Rating: 9.8 / 10 (Excellent)
24 Customer Reviews - see all comments
Disclosure: We receive advertising revenue from this partner. Learn more.
IDShield offers one of the most comprehensive products on the market today for protecting and restoring your identity. The company backs its service with an unprecedented $5 million guarantee in the event your identity is compromised. IDShield monitors your identity from every angle - not just your Social Security number, credit cards and bank accounts, but also other pieces of personal information like email addresses and phone numbers. These monitoring alerts are updated daily on an online dashboard, so you see right away if there are changes to your profile which could be indicators for identity theft.

Members have exclusive access to identity consultation services provided by licensed private investigators from Kroll, the global leader in risk mitigation and response solutions. The Investigator will advise members on best practices for identity management tailored to the member’s specific situation and, should there be an identity theft event, the investigator will do whatever it takes for as long as it takes to help recover and restore a member’s identity to its pre-theft status. IDShield members have access to member support agents, including 24/7/365 for emergency situations. Kroll’s Licensed Investigators are also available to answer questions regarding ID Theft and fraud issues from 7am to 7pm Central time, Monday through Friday excluding major holidays.

 

What does it protect?

ID Plan

Confirmed Check Fraud
Criminal ID Theft
Deceased ID Theft
Employment Fraud
ID Theft discovered through a Monitoring Alert or Otherwise
Lost/Stolen Wallet Assistance
Medical ID Theft
Minor ID Theft (Family Plan only)
New Account Opened
Passport, Personal Information Stolen while traveling outside of US
Payday Loan
Scam that Resulted in ID Theft
Sex Offender Searches
Social Security Number Fraud Detection
IRS/Tax Fraud
Utilities Fraud

 

Services

Monitoring

Yes

Fraud Alerts

Yes

Consultation

Yes

Credit Freeze

Yes

Resolution

Yes

Restoration

Yes

Service Guarantee

Up to $5 million

 

Features

Expert Consultation

Unlimited access to consultation and support from Kroll’s licensed private investigators in both emergency and non-emergency situations.

Mobile Application 

Access member services, member dashboard, and contact an agent 24/7/365 via mobile device.

Internet Monitoring

Monitors global black market websites, IRC (internet relay chat) channels, chat rooms, peer-to-peer sharing networks, and social feeds for a member’s Personally Identifiable Information (PII), including everything from email addresses to Social Security Numbers to bank account numbers.

Lost Wallet Protection 

Provides assistance when cancelling your credit cards.

Address Change Verification

Keeps track of a personal mailing address and alerts when a change of address has been requested through the United States Postal Service.

Social Security Number Monitoring 

Alerts you if your SSN is being sold or traded.

Court Records Monitoring 

Detects criminal activity that may be associated with an individual’s personal information, alerting them to signs of potential criminal identity theft.

Credit Scores 

Members have access to continuous credit monitoring through TransUnion. Includes a quarterly credit score that plots the member’s score quarter by quarter on a graph.

Credit Inquiry Alerts

Members will be notified via email when a creditor requests their TransUnion credit file for the purposes of opening a new credit account.

Payday Loan Monitoring

Alerts the subscriber when their personal information is associated with short-term, payday, or similar cash advance loans.

Minor Identity Protection

Allow parents/ guardians of up to 8 minors under the age of 18 to monitor for potential fraudulent activity associated with their child’s SSN. (Only available in Family Plan.)

Identity Restoration

Within one business day of receiving a fully executed Limited Power of Attorney and copies of the member’s relevant documentation, Kroll’s licensed private investigators will begin restoring member’s identity.

$5 million service guarantee

IDShield will spend up to $5 million to do whatever it takes for as long as it takes to recover and restore a member’s identity to its pre-theft status.

 

Price

IDShield Individual Plan

IDShield Individual is $9.95 per month and covers one person.

IDShield Family Plan

IDShield Family is $19.95 per month and covers one person, their spouse/domestic partner, and up to 8 minors.

 

Customer Reviews

Both IDShield’s parent company, LegalShield, and its partners at Kroll have been awarded A+ ratings by the Better Business Bureau (BBB), which is a testament to the great customer service provided. LegalShield has provided legal protection to millions of people for more than 40 years and has provided identity theft protection for 15 years with Kroll. Today, IDShield protects the identities of more than a million people in 50 states and 4 Canadian provinces.

 

The Fine Print

It's important to note that ID Shield only monitors your TransUnion credit report, instead of all 3 bureaus. However, ID Shield's incomparable information monitoring and exceptional recovery services are well worth the compromise. Add their $5 million service guarantee into the mix, and it's no surprise that ID Shield is one of the best in the business. 

 

Bottom Line

IDShield is the only identity theft service that offers members access to Kroll’s team of expert licensed private investigators with powerful proprietary resources at their fingertips. These investigators not only work to prevent identity theft, but they are backed by an unprecedented $5 million service guarantee to work on restoring your identity back to its pre-theft status in the event it is compromised. This, combined with consulting services and holistic monitoring, make IDShield the most comprehensive identity theft protection product on the market.

 


Top Rated
Our Partner
9.8 / 10
  • Individual & Family Plans with Competitive Pricing
  • Complete Identity Restoration Services
  • Industry Leading $5 Million Service Guarantee
  • IDShield Vault Password Manager
  • Child Monitoring included in Family Plans
  • Lost Wallet Assistance

Latest IDShield Reviews

7.83
Based on24 Reviews fromIDShield customers
B
Barry C
Tacoma, Washington

1/22/2018
My credit score went from 740+ to 669 while I was under their program 9.99 a month. Can I get a refund ?


J
Jeff D
Fresno, California

10/13/2017
I've had IDShield for many years and have taken the little bit of extra time to register my membership through their online member portal and download the IDShield app from the app store to my phone. Taking a few minutes to do this has given me everything in the palm of my hand; my credit score, monitoring alerts, push button call access 24/7 live U.S. based consultants and licensed investigators, ability to list all of my personal identifiers I want monitored, ss#, drivers license, emails, ph#'s, bank accts, credit/debit cards, passport, medical id's, address, etc...takes a minute to set this up, but so worth it...called customer service to help me, they were courteous and knowledgeable,... Read More


Adrian L
Westland, Michigan

9/24/2017
It is not expensive and it is effective. Covers services you would not have though could damage your identity or credit.


A
Adrian
Westland, Michigan

9/24/2017
It is expensive and effective.


vegas
North Las Vegas, Nevada

6/20/2017
I had been with ID Shield for over 15 years when it was under another name through Pre-Paid Legal. We never had any issue until one day, a fraudulent withdrawal from my bank in the amount of $276 was taken from my account. This is the same account that I paid ID Shield monthly with. I saw a picture of the so called check from my account to "ID Shield 2" - the address was fake, and so was the city and state in California. The phone number on the fake check was fake and the bank verified the transaction was fraud and gave me back my money. But here is the point of contention. When I called ID Shield, representative was nonchalant. I asked if she wanted to record my name and phone... Read More


P
Patrick F
Centreville, Virginia

5/14/2017
I only have had ID Shield for a week, and applied for a credit card yesterday. The monitoring sent me an alert through the App on my phone, and an alert was sent to my email. The service worked just the way they promised, and I am completely satisfied. I feel like I have the best protection and restoration service available! I am as prepared as I can be! Thank you ID Shield!


J
jack
Marietta, Georgia

5/1/2017
I paid them for seven years and they never provided a single report. Their monitoring was nonexistent. When I would call them to cancel, they would wear me down with a cancellation department and promise to do better. They never did better. In seven years, I never received a single report or alert or benefit. What did I pay for? Nothing!


J
Jimmy
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

3/11/2017
I have been a member for 14 years. I receive excellent notifications on a monthly basis and timely alerts when someone runs credit on me. They have the most comprehensive restoration in the industry with quality professionals who "hold your hand" every step of the way...


Robert S
Fort Madison, Iowa

3/11/2017
For the money you cannot beat having Licensed Investigators do all the work for you you to restore your credit. I was a victim of ID Theft and had to learn the hard way. Luckily myself and my family are protected now.


L
Lucy
Pompano Beach, Florida

2/14/2017
There is no other service for identity theft as comprehensive as IDShield. I tried other services and they did not respond to my incident and kept me as inform as the private investigators for IDshield did. Also they are the only ones that will provide FULL RESTORATION with a Guarantee of $5 million not noted on the features on this website..


S
Sanela
Placentia, California

12/22/2016
Bank information is already monitored by bank, and I'm not really "worried" about the money part, since the banks are still required to give me my money back. I know what is on my credit and my credit score, and it's great feature to just be reminded every few months that all is OK. Credit monitoring is NOT identity theft protection, and banks do it for free anyway. Driver license fraud, Medical fraud, Tax fraud, Criminal and Character fraud is what I am most grateful for and would never be without IDShield. To have a licensed private investigators on a touch of a button on my phone app 24/7 is priceless. And to have $5 Million service guarantee, not to be confused with "$1 Million... Read More


D
David E

12/13/2016
I used LifeLock before and they monitored my credit and gave me credit report every month. They also notified me daily of changes to my credit if different. These guys don't even give you free credit report. I went to the partner site that charges $20 for credit report. I don't think it's a good company. I used capital one free credit tracker and they update report every week for free! There is also credit karma, credit sesame, quizzle. ALL free but these guys want to charge!!!! I think the people who work at this company are the thieves. Trying to steal your money and personally I'd rather have cold hard cash than credit anyway!


Ammarynd G

12/13/2016
Worst credit monitoring and I don't believe they can give good protection if they don't monitor your credit very well. There are free credit monitor services out there that are 100 times better, and FREE. ID Shield sends you to a partner website to get "free" credit report, but when you goot to get the report they want your credit card info so they can charge you!!! Do NOT sign up for ID Shield or you will regret it. I'm going back to LifeLock because they tell you Every Dayy if you have changes in your credit. iD Shiel says you can see your credit report OnCE every 4 months!!!! That's bad service!!!


Gayle W
Columbus, Ohio

11/29/2016
This company is the best kept secret. They are the most affordable and effective restoration services in the US.


M
Mike
Wilsonville, Oregon

10/4/2016
While I've had someone file a false tax return in my name, and had fraudulent charges on my credit card, I also use the service to double check my info every couple of months with a phone call. When added to my Legal Plan it's something I wouldn't be without in today's world.


D
DanielG
Las Vegas, Nevada

9/28/2016
+1 year into new ID Shield and I'm very pleased with the customer service, services, and amount of money it costs for my whole family to be covered. Very simply compare ID shields rate to other Identity protection companies. Compare them on somewhat equal amounts. (Yes you probably will have a hard time finding another company at the 5 million mark, but at least check there top notch amount to ID shield). So basically I have not had an increase per month. Last company life lock. 3 different increases and you have to check out lifelocks great fee of for only $100.00 you get ?. How many times has ID shield been sued for advertising something they don't actually cover. When I was with... Read More


G
gregroy t
St Louis, Missouri

8/10/2016
they stopped someone from renting a apt using my wifes SS number as theres


M
Mark E
Smithfield, Virginia

7/31/2016
I discovered LegalShield's identity theft product, IDShield about six months ago. As I first set it up I noticed that it went back in time and pulled up a ton of information about me. It actually listed a traffic ticket from 1985 at Ft. Bragg, NC. Was very impressed. The other big benefit that this plan has is that you can see your credit score in real time. The last feature that I feel is significant is that they will go in and restore your identity back to what it was before it was stolen with a 5 million dollar service guarantee. This is a great program and it is on both my phone via an app and on my PC. The 24 hr emergency access to a licensed investigator is pretty convenient... Read More


J
josh b
Charlotte, North Carolina

7/3/2016
idshield is awesome from what they monitor compared to all other companies and how they will hire you a private investigator to prosecute who stole your identity or credit. they will back you up to 5 million dollars to restore your identity! Love this company.


S
Shane L
Ogden, Utah

4/18/2016
Terrible experience and I would advise against signing up with either Legal Shield or ID Shield. I originally cancelled my membership in November 2015 and was automatically reinstated in March of 2016, without my consent! Because of the unauthorized renewal I was billed for two months of service. I contacted a customer service representative who instructed me to send a cancellation email, which I did, and never received any response. After almost 2 weeks without a response from my original request, I contacted customer service again and after an hour on the phone I was finally able to get to a supervisor. I once again explained my situation (after the 4th time) and was eventually... Read More


B
beverly d
North Providence, Rhode Island

3/17/2016
As retired Government HR Director, I examined all plans for credibility, integrity, & value to private & public sectors and individuals and families. ID Shield offered best value for following reasons: comprehensive coverage, assignment of licensed investigators from world reknown risk management firm, expansive monitoring & preference alerts, $5Million guarantee +, & complete Restoration - not recovery, with One Stop Alert! As a consumer, my experience is excellent. I am subject expert with their education & awareness programs. Used IDShield on many occasions for compromised accounts or lost cards; IDShield shut down & sent red alerts to credit bureaus and card vendors &... Read More


P
Peter L

9/21/2015
COMPLETE restoration services. Best identity theft resource out there. They are EXPERIENCED fraud and risk management specialist. The only kind in the USA. Customer service driven.


S
Santos R
Lathrop, California

9/11/2015
1+ Yrs >> My experience has been Some Good Peace OF Mind. My Consultant is Pleasant to Speak With and They Always Seem to go Out of The Way to Share Great Stuff that Adds to Protecting The Entire Family. I definately Think its Worth the Small Amount I pay 4 Monthly. No Contracts.


B
Bill G
Gastonia, North Carolina

9/2/2015
I'm have done lots of research on different id theft protection services over the years in an attempt to decipher the differences to determine the best one for me and my family and after understanding that Kroll backs and supports this product with full Restoration if we are victims, and learning who Kroll is, it was obvious that IDShield was the best choice. Very happy with my decision.