1Dental.com Discount Dental Plan Review

Rating: 9.8 / 10 (Excellent)
20 Customer Reviews - see all comments
Disclosure: We receive advertising revenue from this partner. Learn more.
Incorporated in 1997 and headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, 1Dental.com a dental discount company providing access to quality dental services at affordable annual prices. The company works in partnership with leading insurance carriers such as Aetna and Careington International to service thousands of agents, affiliates, and new members.

1Dental.com - Overview

1Dental.com offers dental discount plans (sometimes called dental savings plans) that have served more than 10 million members since 1979. Differing from traditional dental insurance, discount dental plans function like a membership club. Dentists opt into the plan on the provision they will obtain clients by offering discounted rates through 1Dental.com. When the patient joins 1Dental.com, they then get access to discounts within the provider network.

Customers pay just $99 a year for either of 1Dental.com’s plans: Care 500 and Dental Access Plan.  As a member, they pay a lower fee at the dentist for any treatment they receive. Differing significantly from insurance, the discount plan allows members to see the dentist as often as needed—this means they get unlimited usage of their plan, even for preexisting conditions.

All dentists in 1Dental.com’s network have passed thorough background checks and have state licenses in good standing. Additionally, dentists must pass a 5-year work history evaluation. 

Who Can Use a Dental Savings Plan?

Dental discount plans are a low cost option where members pay a discounted rate to the dentist directly. Customers do not have to fill out insurance forms or wait for reimbursements. Where traditional insurance has monthly premiums, deductibles, and various limits on procedures and number of visits permitted per year, discount plans feature none of these. Customers pay the fee stipulated on their benefits schedule and can see the dentist for any procedures as often as they like.

With that in mind, dental discount plans are ideal for those who:

  • Do not have dental insurance through their employer
  • Have conditions that require immediate attention
  • Have reached annual or per-condition limits of their existing plan
  • Desire to save on dental work

Services and Features

1Dental.com’s plans are priced based on the number of members subscribed. One member is $99/year, two is $149/year, and three will cost $179/year. Monthly payment options are also available.

Plans provide savings on the following types of procedures:

  • Routine & Diagnostic (Oral exams)
  • Preventative (Annual cleanings)
  • Restorative (Fillings, crowns)
  • Endodontics (Root canals)
  • Periodontics (Gum treatments)
  • Prosthodontics (Dentures, bridges)
  • Oral Surgery
  • Orthodontics
  • Adjunctive Services

Below is a select list of the discounts available on some of the most common types of dental work.

CARE 500 PLAN - This option provides the strongest discounts available, which are determined by the zip code where services are offered.

 

Cost1

Avg Discount

Oral Exam

$15

73%

Mouth X-Ray

$43

71%

Cleaning

$31

69%

Filling

$43

74%

Porcelain Crown

$483

60%

Root Canal

$294

65%

Dentures

$643

67%

Extraction

$55

73%

Orthodontics

Flat Discount

20%

1 Discounted Schedules are for General Dentists. All schedules vary based on location.

DENTAL ACCESS PLAN – This option gives access to the largest network of dentists, but cannot offer flat prices, only estimated discounts.

 

Estimate Cost1

Avg Discount

Oral Exam

$30

66%

Mouth X-Ray

$76

47%

Cleaning

$59

45%

Filling

$80

46%

Porcelain Crown

$757

32%

Root Canal

$455

41%

Dentures

$901

52%

Extraction

$83

55%

Members will have access to discounted services and in most cases, can save 15% to 50% per visit on everything from general dentistry to root canals, crowns and orthodontia at over 158,000* available dental practice locations nationwide.
*Dental Counts as of July 2015 Aetna Enterprise Provider Database.
1 Actual discounts will vary based on the geographic location of the dental provider and the services provided.

Dental Discount Plan with 1Dental.com

1Dental.com provides two plans that could be serious alternatives to dental insurance for people in certain situations.

First, they are ideal for anyone who has a pre-existing condition. Most dental insurance companies go to great lengths to exclude those with prior problems, and also feature lengthy waiting periods before customers can even file a claim. 1Dental.com plans have none of these drawbacks. Members pay the premium and go to any in-network dentist regardless of treatment required. Also, as many employers do not feature dental insurance as part of their health benefit programs, it is a great option for employees of these companies as well. 


Top Rated
Our Partner
9.8 / 10
  • Unlimited Use
  • Pre-Existing Conditions Included in Plan Savings
  • Plans Start at $99/Year for Discounted Rates on Dental Procedures
  • 100,000+ Dental Access Points Nationwide
  • A+ Grade with the BBB
  • Voted #1 in Ethics by Dallas Morning News
  • Discount Dental Plan (Not Insurance)

Latest 1Dental.com Reviews

9.75
Based on20 Reviews from1Dental.com customers
S
steve p
Ashburn, Virginia

5/15/2018
Steve P Claymont, De 5/15/2018 Natasha was extremely helpful and knowledgeable about 1 Dental and their services offered. Her explanations were clear and concise. Through her energy and genuine enthusiasm you could tell she believes in the benefits of the plan. Careington is fortunate to have a professional of her caliber.


M
Michael D
Miami, Florida

5/15/2018
Tina was friendly and competent. She answered all of my questions clearly. I'm happy I switched to 1 Dental.com.


R
Ronald
Miami, Florida

5/14/2018
Jacob J was very helpful in giving me info and helping me get setup today. I have already lined up a dentist and scheduled an appointment for next week. I am going to save a bundle! Thank you.


J
Jenny
Las Vegas, Nevada

5/10/2018
John was very helpful and professional in working with me in signing up for 1Dental. Very impressed with 1Dental and what it has to offer. Very Happy.


M
Marilyn m
Atlanta, Georgia

4/27/2018
I was very impressed with the knowledge and professionalism of the representative that I spoke with, he was very helpful in my decision to purchase the product.


D
Dennis
Newark, New Jersey

4/27/2018
Steven was very helpful in making me understand the service you provide. He presented himself in a very proper and professional manner, I enrolled my entire family into your program.


D
danny l
Chicago, Illinois

4/26/2018
Steven was very helpful in making me understand the service you provide. He presented himself in a very proper and professional manner. Thanks to his help and professionalism, I enrolled my daughter into your program.


L
Lydia D
Tampa, Florida

4/24/2018
Very pleased & impressed with the plan and the service I received when I called about the plan. Pierce was very friendly, helpful and made the sign-up very simple and enjoyable. I know we are going to save lots of money with this plan and very excited to have my husband enrolled for the next 3 yrs which is even a bigger savings! Thanks Pierce for helping me enroll!


S
Sandie C
San Jose, California

4/16/2018
Very satisfied with everything that was explained clearly about this dental discount plan and I know I will save a ton of money as well! Thank you, Pierce!


J
Jay p
Atlanta, Georgia

4/16/2018
Pierce is the man!!!! Very patient. Easy going, and works with you to help you understand all of your options. I too need a boat load of work done costing over 8,000. With help of this company I can possibly save roughly 3000. His patience is what I needed at this sensitive time. He enjoys what he does. I recommend him highly.


O
Oscar P
Wayne, New Jersey

4/6/2018
Excellent service from Jacob J. He was most helpful in acquiring a plan for my father.


Jacque E
Morristown, Tennessee

3/20/2018
The repensentive was extremely helpful. I had him call me back 3 or 4 times while trying to get things figured out between myself, my husband and the endodontic dentist. I am going April 11th for my appointment and hope everything goes as smooth as it has so far!


J
Jonathan S
Grandview, Missouri

3/14/2018
I need a lot of dental work, unfortunately, and my current plan through work only has a 2k annual limit. When I found out there is no annual limit, no waiting to use or anything of that sort, I thought I'd be crazy not to purchase it. It sounded too good to be true at first, so I asked Pierce to call me back in two hours, he politely agreed. I did my own research asked a family member who recently purchased it as well, and heard nothing but good things. Pierce called me and I asked him another set of 101 questions that I came up with the time doing research. He answered everyone directly and without hesitation beyond satisfaction. I had signed up immediately afterward. Pierce is an... Read More


J
John S
Peyton, Colorado

3/2/2018
Awesome customer service! Thank you Pierce M.!! Amazing savings; instantly!


F
Frenchie W
Knoxville, Tennessee

3/1/2018
I had a bad experience with my former Dental plan .After making an appointment with the provider and having a full examination and Xray , I was informed that my plan would not pay until a year has past. The price that I was quoted was a shock to me. I made the decision that I needed to find a plan that was affordable and that I could use immediately. After searching the internet I called Careington. I was greeted by a pleasant representative named , Pierce. He was very polite and professional. He took the time out to answer all of my questions. When he quoted the membership fee for the year $99, I paid it immediately. Pierce is very valuable to this company. I will be very happy to... Read More


Tammy C
Pell Lake, Wisconsin

3/1/2018
My parents have been enrolled in Careington for over a year now and are pleased with the service. I have just enrolled my family with the help of Pierce. Very nice rep to work with and helpful with information. Patient to answer questions and I like how easy it was to complete the process.


Patricia M
Trenton, New Jersey

2/7/2018
Pierce, the young man to whom I spoke was so friendly and personable but more importantly knowledgeable. I selected a plan which fits my budget and my needs. I am very happy with my decision. The next step...to make an appointment with a dentist of my choice.


L
Levirina
Kirkland, Washington

2/2/2018
I just had the most "pleasantest" conversation with one of your associates, Jeff G! I truly believe Jeff is by far, THE most nicest "1-800" person I have ever spoken to! He was so thorough and patient with all the questions I had - and I had a lot of questions! Companies should have more people like Jeff in their work place - someone who genuinely enjoy what they do for work and his ultimate goal is to help people understand the plans and SAVE them money in the process. I feel very lucky that he took my call this morning - and in so doing, I signed up for one of your dental plans!


Rose M
Texarkana, Arkansas

1/30/2018
I am thinking about this for me and my husband, but don't want to go Longview when we have a good dentist in Lone star Tx. But very good pricing on low budget income.


C
Charles M
Fort Worth, Texas

7/14/2017
I've had this plan for around 6 years. My family definitely saves more money on this than I would with any insurance (I don't know how people afford insurance). It's a lot simpler too because I can use it as much as I need and I know what I'll pay beforehand because all the prices are online. Do know that your discounts go down if you go to a Specialist, but I haven't had to do that. I've also changed dentists and been able to find multiple good options where I live. I try to recommend this to as many people as I can because it's the best way I've found to save at the dentist (which I've researched a lot).