Identity Guard® Identity Theft Protection Review

Rating: 9.8 / 10 (Excellent)
15 Customer Reviews - see all reviews
Disclosure: We receive advertising revenue from this partner. Learn more.

Identity Guard® Review

Monitor, protect, recover…

Identity Guard® offers a multi-layered approach to identity theft protection that is designed to meet an individual's security needs. The company has been offering its services for almost two decades now and has received numerous industry awards. The Total Protection® product is an all-in-one solution that includes all the features you would want in an identity theft service.

What does it protect?

Identity Guard® Total Protection

  • SSN Monitoring
  • Online "Black Market" monitoring
  • ID Verification Alerts
  • Lost Wallet Protection
  • ID Vault® Password protection
  • Address Change Monitoring
  • ID Theft Victim Assistance
  • $1M ID Theft Insurance
  • Public Record Monitoring
  • 3 Credit Score Updates (quarterly)*
  • 3 Bureau Credit Report (quarterly)

Services

Monitoring Yes         
Fraud Alerts Yes
Credit Freeze Gives assistance
Reimbursement Insurance Yes up to $1 million
Resolution Gives assistance
Restoration Gives assistance

*** Identity Guard® monitors all 3 credit scores and provides you quarterly updates.

Features 

ID Vault  keeps and stores all of your passwords
Lost wallet protection  provides assistance when cancelling your credit cards 
Mobile application  get access to your information on a mobile device
Personal recovery assistant  provides help in recovering your identification in worst case scenarios
Wi-Fi protection  secure your personal information when connecting online
Real time Internet monitoring  chat rooms and sites are checked for your information
Social Security Number monitoring  alerts you if your SSN is being sold or traded
Public record monitoring  monitors for any changes in your public records
ID Verification  receive alerts when your personal information is being used online
Mobile protection software guard your financial information when using your mobile phone
$1 million identity insurance  coverage for lost wages and costs when recovering your personal identity
Credit scores  3 credit scores from 3 bureaus

Price

Identity Guard® Total Protection® is FREE for 30 days then $17.99 per month thereafter when you sign up through ConsumersAdvocate.org compared with the homepage price of $19.99.

Customer Reviews

Identity Guard® was given an A+ rating by the BBB which is a testament to the great customer service it provides. Part of its service is providing valuable assistance to victims of identity theft. Identity Guard assists its customers by shortening the process and helping them recover from identity theft. It also provides access to various education tools and credit specialists.

Bottom Line

Identity Guard® offers a no-frills, no nonsense identity theft protection service that has been consistently well reviewed and awarded by tech analysts and professionals. Identity Guard® has also been recognized as a leader in providing great aftermarket service and customer support. If you’re looking for professional identity theft services, Identity Guard® is a name that you can always trust.

Disclosures

*The scores you receive with Identity Guard® are provided for educational purposes to help you understand your credit. They are calculated using the information contained in your Equifax‚ Experian and TransUnion credit files. Lenders use many different credit scoring systems‚ and the scores you receive with Identity Guard may not be the same scores used by lenders to evaluate your credit.

 

Credit scores are provided by CreditXpert based on data from the credit reporting bureaus.

If you do not cancel your membership within the free trial period, your card will be charged either a monthly or annual fee, depending on the membership plan you choose. You may cancel your membership anytime simply by contacting Identity Guard® here

Intersections‚ Identity Guard®‚ kID Sure Monitor‚ Protect and Recover‚ and associated designs are trademarks or federally registered trademarks of Intersections Inc.

 


Top Rated
Our Partner
9.8 / 10
  • Editor's #1 choice, fantastic customer satisfaction
  • $1M Identity Theft Insurance
  • Helped protect more than 47 million identities
  • Quarterly Credit Score* Updates
  • A+ BBB Rating
  • 30 Day Free Trial, Renews at $17.99
  • What matters most is how a company helps you when your identity is stolen. That's why Identity Guard® is #1 recommended.

Latest Identity Guard® Reviews

Loading Reviews ...
B
Barb S
Lancaster, New York

9/20/2017
I too went through nextadvisor and read reviews, finally choosing Identity Guard. I am a recent victim of identity theft, and have a freeze on my credit now. I selected the couples plan, and I set up my husband's info. first (thinking he needed some protection before me), and waited for the email link to add my name. Never got the link. Soon 30 day free trial ended, and our credit card was charged. I called to ask how to add my name to the couples plan. Total scam. They told me I clicked on the wrong link, and I would have to start all over and select the couples plan. I am not stupid. I know very well which plan I selected. Representative offered no help whatsoever. She kept on saying... Read More


Margie N
Humble, Texas

9/11/2017
I have been paying on this for years. I recently went with my daughter to purchase a car and used my credit to cosign. Took them over 24 hours to send me an email saying my credit was being checked and then they did not tell me who it was or where. We had already walked off the lot with a car and got NOTHING from them. A free service my daughter has texted her within minutes of the report being run. I was livid and they told me that they only send an email once it hits the credit bureau! I want to know immediately, not 2 days later, after someone has used my credit! Think Twice!


S
Someone
San Jose, California

4/22/2017
I chose Identity Guard after researching many services. I get account alerts rapidly and getting a three bureau credit report monthly is great. The price is right and I feel comfortable knowing that if my ID gets compromised I have fraud assistance to help. HOWEVER: Their iPhone app is way out of date to the point that I get an alert that it will slow down my phone and needs updating. The last update was in October 2014! The app has minimal features so it's almost useless. As a Mac user it's very frustrating that all of their computer protection is Windows only. I'm paying for their Platinum service which is the "best" so I expect to be able to utilize everything I'm paying for.... Read More


A
Alan P
Tallahassee, Florida

4/1/2017
With so much advertising for one identity theft product I decided to do my own research. That is when I discovered Identity Guard. I am very pleased with the service.

Katie L  
Official Response

Company Representative of Identity Guard® Identity Theft Protection
Alan, Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear if you are enjoying our service. Katie from Identity Guard

K
Kelly H
San Juan Capistrano, California

3/30/2017
I am very happy to get notifications promptly however, I'm not able to give 5 stars because my credit score does not update as regularly as other services and shows as significantly lower and there does show an account in collections still which has been closed and resolved for sometime now. So I feel that some report are outdated.

Katie L  
Official Response

Company Representative of Identity Guard® Identity Theft Protection
Kelly, Thank you for your feedback. We do have a range of options if you would like to receive your scores more often. Please feel free to call 1-800-452-2541 to discuss. Katie from Identity Guard

Mark W
Aurora, Colorado

3/30/2017
Fortunately, I haven't had to use them to prevent any fraudulent credit activity. But, they always notify (almost) immediately whenever there is a change to my credit or personal information.   I do feel secure with them, but again it's almost like buying insurance... You don't know what/how it will be used or needed until something bad happens. Finally, I LOVE the customer service. Every time I call, the people that answer are friendly and actually seem to like their jobs.  You can almost hear the smile on their face. It is so refreshing to call them and have them answer my (sometimes dumb) questions, with patience, and while treating me like I'm important to them. Thanks... Read More

Katie L  
Official Response

Company Representative of Identity Guard® Identity Theft Protection
Mark, Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you are enjoying our service and pass along your feedback to our customer care team. Katie from Identity Guard

Richard T
Portland, Oregon

3/30/2017
I have not had an incident requiring assistance at this point so I am unable to formulate an opinion as to the helpfulness of the service. I have purchased several items I wish ID Guard had at least contacted me about to assure that it was me who made them. The service appears to be reactive rather than proactive.

Katie L  
Official Response

Company Representative of Identity Guard® Identity Theft Protection
Richard, Thank you for your feedback. Every business day, our service monitors your credit profile at the 3 credit bureaus and send you alerts about new activity, such as a credit inquiry or an address change and what you have stated are transactions which would be handled by your bank. If you would like to discuss it further you can call our Customer Care department at 1-800-452-2541. Katie from Identity Guard

Win G
Flower Mound, Texas

3/30/2017
I am disappointed in a couple things. 1.) My Credit rating has not changed since day one. It is 50 points lower then on American Express web site. 2.) I know I had two attempts to open credit cards falsely and was never notified from you. Since I open this when a few cards, license and my Social Security number was stolen, I really was hoping for better. Maybe nothing has happened, but I do not feel very secure. Thanks, Win Goddard

Katie L  
Official Response

Company Representative of Identity Guard® Identity Theft Protection
Win, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you have encountered issues with our service, and if you have been a victim of identity theft please call our Customer Service department at 1-800-452-2541. In regards to our credit scores, Identity Guard uses CreditXpert. CreditXpert is used as a general educational score and not designed for lender decisions for mortgages and auto loans, so it can be slightly different in the results. Katie from Identity Guard

S
Steve M
Greenville, South Carolina

3/28/2017
I linked to Identity Guard through Next Advisor. The web ad quoted a monthly fee of $22.99 for the couple package. A 30 day free trial was offered along with a 25% discount. After signing up I noticed the fee charged was $22.99 so I called customer service. The rep said the regular cost was supposed to be $27.99 month and the $22.99 reflected a $5.00 per month discount. Then I did some quick math and came up with $20.99 as the regular price less a 25% discount. He couldn't help me and instead referred me to another customer service. I assumed he was customer service "light" so I placed another call. Same results there too. This is a trivial amount of money, but it concerned me that this... Read More

Katie L  
Official Response

Company Representative of Identity Guard® Identity Theft Protection
Steve, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear you encountered issues with our service, to be able to locate your account and discuss the issue further please call 1-800-452-2541 and our Customer Service department will assist.

Linda R
St Louis, Missouri

3/20/2017
I read many reviews because I am a victim of identity theft. I chose this company, selected a program and filled out the necessary information, including my social security number. My application was DENIED because Identity Guard and Discover/American Express have a glitch in their connection-which is not my fault. When I called the number for assistance, I was told that my application could not be done over the phone because of the plan I chose. They gave me number for customer service, but the number is for a telemarketing company. After wasting 2 hours reading reviews and attempting to subscribe, I chose a different company. It is frustrating enough to be a victim of identity... Read More

Katie L  
Official Response

Company Representative of Identity Guard® Identity Theft Protection
Linda, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear you encountered issues with enrolling in our service, if you would like to discuss it further please call our Customer Service department at 1-800-452-2541.

Start your review for
Identity Guard® Identity Theft Protection