Guardian Dental Insurance Review

Rating: 9.1 / 10 (Excellent)
48 Customer Reviews - see all comments
Disclosure: We receive advertising revenue from some partners. Learn more.
Guardian Life Insurance Co. is among the largest mutual insurance companies in the nation. Founded in 1860 and headquartered in New York, Guardian offers a wide array of products, including life and health insurances and financial services. Guardian employs more than 3,000 agents in over 70 locations across the country and holds an A+ rating with the BBB.

Guardian Dental 

Guardian is one of the nation's leading providers of life and health insurance. Its dental insurance arm, Guardian Dental, provides a wide range of plans that are tailored to meet individual and group needs. 

What's Included with Guardian Dental

Plan Reviewed

DentalGuard Preferred (Core Plan and High Plan)

How much does it save you?

100% percent savings on preventive and basic care services, zero coverage for major care but 50 percent is given for premium plan holders.

Premiums

Monthly premium $25.46 
Plus one Dependent (spouse or child) $50.22
Member, spouse and child(ren) $93.85

Annual Maximum

$1000

Treatments Covered and Reimbursements

Preventive, Basic and Major services covered under premium plan. 

Fine Print

Crowns, Inlays, Onlays and Labial Veneers are covered only when caused by decay or injury, and only when the tooth cannot be restored with amalgam or composite filing material.

The total number of cleanings and periodontal maintenance procedures are combined in a 12 month period. 

Restrictions may apply to composite fillings.

Summary

Guardian Dental is a reputable provider of dental insurance plans. Its extensive network of dentists makes great savings possible for those searching for a quality dental plan.


Top Rated
Our Partner
9.8 / 10
  • Unlimited Use
  • Pre-Existing Conditions Included in Plan Savings
  • Plans Start at $99/Year for Discounted Rates on Dental Procedures
  • 100,000+ Dental Access Points Nationwide
  • A+ Grade with the BBB
  • Voted #1 in Ethics by Dallas Morning News
  • Discount Dental Plan (Not Insurance)

Latest Guardian Reviews

Maureen C
Somerville, Massachusetts

2/3/2018
I have had guardian through my husbands employer for more than a year. I have been trying to get a claim paid since July 7th 2016. They keep asking fr the same information. I keep sending it. I ask to speak or email or chat with a manager and get told "let me help you" and NOTHING! I end up getting the same letter in the mail. They are horrible. I have NEVER had dental insurance company work so hard at not paying your claim. I wish I could give them negative stars!


Donna R

1/31/2018
I have dental insurance with them as of January 1, 2018. It has been a month and have not received my insurance card. I was told to do this Dental & Vision – Guardian does not issue cards for these benefits; generic cards can be downloaded from the participate portal. You can access this portal at https://www.guardiana/nytime.com Login / Register > Register Now > Member > Complete online form. My card is not there as of 1/31/2018.


D
Derek D
Franklin Park, Illinois

1/16/2018
The worst service I got in my life. At the first they cancelled my policy without my knowledge, than they apologized when I called . They put it back. I already cancelled 1 appointment I had with dentist from network. I made another appointment and they said this dentist does not accept new patients. The dentist does accept new patients that is why she made appointment with me, they now better. I terminated policy with idiots.


De L
, Texas

12/31/2017
Horrible. They will give any excuse not to pay. Was told my husband’s procedure couldn’t be paid because they were considering Aflac to be the primary. During that conversation, was also told that the rest of the family would have Guardian as their primary because the policy is under my name. Son’s procedure not paid for because Aflac was considered primary. Surprise! Cancelling and letting the rest of our office know so they can cancel before wasting anymore of their hard earned money. Don’t waste your time or money.


B
BSOM
Baldwinsville, New York

12/30/2017
Presently Guardian is in a business relationship via a "leaseable" contract arrangement with DenteMax Discount Dental Plan whereby their preferred providers are having their arms twisted into accepting even ridiculously lower fees. In the long run they are separating their members from their family dentists who were already preferred providers of their dental insurance plans. This can be likened to an airline selling the seat of someone who offered to be bumped and then taking off without them. The rationale is that the willing traveler has identified themselves as a person that has flexible plans and can be exploited for profit.


S
S V
Tualatin, Oregon

12/12/2017
Above is NOT true. "Fine Print Crowns, Inlays, Onlays and Labial Veneers are covered only when caused by decay or injury, and only when the tooth cannot be restored with amalgam or composite filing material." Was denied coverage because it hadn't been 10 years since my original crown was put on. Mind you the crown cracked and my tooth was exposed. So, I asked, "leave it exposed and endure pain and get a root canal and then a crown, would that be covered?" Yes, Abigail, from Guardian Dental insurance said! Beware of the quality or lack of quality their insurance is. Their fine print above, is NOT true.


T
Tony S
Santa Ana, California

12/7/2017
Absolute worst insurance company I have ever dealt with. I could write a lot here but why bother wasting peoples' time. Dentist submitted charge for a PORCLN Inlay; once they knocked it down to the considered charge of $544.00 they agreed to pay $36.90!! I did not use any portion of my 2,000 annual benefit and the deductible was only $50. Oh yes I went through the usual wait a few months and then have your dentist send in more X-Rays and then wait a couple more months for this!! I am going to ask my company to take me off their plan and buy something myself or just pay out of my pocket!!


V
Vildana
Reseda, California

11/29/2017
The worst insurance ever. They don't cover anything.


M
Molly S
Spring, Texas

11/17/2017
Absoluely terrible! I have called customer service 4 times and they have not followed through with anything they promised me. The coverage is a complete joke. They will do everything they can to not cover crowns. The review process is 28 days.


M
Marlene
Stockton, California

11/15/2017
The only dentist I found that were in network are all western dental. I chose my dentist so not as much is covered. Because the dentist is not in network the insurance basically told me that since some info was wrong that the dentist office did not do correctly I had to deal with the dental office. If it was in network they would be happy to do it. But because I chose a dentist out of network(all they offer is western dental) I have to deal. Worst insurance ever!


T
Thomas H
Wilmington, North Carolina

10/17/2017
The insurance does not pay for crowns if the tooth is cracked, only if it is broken. When a tooth is broken you will need a root canal! They only paid $14 for the x-ray. The dentist submitted photos of the tooth to no avail. I DO NOT recommend Guardian! Also, when you call them, you are talking to people from India.


L
Laura
Indianapolis, Indiana

9/19/2017
Customer service stinks, they don't speak english. Hard to get a point across. We had the misfortune of having to file fraud claim on a dentist. Took 5 months for them to review and make a decision. During which we could not contact ANYONE even the woman handling our cliam (mail box was always full). I don't feel that they truly "investigated". From what i understood they only called the office to ask if my daughter had the root canal they billed for done. In the end it was determined, she didnt finish it and they re-coded the charges, resulting in a difference of almost $600. Amazingly an emergency root canal thst was" never finished," never hurt again and only needed a permenent filling... Read More


Nicole D
Boston, Massachusetts

9/16/2017
This coverage is terrible. The communication is awful, customer service can't speak English and therefore has trouble communicating information. They said they'd cover 80% for out of network fillings, then they tell me it's 80% of the rate THEY decide, not what the dentist charges. They didn't even cover the full cost of my cleaning. If you have another option, choose it. also, it won't let me rate anything below very good, what a scam!


M
Mya R
Hawthorne, New York

9/11/2017
As mentioned by other customers the lack of communication from Guardian regarding coverage is appalling. I am a dependent under my mothers insurance and every single time I've made an appointment I always received the "you're not covered" response immediately. When I call Guardian they all give me excuse as to why I'm not covered. Previously before the laws changed to dependents being covered until the age of 26 the policy was I needed to be a full time student. I was a sophomore in college so I was already a student for 2 years and instead of contacting us before ending my coverage they always ended it without giving us any notice on any action that needed to be done. This happened... Read More


C
Courtney
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

8/15/2017
I was told they would cover 2500 in my Invisalign by them. I get a bill in the mail stating I now owe that on top of my 3200 for them. The 3200 is what I am paying monthly on. I am not happy with this company and the falsified information I had received on it. The reason I was not covered is because I am over the age of 19.


A
Ali M
Colorado Springs, Colorado

8/11/2017
I went in for a STANDARD CLEANING and they refused to cover the entire amount. First cleaning of the year, and with a provider that was "Guardian Approved", picked it off of their website list. AWFUL company doesn't want to cover ANYTHING. Run away.


R
regina

8/11/2017
great network of doctors and processing of claims


L
lnaalba@cox.net
Phoenix, Arizona

8/9/2017
I need a new onlay for my tooth. I had one done prior that's failing. Guardian refuses to cover work that's needed for my tooth. All I know is that I pay and pay insurance and only get the twice a year cleaning covered by guardian. Oh and BTW my dentist says a more than 10 year old crown needs replacement and Guardian won't cover that either....


T
Tom
Chicago, Illinois

8/7/2017
I have been waiting months to set my primary care dentist, and have been unable to see a dentist. After setting a dentist it will either show "no PCD selected" or give you the incorrect dentist. Guardian provides zero customer service. Online the agent tells you to wait another month as per their policy, and on the phone it will continually transfer or hang up on you until you give up. There are no pro's, only cons. It's a complete scam - zero stars as it has provided me nothing but stress and expenses.


L
Lindsey
Murfreesboro, Tennessee

7/21/2017
Guardian Dental Insurance is a fraud. My husband had to get some fillings replaced ASAP, and Guardian is denying coverage. We were apparently days away from fulfilling the "waiting period" for basic services, even though in my husband's case theses fillings were preventative care. They stated the waiting period was mentioned in a letter, which we never received. Don't buy this insurance. They take your money and don't provide the insurance they promise.


J
J G
New York, New York

7/17/2017
I filed a claim for a cleaning in April 2017 after having paid the doctor in full. Approx. $350 (including one x-ray). Called in late May to find out where my benefit check was and was told by very nice agent that a check was just cut that morning and would be mailed shortly. No check. Called back today, July 17th and was told that the check was mailed on April 17th but, goodness gracious!, I never received it. Argh. This reminds me of the bad old insurance days-check is in mail. So now an order has to be placed to cancel that check ($135) and it will be reissued. yes, I am sure of that. Aren't you? Also a claim for $1400 (crown) was never received although I know that it was sent by my... Read More


M
me
Ocala, Florida

6/26/2017
I have never in my life had such a bad experience. From being in pain for weeks and weeks with no real help and now I have a broken tooth and NO ONE is available for a month. Thanks for nothing.


K
kachua

6/1/2017
The fluent English costumers service call center is HORRIBLY RUDE when I called to find a dentist in the network. Called again, a different call center with accent English speaker was much more polite. The website for finding a dentist is a TERRIBLE NOT-USER-FRIENDLY site. I was forced to speak to a rude American CSR after 30 min repeatedly getting the same searching criteria screen. I was told I had to use the Advance search by the rude CSR. It still gave me the same original screen with additional criteria boxes. The plan covers only $2000 a yr and has rude English speaker CSR. We have to deal with bad dental ins and dental crooks trying to create dental problems to get our money and... Read More


Y
yumna
Houston, Texas

5/31/2017
The worst dental insurance ever! It is just not worth it. They are too difficult about covering your treatment and provide very minimal coverage anyway. They denied coverage for my wisdom tooth extractions by an oral surgeon reasoning that the general practitioner can do it in his office when the general practitioner was the one that referred me to an oral surgeon. I kept phoning the insurance and visiting offices of oral surgeon and my dentist back n forth for 3 months, in pain, but my matter was not resolved. My dentist wouldn't do it saying I need to go to the oral surgeon and I couldn't get it done from the oral surgeon because this insurance won't cover it. I ended up terminating the... Read More


D
DR S
Novi, Michigan

5/16/2017
THE WORST DENTAL INSURANCE. I CAN NOT BELIEVE MOST DENTIST ACCEPT THIS PSEUDO-INSURANCE. THEY AUTOMATICALLY DENY EVERY SINGLE NON-PREVENTIVE CLAIM THAT WE SEND.