American General Warranty Review


Rating: 7.8 / 10 (Very good)
9 Customer Reviews - see all reviews
Disclosure: We receive advertising revenue from this partner. Learn more.
How is American General Warranty rated?
8/10
Plan Value
8/10
Customer Experience
8/10
Contracts
8/10
Restrictions
8/10
Contractor Network
8/10
Customer Base

**Due to a high volume of negative reviews, as well as the BBB downgrading this company to an "F" in May of 2017, we recommend caution in dealing with American General.

American General Warranty is a company that offers home warranty plans that protect homeowners financially against unexpected breakdowns and repair costs. Home warranty plans include varying coverage for home appliances and home systems. American General Warranty maintains a nationwide network of licensed and experienced repair professionals that are available 24 hours 7 days a week.

Coverage

American General Warranty protects you financially by never letting you pay for the costs of actual repair or replacement on items covered in your home warranty plan. Covered items are fully covered for repair or replacement of covered items regardless of age, make or model.

American General Warranty offers a flexible home warranty plan that lets you select 10 or more items from its list of covered items. This way, you are able to determine which items are essential for a more budget-friendly home warranty plan.

Other home warranty plans include the Combo plan which provides coverage for both home major appliances and home systems. This gives you almost $14 compare to purchasing Appliance and System Plans separately.

Home Warranty Plans

Services Plan

Select 10 or more items from a list of covered items.

Combo Plan

Coverage for both major appliances and home systems.

Appliance Plan

  • Refrigerator
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes Washer
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Built-in Microwave Oven
  • Ranges/Ovens/Cooktop
  • Built-in Food Processor
  • Trash Compactor
  • Garage Door Opener
  • Free-Standing Ice Maker

System Plan

  • Air conditioning, including ductwork
  • Heating, including ductwork
  • Water Heater
  • Electrical
  • Plumbing
  • Smoke Detectors
  • Doorbell
  • Ceiling Fan
  • Garbage Disposal
  • Instant Hot/Cold Water Dispenser
  • Plumbing
  • Central Vacuum

Add-Ons

  • Water Softener
  • Pool / Spa
  • Well Pump
  • Septic Pumping

Pricing

For precise plan pricing, clients are advised to fill-up and online estimation form or call American General Warranty directly.  

Fine Print

American General Warranty promises to process request and send licensed repair professionals to your home within 24 hours. The company also provides 24/7 hotline for concerns, inquiries and claims.

American General Warranty - Final Thoughts  

American General Warranty offers good coverage for each of their home warranty plans. It even has a flexible home warranty plan that lets you select 10 or more items which saves you a couple of dollars on monthly premiums. Its Combo Plan is an all-around performer covering both major appliances and home systems which definitely gives you better protection against costly breakdowns and repairs.  Added pluses includes coverage for items regardless of age, make or model which is ideal for homeowners with old items but still would like to take advantage of the protection that a home warranty plan offers.  

Start your review for American General Warranty

Latest Reviews

Loading Reviews ...
M
Mehdi
San Diego, California
6/12/2017
Is there any law(s) to protect us from this fraud?

M
Mac
Bakersfield, California
5/25/2017
I signed up in February 2017 and paid $629. But processed refund in first week of march but until now i have not received my money. Tried calling now and no phone or even their website is not there.

Alexi S
, California
5/3/2017
I am not sure how they stack up to their competition, but Old Republic are a complete scam. They always find a loop hole to get out of doing any repairs. My wife and I bought a new home and purchased this useless 1 year home warranty with Old Republic like the suckers that we were at the time. we had a few electrical, lighting and air conditioning issues, as well as some cracking of the plaster in the pool, for which we purchased extra coverage. Be forewarned that in regards to the pool they only cover very specific things that they never really detailed for us. They do not cover damage to any part of the actual pool itself. Any Electrical problems require an inspection to determine if it... Read More

L
Lily
Springfield, Virginia
4/25/2017
DO NOT pay any money to American General Warranty (AGW)!!! I called AGW (1-877-225-1326) and spoke with Steve Robertson in Feb 2017. Based on the emails and phone conversation with Steve, I mailed a check in Feb 2017 for enrolling a Customer Plan. I mailed my check to this address shows AGW website: 2634 Ocean Ave. Brooklyn, NY 11229. My check has been deposited to AGW account in early March but as of today, 25 April, I have not received any information or contract from American General Warranty yet. I have been calling and emailing for last several weeks but never get a response. There is nobody answering the phone call for last several months!

S
[email protected]
, California
4/21/2017
More than terrible. They have not answered my calls since February! They have stolen my money! BEWARE THEY ARE A SCAM!! Now I cannot afford to fix my A/C unit due to their thievery!!! DO NOT GET RIPPED OFF! STAY AWAY!

R
Ray G
Huntington Beach, California
3/29/2017
3/28/2017 BEWARE OF THIS COMPANY!!!. I signed up in January 2017 based on research of many top 5/10 Home Warranty Companies. I ran into a difficulty a week ago and have been unable to reach them while calling at early AM through late PM daily until today[3/27/17]. They are supposed to be located in Brooklyn, New York. Two National and Local 800 operators informed me the address was a small business as well as a residence. The 877 number does not exist in the National/Local registry, as well as the salesman's number. My continued attempts have been futile. My next step will be contact the New York State Better Business Bureau and any other agency involved.

T
[email protected]
Cypress, California
3/28/2017
This is scam company They took my money $1600 to insure my two duplexes and I never heard from them. Be careful they are very bad people

T
[email protected]
Cypress, California
3/28/2017
This is spam. They took my money $1600 to insure my two duplexes and I never heard from them. Be careful they are very bad people

R
Ray G
Huntington Beach, California
3/28/2017
BEWARE OF THIS COMPANY!!!. I signed up in January 2017 based on research of many top 5/10 Home Warranty Companies. I ran into a difficulty a week ago and have been unable to reach them while calling at early AM through late PM daily until today[3/27/17]. They are supposed to be located in Brooklyn, New York. Two National and Local 800 operators informed me the address was a small business as well as a residence. The 877 number does not exist in the National/Local registry, as well as the salesman's number. My continued attempts have been futile. My next step will be contact the New York State Better Business Bureau and any other agency involved.

Start your review for American General Warranty