Trupanion Canada Pet Insurance Review


Rating: 9.2 / 10 (Excellent)
46 Customer Comments & Reviews - see all comments
Disclosure: We receive advertising revenue from this partner. 
Learn more.

Although Trupanion offers pet insurance coverage for all North America, the company was originally founded in Vancouver and continues to be one of the largest providers in its home country of Canada. Trupanion provides coverage for both cats and dogs in one simple, easy to understand plan that pays 90% of actual costs with no payout limit. This includes medication, surgeries, hospitalization, diagnostic tests, and other treatments. You can enroll your pet as young as 8 weeks, and up to 14 years old. Trupanion's policies include a wide range of coverage options making the company an excellent choice for pet insurance.

Plan details

Type of contract

Premium charged month to month

Enrollment age

8 weeks-14 years

Waiting period

5 days for injuries. 
30 days for illnesses.

Injuries that occur within the first 5 days on enrollment, and illnesses that develop within the first 30 are not covered.

Out of country coverage

USA, Puerto Rico

Claims and policy price

No increase in premiums due to claims made

Age limit

14 years old

Annual deductible

Customizable. $0 to $1,000 for each pet. 

Claim limit

No claim limits

 

Cancellation policy

Policies can be cancelled by sending notification in writing via mail, fax or email. Policies cancelled within the first 30 days without any claim submissions will receive 100% of their money back.

How much is it going to cost you?

A variety of factors can influence your monthly premium cost:

  • Average of treating illnesses and injuries for similar pets in your area
  • Pet’s breed, age, gender
  • Geographical location
  • Deductible (higher deductible – lower premium and vice versa)
  • Optional coverage (if any)

 

What you pay

  1. Veterinary examination fees
  2. Deductible
  3. 10% co-insurance
  4. Federal/ State/ Provincial/ Local taxes
  5. Costs not covered by the policy

 

What does it cover?

Accident and illness coverage

Hospitalization
Surgery
Diagnosis
Prescriptions and medications

Optional benefits

Recovery and complimentary care coverage

  • Rehabilitative therapy
  • Acupuncture
  • Hydrotherapy
  • Chiropractic
  • Behavioral modification therapy
  • Homeopathy
  • Naturopathy

Pet owner assistance package

  • Liability coverage for third party property damage
  • Advertising and reward
  • Boarding fees if you become hospitalized
  • Vacation cancellation costs
  • Cremation and burial fees

Breeding rider

  • Injuries related to breeding, whelping and queening

Dental coverage

Therapeutic diets, herbal therapy and supplements

 

What’s not covered?

  • Pre-existing conditions
  • Preventive care treatments (vaccinations, flea control, de-worming)
  • Exam fees
  • Sales tax

 

Summary

A no benefit limit makes Trupanion an excellent choice for financially protecting pet owners against any sudden illness or accident. But just like many of the top pet insurance services, it does not cover pre-existing conditions. The company's 90% no-limit coverage is just about the best deal you are going to find. There seems little going against Trupanion in terms of the overall quality of the services they provide. If you are looking for pet insurance in Canada, Trupanion is a must-look-at option.

 


Leave a comment for Trupanion Canada Pet Insurance
Minimum 12 words.
 No maximum length.
* What's Your Rating?
To make this comment as helpful as possible for our community, please provide at least 2 sentences.

46 Customer Comments & Reviews

Loading Reviews ...
E
Elizabeth
Toronto, Ontario
5/24/2018
I have both my cats and my dog insured with this company, I've made one claim which was easy and fast to be rembursed. The have fast 24/7 phone service and allow you to change things easily over the phone and on the site. I've had no problems with this company yet and have no reason to look elsewhere.


M
mont
Seattle, Washington
5/8/2018
This company is absolutely disgusting and doesn't want to help you. I recommend going anywhere but here.


B
Barry
Seattle, Washington
4/26/2018
I enrolled my puppy when she was 5 months old in May 2017 and the premium was $79.40. I have never made a claim since then. However, I have received an email yesterday informing me that the premium will go up to $100.74 as of May 2018 which is over 30% within a year. I called and was informed that although the premium wouldn't go up when the pet aged and owners wouldn't get penalized with number of claims submitted, it would go out if the vet equipments cost and vet school fees go up in my area. She mentioned the premium might go down if the cost goes down. Really? do you think the equipment cost and school fee will ever go down? I cannot image how much I will be paying when my dog... Read More


K
KP
Victoria, British Columbia
4/5/2018
Trupanion is the worst of the worst as far as deceitful business practices go. I just got my first "Policy Anniversay Notification" which included a 30% increase in my premiums. This was for a perfectly healthy zero claims 16 month old Lab. When I called customer service I was informed that I was on their introductory rate and that my new rate was standard going forward. When we signed up with them there was no mention of an introductory rate. Deplorable tactics by a deplorable company. DO NOT PURCHASE TRUPANION INSURANCE!


D
Danielle
Edmonton, Alberta
3/14/2018
Although I would prefer to leave this company no stars (continue reading for info why) I believe that may be slightly unfair as they do process claims and reimbursements with little to no hassle. The major problem with Trupanion is that they currently employ a 'Bait and Switch' tactic. While they advertise the benefits of signing your animal up as early as possible, and declare that they will not increase rates based on age this way, this is an utter cover up and lie. Do a little digging on the internet and it is the company's M.O. to slightly increase policy amounts for the first two year, and then at year 4-5 hot the policy holder with anywhere from a 70-84% increase. Of course people... Read More


Anne P
Calgary, Alberta
3/2/2018
I have been insured for 8 years for my dog and my premiums have gone up every year. I just received my renewal an it’s going up over 40%. That’s ridiculous. I have a couple very small claims. My premium is going from 77 dollars to 101 dollars a month. When I called for a reason they didn’t have one. I won’t be renewing or using them again. I will never recommend them to anyone and will let everyone know about their terrible plan.


S
Stefanie
Edmonton, Alberta
3/2/2018
I just called to cancel my Trupanion pet insurance for my 2 year old dog that I had have had insured since birth. The rate increase was 25% in two years, so I could see where this was heading. When I called to cancel, I was transferred from the main line to another individual. I knew I could cancel based on the policy, but when I tried to cancel, I got a VERY high pressure sales pitch. It went on and on, and I was completely unimpressed and found myself getting angry because the high pressure continued at length. I could not help but think if I were an elderly person or someone not used to confrontation that I would have been swayed to stay. In the end, I did get the insurance... Read More


J
jack n
Calgary, Alberta
12/15/2017
Not sure how they got to be number 2 after reading these reviews. wish I had found them earlier. Our dog had a lump removed and just crept over the deductible. when he had a second lump , they said it was a different type of lump so had to meet the deductible again. Paid in over 4500 dollars in five years and paid 1300 in vets fees for the two ops , got just over 40 bucks back. Added to the regular huge jumps in premiums and it just screams rip off. I am cancelling with them. If I had put the premiums I paid them into a bank account I would have over 3k left without the vets bills on top. That is exactly what I plan to do now.


L
Lisa
Calgary, Alberta
10/30/2017
I wholeheartedly agree with Miriam! My premium for a 2 year old dog just went up from $56/month to $74/month. When I called to discuss they advised it was because of the area I live in plus 'other factors they take into account'. My vet's services remain the same, so this looks like a money grab. Best they could do to keep my premium the same was double my deductible from $250 to $500. I've been researching other insurers and am cancelling with this group.


M
Miriam
Calgary, Alberta
10/5/2017
Do NOT go with Trupanion. There premiums go up A LOT every year! When I first signed up they said my premium wouldn't change based on my pet's age but they find other reasons. At first, it was because of Vet fees going up, which makes sense. However, when I saw how much (A LOT) my premium went up this year, I knew I needed to call and get more information. The staff told me it was because of the area I lived in, even though I hadn't moved. If I would of known, I would of never gone with them. Please do more research on other insurance companies.



Top Rated
Our Partner
9.2 / 10
  • Unlimited payouts and no caps on coverage
  • Can pay the vet directly - up to 90% coverage!
  • Award winning customer service
  • Per-condition deductible (good for chronic conditions)
  • Fast payouts and no penalties for filing claims