Nationwide Pet Insurance Review

Rating: 8.5 / 10 (Excellent)
2,224 Customer Reviews - see all comments
Disclosure: We receive advertising revenue from this partner. Learn more.
Nationwide is a Fortune 100 company with unparalleled financial stability and claims paying ability that has recently ventured into the pet insurance marketplace. The company stands out because they offer expanded coverage beyond just cats and dogs, as well as wellness plans that cover things like checkups and vaccinations.

How is Nationwide rated?

Breakdown

10/10
Coverage
10/10
Benefit Limits
10/10
Deductibles
10/10
Reimbursement
8/10
Claims and Service
6/10
Pricing
6/10
Enrollment

Overall Rating: 8.5 / 10 (Excellent)

Nationwide's Whole Pet with Wellness Plan is one of the most comprehensive on the market, and it will as a result cost you more than most standard pet insurance plans. Nationwide is one of the few pet insurance providers that will extend coverage to beyond dogs and cats, covering birds and all manner of other pets. Truly unlimited coverage, however, is only offered if you choose the top tier plan. Be aware that all plans beside Whole Pet with Wellness operate on a benefit schedule.

Nationwide Coverage

Coverage - 10 / 10

Nationwide's Whole Pet with Wellness plan is one of the most comprehensive pet insurance policies out there. In addition to the normal accident and illness coverage, it also provides for yearly physical exams, vaccinations, and flea/heartworm prevention. It is, however, on the pricey side as a result. Its Major Medical plan is more in line cost and coverage-wise with the standard accident and illness plans offered by most companies. You can also purchase the wellness plan on it's own, and it is relatively inexpensive. Finally, Nationwide is the only company we are aware of that extends pet insurance beyond cats and dogs. The company will cover most birds and a wide range of exotic pets.
Pets Covered
Dogs
Cats
Birds
Exotic Animals
Coverage Types
Medical
Wellness
Vet Selection
Unrestricted
Out-of-State Coverage
Commercial Pets Covered

Medical Conditions Covered

  • Accidental
  • Illness
  • Hereditary
  • Congenital
  • Cancer
  • Chronic
  • Accidental Dental
  • Dental Illness

Medical Treatments Covered

  • Diagnostic Testing
  • Surgery
  • Hospitalization
  • Prescription Medications
  • Emergency Care
  • Specialty Care
  • Alternative Care
  • Behavioral Therapy

Benefit Limits

Benefit Limits - 10 / 10

Both Nationwide models -- Whole Pet with 90% reimbursement, and all other plans with a benefit schedule -- offer unlimited annual maximums. However, you must remember that any plan but Whole Pet is going to limit you by condition or procedure. So even though technically there is no limit to the dollar amount they will spend on your pet in a year in total, there are limits on a condition and service basis with the lower two plans. The only plan that is truly unlimited is the top of the line Whole Pet with Wellness.
Benefit Limit Types
Unlimited

Reimbursement & Deductibles

Reimbursement - 10 / 10

Nationwide's top tier Whole Pet with Wellness reimburses 90% of the total vet bill. However, Major Medical and Pet Wellness reimburse according to a benefits schedule. These schedules cap payouts by condition or service. If you are going with one of these plans we suggest you scrutinize your policy carefully before purchase, as your pet's breed may be susceptible to certain conditions with low coverage limits in the plan. Benefits schedules, and no choice in customizing the reimbursement percentage in the top tier plan, limit the flexibility of Nationwide's offerings.
Reimbursement Model
Actual Cost
Benefit Schedule
Minimum Percent Reimbursement
90%
Maximum Percent Reimbursement
90%

Deductibles - 10 / 10

Nationwide offers one annual deductible of $250. This is in some ways good because it is so low. But you will not have the flexibility of choosing higher deductibles should you want a lower monthly premium or should it somehow fit your needs in other ways. Most of our top companies offer customizable deductibles.
Deductible Type
Annual
Minimum Deductible Offered
$100
Maximum Deductible Offered
$500

Pricing: How much does Nationwide cost?

Pricing - 6 / 10

Nationwide's plans are comprehensive, but you are going to pay the price. Their monthly premiums are a little on the high end as opposed to our other companies.

Starting Monthly Premiums

Dogs
$34.25
Cats
$18.84
Rate Details: Annual Deductible: $250, Benefits Cap: Annual & Unlimited, Reimbursement Model: Benefits Schedule
Available Discounts: 5% discount on current Nationwide member

Enrollment & Waiting Periods

Enrollment - 6 / 10

Like our other companies, Nationwide will enroll pets starting at 6 weeks. Unlike our other companies, Nationwide has a relatively lower age restriction with older pets at 10 years. However, if the pet is enrolled before age 10, and the policy never lapses, they will be covered for the duration of their lives. Waiting periods are industry standard at 14 days, although Wellness starts 24 hours after approval.
Min Enrollment Age
6 weeks
Max Enrollment Age
10 years
Accident Waiting Period
14 days
Illnesses Waiting Period
14 days
Free Look Period
10 days

Claims & Service

Claims and Service - 8 / 10

Nationwide's claims procedure is standard for the pet insurance industry. Like other companies, you must first pay the vet directly, download Nationwide's claim form, and submit the form with all paid invoices. You can submit via mail, fax or email.
Advertised Response Time
#<Db::CompanyValue:0x007f6f5e8960f0>
Claim Form
Mail
Email
Fax

Contact & Additional Information

Homepage URL
Headquarters Address
One Nationwide Plaza, Columbus, OH, 43215
Mailing Address
P.O. Box 2344, Brea, CA, 92822
Year Founded
1981

Our Partner
8.5 / 10
  • First and largest pet insurer in the US
  • Whole Pet & Wellness Plan covers spay/neuter
  • 24/7 vethelpline access
  • Discounts available on home and auto
  • Insurers most birds and exotic pets!
  • $250 annual deductible with Unlimited Claims
  • ​Covers congenital and hereditary conditions

Latest Nationwide Reviews

9.06
Based on2,224 Reviews fromNationwide customers
Robin L
Modesto, California

2/14/2018
By Rob Don't be fooled by this company because no matter what you submit it will be denied. I paid in for more than a year on my animals and they never paid a penny. They will come back by saying that the ilness or injury was pre existing. They will collect your money and you will not ever get a claim paid. Nationwide is never going to be by your side. They do not care about you or your animals. That is why they are so rich.


L
Laura
Holland, Michigan

2/8/2018
DO NOT FALL FOR PURCHASING THIS INSURANCE! I l had used their wellness policy for a couple of years and then upgraded my policy last year to the Whole Pet with Wellness so that I could rest assured that my fur baby was completely covered. I was sold on this policy my the mere fact that it included dental where other companies did not. Unfortunately I discovered that the dental coverage offering is just a big lie. Basically if you take you pup in for their first routine dental cleaning they are not going to cover it because if there is any tarter it is considered a pre-existing condition!!! I just spent $900 at the vet only to find out the hard way that none of it was covered!!!!! My vet,... Read More


J
Javier O
Dallas, Texas

4/27/2018
This has been one of the WORST companies to do insurance with. When it was VPI Pet Insurance it covered so much more and since Nationwide, coverage sucks. I filed a claim for my new puppy and they took forever to process it and then tried to list the illness as "pre-existing" even though it happened on the 3rd visit and not in the first visit. I will look for a better company. Nationwide steals your money and doesn't care about you or your pet.


R
Rob C
Denver, Colorado

4/24/2018
Don't fall for this company. They say they cover Congenital and Hereditary conditions, they do not. We took our puppy to the vet because we noticed him limping from the time we got him. The vet did some tests and came back telling us that he had patellar luxation and given the shallowness of the trochlear groove and his age, he was born with it. Well, because we took him before the policy was in effect, NW said oh, no that's not a congenital condition, it's preexisting and we won't cover it. So in reality Congenital and Hereditary conditions are not truly covered. I will never recommend NW to anyone for care of their pets.


Bobbie C
Beverly Hills, Florida

3/1/2018
DON"T !!!!!. I have been with you (the company you purchased from() since 2002. Over that time our premiums went up from 19.99 to 50 over a period from 2002 to 2014 when our pup died. Now with our newest dog premium have been $79.99 a month and i get a renewal today and my premiums have gone up $50!!!! a month. YIKES my husband and I are disabled veterans and this is unbelievable. Over the years when it was the other company and this company we have told dozens and dozens of people about your insurance. And this is what we get in return ! Finally got through and they said they undercharged last year and due to the fact my dog turned TWO years old it caused the increase!! HUH!!!!!!!


John G
Denville, New Jersey

2/21/2018
Bluebell is feeling much better & Thanks to this company there was minimal out of pocket expense. Getting my bluebell's coverage through Nationwide was the best decision I have ever made.


Rita C
Albuquerque, New Mexico

2/9/2018
We like the comprehensive coverage, Vet Helpline, ability to see any vet. We do not like the difficulty submitting claims and lack of communication when a claim we have submitted has been unreadable. I have usually submitted claims by email and though some of them have not been readable, I have not received any notice of this. I have had to go into our account and pull up the claim history to see the notice that the photo I sent of the receipt was not readable. I only received an email saying the claim has been received. In addition, the FAX number has never worked-there is no answer when I FAX. Please fix these two areas and I will be able to award 5 stars. Thanks!


Randeep S
Irvine, California

2/28/2018
I joined Nationwide as of July 2017 based on the nationwide brand. I have submitted my first ever claims for my pet Sully and it's taken them over 2 months to get all sort of medical history for a Viral bump that needed surgical removal. The customer care is a hit or miss with ranging from polite to rude and defensive depending on who you get. Unnecessary documentation and medical history which should be asked for during enrollment isn't off course to facilitate the revenues coming in but the customer is made to jump through hoops to get the claims paid. I wouldn't recommend them.


J
Jennifer
Maspeth, New York

2/23/2018
Beware, my cat needed treatment for the same illness within the same policy period. The second time the reimbursement was substantially lower. I was told the maximum payment for that illness was already reached. Basically you are not fully covered for all illness more than once in one policy period... why am I paying the insurance if they aren’t covering each claim?


V
Vicki R
St. Petersburg, Florida

2/8/2018
We are very happy having you as our insurance for Mandi and Mac Kenzi


M
Martin O
Walpole, Massachusetts

2/7/2018
Getting insurance for Zoe from you folks was the best thing ever. Filing a claim couldn't be easier. Thankyou. Gives us such piece mind.


K
knowles@alumni.umass.edu
Longmeadow, Massachusetts

2/7/2018
My dog Simon Tucker has been quite ill for about a year. He seems to be on the mend now, but we have had many vet visits including 4 trips to Tufts veterinary hospital. For about 9 years he basically didn’t need insurance but thank goodness he had it because this year would have been financially very hard without his Nationwide Insurance. It has basically covered all his expenses.


A
Amy N
Newark, New Jersey

2/7/2018
Excellent service!


C
cheryl j
Silver Spring, Maryland

2/7/2018
Quick turn around of payments. Very helpful with explaining benefits and payment of benefits.


W
William S
Trenton, New Jersey

2/7/2018
Really enjoy VPI nationwide The only thing I would recommend improving is automatic payments for claims is a little difficult to set up using a third-party payers through Chase Morgan


L
Lauren
Farmington, Michigan

2/7/2018
Had to take my 9mo. Labrador to the emergency vet because she was acting very strange and she was mildly shaking. The vet ruled it a toxin ingestion and they kept her overnight on fluids. I submitted my claim the next day, and in just 2 weeks I was reimbursed 100% (minus my deductible) for the entire vet bill!! I could not be happier with the service received from Nationwide Pet Insurance!


E
Eduardo A
Newton Center, Massachusetts

2/7/2018
Nationwide could not be more seamless or responsive. Beyond impressed and satisfied with their service and partnership.


G
Ginny
Washington, District of Columbia

2/7/2018
Outstanding service, always professional and courteous when I call to speak to a representative. Claims are easy to submit. Thanks


Carrie A
Carmel, Indiana

2/6/2018
Nationwide Pet Insurance has been so helpful for our pup, Lari! Lari unfortunately had to undergo TPLO surgery, and Nationwide was able to cover a lot of the related surgery and follow-up appointment costs. We are very grateful for the benefits of Lari's coverage.


Jennifer W
Cedarburg, Wisconsin

2/6/2018
So glad I have this insurance! There's nothing that means more, than to not worry about medical bills for my fur baby, Spud!❤


J
Jb
Fort Myers, Florida

2/6/2018
We love Nationwide Pet Insurance. They have always been very nice and helpful when I have called. I'm so glad that we decided to purchase insurance for our pet. Vet bills can be pricey and feel better knowing we will receive some of the expense back.


Theresa P
Toms River, New Jersey

2/6/2018
I find you.my experiences with you are very satisfying and I am glad I chose to insure with ypu


Karmelo N
Houston, Texas

2/6/2018
My boxer gets into things....a lot. She usually passes them but this time, something was wrong. She didn't eat her food and my wife, a nurse, noticed her stomach undulating and her attitude in line with a bowel obstruction. We rushed her to the vet where it was deemed surgery was needed to remove it. Because of the policy on her, we didn't have to think twice about the financial burden or think about the thought of putting down our beloved dog. Nationwide provided us not only with the financial assistance but also the "life" assistance we needed to get our Boxer back up and running. I always recommend Nationwide Pet Insurance to all of my fellow dog parents. It saved our Boxer's life!


Tara S
, Colorado

2/6/2018
So far, you have kept your promise, and paid our claims as stated and promptly. Very satisfied with this insurance. Thank you


L
Leia T
Syosset, New York

2/6/2018
Have had a wonderful experience with Nationwide Pet Insurance!! Have recommended it to several friends!! THANK YOU SO SO MUCH!!!