Delta Dental Insurance Review

Rating: 9.7 / 10 (Excellent)
52 Customer Reviews - see all comments
Disclosure: We receive advertising revenue from some partners. Learn more.
Founded in 1945, Delta Dental is presently the largest dental benefits carrier in the nation. The company is a not-for-profit organization with some for-profit affiliates among its 39 independent member companies. Delta Dental services to more than 78 million people enrolled in over 129,000 groups across the nation, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico.

What is Delta Dental?

Delta Dental is the nation's leading dental insurance company, providing access to over 145,000 dentists at more than 292,000 office locations. The company also provides the best discounts, averaging 20.3% on all claims. Delta Dental has consistently built strong partnerships with dental insurance providers and dental professionals for over half a century.

What's Included with Delta Dental

Negotiated Fees. Delta Dental has worked with network dentists to lower the costs of their services. This means cheaper treatments and bigger savings for you. 

Balance billing is not allowed, because participating dentists agree to accept Delta Dental's fee and the patient co-payment or deductible (if applicable) as full payment.

There are no forms for you to fill out because participating dentists submit claims directly to Delta Dental.

Payments are made directly, no need to wait for reimbursement checks.

No deductible or calendar year maximum.

Set copayments so you know your out-of-pocket cost for each procedure.

Plan Reviewed 

Dental for Everyone Gold PPO

How much does it save you?

Year 1/ Year 2/ Year 3 

Preventive: 60%/ 80%/ 100% 

Basic: 50%/ 65%/ 80% 

Major: 0%, 30%, 50%

Premiums

Monthly/ Quarterly/ Annually

1 Member: $41.16/ $123.48/ $493.92

2 Members: $75.51/ $226.53/ $906.12

Family: $109.86/ $329.58/ $1,318.32

Annual Maximum

$1000 per person, per calendar year

Treatments Covered and Reimbursements

Covers Preventive, Basic and Major services. The amount of reimbursement increases with every year. However, there is no coverage for major services for the first year.

Summary

Delta Dental boasts the largest network of dentists and partner companies in the country. This makes it easy for you to find the best dental services in your area. Delta Dental is simply the best, which is why 60 million Americans make them their choice for dental insurance.


Top Rated
Our Partner
9.8 / 10
  • Unlimited Use
  • Pre-Existing Conditions Included in Plan Savings
  • Plans Start at $99/Year for Discounted Rates on Dental Procedures
  • 100,000+ Dental Access Points Nationwide
  • A+ Grade with the BBB
  • Voted #1 in Ethics by Dallas Morning News
  • Discount Dental Plan (Not Insurance)

Latest Delta Dental Reviews

F
Fj L
Los Angeles, California

5/22/2018
Delta Dental is the worst... The company has maintained the same "cap" on procedures even as the cost of procedures has skyrocketed... They require the provider to submit in writing via regular mail any claims, then "lose" the claim to postpone payment... When I decided to cancel the policy, I was informed that they would not allow it (no seriously), telling me that I needed an "underlying cause" and in any case would not cancel the policy until the end of the year (and I've been with them for ten years) ...Anyone considering dental coverage should consider a payment plan through their dentist, or other methods to pay for procedures....anyone but Delta Insurance!


J
Jason
Ashburn, Virginia

5/14/2018
They are refusing to pay a bill that is supposed to be covered by my plan. Horrible customer service people who can't answer any questions. I will be lobbying my union to drop Delta Dental, along with other members who have had similar experiences with these scumbags.


D
Diane T
Panama City Beach, Florida

3/13/2018
$1,000 major coverage first year is NOTHING, even with great teeth. I just learned, after doing biz w/this co. for yrs, that cleanings are NOT paid 100%. They only pay a certain amount & if your dentist wants to charge double that, sorry sucker, YOU pay! I just HATE deceitful liars. Haven't we had enough with the Clintons, Obamas, DOJ, FBI? Enough is enough, folks. So tired of dishonesty!


D
Denise
New Smyrna Beach, Florida

2/7/2018
You say right here "What's Included with Delta Dental" "No deductible or calendar year maximum" and then further down you say "Annual Maximum $1000 per person, per calendar year" Can you please explain what that means?


K
kim
San Francisco, California

2/5/2018
the covered cali version of this insurance is a joke. you pay and cant get in to see dentists. they're also a mess administratively. don't do it.


C
ChesterV
Plano, Texas

2/3/2018
HORRIBLE company!!! Liars, cheats, frauds, unethical, and corrupt! They sent me BILLS for BASIC SERVICES that ALL other dental insurance companies cover 80%-100%!!!! I took these bills to my dentists billing department and was told I was being SCAMMED into paying this money to them, as the procedures were COVERED and already paid for except one. And this one procedure, I was told, is something ALL dentists do and it is ALWAYS written off as most insurance companies don't pay for it, but its something that dentists have to put on the bill anyway because of the laws in this country. The billing people told me that this had already been written off when the bill was sent to... Read More


A
Annette
Redlands, California

2/1/2018
Your have the absolute WORST customer service I have ever seen!!! My time is valuable and I don't appreciate being put on hold for 40 minutes, a girl finally picks up the line and tells me she has to transfer my call to someone who can help me! I have now been holding for almost an hour! Don't you think its time to put your customers first and hire more help, or would you rather give poor customer service? I would give you a minus if I could. I am reconsidering my insurance with you guys!


Paul R
Fort Worth, Texas

1/26/2018
When you get their insurance it's inexpensive. However their customer service is TERRIBLE!!!. I tried to renew for 2018 on their website but they had a problem and it wouldn't renew. I called in and spoke to a lady and she told it was all taken care of. When 2018 and I went to the site it said Effective Date: 01/01/2018 End Date: 01/01/2018. I tried to call back but was ON HOLD FOR OVER AN HOUR. I called back and finally got hold of a lady she then said wrong department and transferred me where again I was on hold for 30 minutes. Pathetic!!!


L
LSMPGH
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

1/19/2018
RIDICULOUS WAIT TIMES FOR CUSTOMER SERVICE 40 minutes and ticking right now.


J
John J
Silver Spring, Maryland

1/16/2018
Delta Dental is a complete mess, no customer service, applications ignored, 2 hours hold times is normal, horrible, shady coverage practices, dishonest employees, no accountability, info provided on their official website contradicts what you actually end up with.


M
margie
Low and Burbanks Grant, New Hampshire

1/9/2018
getting dental insurance with delta was a mistake they didn't cover much of the crown I needed, had to borrow the money to pay off the bill. Dentist wanted the money when he was finished. Trying to look for someone who will pay more of procedures and any of the bill encored.


A
Angela
Fairborn, Ohio

1/3/2018
How is it that you can say there is no calendar year maximum in one paragraph and then in the following paragraph say that there is $1000 annual maximum per calendar year?


M
Matt
Overland Park, Kansas

12/16/2017
Beware of Delta Dental when it comes to exams/cleanings. Their fine print only allows one of these per six months rather than two per calendar year, like every other insurance company in the universe. I was not aware of this and had an exam/cleaning appointment five and half months after my last one, and Delta is leaving me with the bill due to the aforementioned policy. Talk about a company still in the stone ages. I would recommend looking elsewhere for your dental needs as they seem to have the hardest time providing fair coverage for the simplest procedure.


Rosemary M
Prescott, Arizona

12/14/2017
Getting dental insurance with Delta has been a big mistake. I could have saved at least five hundred dollars this past year if I didn't have insurance at all and just paid for the services I needed. I have always taken good care of my teeth and only need cleanings and exams. I had to pay for my own x-rays. My husband needed a tooth pulled. Delta paid nothing for that. I have cancelled my insurance, but I still have to pay $94. a month through February, even though I will never get that money back. I am looking at dental plans instead of insurance, which seems to be the best way to go. They cover pre-existing, and have no limit. They don't pay for all of the preventive services, but since... Read More


D
Donna M
Wake Forest, North Carolina

12/13/2017
Awful experience as a covered employee. For a crown - and my first experience with DD - only paying 25% - deductible when my plan states 50% of crowns covered. False advertising. Evidently this company comes up with 'some allowable number for area' which is very low end for the area but will not share that data. No transparency and a lack of honesty. Planning to leave online reviews of poor insurance service and coverage based on my experience and tell my employer and others. MetLife, BCBS, pretty much any other dental insurance company is much better as my direct experience has been.


Charlene M
Palm Coast, Florida

11/19/2017
I've been with this company a long time and believe me I've paid them much more money than they have paid me. Their billing system is a disaster, customer not much better. They raise your rates every year. I just read an article someone posted on their Facebook site that there CEO earns 2.7 million dollars a year. The article also mentioned his name. I do not think this man cares to read these comments, improve. Customer service, keep rates down or has any empathy for the Public. The reviews for Delta dental by the public, and there are a lot of them are horrifying. Couldn't find one positive review on this consumer advocate site. I have barely used my coverage in the last four... Read More


A
alison r
Danville, California

10/15/2017
Delta Dental allows for $2,000 of service per year which doesn't cover any claim. I needed dental implants and they cost for two over $12,000 and Delta Dental covered less than $400 over two years. I have paid out of pocket for cleaning and all of my dental care for the last two years as well as most of the implant cost.


Dennis G
Seguin, Texas

8/22/2017
I have paid in almost $4,00 in premiums to Delta Insurance in the previous 5 years. I have as yet to use their services. I have a tooth ache and cannot obtain services without an ID card which is lost or misplaced. I have tried for over 3 days to acquire this card using messaging over the internet. The initial response was that they would respond to my message in 3 - 5 days! The response was: "Thank you for contacting Delta Dental. Please make sure you are at www.deltadentalins.com. To print out ID cards you will log into your online account. Once you have logged in you will click on My ID Card on the left hand side. That will bring up a window with your ID card and you will... Read More


A
Alice J
New London, Iowa

8/10/2017
I have had Delta Dental Ins. for years and they will NOT pay hardly anything. they always have an excuse or their reason why...I recently had a filling that cost $155. and they paid $20.96. Yearly I pay them $445. I do not get 20% of that back. and their customer service is rude... I am cancelling........


Pat P
Tacoma, Washington

7/11/2017
We have had them for years but lately they don't pay for anything. We are seniors so we wanted a policy that would cover some of the costs. So far they have not paid any of them


Dave S
San Francisco, California

6/2/2017
I've had Delta Dental for many years and they've always processed my claims quickly and accurately.


D
dkn
Phoenix, Arizona

5/22/2017
Delta Dental is the worst dental insurance I have come across. Will not cover many basic/routine procedures despite the dentist's strong recommendation. Even some procedures which were approved on day of service, were denied on submission of paperwork. Customer service is unfriendly and horrible. We are stuck with them for the whole year, but never ever will come back to them.


J
Jill
Mission Viejo, California

4/13/2017
I've been attempting to cancel my deceased father's policy for well over a month. Four emails, via their website, to which I've yet to receive a response. I've made several phone calls, each time receiving the assurance that it would be taken care of. I've also fulfilled three requests for a copy of my father's death certificate. It's just sad and disgusting that they would put anyone through this. Oh, and when they do reimburse me for the payment (in full) that I made using MY credit card, it'll be via check made payable to my deceased dad. Thanks Delta Dental for making a terrible situation that much worse.


D
Damien
Alameda, California

3/14/2017
Poor customer service horrible billing. Was assigned a dental provider with no communication, they added my spouse to my billing with no authorization and then suspended my access to benefits as I didn't pay the bill for my spouse. Has taken months to fix with no help from them or any remedies. Go elsewhere!


M
Mike m
Tarzana, California

3/13/2017
Delta Dental received and kept insurance payments for three years. I discovered that my policy had been cancelled the entire time. The company returned the money in response to my inapquiry, aided by a state agency. Now Delta Dental will reinsure me if I pay back the money they collected after they cancelled my policy. Look on Yelp and see customer ratings. This seems t me to be a dishonest and manipulative company. They do not deserve any stars. They deserve governmental investigation. How many other people are giving money, but not receiving coverage?