Important Hurricane Maria Update from our Headquarters

Amerisave Mortgage Refinance Review

Rating: 8 / 10 (Excellent)
5 Customer Reviews - see all reviews
Disclosure: We receive advertising revenue from this partner. Learn more.
Headquartered in Atlanta, Georgia, AmeriSave Mortgage Corporation is a retail mortgage lender with 15 years of experience in the industry. The company serves customers in 49 states and offers a wide array of mortgage products and affordable rates through their online portal. AmeriSave Mortgage Corporation currently holds a Better Business Bureau rating of A+.

How is Amerisave rated?

Breakdown

9/10
Loan Options
8/10
Application Process
7/10
Reputation

Overall Rating: 8 / 10 (Excellent)

Amerisave is a medium-sized non-bank lender, which provides standard and refinance mortgage loans. Though they have had some regulatory problems in the past, their competitive pricing and transparency may well compensate for their previous issues. Their focus is mainly on over-the-phone service, but their online portal can provide quotes in under a minute, and they have a number of calculators and other tools available.

Loan Options

Lender Type
Lender
Loans Offered
Rate & Term
Cash-out
Loan Programs
FHA
VA
Conventional
HARP
Jumbo
USDA
Fixed Year Terms
30 Year Fixed
15 Year Fixed
Adjustable Rate Mortgage Terms
7/1 ARM
5/1 ARM
3/1 ARM

Loan Options - 9.2 / 10

Amerisave offers competitive rates on their variety of mortgage refinance loans, which include both government-backed FHA, HARP, VA and USDA loans, as well as conventional and jumbo refinance options. For direct-to-consumer loans, they don't charge any origination or application fees, and if borrowers can find a better deal with another company once they've locked in a rate, Amerisave will either match it or take off $1,000.

Application Process

Minimum Credit Score
620
FHA Minimum Credit Score
600
Maximum LTV
80%

Application Process - 8 / 10

Though they do offer e-sign and an online portal for document upload, very few of Amerisave's customers initiate the application process online (less than 20%), preferring contact the company directly via their call center. Their requirements are fairly standard for the industry.

Amerisave Reputation

Memberships & Regulatory Info.

Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System ID
1168
Nationwide Mortgage Regulatory Actions
11
NMLS Collection Date
2017-07-18
CFPB Total Mortgage Complaints
232
CFPB Collection Date
2017-07-13
Total VA Loans Written (Q1 2017)
296 loans
Total VA Loan Amount (Q1 2017)
$79,182,902

Online Reviews

BBB Rating
A+
BBB Positive Reviews
4
BBB Negative Reviews
21
Date Collected
2017-07-18

Reputation - 6.5 / 10

Despite their considerable amount of positive reviews over several online platforms, Amerisave does have 11 regulatory actions taken against them with the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System and over 200 complaints lodged with the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. However, this should not necessarily discourage potential borrowers from considering Amerisave for their mortgage refinance needs, as their competitive and transparent pricing may offset some of these concerns.

Contact & Additional Information

Homepage URL
Company Phone
(866) 970-7283
Headquarters Address
3525 Piedmont Rd NE, 8 Piedmont Center, Suite 600, Atlanta, GA, 30305
Year Founded
2002

Our Partner
8.0 / 10

 

  • Online, Quick and Easy Application Process
  • $1000 Rate Match Guarantee!
  • Receive a no obligation rate quote in one minute.
  • You don't need to input any personal information!

Latest Amerisave Reviews

Loading Reviews ...
Thomas H
Horse Shoe, North Carolina

7/21/2017
We tried to refi with this company and they quoted us a credit score of 600 when we were at 620 we called them back and they quoted us the wrong credit score saying out wasn't their fault. These people are scam artist i wrong use them ever. Disgraceful


Ann G
South Bend, Indiana

4/14/2017
Extremely aggressive in luring me in. I had to pay nearly $500 for an appraisal. It took them weeks to find one and, when they did, he was from an expensive, unincorporated suburb in another city. His appraisal was full of factual errors, but I had to pay anyway and then got declined because of his inaccurate appraisal. I have a suspicion AmeriSave got a pretty handsome markup on his appraisal. They don't mind spending time pursuing your business because they're going to make money off of you even if they turn you down. My recommendation: Work with a local mortgage lender. Stay away from the big corporations.


B
Barbara
Elkton, Maryland

8/20/2016
Terrible experience. They asked for documentation little by little. Asked my employer for the same form 3 times. They want an answer immediately, otherwise you are the one holding up the process. They really are unorganized and unprofessional. Just pick another company and save yourself and your employers a great deal of aggravation.


D
Dave V
O'Fallon, Missouri

8/17/2016
They overpromise and underdeliver. Be careful of choosing them as your lender. Had the most horrible mortgage experience on my closing.


T
They d
Phoenix, Arizona

8/3/2016
We knew our loan request would need explanations but they don't listen and don't read the explanations you send. They ask for documents one or two at a time. They weren't awful but if they had listened they could have wasted far less of our time.


Start your review for
Amerisave Mortgage Refinance