental focuses its services towards providing individuals and families with better dental coverage. It gives them independence in choosing dental plans tailored to their specific needs.


Leave a comment for Ameritas Dental Insurance
Minimum 2-3 sentences.
 No maximum length.
* What's Your Rating?
To make this comment as helpful as possible for our community, please provide at least 2 sentences.

17 Customer Comments & Reviews

Loading Reviews ...
S
Sierra
Sun City, California
12/6/2017
They have lots of in network dentist in my area I've had them for 1 year and never have been denied for any treatment. Go to healthcarebluebook.com to see if your dentist is overcharging you. My dentist is honest so no problems Ameritas pays the 50% for all major services.


K
kellie
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
11/27/2017
Very disappointed. It would have been cheaper for me to have paid out of pocket directly with my own dentist (who is out of network, so I wasn't permitted to go to him under Ameritas). This is because he offers his own insurance, which is cheaper than ameritas. Unfortuantely I was mislead when purchasing the insurance to believe that I would only be responsible for $50 of all preventative (cleaning) and basic (xray) services, so I chose the Ameritas route. Full disclosure, I purchased the insurance through a third party, however even the materials from Ameritas were not clear on this issue. As a result, I have cancelled my plan.


S
Sean
Plymouth, Massachusetts
6/29/2017
8.6/10?? Really? I hope I've stumbled upon a joke website that isn't serious about this "Excellent" grade. I've had Ameritas Dental Insurance for around five years now, and I can tell you they are the worst dental insurance company I've ever had. I'm 47, so I've had a lot of dental insurance companies for providers over the years. Unfortunately, Ameritas is provided by my employer, so I am forced to have it. They "allow" a certain amount of cleanings, x-rays, etc..., but they have a bunch of nitpicky "other" items that are not allowed. I pretty much expect that whenever my family goes to the dentist, I'll be getting a bill in a few weeks for around $60-$80 additional per person. Oh, and... Read More


P
Phil
Salt Lake City, Utah
6/9/2017
I'm going to have to add to all the negative reviews here. I'm with a network dentist. My dentist has submitted $7173 in claims this benefit period (my first year). Ameritas has flat out denied $6250 of this based on a variety of reasons, from their consultants view that the service is not needed or will not last, to 'we only allow one xray per benefit period' to 'this tooth loss was due to abrasion or erosion', etc. So I've spent a total of $200 on insurance premiums so far this year, and Ameritas has 'covered' $923 worth of the procedures. Of this $923, since they only pay a percentage (25% the first year), they've paid my dentist around $170. Here I was thinking they'd cover... Read More


Juliet H
Emporia, Kansas
5/5/2017
Worst insurance I have ever had. Doesn't pay a damn thing unless I go to the county health department for my dental work, because that is the only place in their network. I have paid more than the insurance has and all my family had their teeth cleaned!!! Better off just paying out of pocket for everything than buying this insurance.


J
JD
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
4/14/2017
I had my teeth cleaned and got a bill for 250$ then had three fillings and I have a bill for 3000$... The worst dental insurance coverage I have EVER HAD... EVER.


Christine C
Indian Trail, North Carolina
3/4/2017
Reimbursements are very outdated. I ended up owing more for my preventative care than my dentist said it would cost without insurance. Wish I had investigated more. Looking for a change now. I wouldn't work on my own teeth for what they paid on my first bill. Am looking for another plan as I write this.


C
classak
Akron, Ohio
3/3/2017
Had to wait on hold for over 10 minutes. After a half-hearted apology- which I really didn't want - the supervisor on the phone said "we're working on that." Later in the conversation the supervisor said "the average wait time is only 3 minutes." So, tell me why would they be "working on" minimizing the wait time when they never thought the wait time of "only 3 minutes" was a problem. Seems to me they just tell you what they think they want you to hear. No credibility.


B
Brenda D
, Texas
1/13/2017
I have been with Ameritas Dental for over 4 years and had never used the plan until December 1, 2016. I now wish thaat I had not tried them sooner. I had two extractions, two small fillings and needed a replacement tooth added to my partial. Because the dentist is a network provider, I received whatever reduced cost was allowed. However, Ameritas has been hesitant in paying its share of the claims. The reasons given are as follows: The x-ray submitted by the dentist was very dark and Ameritas' dental consultants weren't able to see enough of the teeth on that x-ray to make a proper determination. No payment was made on the tooth added to my partial because the dentist didn't include a... Read More


D
Danette
Canyon, Texas
1/2/2017
Ameritas refused to pay for 2 crowns stating that tooth erosion and tooth decay are not the same and thus not covered. Don't be surprised if you have more than a semi-annual cleaning, for your claims to be denied.



Top Rated
Our Partner
9.8 / 10
  • Unlimited Use
  • Pre-Existing Conditions Included in Plan Savings
  • Plans Start at $99/Year for Discounted Rates on Dental Procedures
  • 100,000+ Dental Access Points Nationwide
  • A+ Grade with the BBB
  • Voted #1 in Ethics by Dallas Morning News
  • Discount Dental Plan (Not Insurance)